For those who want to experience Niagara Falls up close, a tour of Cave of the Winds is a must. In fact, the excursion takes you as close to the falls as you can possibly get. Sporting a souvenir poncho, you’ll descend 175 feet (53 meters) via ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 70 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

MARIANNE J United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The main attractions- Cave of the Winds, Maid of the Mist, and Skylon were great, and our guide Randy made it easy for us to get in and out, and educated us on how to be more of a visitor-- not a tourist! He kept it interesting and fun, and was very knowledgable about the area and its history. We visited a few spots that locals enjoy, like the Three Sisters' Islands. FYI Lunch is on your own at a souvenir mall. Being around the Falls all day, and taking in the sights and sounds made this tour amazing. Loved it. By the end of this tour we were exhausted, and felt it was well worth it.

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

Elizabeth Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

wonderful boat trip on the Maid of the Mist and fantastic Cave of the Winds walk. Everyone smiling!

Doing what: Niagara Falls American Side Highlights Tour

Irma G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was excellent. Our guide, Andrew, knew his material and spoke in a friendly and easy manner. The falls are magnificent. It rained the day we were there but the rain didn't add any more water than Cave of the Winds or the Maid of the Mist. Both activities were excellent and well worth while. It had been 62 years since we were last at Niagara Falls. We didn't do a tour at that time but doing one now was a great idea. We highly recommend the Niagara Falls in One Day trip. Don't go to Niagara Falls without it.

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

David D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had the best adventure! Our tour guide Andy was fun and full of historic facts. We walked into Cave of the Winds under the powerful falls. We boarded Maid of the Mist and boated to the base if the falls. On to Canada where we visited the power plant, whirlpool, and clock flower. Ended the tour with the perfect views atop the Skylon. Excellent day of adventure!

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

Praveen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Even though I had been to the Falls before, about couple of decades ago, but I really enjoyed the trip that was very well planned and professionally handled. My wife who had come for the first time was thrilled to get the experience of Cave of the Winds and Maid of the Mist. Kudos to the local company who handled the tour and would surely recommend to anyone who is visiting Buffalo.

Doing what: Niagara Falls American Side Highlights Tour

Laurie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was the best way to view Niagara falls because you get the best of both sides. What a stressfree way to enjoy such a majestic wonder! The Cave of wonders was my favorite! Andy was very personable. This was definitely worth the money and a great way to cross th border hassle free. I absolutely recommend this!

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an outstanding trip! I have been to Niagara Falls before with the family but never on a sightseeing tour. This tour allowed us to see the cave of the winds, maid of the mist, skylon tower, and many other stops along the tour. Our tour guide Jim Egan was very knowledgeable about the history of Niagara Falls the provided endless stories about the area and all the daredevils that challenged the falls. Loved Jims enthusiasm and humor. His stories of the area made the tour so much more enjoyable. Our kids enjoyed him. Jim was kind and thoughtful to everyones needs. We would recommend this tour highly and to have them ask for Jim Egan!

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

Mary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour was all I anticipated and more! Tour Guide Bob L. was excellent, very informative and knowledgeable. We saw more in one day than we could have on our own in several days. Maid of the Mist and Cave of the Winds were super fun! Thank you for making our Niagara Falls vacation one of the best we've every had!

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

Deb B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Randy was a great guide. We started on the US side after being promptly picked up at our hotel on the Canadian side of the falls. We were able to go to cave of the winds, stand behind the falls, ride the maid of the mist. The Canadian side was great too and we also saw the flower clock and skylon.

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

antony

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very informative
On time
Didn and #39;t miss anything - cave of the wind/ Rapids/whirlpool/ observation deck- everything covered by a dedicated and efficient guide -called himself DAN.
Highly highly recommended to families as well others

Doing what: Niagara Falls American-Side Tour with Maid of the Mist Boat Ride

Tiffany A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was a great opportunity to view both the American and Canadian sides of the falls. Our tour guide, Caleb, was awesome. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who is visiting the falls for the first time and would like to see them up close. The Cave of the Winds and the Maid of the Mist were the highlights of our tour.

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

Nile B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Should take the Cave of the Winds first, get your complementary scandals to wear on the Maid of the Mist. Everything was awesome, tour guilds are terrific. A must do!

Doing what: Niagara Falls American-Side Tour with Maid of the Mist Boat Ride

Diana Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Andy was very knowledgeable. We saw so much of Niagara Falls and the surrounding area. Going under the falls at cave of the winds was incredible.

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

Alexandra N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a FABULOUS tour!!! First of all, our tour guide, Caleb was AWESOME!! He was super knowledgeable about the area and the places we visited. He was friendly, engaging and engaged with all of us on the tour. If you have to take a tour, we HIGHLY recommend that you take the tour with him.
He came to pick us up at 8h30 and we hit the Cave of the Winds first. Going through customs was a breeze. You can tell Caleb has a good relationship with the boarder crossing guys and it made it easy for us. Cave of the Winds is breath-taking! You get so close to the falls, you A. get totally wet and B. you can touch them and feel the power of the water. Then we toured Goat Island. Thank Goodness for Caleb who took the time to explain what we were seeing! Then we did Maid of the Mist, which got us right in the middle of the Horseshoe fall. Simply awe-inspiring! If you are afraid to get wet, these are not the attractions for you!
We stopped for lunch at the obligatory tourist-trap. There are healthier options if you seek them out. We saw the Flower Clock, then we walked down by the waterfalls and while we were walking around, went to get our tickets for the Sklyon Tower, so we would be able to go up as soon as we got there. He was super efficient! The view from the Skylon Tower was beautiful! You could see for miles and really take in the surroundings. A great way to end the day!
This was worth the expense. We did all of the key attractions on our first day!
A special Thank You to Caleb, our Tour Guide Extraordinaire!!

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

this was a great day--pick up on time. maid of the mist tour was good, as was cave of the winds tour. several pleasant stops and great tour guide, would do again.

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

Mark R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My Facebook status after my Tour read: Probably one of the best days of my life visiting Niagara Falls and the tour guide was just awesome. I think that says it all!

Pre-booked the Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides tour of Niagara Falls before I left Australia as Niagara Falls have been on my bucket list and wanted to get the most of the day I had in the Falls.

I travelled down by Coach from Toronto and was met at the coach terminal by our tour guide for the day, Caleb and what a delight he was! We picked up the other six people from both the Canadian and US sides and spent the first half of the day on the US side, starting with the Maid of the Mist, which allowed us to get a true appreciation for the sheer size and volume of the falls. This was followed by a tour of Goat Island and then down to the Cave of the Winds. A look at the hydro power stations and then back across the border into Canada for lunch and then more sights of the Canadian side before heading up to Skylon Tower.

Caleb, a history major at school, really looked after us well and explained everything with precision detail and included a significant amount of research and history. Caleb really knew his stuff and was happy to share it with us all. For a young guy, he knew exactly how to explain everything and was engaged with the group for the full seven hours we were all together. Caleb is a real credit to Over the Falls Tours and the company have reason to be be proud of him. Single handedly, Caleb gave me one of the best days in my entire life!

I highly recommend this local Tour company and the 'Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides' tour to anyone wanted to truly experience Niagara Falls at its best.

10/10

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

Nikolay K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I went on the Niagara Falls in One Day tour in August, 2015 and absolutely loved it. Our tour guide, Jim, was very enthusiastic and passionate about the place. He was constantly telling incredible stories that sounded more like a fiction until he showed is evidences of proof. He made sure we saw everything that was planned and expanded our tour program by making a few extra stops on the way and showed us some of his personal photos of how the place looks like in winter time, which I must say is no less spectacular than in summer. He also made sure we spent as much time as needed, had enough food and bathroom breaks, and arrived at the right places at the right time. He turned 6-hour tour into 10-hour journey through the beauty and history of the Niagara Falls. We saw the falls from different angles, from the front at Maid of the Mist, behind at Luna Island, from the side at Prospect Point observation tower, below at Cave of the Winds, almost underneath at the Hurricane deck, across from Canadian side and above from Skylon observation tower. I've made about 600 photos and they all look amazing it's going to be a struggle to select which ones to delete. We also stopped at rapids and famous whirlpools that took away lives of many adventurous fellows and one of the largest power plants in North America, which I found fascinating. The tour made me realize that there is so much more to the Niagara Falls than the Falls themselves and I would highly recommend others take this tour to have a similar unforgettable experience.

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

Melissa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

excellent tour- excellent tour guide -cave of the winds is amazing maid of the mist boat ride incredible view of the falls

Doing what: Niagara Falls American-Side Tour with Maid of the Mist Boat Ride

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide even made waiting in line interesting. The ride on the Maid of the Mist was awesome but the Cave of the Winds was really fantastic. You experience the true meaning of power standing so near the falls.

Doing what: Niagara Falls American-Side Tour with Maid of the Mist Boat Ride

George W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was one of my BEST vacations ever! Our tour guide was very informative, helpful and inventive in getting us to our tour sites on time! Imagine Fourth of July, weekend, perfect weather.....Crowded! Bob, our tour guide, got us to The Cave of the Winds, ushered us through every step and held all our shoes for us until we came back up! The Cave experience was so exhilarating ! Bob got us across town, somehow, through all that traffic, in time for our Maid of the Mist adventure. Another great experience thanks to Bob! The phone attendants answered all our questions and even rerouted the tour bus to pick us up at a more accessible location. I highly recommend using Viator! From the moment we booked our tour until the time we stepped off the bus that night , everything was perfect! Thank you Viator!

Doing what: Niagara Falls American-Side Tour with Maid of the Mist Boat Ride

Deborah T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Despite the Falls killing my camera- this tour was awesome! Guide was knowledgable about the area and we definitely say the Falls from every conceivable angle. I was picked up from my hotel on time and the tour was definitely comprehensive. I highly recommend it- give everything a go- especially the Thunder Platform at the Cave of the Winds! But wrap your camera in plastic first!!!

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

Harriett E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were able to experience the most interesting views and experiences relating to Niagara Falls and learn some history along with it. The tour guide Nick was informative and had some good suggestions to improve the different experiences such as save your ponchos from the boat tour for the Cave of the Winds tour. I highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Niagara Falls American-Side Tour with Maid of the Mist Boat Ride

Mekong Moon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Even though everything is fairly close to each other and easy to get around in Niagara Falls, we were so glad we booked this tour. You probably feel a bit rushed at certain stops such as Cave of the Wind walk, but you get a chance to see everything in one day and with the help of a knowledgeable guide. We were glad we did. Our tour guide Jim was really nice and helpful, gave us some great tips to enhance our stay in Niagara Falls area.

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

DAVE

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This excellent tour was handled by Over the Falls. Nick our guide was knowlegable and funny. This tour allows you to do a lot in a short time. The Canadian side is basically sightseeing along with lunch and souvenir shopping. The Skylon Tower offers great views all around. The Maid of the Mist and Cave of the Winds are on the American side. They are wet and intense and a blast. There were 8 folks in our group so the bus was not crowded and allowed us to visit. You get a lot of bang for your buck-I doubt my wife and I could have done half of these things on our own in 6 hours. Ask for Nick! We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

S L O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

After much deliberation I decided to book this deluxe sightseeing tour instead of one of the shorter, cheaper ones. I'm so glad I did - you only go to Niagara once! After all it is only a bit of water, as my husband said!
There were four in our party (age range 45 to 75) and, boy, did we have the most fantastic of days. Our tour guide was absolutely delightful and so very knowledge.
We were on a small coach (+/- 30 people) and so did not feel as if we were a stereotype tourist getting on and off a coach every two minutes with a camera in their hands. Although we must have been!
All aspects from the viewpoint overlooking the whirlpool, to the Maid of the Mist, to the caves, to the Souvenir Market where you go for lunch, was queue-less, clean, efficient and spectacular.
If you can afford it definitely go for this tour.

Doing what: Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message