Nice ATTRACTIONS See all

Matisse Museum (Musée Matisse)

The Matisse Museum (or Musée Matisse) houses a splendid assortment of works by Henri Matisse. Its permanent collection is displayed in a red-ochre 17th-century Genoese villa overlooking the olive tree-studded Parc des Arènes. Nearby is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 77 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

bminkowitz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour with professional tour guide- helped us focus the tour on areas that interested us most.

Doing what: Monaco Shore Excursion: Small-Group Art Tour to the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild, Chagall Museum and Matisse Museum

David F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Comfortable transportation with a knowledgeable and affable guide !

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

Garry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful trip, made all the better by our guide Camille. She was excellent. The Villa and Gardens were the highlights for us. The Villa was beautiful, but the garden and views are breathtaking. Although we do not appreciate so much modern art we did think that for fans of Chagall and Matisse the museums were extremely well laid out.
Again a big thank you to Camille for such a wonderful trip.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

PAUL L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great interesting guide

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

Ann B

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The tour was basically just transportation in a comfortable van to the three sites which we visited on our own without a guide. It probably should be described as a car or transportation service since the van had no microphone, so any commentary the driver made was inaudible in the back seats. However, given the difficulties with traffic, I doubt that the driver could safely provide commentary and we never could have taken in these museums in the time frame allowed without hiring a taxi. On that basis, it was was a useful service at a reasonable price for door-to-door service that included pick up and returns to places from Cannes to Nice with a very pleasant and accommodating driver.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

Theo M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

Gerard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Victor was our tour guide. He spoke English, and was punctual and informative. Actually, he was same driver for the next tour we took, and we were pleased with both.

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

Lei W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was rather comfortable. The tour guide was very kind to allow me to bring my luggage on the van and give a ride to the airport directly after the tour. We had a good time driving around Nice and visiting each important view point to have panoramic view of Nice and surrounding areas. It was a gorgeous day. At the last part of the tour, the rose garden on top of the hill was really beautiful but some people actually missed it.

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

Kelsey A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

The driver took us to good views and told us a bit of history but I think 3 1/2 hours was a bit too long and he was a bit of a scary drive.

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

Vanessa S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Tour guide wanted to show us Nice from the hilltops which was nice, but tour was supposed to take us to flower markets as well, which he suggested we could do in our own time, it was our last day so we wanted to see flower markets and asked to be dropped off there because that was what we were expecting and he wasn't happy with us, but I booked by what was planned not what he wanted to do

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

Mona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Loved the tour

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

Paulo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Beautiful beach nice city and nice view!

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

FRANKLIN O

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great guide...most enjoyable.

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

Thomas J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The guide was excellent. The Matisse collection is small but rather significant. Nice is lovely and it would have been better to spend more than 2 night there.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

Arishna N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was very friendly, knowledgeable, accommodative to all picture moments needs. Over all great experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Arts Tour of the French Riviera from Monaco

saraallardice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent tour, both fun and interesting. Lucy our guide was knowledgable and friendly she is an excellent driver. I took my elderly father on the trip and he loved it. When I visit him again in I shall definitely book another tour. The air conditioned minibus was very clean and comfortable. The whole experience felt like the most incredible treat.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

AG-NC USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I was the only person on this tour and the drive is worth it alone even without the museums this is Paul Allen's house, this is Elton John's house, etc. There's plenty of time in each place and it does not feel rushed. I felt underwhelmed by the Villa. It's in a magnificent setting, but I've seen private homes, castles, etc. that have wowed me a lot more.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

SARAH D HUSFORD H

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

WE DID NOT SEE THE MATISSE MUSEUM AS THE AUSTRIANS ON THE TRIP ONLY WANTED TO SEE CHARGALL

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

Joseph M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Matisse and Chagall museums were interesting and the Rothschild Villa was unbelievable.
Well worth the time. You also have a nice ride through southern France.

Doing what: Small-Group Arts Tour of the French Riviera from Monaco

es

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed our tour, although the main point of the tour was to transport us between destinations with some general commentary on the way. We were on our own in the museums. All three museums had excellent English audio tours part of our ticket tour price. Our only real disappointment that time at each place was so limited. We heeded others' comments, and concentrated our time in the Ephrussi gardens instead of the house. Enjoyed our tour guide. We were really lucky as we were the only 2 people on the tour!

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and accommadating

Doing what: Nice City Sightseeing Small Group Tour

William M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

The Chagall and Matisse museums were disappointing but the Rothschild mansion was breathtaking and by itself worth the tour.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

Daniel

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Matisse Museum was somewhat disappointing. Chagall and Villa Ephrussi were both spectacular. Our guide was very friendly and a good driver. However, the content provided by our guide was somewhat thin--we might have enjoyed more information along the way.

Doing what: Nice Art Tour: Chagall Museum, Matisse Museum and the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message