Visiting the islands of New Zealand by cruise ship takes the guesswork out of traveling between the South Pacific nation's islands. Book shore excursions to make the most of your time and visit multiple coastal cities. North Island Visitors ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 648 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

brendangregory

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Best Tour of the Trip to New Zealand......an absolute must do......Super flexible operator due to slow disembaration from the cruise operator.....but this tour operator went above and beyond to make sure that we had a wonderful day......very professional and would recommend to everyone.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

andrew a Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Rotorua sights were great.. Village tour outstanding.
Reasonable cost and the tour was professionally organised.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Andrew L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Highly recommended! The trip from Akaroa which was a very pretty seaside village, worth investigating on its own to Christchurch was about an hour over the top of a volcanic rim and very pretty, while the Christchurch City Tour was very interesting and showed the determination and resourcefulness of the city in rebuilding after the massive earthquake almost six years ago. An absolute highlight was the International Antarctic Centre with a ride in a Haglund snow mobile and the 4D movie experience, together with the snow experience room and a close encounter with the penguins. Both the coach driver and the Antarctic Centre guide were very informative and a credit to the tourism industry on NZ. We loved it.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Sandy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a great time on this tour - the Antarctic Centre was one of the highlights of our entire trip, our kids loved it. We had a fantastic tour guide who was extremely informative - he gave a running commentary for the whole trip which was really interesting. We had a short tour around the earthquake affected areas of Christchurch, and then on to the Antarctic Centre. The reenactment of an Antarctic blizzard was very fun but very cold!!.

Just a word of warning - It's a 1.5 bus trip from Akaroa to Christchurch along very windy roads. If you suffer from motion sickness, you should definitely take medicine before the trip, make sure you sit towards the front and bring a sick bag in case you throw up on the trip as happened on our tour!.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Stephen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Well organised, had a great day on the Train to Taieri Gorge, thoroughly enjoyed it. Bus tour of city was also pretty darn good. Trip through the gorge was beautiful, lovely scenery. A must do tour if you a visitor to Dunedin.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

philip c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mum needed assistance with walking . Steve the driver already knew and was so helpful with an extra step into the bus and a wheelchair at the main visitor area . We had a fantastic day with options when others more mobile were able to go over rough or steep paths. Great views, stops , commentary with inside local knowledge. Comfortable informative and fun. Phil from Ballarat

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

philip c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We loved this tour and the commentary from Simon the driver. Local knowledge makes travelling and exploring so interesting. The beautiful rose garden and the info about the quakes and capital outstanding . Remarkable scenery and views. John from Victoria

Doing what: Wellington Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Tour

john b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

if you have to one off your bucket list this is a must do .stunning scenery with rivers running through gorges ..old fashioned train carriages with toilets and buffet on board ...much needed as this tour is nearly 5 hours return trip ...leaves from dunedin station a must see also even if not doing trip

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Teresa F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really good tour, but a little bit more time in Christchurch would help.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

stitcherviv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A good value tour for the visitor spending little time in the City and wishing to experience the highlights. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Wellington Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Tour

michaelkinsley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide/driver was great! We started out by visiting a kiwi farm and admiring all the vines. Next, we went to a park with turbulent waterfalls and rushing rapids where students learned how to handle kayaks and rafts. We stopped for lunch at a waterside cafe, and then drove through a redwood grove where there were walkways between trees! The highlight of the tour was a visit to the Maori village. We had a resident tour guide there who walked us through the whole village and explained how the residents used all the geothermal pools for everything from cooking to bathing. The visit was wrapped up with a wonderful show of Maori singing and dancing. We ended the day with a great surprise: a kiwi tasting picnic by a lake filled with black swans. The gold kiwi fruit was delicious, as were the candies and biscuits/cookies. We felt totally spoiled! Then we drove back to the ship in Tauranga, with plenty of time to board for our departure.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a fantastic trip with our guide Stephen from Zealander Tours. He did extra bits including bringing different food from NZ. Also showed us water falls which coincided with rafters coming down. Very patient, caring and knowledgable man. Would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Denis M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An excellent tour. Bus driver was outstanding ... thanks Duncan. Friendly and helpful. Rotorua sights were great.. Village tour outstanding.
Reasonable cost and the tour was professionally organised. We had a great day.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Marilynne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

great way to see the city

Doing what: Auckland Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Yvonne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great trip along the gorge on the railway. Spectacular scenery. Pity about the rain. Excellent coach tour around the city with great commentary from the driver. Returned to the harbour in plenty of time to reboard our cruise. Don't pay cruise prices take this tour instead.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

ron.wright2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic views from the train on this trip and some great old style carrages as well. Another well organised trip with a good guide.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

KAREN P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved this tour .

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Lelia Ann B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The driver of our bus was excellent, pointing out some sights on the way to Rotorua and actually stopping at other sights along the way. The xtra time at a small cafe on the shore of Lake Rotorua, where we bought lunch, gave us just enough time to admire the lake and walk around before departing to an AUTHENTIC Maori village in an active volcanic area not one constructed for the tourists. Our Maori tour guide actually lived in the village and demonstrated how they actually cook in volcanic vents and how they bathed in the volcanic water. They put on a show for us in a tent singing and dancing. Very entertaining! After the show we were scheduled to leave but our bus driver alerted us that a geyser we had viewed earlier was erupting and he held the bus up so we could double back to see the eruption!
All in all, it was a LONG day but well worth the money! Would Highly Recommend This Tour!

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

amandamccloskey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour, very relaxing and well organised. No issue being picked up by the coach and dropped back off again. Driver kept the commentary going and felt as though we got a good overview of Dunedin.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

marysuen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The trip to the International Antarctic Centre was terrific. We were pleased to go to Christchurch but felt so much for the people who suffered the earthquake 5 years ago. Would have loved more time in Botanical Gardens and Museum.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

CHRISTOPHER J B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Had a brilliant day! All organisation was excellent but the highlight of the trip was the Antarctic Centre.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

mazza562001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Good tour , enjoyed the train ride and loved our tour of the city .

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message