You’ll find it hard not to be impressed at the opulence of The Breakers, the crown jewel of the Newport cottages. The 70-room four-story mansion was the summer estate of Cornelius Vanderbilt II, the grandson of railroad tycoon Commodore Vanderbilt. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Patricia M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Although we received a last minute text message that the 10 am tour was cancelled and we should re-book on the 11 am tour, that was the only downside to this great tour. Our guide provided lots of insight into the history of the Newport area and took us to locations that are not normally included in a typical tour. We ended our excursion at The Breakers mansion. It was awesome and we were able to do a self-guided tour of this fabulous and ornate summer cottage. We definitely got our money's worth.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Mary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had fabulous weather and really enjoyed the bus tour around Newport. Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable and entertaining. We then toured The Breakers and Rosecliff. I love this stuff but, truthfully, 2 or 3 mansions is all you need!

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Jean S C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This Tour was Amazing, Wonderful and Gorgeous The Breakers, you won and #39;t want to miss this great opportunity to see The Vanderbilt Family mansion.
Highly Recommended....

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was picked up on time and in an easy to find location near the tourist office. Since I was the only person on this tour, I was picked up in a white van and taken to the two mansions that I wanted to see. I chose the Breakers and the Chateau-sur-Meur. Both were great contrasts to see and then the tour guide took me to my hotel. We did drive around Newport, but I was advised to wait until the next day, as I would be taking the tour with the same tour company, but with a trolley for better view of Newport. Overall, a very nice day.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I really liked this tour. Was scheduled for 10:00 am departure and was picked up by Nate, the tour guide. He did a great job driving us around and letting us take in the views of the ocean drive and we even did a snack stop at an old fort. The second half of the tour we were given tickets for a mansion tour and allowed to go to which ever ones we chose. Since I had seen the Breakers the day before, I picked the Marble House and the Rosecliff. Both were great to see. Well done!

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Barbara A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We loved this tour. The general tour of the city was very good and then we
visited The Breakers and The Elms and loved them both. All arrangements
by the tour company were handled very nicely.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Dennis B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was very knowledgable and friendly. His willingness to share personal stories added much to the stoc background info which was also worthwhile. The Breakers speaks for itself as a completely WOW experience, and the self- guided tour was exactly what we were looking for

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Kathleen N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We booked a tour of the Breakers and the Marble House and a bus tour of the mansions. The driver was terrific with lots of informative and funny stories. Our tour was in a little van type vehicle and was just myself and my friend so we got lots of attention. The Mansion tours were unbelievable....just gorgeous,

Doing what: Newport Ocean Drive Sightseeing Tour

Steve P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Good tour of the Newport area and insights into the history behind the mansions. Also took the tour of the Breakers and Elms mansions - both were very informative. Would suggest the addition of the tour behind the scenes at the Elms to see how the servants worked. Tours take a good 2-3 hours each so plan accordingly - we were able to work this over two days since the tour tickets do not expire. Great experience!

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

talexan535

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My fiancee and myself went on this tour and it was excellent ! The van was spotless.The tour guide was excellent and very well informed. The drive along Ocean Drive was beautiful.
We went on to tour The Breakers and Marble House ..it was very beautiful, informative and was so very ostentatious.
Newport is full of history and how much wealth and privilege some acquired at that moment in time.
Will definitely return !

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

desertsusie1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The enjoyed our tour of Ocean Drive Newport RI. The minivan held 10 passengers so we were not in a large, cumbersome group. We visited two mansions individually as part of our tour. The driver dropped us at Breakers and we had tickets for bus transport to the next mansion and back to the port. We had a great tour and a fun day at Newport.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Driver was really nice and really knew his stuff. Lots of cool information and a nice tour. BREAKERS!!!!!!!!!!! was epic and really worth every penny.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Jean W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This is the standard mansion tour we pre-booked to ensure the tours were not sold out on a beautiful fall weekend with cruise ships in town. The tour covers the Bellevue mansion area only. It allows a visit to one or two mansions depending on your preference. We toured the always fabulous Breakers and the veru unusual Marble House. Tickets are supplied for the return trip to the visitors center.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Thomas S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great fun seeing the Newport mansions from the gilded age. The tour guide was knowledgeable and helpful. We visited the Breakers and Rosecliff. A nice glimpse into a by gone era.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Judith W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The overview and the guide were great. We were left and Breakers- great - but no one ever came to take us to the next mansion- marble house. Again no one came. We had to take public transportation twice. 4.00 extra per person Not a great thing.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Marion S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The only glitch was that the pick-up after the breakers was not definitive enuf. We apent a good 20-30 minutes I the hot sun looking for our ride to the next house. Nathan was very knowledgeable ad enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Anne C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Very nice tour. We drove around for about an hour and half and then we were dropped off at the mansion that we picked to tour. And then when done, we had a pickup at the mansion and taken back to the Visitors Ctr. Our guide was full of facts and anecdotes surrounding the area and the wealthy families of the 'Gilded Age'. We picked the single mansion tour and saw The Breakers which was amazing! I would definitely recommend the Viator tour.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

jpb141

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The Breakers tour was very good but unfortunately when we arrived there, we were delayed 10 to 15 min.
to start the tour because of a new employee not knowin how to give us our tickets. Therefore, we had to cut the tour short as your van was picking us up in 45 min. to take us back to the center.
The Ocean Drive portion was excellent and Bellevue Ave. mansions was excellent. The tour guide was
friendly, helful and knowledgable!!
Thank you

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Tracey C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The guided tour on Ocean Drive was great. The driver was knowledgable and friendly. Only con - he was bashing the president which was inappropriate. He dropped us at The Breakers and we did not realize we had to use the public buses to get to our next mansion and back. The buses were overcrowded.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Daria H

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

First part was quite good. Nate was a great guide. The last part was not good. The literature leads one to believe that one can chose 2 mansions to see from the ones listed. Not true. One HAS to be the Breakers. We chose the Bell house as our second. Got to the mansion and the next tour would not start until 15 minutes before we would be picked up. The driver was nice and took us to our next choice...same thing there. Bottomline we paid to 2 mansions and saw none that we really wanted to. Did see the Breakers which we had seen before.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Karen F

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The Breakers was fantastic. The driving tour showed hard to see mansions behind fences and hedges passed at lightning speed. Not what I had hoped for. The tour guide was knowledgeable.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Rita W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The tour was just mediocre. First of all, it had not been made clear to us that the van would not provide our transportation back to the visitor center, and that we were on our own to hop the local bus it was a cold street corner wait with nowhere to sit while waiting. The van ride itself was very bumpy for some reason ? schock absorbers.The tour operator and guide were fairly knowledgeable, but a little confused as to the route, etc. We did enjoy the tour of The Breakers. Next time we would probably go directly to the mansions and forget the tour.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

amartin1951

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

The first bus the guy pulled up and we explained our time was for 11am, two mansion tour. But because of the weather our ship was leaving at 330pm. We felt he did not try to accomadate us so we could get to do two mansion tour. We ended up only doing one mansion tour the Breakers. Since the ship was leaving early he should have tried to accomadate us. We were at the bus stop at 1000 to see if we could go early to get our money's worth but his attitude was Oh well that is the way it is someone will be here later to pick you up, and you might have to miss some of your tour. Won't book with this company anymore.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message