Nice ATTRACTIONS See all

Le Chateau (Castle Hill)

Le Chateau, the shaded hill and park at the eastern end of Quai des États-Unis, is named after a 12th-century château that was razed by Louis XIV in a fit of pique in 1706 and never rebuilt. There are some ruins but not really a chateau ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 287 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

tschmutter63

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What better way to see Nice than by bike..! Our host Gustav was absolutely fantastic and certainly knew his stuff. Amazing views after cycling up the hill together with a much needed cold soft drink to celebrate. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

linzy94

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guid Rose hopefully I remember her name right was more than awesome. The trip is a lot of fun and of great value. I recommend this on your first day in Nice so you'd know what are the best parts

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Jeanette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The walking tour of Nice was one of my favorite activities while we were there. Dorothy, our guide, was an absolute joy. She gave us historical information about the area as well as introduced us to regional specialties. She pointed us to the better places to get this fare. Another highlight of this tour was the olive oil tasting. It was evident the shopkeeper was passionate about their products and her enthusiasm was contagious. Schedule earlier in your trip than later. Loved it!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Douglas H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great tour. The guide was very informative about the development of Eze and Monaco and how 'the other half live'. Eze was fascinating and amazing. To get to the castle, aquarium and take a spin around the Monaco Grand Prix race tracks were special. Persoally, I was overly enamoured with the visit to the perfumery, but my wife seemed to enjoy it. We had a stand in guide Justin from Sunny Days. Justin was special and made the day even more enjoyable.

Doing what: Monaco and Eze Small Group Day Trip from Nice

jeremy h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic way to see Nice. Lucy, our tour guide was extremely knowledgable, helpful, kind and fun. The best way to get an o two suction to Nice. Strongly recommended. 5 stars.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our bike tour of Nice was really worthwhile and enjoyable. Our tour guide (Lucy ) was very helpful, and got her message across in easy manner. All the group really enjoyed the experience. Mike

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Russell A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very, very good tour. Small group was limited to just 10 which was a perfect size for this experience. Our guide and owner of the tour company was fantastic. Happy to answer any questions and was very passionate about her food and wine. Finished off the tour with picnic in the park overlooking Nice with nice glass or two of Champagne and a lovely Rose. High would highly recommend that you do this tour. Great experience!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Sherman T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Nice market was bustling and we visited many different stops. Tastings were plentiful and delicious.
Good recommendations were given for restaurants.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Nicki C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Rachel R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Good tour, opted for the AM tour. Bikes have smaller wheels to allow for easier turning in the Old Town. The tour was relaxed and a nice easy pace set. Theres one climb which is done in stages and if you want to walk then I'm sure that'd be fine.
The tour itself was informative giving information on the origins of Nice, visiting some of the older shops as well as other buildings. It's not the most in depth tour so history buffs might be disappointed but for the average Joe it's spot on.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Grace O

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

I thought this trip was a bit rushed - not enough time to stop and admire the views and traveling a bit too fast in Segway up and down hills for my comfort, even though inhale been on Segway before. A more leisurely alternative could be provided.

Doing what: French Riviera Segway Tour: Nice to Villefranche-sur-Mer

Pavel G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Nothing special to offer. I would prefer a walking tour or bus

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

robbiemccullough

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Marion was AWESOME!!

Funny

Sweet and So knowledgeable.. Plus she knew everyone!!

It was the touring highlight of our trip !

I couldn't recommend her any higher!!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Victor P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An excellent bicycle tour! Eric was an informative and fun guide. The ride up to Chateau Cremate was beautiful and easy thanks to the awesome fat tire electric bikes! We'll be back for another tour next summer!

Doing what: Electric Bike Tour and Wine Tasting from Nice

Tim D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour and guide!

Doing what: Small-Group Half-Day Trip to Nice from Monaco

Miriam Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An absolutely perfect introduction to the city, which made the rest of our stay there so much more enjoyable. Not least for the eatery recommendations! The historical narrative was really entertaining and totally enhanced our overall experience - that coming from people who aren't generally that interested in history! Our guide was fantastic - humorous, personable, and brimming with both information and enthusiasm. So sorry I can't remember her name but I'm pretty sure it started with an L and she had originally come to Nice as a teacher. The foldaway bikes feel a bit strange at first but they're great once you've got used to them, which doesn't take too long. I very highly recommend doing this as soon as you can after arriving in Nice.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Liz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were in Europe for a total of seven weeks and this was a highlight for my husband and myself. Nice is spectacular and to see it from the vantage points that we had only because we could go to places that buses and cars cannot reach just enriched the whole experience. I have segwayed before but this is totally different. The ease of the Electric Bike especially up steep hills made for a wonderful experience and the downhills were loads of fun. The bikes were brand new and it was a training day for new guides so we had several guides all to ourselves. The views over the city and the harbour were breathtaking. Even navigating around the traffic was not a problem. I have not been on a bike in thirty years but after a few minutes I felt very much at ease. This was an awesome four hour experience that I can highly recommend to people of all ages.

Doing what: French Riviera Electric Bike Tour from Nice

Bonnie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was an amazing trip. The boat ride was quite chilly but the time in Monaco was wonderful. Loved it.

Doing what: Cruise to Monaco

savouryourlife

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I booked the bike tour for myself and my 8 year old son and was unsure of what to expect. I was so satisfied with this tour. They had the right size bike for my son and during the tour when my son was complaining about his bike they immediately arranged for another bike to be brought over to him. Our tour guide Lucy was entertaining and fun and made the tour as exciting as possible. Would highly recommend this bike tour. It was a great way to get to know Nice and get your bearings straight.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Sylvia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great German electric bikes--makes pedaling the big hills a breeze. Gorgeous scenery with time taken to stop and get photos. Lunch on the beach you buy delicious sandwiches in town from a local shop before you leave.
You will be riding on busy streets with cars and large tourist buses but our guide Kelley was wonderful and made it as safe as possible.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Marilyn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved this trip as it took you away from the coast and up into the hills of Provence. We visited the old town of Gourdon - stores and restaurants on a hill - very old world - my favorite part of this trip was having lunch in a lovely little restaurant at the foot of the hill - had a fireplace going and we had a window set and looked out on the area. Food was incredible. We also visited Cannes and St. Paul de Vence - another medieval type city in the hills with lots of boutiques. Would not recommend this trip for anyone who has mobility issues as there are steep inclines on some of the streets in Gourdon and Vence. . Views are incredible looking down from the top into the valley.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

Carlos G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great. There are some areas that I was uncomfortable being around car as I am not the best bike rider, but I got over it. It really helps that the bikes do a good majority of the work for you in some parts. During the last leg of the tour we went up a large hill with some people struggling on normal bikes, we turned up the bikes to Turbo mode and raced them up the hill leaving the other riders in our dust. The tour guide was great and informative and also allowed us time to walk around some of the stops to take photos and enjoy ourselves while staying within the timeline of the tour.

Doing what: 3-Hour E-Bike Tour of Nice

Linda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour amazing guide, learn so much in a short time. Good value.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Daniel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was amazing and our guide John was so friendly. The tour was absolutely worth it!
Daniel and Nathalie (Germany)

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Jaclynn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Had a great time! The climb up to the Castle is a killer but the view is worth it.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message