Nice ATTRACTIONS See all

Le Chateau (Castle Hill)

Le Chateau, the shaded hill and park at the eastern end of Quai des États-Unis, is named after a 12th-century château that was razed by Louis XIV in a fit of pique in 1706 and never rebuilt. There are some ruins but not really a chateau ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 303 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dawn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing tour of Nice, full of info! Make sure you do it as the beginning of the tour as good restaurants and places to visit are recommended! Loved it! Highly Recommended!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Alan E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great 4 hour tour with enthusiastic and knowledgeable Rose as our guide.
Power in the bikes makes the hills easy and you get to see some stunning views and interesting sights. Great value and well organised. You go to a bakers to buy something for your lunch before you set off bike company has a good deal for you there and have that lunch by the beach at Villefranche. Bikes have bags for your lunch, water, camera etc so you shouldn't have to carry anything else and you can leave any bags in the bike company offices if you need to.
No hesitation in recommending.

Doing what: French Riviera Electric Bike Tour from Nice

Lorraine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I booked this trip for the family kids of 10 years and 13 years . We thoroughly enjoyed it . It was an excellent way at the beginning of the holiday to get to know Nice . The tour guide John was Fab !!!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Shaun D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour, knowledgeable guide, very interesting facts, a real must on your first few days in Nice.
We highly recommend this tour. Brilliant and thank you

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Rich.baich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour guide who made the event fun and filled with many different recommendations regarding enjoying Nice food and entertainment.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Paul S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is the perfect introduction to Nice. Rose was a great guide - friendly, knowledgeable and offered to help us all with directions and recommendations at the end of the tour. The tour is suitable for even the rustiest cyclist like me, mostly on the flat promenade with one hill climb, which you can take at your leisure. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Colin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I have been interested in ebikes for a little while so the opportunity to take a tour on one during a recent trip to the south of France seemed perfect. On the day itself it was only myself and my wife Siobhan on the tour so we really did have personal attention. Our tour guide a lovely American Girl call Kristen met us outside the entrance to Opera beach close to the Rusty poles. We were taken to their office and equipped with ebikes and helmets. Our bikes were nearly new Kalkhoff machines with 6 gears and three levels of assistance complete with pannier bags to hold our bits and pieces. We were given instruction how to use the bikes and on general safety. Kristen then took us to a sandwich shop where are we bought our lunch at a discounted rate.
The first part of our tour from Nice to Villefranche Sur Mer involved cycling through busy streets and out onto the Promenade des Anglais.The route was quite hilly in places but assistance given by the ebike made a lot of difference, we were cycling up some pretty mean looking hills without any real problems. We stopped at various points along the route and Kristen pointed out places of interest. We got views of fabulous mansions belonging to the rich and famous. Considering the route we had just cycled we were remarkably fresh and looking forward to our lunch at Villefranche Sur Mer. The route back to Nice was the scenic,flatter but slightly busier road.
We really enjoyed the whole ebike tour experience, it's easy to see why they are becoming so popular. I have some cycling experience but Siobhan has little yet we both enjoyed our mornings on the ebikes and didn't feel exhausted at the end of it. Some parts of the tour involve cycling through busy streets and other parts along roads with quickly moving traffic but the majority of the cycle was along quieter roads.Our tour lasted for 4 hours and it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience which we would most definitely recommend.

Doing what: French Riviera Electric Bike Tour from Nice

Jon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A wonderful, affordable, and interesting trip. Our guide, Megan, did a great job of leading us through the backstreets of Nice as well as taking us to places with amazing views. I highly recommend the trip.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

dkmaf340

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a fascinating tour. Cannes was a beautiful coastal location with with streets oozing of the rich and famous. The perfumery in Grasse was very informative and smelled of flowery essence that soothed the heart. Gordon, the medieval hilltop village was so peaceful and surreal. The candy factory, Florian was such fun and very tasty. If you have a sweet tooth watch out. Our guide Camilia, as usual was a true delight. Her knowledge of the region was extensive and brought insight to the tour that made the day fun but also a learning experience.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

Kathleen A

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour was wonderful and our guide was outstanding. We really got to see both the beauty of the city as well as discovered delicious and meaningful aspects of the French Food.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

tschmutter63

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What better way to see Nice than by bike..! Our host Gustav was absolutely fantastic and certainly knew his stuff. Amazing views after cycling up the hill together with a much needed cold soft drink to celebrate. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

linzy94

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guid Rose hopefully I remember her name right was more than awesome. The trip is a lot of fun and of great value. I recommend this on your first day in Nice so you'd know what are the best parts

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Jeanette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The walking tour of Nice was one of my favorite activities while we were there. Dorothy, our guide, was an absolute joy. She gave us historical information about the area as well as introduced us to regional specialties. She pointed us to the better places to get this fare. Another highlight of this tour was the olive oil tasting. It was evident the shopkeeper was passionate about their products and her enthusiasm was contagious. Schedule earlier in your trip than later. Loved it!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Douglas H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great tour. The guide was very informative about the development of Eze and Monaco and how 'the other half live'. Eze was fascinating and amazing. To get to the castle, aquarium and take a spin around the Monaco Grand Prix race tracks were special. Persoally, I was overly enamoured with the visit to the perfumery, but my wife seemed to enjoy it. We had a stand in guide Justin from Sunny Days. Justin was special and made the day even more enjoyable.

Doing what: Monaco and Eze Small Group Day Trip from Nice

jeremy h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic way to see Nice. Lucy, our tour guide was extremely knowledgable, helpful, kind and fun. The best way to get an o two suction to Nice. Strongly recommended. 5 stars.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our bike tour of Nice was really worthwhile and enjoyable. Our tour guide (Lucy ) was very helpful, and got her message across in easy manner. All the group really enjoyed the experience. Mike

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Russell A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very, very good tour. Small group was limited to just 10 which was a perfect size for this experience. Our guide and owner of the tour company was fantastic. Happy to answer any questions and was very passionate about her food and wine. Finished off the tour with picnic in the park overlooking Nice with nice glass or two of Champagne and a lovely Rose. High would highly recommend that you do this tour. Great experience!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Sherman T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Nice market was bustling and we visited many different stops. Tastings were plentiful and delicious.
Good recommendations were given for restaurants.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

JR G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great way to spend half a day in nice. The electric bikes made the hills nice and easy. The views were great and it was lovely to see the vineyard and taste the wine. Our guide Kristen was friendly and relaxed. Thanks for a great trip x

Doing what: Half-Day Electric Bike Vineyard Tour from Nice

Mimi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had an enthusiastic and informative tour guide who took us through the old town, down the promenade, up to castle hill stopping at various locations for interesting facts and information. The only strenuous part was up to castle hill, but you could easily walk your bike, which I did and it wasn't a big deal. The views were spectacular! The only complaint was the other people in our group were about 20 min late and we had to wait for them.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Jane O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great. Loved it. Highly recommended

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

MDGmail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great way to see Monaco! Bring your camera, as you will be treated to so many fabulous views.
The day started with a trip to the old part of Eze, a quaint, castle-like village set high above the sea.. Next, we did a 30-minute tour of the Fragonard perfume factory. I didn't think I would like this part of the tour, since it is obviously geared towards selling you their products, but it was actually quite interesting. Next, the main part of our trip, Monaco, which is absolutely stunning. We were given a few hours to explore the old part of town and grab lunch. My husband and I felt that this was more than enough time in this area of town, but it was still enjoyable as there are glorious views of the port area on one side, and the Mediterranean Sea on the other. We later drove through the more modern part of town, and were given some time to walk around and enter the Monte Carlo Casino if we wished Note: no flip-flops are allowed inside, and you will also be charged 10 Euro just to enter.
Finally, our wonderful tour guide, Evia, offered to drive us up to a cliff where we were treated to an amazing view of the entire city. Evia was personable and gave us so much interesting information on each of the places we visited. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Monaco and Eze Small Group Day Trip from Nice

Lu Wei W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent guide! definitely will do another tour with this company again in the future.

Doing what: Small-Group Nice Food Tour: Provencal Specialties

Nicki C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Rachel R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Good tour, opted for the AM tour. Bikes have smaller wheels to allow for easier turning in the Old Town. The tour was relaxed and a nice easy pace set. Theres one climb which is done in stages and if you want to walk then I'm sure that'd be fine.
The tour itself was informative giving information on the origins of Nice, visiting some of the older shops as well as other buildings. It's not the most in depth tour so history buffs might be disappointed but for the average Joe it's spot on.

Doing what: Nice City Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message