Nice ATTRACTIONS See all

Le Chateau (Castle Hill)

Le Chateau, the shaded hill and park at the eastern end of Quai des États-Unis, is named after a 12th-century château that was razed by Louis XIV in a fit of pique in 1706 and never rebuilt. There are some ruins but not really a chateau ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 313 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

esoudant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a wonderful time on our food tour of Nice! Our tour guide, Marion, was amazing. She was friendly and full of useful and interesting information. Our whole family found it fun - my 8 year old daughter learned a lot and is still taking about the delicious food we tasted! We highly recommend this tour to all.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Graham K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Brilliant! Do it! Small group is the way to go. Tour guide Pierre was fantastic!! Eze is an absolutely beautiful hillside/top medieval town and Monaco is well worth the visit.

Doing what: Monaco and Eze Small Group Half-Day Trip from Nice

bill.williams

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide Marion was spectacular! We have been coming to Nice since 1984, and were with friends who did not know Nice. We chose the food tasting tour as a way to get to know old Nice in a different way, through its food. The reviews were all positive. All six of us had a wonderful time. Marion was so enthusiastic and passionate about the foods of Nice, very knowledgable. I just cannot say enough positive comments about the experience. I recommend this to first time visitors and repeat visitors alike. It was FUN!! Definitely ask for Marion!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Brandon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were only in Nice for a day and this tour gave us a great overview of the city in a short amount of time. Our tour guide was very friendly and gave us plenty of suggestions for locations to visit after the tour was over. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Lyudmila F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really good!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Valerie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was very knowledgable. We were able to visit some of the finest specialities food stores in Nice. We had great pastries for breakfast and ended ur tour with gourmet olive oil and appetizers at a beautiful olive oil store.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Soley V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful tour and our guide Kristen was the best!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Gerald B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Excellent expect for the perfume factory which I had no interest in. The medevial fortress town / castle of Eze left me speechless. It was incredible like another planet. Our guide Rym was a delight.

Doing what: French Riviera Day Trip from Nice

Dawn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing tour of Nice, full of info! Make sure you do it as the beginning of the tour as good restaurants and places to visit are recommended! Loved it! Highly Recommended!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Alan E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great 4 hour tour with enthusiastic and knowledgeable Rose as our guide.
Power in the bikes makes the hills easy and you get to see some stunning views and interesting sights. Great value and well organised. You go to a bakers to buy something for your lunch before you set off bike company has a good deal for you there and have that lunch by the beach at Villefranche. Bikes have bags for your lunch, water, camera etc so you shouldn't have to carry anything else and you can leave any bags in the bike company offices if you need to.
No hesitation in recommending.

Doing what: French Riviera Electric Bike Tour from Nice

Lorraine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I booked this trip for the family kids of 10 years and 13 years . We thoroughly enjoyed it . It was an excellent way at the beginning of the holiday to get to know Nice . The tour guide John was Fab !!!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Shaun D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour, knowledgeable guide, very interesting facts, a real must on your first few days in Nice.
We highly recommend this tour. Brilliant and thank you

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Rich.baich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour guide who made the event fun and filled with many different recommendations regarding enjoying Nice food and entertainment.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Paul S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is the perfect introduction to Nice. Rose was a great guide - friendly, knowledgeable and offered to help us all with directions and recommendations at the end of the tour. The tour is suitable for even the rustiest cyclist like me, mostly on the flat promenade with one hill climb, which you can take at your leisure. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Colin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I have been interested in ebikes for a little while so the opportunity to take a tour on one during a recent trip to the south of France seemed perfect. On the day itself it was only myself and my wife Siobhan on the tour so we really did have personal attention. Our tour guide a lovely American Girl call Kristen met us outside the entrance to Opera beach close to the Rusty poles. We were taken to their office and equipped with ebikes and helmets. Our bikes were nearly new Kalkhoff machines with 6 gears and three levels of assistance complete with pannier bags to hold our bits and pieces. We were given instruction how to use the bikes and on general safety. Kristen then took us to a sandwich shop where are we bought our lunch at a discounted rate.
The first part of our tour from Nice to Villefranche Sur Mer involved cycling through busy streets and out onto the Promenade des Anglais.The route was quite hilly in places but assistance given by the ebike made a lot of difference, we were cycling up some pretty mean looking hills without any real problems. We stopped at various points along the route and Kristen pointed out places of interest. We got views of fabulous mansions belonging to the rich and famous. Considering the route we had just cycled we were remarkably fresh and looking forward to our lunch at Villefranche Sur Mer. The route back to Nice was the scenic,flatter but slightly busier road.
We really enjoyed the whole ebike tour experience, it's easy to see why they are becoming so popular. I have some cycling experience but Siobhan has little yet we both enjoyed our mornings on the ebikes and didn't feel exhausted at the end of it. Some parts of the tour involve cycling through busy streets and other parts along roads with quickly moving traffic but the majority of the cycle was along quieter roads.Our tour lasted for 4 hours and it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience which we would most definitely recommend.

Doing what: French Riviera Electric Bike Tour from Nice

Jon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A wonderful, affordable, and interesting trip. Our guide, Megan, did a great job of leading us through the backstreets of Nice as well as taking us to places with amazing views. I highly recommend the trip.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

dkmaf340

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a fascinating tour. Cannes was a beautiful coastal location with with streets oozing of the rich and famous. The perfumery in Grasse was very informative and smelled of flowery essence that soothed the heart. Gordon, the medieval hilltop village was so peaceful and surreal. The candy factory, Florian was such fun and very tasty. If you have a sweet tooth watch out. Our guide Camilia, as usual was a true delight. Her knowledge of the region was extensive and brought insight to the tour that made the day fun but also a learning experience.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

fimaddocks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very pleasant tour of two contrasting vineyards. Excellent host driver and very comfortable, air-conditioned mini van. Whilst this tour is quite expensive we were lucky and were the only ones booked on so it was like a private tour. If you are on a budget you could visit both vineyards independently by driving yourself. There is also a third vineyard close by which you can get to by bus and short walk Chateau de Ballet

Doing what: Organic Wine Tour from Nice

Nancy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Rose was a fantastic guide for our tour! I learned a lot about the history, and she provided excellent restaurant recommendations!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Kathleen A

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour was wonderful and our guide was outstanding. We really got to see both the beauty of the city as well as discovered delicious and meaningful aspects of the French Food.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

tschmutter63

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What better way to see Nice than by bike..! Our host Gustav was absolutely fantastic and certainly knew his stuff. Amazing views after cycling up the hill together with a much needed cold soft drink to celebrate. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

linzy94

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guid Rose hopefully I remember her name right was more than awesome. The trip is a lot of fun and of great value. I recommend this on your first day in Nice so you'd know what are the best parts

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Jeanette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The walking tour of Nice was one of my favorite activities while we were there. Dorothy, our guide, was an absolute joy. She gave us historical information about the area as well as introduced us to regional specialties. She pointed us to the better places to get this fare. Another highlight of this tour was the olive oil tasting. It was evident the shopkeeper was passionate about their products and her enthusiasm was contagious. Schedule earlier in your trip than later. Loved it!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Douglas H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great tour. The guide was very informative about the development of Eze and Monaco and how 'the other half live'. Eze was fascinating and amazing. To get to the castle, aquarium and take a spin around the Monaco Grand Prix race tracks were special. Persoally, I was overly enamoured with the visit to the perfumery, but my wife seemed to enjoy it. We had a stand in guide Justin from Sunny Days. Justin was special and made the day even more enjoyable.

Doing what: Monaco and Eze Small Group Day Trip from Nice

jeremy h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic way to see Nice. Lucy, our tour guide was extremely knowledgable, helpful, kind and fun. The best way to get an o two suction to Nice. Strongly recommended. 5 stars.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message