Middle-earth, dreamed up by J.R.R Tolkien, is the hometown of the characters in The Lord of the Rings trilogy. Thanks to New Zealand film-maker Peter Jackson, Middle-earth came alive with Jackson's use of New Zealand's visually stunning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 326 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stephanie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

5 stars just isn't enough if you are a LOTR fan. Was literally giddy with excitement at seeing Hobbiton with my own eyes. Best part, hands down, was having a beer in the Green Dragon. I would visit this tour the next time I'm in New Zealand. Tour guide was knowledgeable, bus driver was beyond excellent in his information about the country. I was well impressed.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Everything about this trip was great. Our guide Mike was incredibly knowledgeable and enthusiastic. He had a wealth of information to help us relate the scenery we were seeing to its part in the films. We had great fun hiding in the hobbit hole and wearing swords and cloaks in Rivendell for some great pictures. Lunch at Scorchorama was very tasty and the end of the trip finished nicely with coffee and cakes. The Weta cave tour was also very good. Overall, great value for money and a great day out. Ask for Mike and you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Sandra H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Pick up was a little late, but thoroughly enjoyed the tour. The meal at Hobbiton was especially good, nice hot meal, not merely a lunch.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Sheldon United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is the only way to see the Hobbiton movie set. Our guide Tony was very informative, friendly, and helpful. Being able to access the movie set before it is flooded with tourists taking in the beauty being untouched for the day not to mention having people in your pictures. Access to Hobbit holes not on the normal tour and breakfast in the Green Dragon Inn was an added bonus. Highly recommend this tour to anyone serious about a quality experience.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

lesashowers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour was nicknamed Laura of the Rings and it was very appropriate. We had an amazing tour guide, Laura, who definitely had a passion for the books and movies. She was able to share so much information about the filming and we had a ton of fun scouting out the film locations and doing some scene reenactments! My 15 year old son said this was his favorite tour and we had even visited Hobbiton!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Alison J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the highlights of the trip thankfully as it was quite expensive!. There was some confusion in the morning. Our tickets said 7:30am so we checked out from our accommodation early with our toddler and rushed to the bus stop 20 minute walk as our accommodation wasn't on their list with a broken suitcase thanks Jetstar only to discover that for some reason the tour was at 8am and we had to wait 45mins.

We went to Hobbiton first I thought we were going to Waitomo caves first as per the itinerary on the site which seemed to make more sense for those going to Rotorua later. There's a short time to buy souvenirs at the shop, but they tended to be really expensive or cheap junk, there wasn't much middle ground. Hobbiton was fantastic, and the weather was beautiful which helped us enjoy it. We would have liked more time there, but all of the tour groups have a limited time as there are so many people. It looked like every session was full!

We had a fantastic lunch catering to our dietary requirements in a special tea party tent, it was great.

The tour guide was also kind and good value, we learnt a lot from him and this helped the trip be a success.

The caves were spectacular, we were in awe. Make sure you have a song in mind to sing in the caves!

Overall, it's a good way to get a lot done in one day without the stress/fatigue of doing all of the driving yourself. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Philip K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is worth every penny. Our small group was the first to enter the Hobbiton movie set and remained in front of the pack of tourists behind us. Plenty of time was allowed for pictures and the tour guide was informative and happy to help with pictures. Very good quality breakfast at the Green Dragon and bonus facts about New Zealand from our driver. Would've liked a little more time at the Green Dragon instead of a stop on the way back to Auckland for ice cream.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

Pick Chin N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Hobbiton is like fantasy land - so colourful and magical! Both the lady driver and tour guide were informative and pleasant. The tour was well organized and lunch was good - highly recommended!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Ruth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A perfect birthday gift for my husband; a die-hard Tolkien fan. The detail of the set is remarkable. Children would be wholly convinced the hobbits are indoors hiding from visitors. Even the lettuces were ready to pick. A long day from Auckland but worth it.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Timothy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good value for money. We had a great guide with a lot of passion and knowledge of the Lord of the Rings and the movies in general, it made a huge difference to the tour. Request someone who is a Lotr fan for the best experience.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Marcela P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Hobbitton tour was amazing our guide rocked. Awesome! We went June 29.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

beth.moreland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you have only a short amount of time, this tour is a great way to see a whole lot of fantastic sites outside of Auckland. Every item on this tour was completely worth seeing, but the highlights for me were the glow-worm caves, the duck boat tour, Te Puia geothermal area, and definitely the Hobbiton movie set. This tour is a fantastic value, especially considering almost every attraction you visit will include a private guide. Throw in the transportation, meals, and overnight accommodations and you've got a winner. Definitely recommend this tour.

Be aware that this tour is actually a variety of different small tours, with different guests, drivers, and even buses, all pieced together into one itinerary - but it was all coordinated very well. I tip my hat to the agency who coordinated my itinerary, Discover New Zealand, as the information they gave me was very detailed and accurate and it worked well.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

Claudia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Definitely a must see! Our guide was very knowledgeable, entertaining, and gave us a great deal of information about New Zealand and its peculiarities. We were expecting a boring drive for hours, but he made it very interesting. We also appreciated his honesty, integrity, and people skills. The country side in New Zealand is gorgeous, and the Lord of the Rings movie set is unbelievable! We travel a lot, but this is something unique and we didn't expect to see what we saw. Gorgeous is not enough to describe it! The caves are very nice too, very quiet, peaceful, and it's unbelievable how the warms can glow! They really look like a bunch of led lights inside the caves. I wish we could take pictures inside them.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

ROSAIDA T B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing tour! Everything was great - the driver, the tour guides, the lunch and of course the tour itself of both the Hobbiton movie set and the Waitomo caves. The only thing I would wish for is a longer time at the Hobbiton so we can appreciate the place longer because it was really fantastic!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

dave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed our visit to Hobbiton. Our bus driver was fun to talk with, our guide was awesome, the scenery was breathtaking, and the village a lot of fun. Our time in the Green Dragon Tavern was the cherry on top... lots of fun.

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

Meghan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I had an awesome time on this tour. Worth every penny. Our tour guide/bus driver from Great Sights New Zealand was awesome and not only gave us great info on Hobbiton, Waitomo Caves, and things we saw along the way, but also provided wonderful insights on the social issues, politics, history, and economics of New Zealand.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Lucinda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful day primarily because of our driver/guide, Damian. He spent the 3 hour drive to Hobbiton educating the group on the history of New Zealand, including her politics and economy. He was very knowledgeable! The tour of Hobbiton was fun, and Damiam proved to be as knowledgeable as the private guide we had there, Beth. He also shared helpful tips on buying souvenirs. After our visit to the Waitomo Caves, Damian chose a route home that allowed us to see wildlife along the roadside. GREAT!!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Jacqui D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was more than I had hoped for. I loved it. Our bus tour guide was awesome I learned so much I surprised myself. The Hobbiton tour guide was friendly, informative and funny. Awesome

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Nancy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you are a Lord of the Rings fan this tour is your way to see the locations for some of the film. Our guide was very knowledgeable and had pictures of what the scene looks like in the film. Our group did scene reenactments with capes and swords provided. Great fun and worth the money.

Doing what: Glenorchy Movie Locations Tour: The Lord of the Rings

sherlynpinon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is the only way to see Hobbiton! Our driver was friendly and personable. Once we arrived at the movie set our tour guide there was excellent. Early Access means plenty of time to stop and take photos. We didn and #39;t feel rushed and the breakfast was excellent.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

Kevin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was amazing. Hobbiton was such a great experience. The buffet lunch was huge as well! I took a lot of photos from the movie set. It's remarkable how good it all looks. You can't take photos within the Waitomo Caves but that was such a surreal experience to see all of the glow worms. There are a LOT of glow worms too. It was also great to see a lot of the landscapes of New Zealand. Our bus driver Damian was a great guy and gave us a lot of information about the history of New Zealand and the Maori people. This tour was definitely great value for money!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

David D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent job. Geoff, our driver picked us up at our hotel on time. He was pleasant and provided interesting information and was accommodating for us. The actual tour was great. Our guide had a natural enthusiasm for the movies which was also expressed in his part of the tour. I would definitely recommend this tour for someone wanting an easy Hobbit experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Kristin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was just the right amount of time to get the inside scoop on Hobbiton filming and see all the hobbit holes and spend time in the green dragon. Really enjoyed the tour, the bus driver Danny was great and our tour guide was fantastic as well.

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

Alan R B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is an excellent tour and combines not only a fascinating insight into the making of the Hobbit, but also a good dose of beautiful New Zealand countryside. I real highlight of our trip to New Zealand.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Nancy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was evenmore enjoyable than I thought it would be.Our driver Alexander was extremely knowledgeable about New Zealand as well as the Tour itself. Jordan was our guide and she was excellent. I was blessed in that we had only 6 people total on our tour and all of them were friendly and well versed in the movies. This made the tour so enjoyable. The weather held off the rain until we were all finished the tour and at the green dragon having our elevenzees meal. The food was great and we had plently to each plus a drink: choice of one of two beers, or cider or soft drink. I don't know what the tour is like in the summer but the day I went was so enjoyable. I would recommend this tour for anyone who loves the Hobbit movies or Lord of the rings. money well spent.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message