New Zealand ATTRACTIONS See all

Tongariro National Park

Made a UNESCO World Heritage site in 1993, Tongariro earned its status for a combination of both cultural and natural features. The oldest national park in New Zealand—and the fourth national park established in the world—it’s set at the end of a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Terence D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Picked up on time and the bus was available on the return immediately.

Doing what: Full-Day Tongariro Alpine Crossing Hike

Dawn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very Sadly our trip on this was cancelled due to bad weather. We did however drive to the village of Waikiki and walked for about two hours along beautiful trails to the falls, then had afternoon tea on our return. It was a wonderful afternoon.

Doing what: Full-Day Tongariro Alpine Crossing Hike

Matthew U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was awesome and the highlight of our trip for our son. Some sightseeing, some scenery and relaxation, and some thrills all in one day!

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

Nicole Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Highly recommended we had an amazing day on the cruise, helicopter ride and jet boat ride. Every one was so friendly and welcoming which made the adventure that much better

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

Seungwhan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Rewarding mountain experience, staffs were helpful, but needs proper equipment.

Doing what: Full-Day Tongariro Alpine Crossing Hike

Dom P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Helicopter ride was stunning! Toby from Inflite was good to deal with! The jetboats where also fun. we get to see 3 different views of the Huka Falls

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

Dom P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Helicopter ride was stunning! Toby from Inflite was good to deal with! The jetboats where also fun. we get to see 3 different views of the Huka Falls

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

Dom P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Helicopter ride was stunning! Toby from Inflite was good to deal with! The jetboats where also fun. we get to see 3 different views of the Huka Falls

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

Dom P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Helicopter ride was stunning! Toby from Inflite was good to deal with! The jetboats where also fun. we get to see 3 different views of the Huka Falls

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

Neeve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I cannot rate this hike highly enough, there is no doubt that is physically demanding however there are plenty rest stops and it is easy to set your own pace, I was also relieved to see people of all ages on this trek. The crossing itself is well sign posted and you will not have to worry about getting lost along the way. It is important to be well prepared as there are no opportunities to buy food or water after the bus drops you off. Once you reach the Emerald Lakes the views are simply breathtaking, it is a certainty that this will be a lifelong memory of your New Zealand vacation.

Doing what: Full-Day Tongariro Alpine Crossing Hike

Miranda T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

both the events were excellent. the only issue was the booking process

Doing what: White Water Rafting Tour with Optional Adventure Packages

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic experience, skilled boat driver and very funny comentary.

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

Davedeeo United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

After a shaky start because my preference for a morning booking had not been passed on to the operator, this turned out to be a great experience and very professionally run. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Running commentary as we ran the frequent rapids down the river with plenty of little anecdotes. The stop for hot chocolate part way down was nice as were the beers and river dogs at the end.

Doing what: Tongariro White Water Rafting from Taupo and Turangi

Thomas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The hike was very challenging but beautiful.

Doing what: Full-Day Tongariro Alpine Crossing Hike

Lee S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Bus driver arrived 15 minutes early. We were not sure he was part of the Viator tour bus, but he took us. We and 10 other people traveled with him from the parking lot at the end of the Tongariro Crossing trail. He was young, friendly, and good natured. The travel was safe and drop-off prompt. No stops along the way at base camp. But he did radio in to base camp.

Doing what: Full-Day Tongariro Alpine Crossing Hike

Mary B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Highly recommend this activity. Don't go if you want to stay dry, go if you want a fun time and an exhilarating ride. Jeremy was a great captain we loved the boat trip.

The White Water Rafting was the highlight of our time in NZ. The staff were rpfantastic, professional and fun. Everything was supplied we were safe and had an exciting trip. Then something to eat just topped it off. We will do this trip again when we return to NZ.

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

Duane P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great trip with very knowledgeable friendly guides Whole operation is professionally run and very easy to take part in. Safe and fun. 2 of our party had never been white water rafting before and it was a great introduction for them and a lot of laughs. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Tongariro River White Water Rafting Adventure from Taupo

Geoff B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a wonderful tour, thanks in large part to our incredible driver and guide, Tom Stuart of The Road Trip! Tom was expert at helping us to see and appreciate the spectacular natural beauty of New Zealnd and we are so glad we were able to travel the country with him. North Island has a lot to offer and we loved every minute of it!

Doing what: Private Tour: 8-Day North Island Tour from Auckland Including Rotorua and Wellington

Danya R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing experience, would definitely recommend to anyone.
We did the rafting at the end of May, and even though it was cold we were fine. We had wet suits and thermals and I didn't jump into the water so I was dry. Plus the exercise itself keeps you warm. They also provided us with hot chocolate midway through the trip - so lovely to drift along the river and sip hot chocolate. We were also taken to a hot pool afterwards and were provided with soup when we returned to base. So don't get put off by cold weather - the river itself apparently doesn't vary much in temperature throughout the year! Great for beginners and kids, and even my partner whose done rafting before had a great time!

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

willow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a fantastic way to spend an afternoon in Taupo. The jet boat was a lot of fun. We did get soaking wet but that was the best bit. In fact we loved it so much we went a second time! I would recommend going in Summer rather than Winter as the water is icy cold.

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

Luca C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A great way to get your action kicks in the adventure capital of Taupo! We did the Jet Boat Whitewater Rafting combo and both were so much fun by themselves and even better together! Be prepared to get wet!

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

Christopher C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Just amazing! We went on the jet boat ride in the morning and took to the waves at top speed - a real blast! The highlight for my wife and me, though, was the rafting in the afternoon. The team were just faultless... friendly, informative, safety-conscious and funny. We enjoyed amazing weather, lively rapids and loads of laughs, and the team were fantastic. This combo is a great way to experience the best of the Lake Taupo region's thrills and spills, and I'd recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

Dan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Absolutely the best my wife and I really enjoyed the Jet Boat and Helicopter Flight a must do if you go to lake Taupo it was a first for both of us and we are in our 60's

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

Mark L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tour was great, however by booking this combo through Viator, you are not booked into all activities!! We were disappointed when we arrived at our whitewater rafting to discover they did not have a booking for us! The Tongariro River Rafting staff were absolutely amazing!! We had a great time!

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

Toni P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We had an amazing time, heaps of fun and the guides were great :)

Doing what: Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride, Helicopter Flight, Scenic Cruise and Whitewater Rafting

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message