No visit to Newport is complete without seeing the city’s magnificent collection of mansions, built by the wealthiest New York families with names like Astor and Vanderbilt, who in the late 19th century chose Newport as their summer resort. These ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 40 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Debbie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great! Our driver, Nate, was extremely knowledgeable about the area and history. Beautiful views of the mansions and ocean. Great recommendations for dining in Newport from Nate as well. I would definitely take this tour again so that I could tour the mansions as well, didn't have time this trip.

Doing what: Newport Ocean Drive Sightseeing Tour

radiotowers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

There are NOT ENOUGH Stars to do this Tour Justice! Our Trolley Driver and Guide NATE
was A --- He did an Outstanding Job and was very accommodating to make our Mansion
Tour Along Ocean Drive a real educational and informative experience! Try It You Will Like it!
Bill K - Pennsylvania

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Jean S C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This Tour was Amazing, Wonderful and Gorgeous The Breakers, you won and #39;t want to miss this great opportunity to see The Vanderbilt Family mansion.
Highly Recommended....

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Douglas M New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The driver/guide was very informative. Departure was on time. The mansions were great to see and the coastal scenery was magnificent. We had a 10 minute stop at a point where there were several kites flying which made a great picture.

Doing what: Newport Ocean Drive Sightseeing Tour

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was picked up on time and in an easy to find location near the tourist office. Since I was the only person on this tour, I was picked up in a white van and taken to the two mansions that I wanted to see. I chose the Breakers and the Chateau-sur-Meur. Both were great contrasts to see and then the tour guide took me to my hotel. We did drive around Newport, but I was advised to wait until the next day, as I would be taking the tour with the same tour company, but with a trolley for better view of Newport. Overall, a very nice day.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I really liked this tour. Was scheduled for 10:00 am departure and was picked up by Nate, the tour guide. He did a great job driving us around and letting us take in the views of the ocean drive and we even did a snack stop at an old fort. The second half of the tour we were given tickets for a mansion tour and allowed to go to which ever ones we chose. Since I had seen the Breakers the day before, I picked the Marble House and the Rosecliff. Both were great to see. Well done!

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Jean P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was awesome. Our driver, Gene, was a native of Newport and knew everything about the town. The mansions were beautiful.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Mark K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Breaker Mansion was awesome! Fog along Ocean Drive prevented us from see much. Driver/tour guide was ok. Mansion tour was the best part and worth the price.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

sean m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide was excellent informative and funny . Mansions were amazing

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Kathleen N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We booked a tour of the Breakers and the Marble House and a bus tour of the mansions. The driver was terrific with lots of informative and funny stories. Our tour was in a little van type vehicle and was just myself and my friend so we got lots of attention. The Mansion tours were unbelievable....just gorgeous,

Doing what: Newport Ocean Drive Sightseeing Tour

Dr frank

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The bus tour and walking tours 2 Mansions went well--learned about the people of the past, their thought process and what they wanted in the their lives to be shared by their family and friends. Tour with LIVE people were the best-- the interaction, ability to ask questions, and be challenged was a major draw. Recorded tours are OK- less costly for sure, but may not add to the P and L in the long run.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

George G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful time. Rained every day, but did not care. Mansions were beautiful. Currently re-paving major downtown street. Everybody was extremely friendly.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Steve P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Good tour of the Newport area and insights into the history behind the mansions. Also took the tour of the Breakers and Elms mansions - both were very informative. Would suggest the addition of the tour behind the scenes at the Elms to see how the servants worked. Tours take a good 2-3 hours each so plan accordingly - we were able to work this over two days since the tour tickets do not expire. Great experience!

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Cheryl H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The man who drove the van and his helper were very knowledgeable and helpful!! The mansions which we got to see 3 of them were very interesting, we even entered more numbers into audio tour to get more information on different areas of interest.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

desertsusie1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The enjoyed our tour of Ocean Drive Newport RI. The minivan held 10 passengers so we were not in a large, cumbersome group. We visited two mansions individually as part of our tour. The driver dropped us at Breakers and we had tickets for bus transport to the next mansion and back to the port. We had a great tour and a fun day at Newport.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Patricia M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A lovely tour of Newport and its historic mansions. Our tour guide was outstanding - shared facts and humorous details. A great shore excursion.

Doing what: Newport Ocean Drive Sightseeing Tour

Janet W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour starts at the Visitors Center which was easy to find and had parking. Cost of parking was expensive. Our tour guide Bob provided a wealth of information on the history and people of Newport. I felt that he "knew" the info as opposed to reciting a script. He stopped and let us step off the bus at several spots to get good pictures. He gave us detailed directions on what to do when he let us off at the mansion for the tour and how to get back to town by bus at the end of the tour. He also recommended some places to see and eat. We had a choice of mansions to see. It was a treat to see the architecture and furnishings up close. The tour was done with an audio headphone. In most rooms there were "featured spots" where you cold listen to even more details on the period or people. This allowed you to go at your own pace. You could walk through the garden to the lawn overlooking the ocean. The breeze showed us why these city people enjoyed their summers here. We thoroughly enjoyed this tour which was well worth the money.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

ColleenLass5

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Driver was great, with lots of interesting and amusing stories about the mansions and the people who built and lived in them. Very nice bus tour. Well worth the low cost...go for it!

Doing what: Newport Ocean Drive Sightseeing Tour

Steven W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

One of the best tours we have ever taken! The tour guide was very knowledgable and friendly! Seeing all those mansions was fantastic, along with the history. We would have loved the tour to be longer. We wouldn't think twice about taking another tour with Viator!

Doing what: Newport Ocean Drive Sightseeing Tour

Georgia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great overall tour of the beautiful mansions and coastline.

Doing what: Newport Ocean Drive Sightseeing Tour

Jean W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This is the standard mansion tour we pre-booked to ensure the tours were not sold out on a beautiful fall weekend with cruise ships in town. The tour covers the Bellevue mansion area only. It allows a visit to one or two mansions depending on your preference. We toured the always fabulous Breakers and the veru unusual Marble House. Tickets are supplied for the return trip to the visitors center.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Thomas S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great fun seeing the Newport mansions from the gilded age. The tour guide was knowledgeable and helpful. We visited the Breakers and Rosecliff. A nice glimpse into a by gone era.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Judith W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The overview and the guide were great. We were left and Breakers- great - but no one ever came to take us to the next mansion- marble house. Again no one came. We had to take public transportation twice. 4.00 extra per person Not a great thing.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

jean G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Educational very informative. The mansion tours were excellent

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Anne C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Very nice tour. We drove around for about an hour and half and then we were dropped off at the mansion that we picked to tour. And then when done, we had a pickup at the mansion and taken back to the Visitors Ctr. Our guide was full of facts and anecdotes surrounding the area and the wealthy families of the 'Gilded Age'. We picked the single mansion tour and saw The Breakers which was amazing! I would definitely recommend the Viator tour.

Doing what: Newport Mansion Tour Along Ocean Drive

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message