Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Middle-earth, dreamed up by J.R.R Tolkien, is the hometown of the characters in The Lord of the Rings trilogy. Thanks to New Zealand film-maker Peter Jackson, Middle-earth came alive with Jackson's use of New Zealand's visually stunning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 341 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Malou Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour is the highlight of our New Zealand trip. Starting off with the hotel pickup, we were picked up on time based on the first email they sent. The driver/tour guide of our whole day trip I forgot his name is very informative, kind and approachable. He gave us lots of information while we were on the coach bus. My sisters and I were amazed when we learned that he is just on the job for 2 weeks but knows a lot of information.
The Hobbiton location is really a very nice tourist spot. The place is really taken cared of and has amazing views. We had a lot of pictures and the people who saw our pictures in social media were delighted to see them and I had some friends who asked me about the place and they also want to visit NZ too in the future.
The Glowworm cave is also an amazing area and who could've imagined that there could be creatures in a cave which glow like stars. During our boat ride, we were all in awe watching the thousand glow worms which look like stars at night.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Danhya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour, the ride is a little boring but Hobbiton and the Caves make it worth it. The lunch at Hobbiton is superb!! Pack snacks for the ride home ahhaah highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

ccwa29 Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour! We enjoyed everything! Tour guide/bus driver was very friendly and informative. Seats on the coach bus was very comfy. Buffet lunch was very good! The hobbiton tour was alot fun. We wished the boat ride for the glowworm caves were longer but still very cool experience! No photo taking inside the caves tho! Book this tour is you want to do both attractions in one day!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a complete package and worth the day. First, Damian, our driver, was excellent. He provided an excellent presentation of the culture and politics of New Zealand. Background you probably will never get on a tour and made it all the better. He also gave a complete background history of the Hobbit area from start to the present, more than we were provided by the tour guide at the location she was excellent too, more later. The Hobbiton set was magical, being a long fan of the adventures of the Hobbits. Our guide was excellent, filling in on the background and set features that Damián missed. The complementary Hobbit beer, Cider, or Ginger beer was excellent as was the buffet lunch provided. On to the Caves, a short but excellent tour showing the cavers and glow worms that hang from the ceiling we were told they weren't worms but sounded better than glow roaches :-.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

ash.oliver1289

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Hobbiton was a lot of fun and seeing the glow-worms in the Waitomo Caves was definitely something I'll never forget. You also get to see a lot of the surrounding areas and countryside while you are driving to and from the sights.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Erika L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Worth Every penny!
We went on a drive through the beautiful landscape of New Zealand's North Island, with our bus driver as our tour guide. He was so funny and informative. Hobbiton was absolutely a sight to see. The lunch buffet was alright, I'm a bit of a food snob so I'm not the best person to talk about that. And the Waitomo caves were indescribable, something you have to see in your life time! 100 worth it, Don't do Hobbiton without going to see the Waitomo Caves!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Benjamin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip was AMAZING!!! My husband and I went on this tour on the 4th October 2016. The guide for the trip down from Auckland was great and provided us with many interesting facts about the Auckland area and the Maroi culture. You also get picked up from your hotel which was very convenient. We only had 13 people on our tour at Hobbiton while most other tours running at the same time had 45 people so we definitely felt like we got a more in depth experience. Would highly recommend to any Lord of the Rings fans.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Nancy S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fabulous -- Sam, our guide at Hobbiton, had a lot of interesting things to tell us about the movie set. Our driver/guide knew a lot about New Zealand and the areas we traveled through. The weather was gorgeous. Definitely worth experiencing.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Mitche227

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fabulous tour. By arriving before the regular tours began, our small group had private access to the entire Hobbiton which provided us with unobstructed views and excellent photos. We also had a delicious private breakfast in the Green Dragon. Though I initially thought that this tour was expensive, it turned out to be worth every dollar. Our coach driver David who drove us from our Auckland hotel was extremely pleasant and our Hobbiton tour guide Hugh was very accomendating in taking whatever photos we requested. My wife and I highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

Stephanie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

5 stars just isn't enough if you are a LOTR fan. Was literally giddy with excitement at seeing Hobbiton with my own eyes. Best part, hands down, was having a beer in the Green Dragon. I would visit this tour the next time I'm in New Zealand. Tour guide was knowledgeable, bus driver was beyond excellent in his information about the country. I was well impressed.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Everything about this trip was great. Our guide Mike was incredibly knowledgeable and enthusiastic. He had a wealth of information to help us relate the scenery we were seeing to its part in the films. We had great fun hiding in the hobbit hole and wearing swords and cloaks in Rivendell for some great pictures. Lunch at Scorchorama was very tasty and the end of the trip finished nicely with coffee and cakes. The Weta cave tour was also very good. Overall, great value for money and a great day out. Ask for Mike and you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Sandra H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Pick up was a little late, but thoroughly enjoyed the tour. The meal at Hobbiton was especially good, nice hot meal, not merely a lunch.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Sheldon United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is the only way to see the Hobbiton movie set. Our guide Tony was very informative, friendly, and helpful. Being able to access the movie set before it is flooded with tourists taking in the beauty being untouched for the day not to mention having people in your pictures. Access to Hobbit holes not on the normal tour and breakfast in the Green Dragon Inn was an added bonus. Highly recommend this tour to anyone serious about a quality experience.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

lesashowers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour was nicknamed Laura of the Rings and it was very appropriate. We had an amazing tour guide, Laura, who definitely had a passion for the books and movies. She was able to share so much information about the filming and we had a ton of fun scouting out the film locations and doing some scene reenactments! My 15 year old son said this was his favorite tour and we had even visited Hobbiton!

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Alison J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the highlights of the trip thankfully as it was quite expensive!. There was some confusion in the morning. Our tickets said 7:30am so we checked out from our accommodation early with our toddler and rushed to the bus stop 20 minute walk as our accommodation wasn't on their list with a broken suitcase thanks Jetstar only to discover that for some reason the tour was at 8am and we had to wait 45mins.

We went to Hobbiton first I thought we were going to Waitomo caves first as per the itinerary on the site which seemed to make more sense for those going to Rotorua later. There's a short time to buy souvenirs at the shop, but they tended to be really expensive or cheap junk, there wasn't much middle ground. Hobbiton was fantastic, and the weather was beautiful which helped us enjoy it. We would have liked more time there, but all of the tour groups have a limited time as there are so many people. It looked like every session was full!

We had a fantastic lunch catering to our dietary requirements in a special tea party tent, it was great.

The tour guide was also kind and good value, we learnt a lot from him and this helped the trip be a success.

The caves were spectacular, we were in awe. Make sure you have a song in mind to sing in the caves!

Overall, it's a good way to get a lot done in one day without the stress/fatigue of doing all of the driving yourself. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Philip K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is worth every penny. Our small group was the first to enter the Hobbiton movie set and remained in front of the pack of tourists behind us. Plenty of time was allowed for pictures and the tour guide was informative and happy to help with pictures. Very good quality breakfast at the Green Dragon and bonus facts about New Zealand from our driver. Would've liked a little more time at the Green Dragon instead of a stop on the way back to Auckland for ice cream.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set

Pick Chin N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Hobbiton is like fantasy land - so colourful and magical! Both the lady driver and tour guide were informative and pleasant. The tour was well organized and lunch was good - highly recommended!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Ruth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A perfect birthday gift for my husband; a die-hard Tolkien fan. The detail of the set is remarkable. Children would be wholly convinced the hobbits are indoors hiding from visitors. Even the lettuces were ready to pick. A long day from Auckland but worth it.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: The Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Timothy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good value for money. We had a great guide with a lot of passion and knowledge of the Lord of the Rings and the movies in general, it made a huge difference to the tour. Request someone who is a Lotr fan for the best experience.

Doing what: Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch

Marcela P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Hobbitton tour was amazing our guide rocked. Awesome! We went June 29.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

beth.moreland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you have only a short amount of time, this tour is a great way to see a whole lot of fantastic sites outside of Auckland. Every item on this tour was completely worth seeing, but the highlights for me were the glow-worm caves, the duck boat tour, Te Puia geothermal area, and definitely the Hobbiton movie set. This tour is a fantastic value, especially considering almost every attraction you visit will include a private guide. Throw in the transportation, meals, and overnight accommodations and you've got a winner. Definitely recommend this tour.

Be aware that this tour is actually a variety of different small tours, with different guests, drivers, and even buses, all pieced together into one itinerary - but it was all coordinated very well. I tip my hat to the agency who coordinated my itinerary, Discover New Zealand, as the information they gave me was very detailed and accurate and it worked well.

Doing what: 2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland

Claudia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Definitely a must see! Our guide was very knowledgeable, entertaining, and gave us a great deal of information about New Zealand and its peculiarities. We were expecting a boring drive for hours, but he made it very interesting. We also appreciated his honesty, integrity, and people skills. The country side in New Zealand is gorgeous, and the Lord of the Rings movie set is unbelievable! We travel a lot, but this is something unique and we didn't expect to see what we saw. Gorgeous is not enough to describe it! The caves are very nice too, very quiet, peaceful, and it's unbelievable how the warms can glow! They really look like a bunch of led lights inside the caves. I wish we could take pictures inside them.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

ROSAIDA T B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing tour! Everything was great - the driver, the tour guides, the lunch and of course the tour itself of both the Hobbiton movie set and the Waitomo caves. The only thing I would wish for is a longer time at the Hobbiton so we can appreciate the place longer because it was really fantastic!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

dave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed our visit to Hobbiton. Our bus driver was fun to talk with, our guide was awesome, the scenery was breathtaking, and the village a lot of fun. Our time in the Green Dragon Tavern was the cherry on top... lots of fun.

Doing what: 'Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

Meghan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I had an awesome time on this tour. Worth every penny. Our tour guide/bus driver from Great Sights New Zealand was awesome and not only gave us great info on Hobbiton, Waitomo Caves, and things we saw along the way, but also provided wonderful insights on the social issues, politics, history, and economics of New Zealand.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message