Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

1. MOMA The world's premier modern art gallery, MoMA (Museum of Modern Art) provides visitors with a master class in modernist and contemporary art. The collection numbers more than 150,000 works of art, along with a sizable film and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 879 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jane E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent evening! Great host great food and even better jazz! Excellent night out!

Doing what: Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour

ekaterina.latella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I really enjoyed the tour. The Gospel Service was very warm, energetic and welcoming! A very special experience. The guides from Harlem Spirituals were very knowledgeable. The also helped me to catch a taxi after the tour, as I wanted to see the Brooklyn bridge afterwards and still catch my flight on the same day. Many thanks!

E.Latella

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

kbertrand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was very interesting and the church service was very enjoyable and a lot of fun! Tour guide and driver let us get off the bus at Yankee Stadium on our way back which was very kind and saved us making another trip out. We had a lovely time on this tour!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Mellie

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Enjoyed Peggy, our guide, whose fluency between English, French, and Italian was so impressive! Devoured our dinner at Sylvia's and the Cotton Club was a hoot loved the big band and had fun dancing.

Doing what: Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour

Michael G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We commenced our journey in downtown Manhattan and traveled by bus up to Harlem. The tour around Harlem near the Apollo Theatre and the house that Gen.George Washington used were both interesting. We went to a Baptist Church in the Bronx. The church was ear piercing with many Alleluias and much praising of the Lord. It was a little intimidating at first being in a group of 40 people filing into a church and staying for approx. 1 hour as others performed around you.. The choir was great. The plate went around once and then all were invited to come to the front of the church and make a donation minimum 10 suggested. Fortunately the tour leader and advised people to feel comfortable about the experience and put in what they wanted. All up a interesting morning

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Jane E

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

We left half way through the service.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Åsa H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

The church was not at all worth a visit as I expected more Christmas songs and carols and it was just waiting there for nothing to come!
The brunch ws ok and good food to test!
Our guide this day was good and was very good to describe things we went through by bus!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Don S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

This tour was nothing like I expected. Harlem singers were terrible, out of tune basically could not sing. Singers were chatting amongst themselves while others were trying to sing. I left the chapel with the worst headache. The bus tour was OK as we saw parts of Manhatten and Harlem. The guide was so hard to follow as he flipped fron English to French all the time. My observation was that everybody on the bus was over him and glad to get off.
Viator I'm sure you can do better than this in a city the size of New York. Shocking trip no value, give it a miss.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Verna D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

If I could give a lower rating, I would...Ride to Harlem was interesting but when we got to the church, we were not allowed on the lower level. Instead, we had to climb 3 flights of stairs to the nosebleed section and then later move down a few steps. Music was good but Had to leave in the middle of the service and went to the Cotton Club. TERRIBLE!!!!! three of us seated at a table for 2 in the back corner. I got the broken seat on the chair. Lucky me! They put the container to place the dirty dishes and garbage right behind our feet. Brunch was no way Soul food. Kentucky fried chicken...no ribs dry cornbread. cannot say anything good about this. complete waste of time and money!!!!!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Colin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Highly recommend the Rock 'n' Roll walking tour,of the East Village,Bobby Pinn was very knowledgable taking us to some iconic sites with some great stories.

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

Debra H

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

While I enjoyed our tour, and I thought our guide was excellent, I really feel some confusion shortchanged us of the entire package. We went directly to a church with a 5 minute stop to see the Apollo Theater. At the church, we were escorted to the basement for a lovely Christmas celebration, but when we went upstairs to the actual church, plans changed. We were asked to leave, board the bus and we were whisked off to another church. The celebration at that church was wonderful, but we then needed to leave midway through the service, at which time we were brought back ... tour over. No walking tour, no Cotton Club. Things seemed unorganized, and I truly felt shortchanged. I guess I at least expected to get all that was included in the tour description ... and we definitely did not!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

vickim58 Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

Not up to my expectations. Woman at office was rude. Too much preaching and not enough singing. Lunch was very average. Very touristy. Disappointed !!!!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Kim N Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a wonderful tour the guide went above and beyond

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Lesley S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Just a wonderful experience, very good knowledge guide and commentary.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Pat N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and added some interesting facts to make this tour a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

jwhale72

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I would recommend this tour. We had a fun time. Miriam was well versed in pizza history!! She kept it fun and interesting.

Doing what: Pizza Walking Tour of Manhattan

Paul R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Confusing situation loading buses at the beginning. But, the guide was excellent and made it a very successful tour.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Robert S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

As a soul music afficiado seeing the Apllo theatre and the Cotton Club is a must see. However on my tour it was 45 minutes late departing and the departure arrangements were shambolic. A minimum amount of time was spent in the Church for the Gospel singing and service followed by attending the Cotton Club whereby we had to sit anywhere were they could find a spare seat. Upon departure back to downtown we ended up on a bus full which had a majority of French speaking tourists and a guide called Christine who only spoke French on the return journey and insisted on shouting out any conversation we had in English....obviously she was either ignorant or unconcerned that anyone speaks a language other than French.....I would recommend anyone to make their own way to see the shrines

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Lucia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Sheila was a fabulous guide - so knowledgeable and personable. We learned a great deal about the history of Manhattan including Harlem. And the choir was amazing. Each song was better than the one before. I definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Christopher G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic! Many thanks to Larry who really brought the Village to life and gave the three of us an unforgettable experience. Fans of Bob Dylan in particular will enjoy this tour as Larry's knowledge is encyclopedic and he is a gifted raconteur as you weave through the streets of Greenwich. Standing right where the cover photo for Freewheeling was shot will stay with me for a long time!
If you have a couple of hours to spend on a Sunday morning and you enjoy the music of the 60s this is a tour you should certainly consider. Recommended!

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

Denise R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really well organised tour. Staff were friendly and professional. A wonderful experience

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

magana29

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Good info on the tours. Delicious locations.

Doing what: Pizza Walking Tour of Manhattan

HELENA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful experience full of feith and joy.
I recomend ir.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Stephanie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. It was 3 hours, but we were not walking the entire time. A lot of the time was spent standing or sitting. The tour guide was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. It was fun for our entire group, age 68 - 11.

Doing what: Pizza Walking Tour of Manhattan

TANIA P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing experience, what a privilege to attend this beautiful community church. I think the tour directors need to make it very clear this is a real church service and remind people NOT to take photos. I was slightly embarrassed to see people taking photos. There are signs asking people not to take photos. Relax and enjoy the service it was a wonderful experience, well worth it.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday Morning Gospel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message