From New York City, the mighty executive, legislative and judicial institutions of the nation’s capital make a fascinating day trip. Once you arrive in Washington DC, head straight for Capitol Hill, where you’ll witness the Capitol itself as well as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1100 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Zenaida R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A very well organised tour and our tour guide were very specific and very detailed of what we are going to do. She is well verse of the history and very professional it's worth every penny to give her a tip.
My husband and I enjoyed every minute we spent with her.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Praveen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Enjoyed the tour and again the weather was the spoil sport... temp was hovering around 90F but it was sunny and humid that was making things difficult. The tour guide was good and knowledgeable.. the tour was a bit tiring but we surely enjoyed every moment of the tour and would recommend the same to other as it was best way to see both New York and DC if one is short of time.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

biju.joseph

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well arranged tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Kylie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Was a really jam packed trip . Great for those who have no time to see Washington DC. We went very quickly from place to place and it was over 100 degrees !! so hot dont go in July ! Guide was very informative and kept us all in line so we got everything done! I would have like longer at the Lincoln Memorial and less at the cemetery.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Radmila V USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great short trip to get idea how looks Washington.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Peter D Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very enjoyable and very informative. really pleased we did it.

Doing what: 2-Day Washington DC, Philadelphia and Amish Country Tour from New York

muscles1907

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really enjoyed this history filled tour. Our guide Jonathan was both knowledgable and interesting which is a difficult combo to master.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Dan

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great day in all, the tour guides were fantastic, very knowledgable and funny. You get to see all the big sites and enough time for pictures. You don't really get anytime to read and find out little bits etc at the sites though it's really only enough to look and get your pics. Also another small thing but if you want your souvenirs you don't really get time or go anywhere that has them to sell.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Pauline R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This is a very long day be warned! You can eat and drink on USA coaches so make sure you take food etc as the meal breaks on this trip are spaced according to traffic etc. And that meant, for us, that there was no stop for lunch till after 3pm. There is a fair bit of walking at a steady pace in order to keep to the schedule so probably not for the less mobile. It's not really for smaller children as there is so much time on the bus. It was a good tour and we were glad we did it but we could have done with more information, with hindsight we could have done more research before we went. We did see all the things on the itinerary.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Andie Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. Long hours of travel but worth it. Great service as well.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Tour from New York City

maria.christina

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Itinerary is great, but the shuttle trip is very long, it took around 8 hours round trip, while we spend only around 4 hours in Washington.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Tour from New York City

Leslie B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

This is a long trip, worth doing. Bus could of been better, seat was broken and bus was not as clean as it could of been. Schedule is organized and well set out, big group of 50 people. Would of been better in a smaller group.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Sneha M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Where do I start. Please know that you will not be spending any time at any of the important landmarks. The most time is spent at the space and aeronautical museum. 10 minutes to see the Lincoln memorial, no time to go near the Washington monument, 20 minutes in Arlington including running along the pathway to see kennedys gravesite. No information at each point. The guide would run ahead and talk to the 5 people near him infornt. By the time we all joined he would be like ok let's go. The only clear repeated info given was asking for tips. Repeatedly.
Skip this tour, better to see the Washington monuments on google instead of spending the time coped in the bus for 14 hrs. This was the worst tour we have taken on viator or anywhere. Save the money and go see Washington on your own.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Valerie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a long day travelling but so so worth it, Washington is beautiful and a complete contrast to New York, so they complimented each other. Our tour guide, Mayan, was extremely professional and efficient but at the same time very likeable and approachable - we thought she was perfect, and very knowledgeable about the tour. Could've done with a little longer in the museum, and the half-way stop-offs were a little stressful because queues were so slow and l-o-n-g and we had to be mindful of timings, but other than those small things we thoroughly enjoyed our day trip, it was well organised and thoroughly enjoyable. Would highly recommend both the trip and this company, excellent value for money.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Harshini N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour ideally suites busy travellers and covers all important attractions. Very well organized/

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Sherryann B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I took this tour with my parents, aunt and 4 yr old son . Scott the guide was very informative, willing, accommodating and pleasant
We couldn't have asked for a better driver and guide.
The vehicle was comfortable and he drove very safe. He was also patient with my 3 yr old son who hot restless 3/4 way on the trip.
The tour to Washington was also very nice
I highly recommend this tour and guide

Doing what: Private Washington DC Day Trip from New York

robert.wickstead581

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Gives you a good flavour of Washington D.C. in a day. Plenty of time at each stop and wasn't rushed around. Lovely trip down from New York to Washington D.C through all the states. Quite long day though, which is to be expected.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Christopher F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent and informative guide,brilliant way to see the main attractions of DC.Could have spent longer at the Lincoln memorial and less at Arlington. Really enjoyable and worthwhile day.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Elizabeth B Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Although a long drive getting there and back, this tour was amazing and our guide highly knowledgeable and very polite with all the different nationalities. He was also very accommodating with all our needs. Worth every penny. A must do. Liz

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Lee A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Brilliant tour - Jonathan was a fab guide, he was very informative and knowledgeable during the drive there and back, and we managed to fit in an awful lot in the day, would highly recommend. If you get a chance go on this trip.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Sheila NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great experience- the tour guide was very informative and everything was as scheduled

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

shelagh.hulme

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Long day. Very organised. Guide Z was excellent. We got to every spot with enough time to get round and get photos. If you have the time and stamina do this tour.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Irène R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The guide was keen in adjusting time and the program I highly recommended to go for it.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

mdcgermano_qa

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

i chose this particular tour because 1 it was slightly cheaper than similar DC day trip tours and 2 it published a more realistic tour duration e.g. 14 hrs instead of 12. i'm glad i chose this tour. this is a great way to see DC if you don't mind just breezing through the district's highlights. our guide Laura was very knowledgeable and accommodating. she kept to the schedule and made sure everyone was ok during the entire trip. we already knew from other reviews that the time spent on the road is almost twice as long as the time spent in DC so we didn't mind the long travel. we got back to Times Square about 9pm-ish and surprisingly we weren't very tired, we even still had the energy to walk around manhattan 'til midnight! enjoyed this trip :

Doing what: Washington DC Day Tour from New York City

abdelrahmanakram97

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Tour guide was pretty good , bilingual and a funny guy in general.
Really enjoyed this tour and it was worth the cost.

Doing what: Washington DC Day Tour from New York City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message