JRR Tolkien's Middle-earth, hometown of the characters in The Lord of the Rings trilogy, comes to life in New Zealand's landscapes thanks to filmmaker Peter Jackson, who set the film series in this stunning country. From the hills of Matamata ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 473 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jason H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide Wayne was absolutely fantastic! I highly recommend him as a guide. He is very knowledgeable about New Zealand and has some awesome stories to keep everyone entertained.
As for the tour, highly recommend this one as well. The early access was a game changer and definitely worth it. The Hobbiton movie set is a very busy place, getting access before the crowds started coming in was worth every penny.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

Andrea M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a fantastic tour. I'm a large fan or The Lord of the Rings, but it would be entertaining for someone who may not be as familiar with the books or movies. We saw beautiful landscapes and learned a lot about how they filmed the movies in each location, and we had a tour of Weta Studios, where we had an exclusive look at the work that goes into making the characters' weapons, clothing, and makeup so magnificent. Plus, we had a great LOTR-inspire lunch! W even learned some fun trivia about the director and actors! This was definitely a worthwhile experience.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

kondapan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Picked up right at 6:30am Was the first to be picked up. There were 10 people in a 14 person van, so it was good. On the drive to Hobbiton and Vic gave a good overview of the schedule for the day and also Dairy farming in NZ. Spent about 2hrs in Hobbiton and Nathaniel was our guide there. He was awesome. We drove for lunch to Rotorua and be prepared that it smells of rotten eggs. Ate a good Chicken Hangi lunch. Had only 1:15min there total. The Phokutu erupted just 5 min before we were slated to get into the van, but we did see it. Quite impressive. Next we drove to Waitomo caves 18 people in 2 vans and had a good cave tour. Drive back was 2.5hrs and was back in the hotel at 7:45pm

Doing what: Hobbiton, Rotorua and Waitomo Caves Day Trip

Phyllis M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Although it was a very long day the trip was great. Our driver Damian was a wealth of knowledge and told us things about NZ the entire bus ride to Hobbiton.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was the best tour of our 27 day cruise. The local guide grew up in the area and new a lot about New Zealand. The tour was on a 12 passenger van. Both Rotorua and Hobbiton were excellent stops. The included lunch was high quality. The cruise line offered separate excursions to each of these stops for about the same price as this tour that went to both of them.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

Charlotte S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Wow, can't say enough about this tour. Hobbiton set is amazing, guide was great, plenty of time to take photos as we walked around. Bus driver didn't allow us any time to shop for souvenirs at the end of the tour so was VERY FRUSTRATING. We actually had to make an itinerary change to go back on our own. Also, Tucker, our bus driver, was very nice but was falling asleep during the drive back to Rotorua. I had to keep talking to him to keep him alert. He crossed the center line a lot! It was scary.

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I loved to see Hobbiton. It is amazing how detailed everything is. Lunch was good as was the ale.
The cave was interesting, but it made for a long day. If you have the time go to the caves, if not only go to Hobbiton.
The hotel pick up went well. I made the reservation before I knew where we were staying. We were within walking distance of Sky City had we known that we would have slept another 1/2 hour and walked to that pick up point.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

David was our driver. He was awesome. Very knowledgeable about New Zealand. He gave us many breaks during our 2 hour trip to Hobbiton which was very nice. My husband and I are huge Lord of the Rings fans so seeing Hobbiton was a dream come true. It is absolutely beautiful there. I actually got a little emotional on the bus driving over the hill to Hobbiton because they were playing scenes and music from the movie and it made it feel so real. It was definitely a hot day and not much shade so bring water and wear sunscreen. Lots of beautiful gardens and flowers so lots of bugs flying around too. The tour guide was also very knowledgeable and even though we had a large group, he allowed us time for photos so we were able to get photos of everything. Included was a free drink at The Green Dragon which was a great ending to a perfect day. Then, on our way home, David stopped off at a gas station where they sold ice cream by the scoop so we could all have some before our long trip back. Definitely one of my favorite days.

Doing what: Full-Day Hobbiton Tour from Auckland

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Such a beautiful, adventure filled day. Jackson and Maddie were our tour guides and made the trip great for us. My husband and I are huge Lord of the Rings fans so it was just so awesome to stand where so many of our favorite scenes were filmed. The tour guides brought photos of the actual scenes so we could literally see exactly where everything was set up, and we learned so many fun extras from filming that makes me super excited to re-watch the movies. The staff was very knowledgeable and made the tour even more fun by bringing a few props for us to use in photos. Then we went to Weta workshop. Wow! Amazing to see the things they have created for so many beloved movies and shows. We even saw one of the world's top sword makers in action. He made all the weapons for Lord of the Rings as well as many others. The people who work for Weta are so proud of their work and have such a huge dedication and talent for what they do, and this was very evident through the tour. Lunch was also included at an awesome beach cafe with a comic book theme. The cast from Lord of the Rings used to eat there many times after filming. Food was great, big portions. By the time we got to Rivendell, it was raining pretty hard but we still spent a lot of time learning about the sets and taking photos. Such beautiful places. Very fun day

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Wendy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic tour ... If you love The Hobbit or Lord of the Rings you will love seeing this movie Set....

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

Ian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great day, long journey but well worth the effort, Hobbiton was just as imagined from the films. David our driver was great, he made us welcome and gave some commentry enroute. A great day out

Doing what: Full-Day Hobbiton Tour from Auckland

Leanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour even if you aren't a Lord of the Rings fan as the lookout was great. We had mist covering Wellington the first time we went to the lookout so we went back later when the fog had lifted. Great tour guide and really enjoyed the Weta workshop.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Teresa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Hobbiton is the most charming place on earth! Delicious lunch, too! Really enjoyed the Waitomo Caves part of the tour as well!! The only downer was our grouchy tour guide/driver, Brian. He even made one woman cry!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

rhitebrown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic! I absolutely loved Hobbiton Movie set. It was so charming and much more than I expected. Worth every penny.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Kenneth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a wonderful experience and the fulfillment of a dream for us. Our driver Mike was first class, friendly and knowledgeable. The tour of Hobbiton was conducted by a different guide but Mike stayed with us. The provided lunch was way better than we expected. It was a very nice buffet. The only issue was that one couple brought an infant with them who yelled and screamed for much of the day. I would suggest that this be discouraged since the child was way too young for this type of tour. However, all in all, this tour was the highlight of our brief visit to Auckland.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

norristara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I enjoyed this tour. It was divided up into a trip into the woods behind Wellington with pictures and descriptions of what happened in the Lord of The Rings. The other part was taken by a trip to the animation/film effects studios, I found it a real insight into the cinema industry in New Zealand, but also an eye opener because a lot of work is done internationally on very well known films.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Half Day Tour

Jacqueline B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour! Our bus guide, Damien, was phenomenal and enraptured everyone with his tale-telling and share of culture of New Zealand. The only thing I would change is that the people in our group didn't necessarily keep up or went ahead so we missed some vital information.

Our guide in Hobbitown, Georgia, was great and patient.

In the caves, we could have spent more time, but still a good experience.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Samuel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Linton, our bus guide was very informative, pleasant as was our guide at Hobbiton,
A wonderful tour!

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

Iva M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

One of the best tours we've done while cruising around New Zealand. We first went to Te Puia where we've seen geyser and Maori performance, both very good. The highlight of the tour was hobbiton movie set. Really beautiful and worth seeing even for people that are not LOTR fans.
To reach both destinations and come back to the port we travelled for quite some time in a mini bus with very knowledgeable driver who told us a lot about the area and New Zealand in general during the drive.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

Hannah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

AMAZING tour!!!!! Both the glow worms and Hobbiton were highlights of my New Zealand trip. Would HIGHLY recommend to anyone and everyone!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Nidhi Tina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Highly recommend this tour. It's a must see for all LOR and Hobbit movie fans. The gysers and mud pools were also phenomenal. Our tour guide Grant from Zeelandier tours was amazing and provided lots of details about the sights and general commentary on the Country's Maori history, geography, leading industries etc. He was well informed and kept the audience engaged. He was also quite funny with his anecdotes and stories. We were picked up and dropped off at the cruise terminal well within the timelines.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

Amelia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was above and beyond! Damion, the driver, provided detailed and interesting commentary throughout the drive. He touched on Maori/early settler conflicts, culture and government, native flora and fauna, and a bit about kiwi way of life. He was fantastic! And, the glow worm caves and hobbiton set were each magical in their own way :

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Bridget B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic, very well organised and really nice people on the tour as well. Guide was informative and Hobbiton was an unmissable experience. Loved it!

Doing what: Full-Day Hobbiton Tour from Auckland

Amy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The time spent in transit was worth it! Our guide, Ramon, was fantastic! This is a great tour if you have limited time as you do get to see a lot! Hobbiton is massive and is great for photo ops, Waitomo is very tranquil and when you and #39;re in Te Puia eat your lunch quickly so you can see everything!

Doing what: Hobbiton, Rotorua and Waitomo Caves Day Trip

ktdickerso

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This trip packed in a lot into one day which was perfect for our family. We had only four days in Auckland so this trip was one of the true highlights. The caves and glowworms in Waitomo were truly unique and fascinating. The thermal features and geysers in Roturua were awesome and we were able to see the main geyser erupt - which it does every few hours or so. Lastly, Hobbiton is bigger than your would expect and great for taking pictures. While you spend a fair amount of time on the bus for one day, seeing three great sites in one day makes it worth it. It is an efficient use of time if you are on a schedule. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Hobbiton, Rotorua and Waitomo Caves Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message