Visiting the islands of New Zealand by cruise ship takes the guesswork out of traveling between the South Pacific nation's islands. Book shore excursions to make the most of your time and visit multiple coastal cities. North Island Visitors ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 721 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Margaret M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour ! Really saw a lot of the beautiful countryside on the way into Christchurch. Tour guide did a great job taking us to the various places in Christchurch and explaining areas in depth - with a wide knowledge and deep feeling for the area

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Brian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a wonderful trip....spectacular scenery and expert commentary. Richard took us on a very comprehensive tour of the sights of Dunedin after the train trip.
This excursion was excellent value for money and less than half the cost of the similar tours organised by the cruise ship.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Margaret S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

6 of us did this trip and our driver was great. We also enjoyed the Antarctic exhibition . It was great to see Christchurch rebuilding but it still had beautiful flowers and plenty to offer. We were extremely sad to hear of the bush fires and the death of such a brave helicopter pilot. Would recommend this to any one visiting New Zealand. My apologies for forgetting driver's name have had a senior moment once again Marg from Brisbane

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

amishrn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour was fine. It was a rainy day so was not able to see all the gardens. Liked that it came every 30 minutes instead of every hour. I like the hop on hop off buses as you get a great overview of the city. It was very convenient to the cruise ship terminal.

Doing what: Auckland Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Rhonda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Dunedin - what a town - we will be back! The excursion undertaken was one of the highlights to New Zealand, it was value for money, not rushed and our driver 'Richard' was exceptionally knowledgeable and conveyed it in a way that everyone could understand he must have been a radio announcer in a previous life. we would recommend this excursion to any traveller.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

scar13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Just breathtaking , the scenery was wonderful, the explanation of what we were seeing was excellent. The volunteers were very helpful and keen to assist with food advise and selling of souveniers. Great tour for young and old alike. Great fun, thank you

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

peter l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent day with great driver.

Doing what: Wellington Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Tour

Gifford T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is the tour to go on, especially if you like trains. Great views of the countryside. Train was comfortable. You probably get more history of the area than possible any other way. Also the city sightseeing was most informative.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Kaz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The bus driver was great, it was a great tour route and we enjoyed the whole thing

Doing what: Wellington Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Tour

Kaz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Loved this trip. The Maori village was fabulous. The driver was knowledgeable and informative and made the day.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

james m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

One of the best tours we've had in a long while guides at hot springs were brilliant driver very informative and professionall would highly recommend

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Vanessa K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

One of our favourite stops on our recent cruise. This tour was awesome, the living Maori village is amazing, and the cultural performance a must do.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Stephen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We had Phillip as our tour guide. As it turned-out, we were the only tour participants. Phillip took us to all the great sites in Rotorua plus a couple of hidden gems on the way back to Tauranga. The time spent at each location was perfect. We saw geysers, Maori, kiwi farm, redwood forest, lake and waterfalls. The cafe by the lake was beautiful and the food reasonably priced. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great Tour. Just as described. Viator staff will wait for you even if you are delayed getting off the ship. We got to see more than the ship's tour and a lot less expensive. Viator is the only way to go!!

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

tayoc2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent day highlighted by visit to Maori Village and tour by 'Chief'. Very good presentation of Maori dancing and singing.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Wendy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Even though it was a wet and windy day ... Very informative tour and great highlights of Wellington.

Doing what: Wellington Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Tour

Bichvan N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It is raining almost all day in summer! Driver and tour guide are pleasant and informative, we experienced in their cultures and enjoyed the show very much!

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Dan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Learned a lot from this shore excursion

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Yves A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour is very comprehensive, the tour host Dave was absolutely brillant, explaining everything in minute details, I would recommend this tour to anyone that is seeking well informed narration and knowledgeable descriptions of places and events.
Dave you were impecable and you won our friendship.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

rr.dukes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an excellent trip with splendid views of the Taieri Gorge and River. The train was a very comfortable refurbished 1937 carriage with excellent commentary throughout the trip. Our bus driver also was very informative and gave a great tour of the city and history.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

sukhanna5

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Thr tour was informative. The driver was knowledgable. Only problem was the weather. Due to the level of the river we had to change our day. There was a cold spell so summer in New Zealand was cold and raining. Had to change the Jet Boat trip to a trip to the Antarctic Center which was great. We got a back door tour of the center from a very helpful quide. The day was a little rushed due to changes in our cruise ship times and seemed a little chaotic initially when we got to the meeting spot. We got the change in cost back during the day as the Antarctic center was less expensive. Sorry the weather and the river were not cooperative. Would recommend the Antarctic Center. Know nothing about it until be got there. Did not even think about being close to the Antarctic in New Zealand.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River

co1eagle United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Well worth doing the Hop-On Hop-Off bus tour. Got to see much of Auckland.

Doing what: Auckland Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Leslie Clive M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The booking, pick-ups and drop-offs all went very smoothly. Shame the weather didn't assist also, rained most of the day so a few of the stops were non-events as it was too wet to alight from the coach. The drivers on both the blue and red lines were very friendly and had helpful advice for us when we were looking for a specialty shop. A great way to get a general feel for the city of Auckland.

Doing what: Auckland Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message