Nice ATTRACTIONS See all

Le Chateau (Castle Hill)

Le Chateau, the shaded hill and park at the eastern end of Quai des États-Unis, is named after a 12th-century château that was razed by Louis XIV in a fit of pique in 1706 and never rebuilt. There are some ruins but not really a chateau ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 332 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dino M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

My fiancee and I went on the Private Full-Day French Riviera Sightseeing Tour from Nice on New Years Day and it was amazing!!! Our driver Chokri was extremely knowledgeable and spent about 8 hours with us driving us all along beautiful parts of southern France and Monaco that we would have otherwise not seen. It was an excellent choice as we did not have long and wanted to see as much as possible. We started off in Nice where we met our driver. We drove around several beautiful areas in Nice then drove to Cannes where we walked on the red carpet, sat by the seaside, and admired the castle. We then visited beautiful Antibes and Eze on our way to Monaco to see all the sights there as well. This was an unforgettable experience and was the tour of a lifetime. By the end of our tour, our driver had also become a great friend! Thank you!!!

Doing what: Private Full-Day French Riviera Sightseeing Tour from Nice

mfeyer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Traveling to Europe, I would tell EVERYONE to put FOOD TOUR first on your list of things to do when you arrive. Start with this tour ... you will find out about the city and things you can do, while tasting all of the authentic foods of the city. You will have lots of time to chat and learn while you try delectable varieties of foods. Our guide Marion was a GEM! She is very knowledgeable, sweet and very fluent in English. Enjoyed getting to know her personally and getting to know the city of Nice. FAVORITE tour of Nice! Merci Marion!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Sileni V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

My sister and I went to Nice and decided to do a bike tour to see and learn more. We couldn't be happier with our choice in bike tour. We were a bit lost in finding the meet up location and were afraid that we were going to miss our tour group but Jenny was patiently waiting for us. We rode along the board walk and around the town while Jenny gave us a nice history of the city of Nice. I would highly recommend this bike tour to anyone. The staff is pleasant, helpful and patient.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Markus D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very good guide that was knowledgeable and helpfull

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Anne P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was absolutely wonderful!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Stella S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It was our first trip to Nice and my husband isn't necessarily the active kind, we didn't know what to expect when we booked the tour. But it turned out to be a fantastic, memorable experience

Our guide, Gustav, is the co-owner and speaks impeccable English! He's extremely friendly, knowledgable, and guided us through the streets of Nice and up to the winery with ease

As it was low season, we were the only two participants of the tour. Gustav said they usually have a minimum, but he decided to do it anyway, so we were lucky to get a private tour. Another expected bonus of being a very small group is that, in addition to the wineyard tour and wine tasting, we got to taste the homemade moonshine straight from a plastic container!

The e-bikes are fantastic! They made the tour to be suitable for anyone with any level of physical ability. We got to enjoy the scenery, taste the food and wine, learn the culture, and scream while breezing down the hills!

Doing what: Half-Day Electric Bike Vineyard Tour from Nice

Bobbe G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing tour. Marion our guide was knowledgeable of the history and food of old Nice. We walked the market place, visited an old family run candy shop and shared our purchases over lunch in an olive oil shop after a tasting. This tour did not disappoint. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

ronjudy.rooks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

An excellent activity which I would strongly recommend even though I was a little off.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

melanie.rice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Marion was amazing- we tried so many things we otherwise would not have tried- a highlight to our trip and a definite must do!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Nancy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We loved this tour through Old Nice and its markets and landmarks. Our guide was absolutely delightful, caring, efficient, knowledgeable, friendly, and spoke excellent English. The tour went over the time frame by at least an hour, maybe more. I'm sorry I don't recall her name as I write this, but you will see her smiling face in my pictures. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Jeannine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Don't miss this tour!!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

smoga76

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We LOVED our bike tour of Nice. Our guide was Lorna and she was perfect. Very friendly and knowledgeable of the city. One of our stops was closed off for the day by the police, but Lorna handled it perfectly and took us to a different spot with just as many great views. I would highly recommend doing this on your first day because you get a good sense of direction and she points out so many fascinating places that you'll want to go back and visit. Thank you for a very worth-while 3 hours!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Brian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a fun ride around Nice. We passed sites we might not have seen otherwise. There was one bigger hill. Some of the riders did fine but others struggled up the hill. Not to worry as the guide stayed back with the others and advised us where to stop going up.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Nancy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This food tour was simply amazing, great food, beautiful markets and our guide Marion was the absolute best. Marion is full of enthusiasm and a complete delight to spend a few hours with. The final stop was at a little shop for olive oil tasting and she put together the most wonderful cheese tray for us all to enjoy with some tasty wine. Merci beaucoup Marion for making this tour a highlight of our week long trip to France.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Dent T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Pleased with guide and tour

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Lori J

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

We enjoyed the Nice Food Tour on our first full day in Nice it was a nice introduction to the old town and market which is amazing.

We would have liked a little more leisurely pace to the tour it felt very rushed and we didn't have time to explore the market which closed before our tour was ending or some of the other shops along the way.

Dorothy, our guide, was very knowledgeable about Nice, the foods and places around old town and the olive oil tasting and lunch served at the end of the tour from items gathered during our shopping trip was just beautiful.

Great introduction to the city.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

esoudant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a wonderful time on our food tour of Nice! Our tour guide, Marion, was amazing. She was friendly and full of useful and interesting information. Our whole family found it fun - my 8 year old daughter learned a lot and is still taking about the delicious food we tasted! We highly recommend this tour to all.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Graham K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Brilliant! Do it! Small group is the way to go. Tour guide Pierre was fantastic!! Eze is an absolutely beautiful hillside/top medieval town and Monaco is well worth the visit.

Doing what: Monaco and Eze Small Group Half-Day Trip from Nice

bill.williams

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide Marion was spectacular! We have been coming to Nice since 1984, and were with friends who did not know Nice. We chose the food tasting tour as a way to get to know old Nice in a different way, through its food. The reviews were all positive. All six of us had a wonderful time. Marion was so enthusiastic and passionate about the foods of Nice, very knowledgable. I just cannot say enough positive comments about the experience. I recommend this to first time visitors and repeat visitors alike. It was FUN!! Definitely ask for Marion!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Brandon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were only in Nice for a day and this tour gave us a great overview of the city in a short amount of time. Our tour guide was very friendly and gave us plenty of suggestions for locations to visit after the tour was over. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Lyudmila F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really good!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Valerie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was very knowledgable. We were able to visit some of the finest specialities food stores in Nice. We had great pastries for breakfast and ended ur tour with gourmet olive oil and appetizers at a beautiful olive oil store.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Soley V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful tour and our guide Kristen was the best!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

jwmeyer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour! We learned a lot about Nice and #39;s history. Great way to see lots of the city in a short time.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message