Middle-earth, dreamed up by J.R.R Tolkien, is the hometown of the characters in The Lord of the Rings trilogy. Thanks to New Zealand film-maker Peter Jackson, Middle-earth came alive with Jackson's use of New Zealand's visually stunning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 361 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

d.johnston.uk United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A magical experience on a perfect day. All the organisation was perfect, our driver and Hobbiton guide were friendly and informative. The site itself is amazing, and worth getting there early. The second breakfast at the Green Dragon was spot on, with plenty for vegetarians.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

Granster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a wonderful day out. Our driver was very knowledgeable about the making of the films and we watched some clips of filming on the mini-bus on our way to Mount Sunday. Can highly recommend this to Lord of the Rings fans, but even for non-fans, the scenery, local history and fun atmosphere are well worth going for.

Doing what: Lord of the Rings - Journey to Edoras from Christchurch

Brian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Travelling out from Queenstown the drive to Glenorchy and onto the Lord Of The Rings locations was very spectacular with vies of Lake Wakapito. We had a very informative guide with photos of the movie scenes so you could relate to the vision in front of you. In the forest swords and daggers together with other movie items were available for guests to wear and play with. A great morning out. Thanks Nomad.

Doing what: Glenorchy Movie Locations Tour: The Lord of the Rings

Edmund A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Long drive on a bus from Auckland but worth the time. Hobbiton was amazing and well preserved from the two series that were filmed there. Very cool. Then Waitomo and the gloworms- incredible. Unlike anything you will see elsewhere on the planet. A must see.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Kathleen N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Delightful trip to Hobbiton and our driver, Mike was a great source of information about NZ esp. Sites along the route to Matamata. Nice rest stop between and enough time to stretch the legs, have a bite to eat. Once at Hobbiton, Mike also filled us in on little side stories about the farmer, the land, movie tidbits etc.which rounded out the tour. Being in a small group was a plus. We got to know our fellow travelers. The early morning pick up time was well,worth it and we enjoyed it very much as Hobbiton is a magical place.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

brenda d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

If you are a Lord of the Rings fan, even if your not, experience this beautiful countryside. Quite a memory!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Anthony T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great experience and tour. I could hear the music from the films playing in my head as I toured Hobbiton, amazed that at the detail and scale of the place. A must for any fan, and probably interesting even if you are not a fan.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

Anthony T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What an experience for a Lord of the Rings fan. Even if not a fan I could see it being interesting, just because of the beautiful setting and how well run the tour was. a must if in New Zealand.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

Kapila K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Had a great half day tour. GREAT place to visit. A must see place for kids or adults who love Hobbits and Lord of the Rings movies.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Kevin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The early wake up was annoying, until you get to hobbiton and its almost completely empty around 8am by the time we finished our tour of the set and had a delicious breakfast at the Dragon Inn, there were lines all over the hills. NO REGRETS. all my pictures are random person free. The ice cream on the way home was a tasty treat as well.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

Rose H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is a fabulous tour. Small group - even with a couple of vans there were only about 15 people. The driver was friendly and extremely knowledgable about New Zealand. You get great commentary on the way to and from. Once on-site, again you stay with your small group. The tour guides at Hobbiton are again very knowledgable about Tolkien, Jackson, the set itself and the property on which it's built. For those of you who don't like tacky, you are in luck. This is done very nicely. You are on the outdoor set for the Hobbit movies no indoor sets but seeing the setting, the details of the set, etc is amazing. You'll be pleased at how uncommercial this is.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Helen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Outstanding! I can't fault it. The Hobbiton village is so beautiful. Much larger than I expected and appears fully functional with vegetable gardens, washing on the clothes lines, flowers everywhere, I think there are 39 little houses, a pub and wheelhouse and lakes. I was gobsmacked. It was perfect because we also had fantastic weather.

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

Hunter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Hobbiton had amazing scenery, very knowledgeable and friendly tour guides. Great food at the end, good cider included at the Green Dragon Inn. Waitomo Glow Caves were interesting but not something I'd do a second time. No photography allowed there. I'd honestly recommend saving the money and time and just doing Hobbiton, do something besides Waitomo. Just personal opinion. They're just old limestone caves. This tour you just walk through them until the end where you board a boat. I've heard other tours will let you swim through the caves which would be much more interesting.

Great Sights was the bus provider and the bus driver did an excellent job providing interesting information about local areas, events, history, etc. Also was pretty humorous at times. Overall I'd recommend this trip but perhaps consider skipping Waitomo.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Audrey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was great! Only complaint is that we were informed the tour began at 7am and to be at the pickup location hotel 10 mins prior to this time. We were in the lobby of our hotel by 6:30am. We were then informed by the receptionist of our hotel that the bus came at 6:15am for us and left because we were not there. We had to quickly rush to the pick-up location in the city and made it there by 6:45am. I recommend the tour company emails everyone the day before to confirm pick up time. We had no clue! Anyway, once we got on the bus all was good. Our tour guide Marty was full of energy and ready for the day ahead. You could tell how much he loves Auckland and shared his knowledge with us on the bus ride to Hobbiton. Hobbiton was amazing! My friend and I could not stopping talking about it for the whole day. We enjoyed a delicious all-included lunch at Hobbiton and a nice glass of beer once the tour finished. We then hopped back on the bus to the Waitomo caves. This was also a great experience! Marty also stopped a few of his favorite local places on the way back to the city for New Zealand ice cream. Our tour was fantastic. I really have no complaints. I give Marty 5 stars for being a great tour guide, he really made this experience great for us. I also loved the small tour group size of 5 people as it was more personal and was not rushed at all. Highly recommend this! I will be back.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Susan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fabulous! We enjoyed both our tour bus driver and the Hobbiton tour guide. Very articulate and gave us some inside information on the making of the movie there. We only had 17 in the group, and that was perfect. Other tour groups had 30 or 40. We were able to stop for photos. What a beautiful and magical place. Peter Jackson was a genius! We ended the day at the replica of the Green Dragon and had a beer before going to our delicious lunch. I would do this again. So worth it!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Malou Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour is the highlight of our New Zealand trip. Starting off with the hotel pickup, we were picked up on time based on the first email they sent. The driver/tour guide of our whole day trip I forgot his name is very informative, kind and approachable. He gave us lots of information while we were on the coach bus. My sisters and I were amazed when we learned that he is just on the job for 2 weeks but knows a lot of information.
The Hobbiton location is really a very nice tourist spot. The place is really taken cared of and has amazing views. We had a lot of pictures and the people who saw our pictures in social media were delighted to see them and I had some friends who asked me about the place and they also want to visit NZ too in the future.
The Glowworm cave is also an amazing area and who could've imagined that there could be creatures in a cave which glow like stars. During our boat ride, we were all in awe watching the thousand glow worms which look like stars at night.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Danhya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour, the ride is a little boring but Hobbiton and the Caves make it worth it. The lunch at Hobbiton is superb!! Pack snacks for the ride home ahhaah highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

ccwa29 Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour! We enjoyed everything! Tour guide/bus driver was very friendly and informative. Seats on the coach bus was very comfy. Buffet lunch was very good! The hobbiton tour was alot fun. We wished the boat ride for the glowworm caves were longer but still very cool experience! No photo taking inside the caves tho! Book this tour is you want to do both attractions in one day!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a complete package and worth the day. First, Damian, our driver, was excellent. He provided an excellent presentation of the culture and politics of New Zealand. Background you probably will never get on a tour and made it all the better. He also gave a complete background history of the Hobbit area from start to the present, more than we were provided by the tour guide at the location she was excellent too, more later. The Hobbiton set was magical, being a long fan of the adventures of the Hobbits. Our guide was excellent, filling in on the background and set features that Damián missed. The complementary Hobbit beer, Cider, or Ginger beer was excellent as was the buffet lunch provided. On to the Caves, a short but excellent tour showing the cavers and glow worms that hang from the ceiling we were told they weren't worms but sounded better than glow roaches :-.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

ash.oliver1289

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Hobbiton was a lot of fun and seeing the glow-worms in the Waitomo Caves was definitely something I'll never forget. You also get to see a lot of the surrounding areas and countryside while you are driving to and from the sights.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Erika L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Worth Every penny!
We went on a drive through the beautiful landscape of New Zealand's North Island, with our bus driver as our tour guide. He was so funny and informative. Hobbiton was absolutely a sight to see. The lunch buffet was alright, I'm a bit of a food snob so I'm not the best person to talk about that. And the Waitomo caves were indescribable, something you have to see in your life time! 100 worth it, Don't do Hobbiton without going to see the Waitomo Caves!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Benjamin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip was AMAZING!!! My husband and I went on this tour on the 4th October 2016. The guide for the trip down from Auckland was great and provided us with many interesting facts about the Auckland area and the Maroi culture. You also get picked up from your hotel which was very convenient. We only had 13 people on our tour at Hobbiton while most other tours running at the same time had 45 people so we definitely felt like we got a more in depth experience. Would highly recommend to any Lord of the Rings fans.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Nancy S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fabulous -- Sam, our guide at Hobbiton, had a lot of interesting things to tell us about the movie set. Our driver/guide knew a lot about New Zealand and the areas we traveled through. The weather was gorgeous. Definitely worth experiencing.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Mitche227

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fabulous tour. By arriving before the regular tours began, our small group had private access to the entire Hobbiton which provided us with unobstructed views and excellent photos. We also had a delicious private breakfast in the Green Dragon. Though I initially thought that this tour was expensive, it turned out to be worth every dollar. Our coach driver David who drove us from our Auckland hotel was extremely pleasant and our Hobbiton tour guide Hugh was very accomendating in taking whatever photos we requested. My wife and I highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

Stephanie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

5 stars just isn't enough if you are a LOTR fan. Was literally giddy with excitement at seeing Hobbiton with my own eyes. Best part, hands down, was having a beer in the Green Dragon. I would visit this tour the next time I'm in New Zealand. Tour guide was knowledgeable, bus driver was beyond excellent in his information about the country. I was well impressed.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message