No visit to Newport is complete without seeing the city’s magnificent collection of mansions, built by the wealthiest New York families with names like Astor and Vanderbilt, who in the late 19th century chose Newport as their summer resort. These ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 58 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Patricia M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Although we received a last minute text message that the 10 am tour was cancelled and we should re-book on the 11 am tour, that was the only downside to this great tour. Our guide provided lots of insight into the history of the Newport area and took us to locations that are not normally included in a typical tour. We ended our excursion at The Breakers mansion. It was awesome and we were able to do a self-guided tour of this fabulous and ornate summer cottage. We definitely got our money's worth.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Dennis T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The mansions are the real deal and kept in wonderfully authentic condition. Well worth the time and .

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Reba K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour of the mansions. Wonderful guide and the coach ride was very pleasant as well.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Pratik J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome trip . The mansions are beautiful. Will visit again.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Adelheid R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was great and we saw very nice mansions. The tour guide gave us a lot of interesting information. We enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

jeanmelcher

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour of Newport with Ocean Drive and mansions. Driver did a great tour and we had an enjoyable day!

Doing what: Newport Ocean Drive Sightseeing Tour

Diane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Everything went very well. Our guide was charming and informative. We learned a lot and enjoyed the amazing mansions and the ocean view drive.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Mary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had fabulous weather and really enjoyed the bus tour around Newport. Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable and entertaining. We then toured The Breakers and Rosecliff. I love this stuff but, truthfully, 2 or 3 mansions is all you need!

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Mary Ann D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We did the tour plus 2 mansions. Nate, our driver and tour guide, was very personable and funny. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Debbie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great! Our driver, Nate, was extremely knowledgeable about the area and history. Beautiful views of the mansions and ocean. Great recommendations for dining in Newport from Nate as well. I would definitely take this tour again so that I could tour the mansions as well, didn't have time this trip.

Doing what: Newport Ocean Drive Sightseeing Tour

radiotowers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

There are NOT ENOUGH Stars to do this Tour Justice! Our Trolley Driver and Guide NATE
was A --- He did an Outstanding Job and was very accommodating to make our Mansion
Tour Along Ocean Drive a real educational and informative experience! Try It You Will Like it!
Bill K - Pennsylvania

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Jean S C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This Tour was Amazing, Wonderful and Gorgeous The Breakers, you won and #39;t want to miss this great opportunity to see The Vanderbilt Family mansion.
Highly Recommended....

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Douglas M New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The driver/guide was very informative. Departure was on time. The mansions were great to see and the coastal scenery was magnificent. We had a 10 minute stop at a point where there were several kites flying which made a great picture.

Doing what: Newport Ocean Drive Sightseeing Tour

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was picked up on time and in an easy to find location near the tourist office. Since I was the only person on this tour, I was picked up in a white van and taken to the two mansions that I wanted to see. I chose the Breakers and the Chateau-sur-Meur. Both were great contrasts to see and then the tour guide took me to my hotel. We did drive around Newport, but I was advised to wait until the next day, as I would be taking the tour with the same tour company, but with a trolley for better view of Newport. Overall, a very nice day.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I really liked this tour. Was scheduled for 10:00 am departure and was picked up by Nate, the tour guide. He did a great job driving us around and letting us take in the views of the ocean drive and we even did a snack stop at an old fort. The second half of the tour we were given tickets for a mansion tour and allowed to go to which ever ones we chose. Since I had seen the Breakers the day before, I picked the Marble House and the Rosecliff. Both were great to see. Well done!

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Jean P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was awesome. Our driver, Gene, was a native of Newport and knew everything about the town. The mansions were beautiful.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Mark K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Breaker Mansion was awesome! Fog along Ocean Drive prevented us from see much. Driver/tour guide was ok. Mansion tour was the best part and worth the price.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

sean m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide was excellent informative and funny . Mansions were amazing

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Kathleen N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We booked a tour of the Breakers and the Marble House and a bus tour of the mansions. The driver was terrific with lots of informative and funny stories. Our tour was in a little van type vehicle and was just myself and my friend so we got lots of attention. The Mansion tours were unbelievable....just gorgeous,

Doing what: Newport Ocean Drive Sightseeing Tour

Dr frank

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The bus tour and walking tours 2 Mansions went well--learned about the people of the past, their thought process and what they wanted in the their lives to be shared by their family and friends. Tour with LIVE people were the best-- the interaction, ability to ask questions, and be challenged was a major draw. Recorded tours are OK- less costly for sure, but may not add to the P and L in the long run.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

George G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful time. Rained every day, but did not care. Mansions were beautiful. Currently re-paving major downtown street. Everybody was extremely friendly.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Steve P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Good tour of the Newport area and insights into the history behind the mansions. Also took the tour of the Breakers and Elms mansions - both were very informative. Would suggest the addition of the tour behind the scenes at the Elms to see how the servants worked. Tours take a good 2-3 hours each so plan accordingly - we were able to work this over two days since the tour tickets do not expire. Great experience!

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Cheryl H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The man who drove the van and his helper were very knowledgeable and helpful!! The mansions which we got to see 3 of them were very interesting, we even entered more numbers into audio tour to get more information on different areas of interest.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

desertsusie1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The enjoyed our tour of Ocean Drive Newport RI. The minivan held 10 passengers so we were not in a large, cumbersome group. We visited two mansions individually as part of our tour. The driver dropped us at Breakers and we had tickets for bus transport to the next mansion and back to the port. We had a great tour and a fun day at Newport.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Patricia M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A lovely tour of Newport and its historic mansions. Our tour guide was outstanding - shared facts and humorous details. A great shore excursion.

Doing what: Newport Ocean Drive Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message