Caen may not be on the tip of the tongue of every visitor to France. But for those who look into exploring the region of Normandy, it quickly becomes a logical base from which to see and do everything on your list. If you’d like to plan a getaway ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 40 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mark A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very nice day trip from Bayeux!!! Excellent guide!!!
Another site that shouldn't be missed!!!

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip from Bayeux

Tavish M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Four of us booked a half-day tour so we could make a day trip from Paris. At the end we realized 4 hours is barely enough to cover Pointe de Hoc, the American Cemetery and Omaha Beach. Our guide Clive was outstanding, providing right mix of history and free time. I highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Half-Day Small-Group Tour to American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

Melissa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We did this tour as a day trip from Paris. It was a long and emotional day, but well worth it. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Craig D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had Adrienne and he was a great tour guide. For us, the half-day trip was the ideal length of time. The tour was well structured and historically accurate as I checked things out after the fact. This particular tour was very much worth the price.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Blakney H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

LOVED the tour. It was such an experience to be able to see all of the main sights. I think the timing is wonderful and at each sight we had plenty of time to see and walk around the area. The cemetery is very moving and I like that our tour guide explained things and then let us have free time there to experience everything for our self. We took the train from Paris to Bayeux and it was the most perfect day trip!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Melanie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My husband and I took this day trip from Paris, and it was a real treat from start to finish. We really appreciated that we had only 6 people, and we were driven around in a van, not a bus. Our guide was wonderful - she was knowledgeable about the area and the history behind the events that occurred there. I am not a history buff, but I found the subject matter fascinating and sobering. We were well taken care of from the moment we stepped off the train in Caen until the van dropped us off again that afternoon. Even the lunch at the museum was incredible I would recommend this tour to anyone interested in the Normandy sites.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Brady S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you want to do a day trip to Caen and experience the Dday beaches from Paris, this is the tour to take. Our guide Mario was incredibly nice and knowledgeable. Keep in mind!- you could spend 2 weeks here learning about everything so it does feel a little rushed, but that and #39;s a day tour for you.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Lindsay S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My mom and I spent the day on the D-Day Tour during our visit to Paris. It was so well worth it! Pray that you get Mario- he was absolutely amazing! The train system was easy and they were right there when we arrived to Caen. You start off at the museum which is so well spent and organized. I recommend taking time to wander outside to the gardens then go into the bunker. We didn't feel rushed at different sites, they gave you time to wander on your own, and some of the places have little stores for snacks, coffees, beverages etc. Again, I highly recommend this for a day trip.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Heather M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A really lovely day. Our tour guide Cecille was terrific and the D-Day Memorial museum was terrific. Only thing is that the day was LONG. We did as a day trip from Paris, and were still a little jetlagged. If you're going to do as a day trip, schedule later in your trip.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip, terrific tour guide! Doable as a day trip from Paris if you take the train to Bayeux.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Rachel H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were on a 10 day trip around Europe, squeezing in as many sights as we could. Thus, we did several tours within those 10 days. This tour was by far the best! Lloyd was our tour guide and he was tremendous! He was obviously passionate about his job and very knowledgeable! We would highly recommend this tour to anybody and everybody! He was very accommodating to the various needs of members of our tour. We cannot say enough wonderful things about this day.

Doing what: Full-Day Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

Alaina K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Trying to squeeze in a day trip to Normandy during your trip to Paris? If so, I highly recommend this tour! With only one day to see everything, I got so much more out of our visit thanks to all the insight from the tour guide. I also loved that it was a small group so we could ask lots of questions. It was a very long day coming from/returning to Paris, but it was definitely worth it!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Alison H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was quite the most amazing trip I have ever done..so pleased a that I booked it. We took our American friends to Normandy as a 50th wedding anniversary treat..and I booked this day as the highlight of the 4 day trip. It could not have been better..we were picked up from our hotel by our guide Phillip who was the best..very comfortable people mover and he worked so hard to give us a day to remember..he planned our day round places and things we asked to see and added so much more into the mix . I hadn't realised just how big the area was to cover but he did it and kept us enthralled all day with the history and stories. One of our group had mobility issues and Phillip was so respectful and helpful..finding the best places to park and knowing how much of a particular activity that he would be able to manage...excellent. Point du Hoc was probably the most moving and difficult to traverse..the German battery was in redible to see and hear about and the weather joined in to give us a real feel for what it might have been like for our brave troops..Phillip had a wealth of knowledge and a good British sense of humour which went down well with us all..he was good company and excellent at his job..but it didn't seem like a job..he was delightful and took us to a restaurant for lunch that we would never have found ourselves...so many things we did that day we wouldn't have seen or even thought of seeing if we hadn't been on this trip. The German cemetery was one of them..we wouldn't give but for Phillip and I am so glad that we did..a very sombre place but essential to look at the other side too....very moving.
We wanted to find some personal graves too and Phillip sourced those for us making the whole thing much easier...I seriously would have booked another day if I had known just how good this would be...don't hesitate..it is excellent value to have such a personal experience and it is one the 4 of us will ever forget...thank you

Doing what: Private Tour: Normandy Landing Beaches, Battlefields, Museums and Cemeteries from Bayeux

Peter T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Half day trip to American Beaches. Excellent guide, Julian, which gave as a lot of information. He also had some maps and photos to better present what he explained. Very small group, some 7 people, so very personal and I could ask question anytime. I took this trip, because I was not able to find some good bus connections between places I wanted to visit. I think, this is the bes way how to visit this area. Now, after 2 weeks I still see those places and remember what I learned. I also think about our guide and our driver, which as a duo or brothers, made this great trip unforgettable. Thank you to both of you again.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Adam R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My wife and I took a day trip from Paris. Our guide picked us up and took us to all the important sites with plenty of time to walk around and explore them. Our guide was very knowledgeable of the historic events.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Patricia J R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide was fantastic very personable and informative regarding the D-day landing in Normandy. Highly recommend to future travelers as it is a great day trip from Paris. This tour is a must for anyone who wants to learn more about WWII. All of the sites we visited were excellent a long day but so glad we went. Kudos to our guide and Viator for an excellent tour will use your services the next time we travel.
Patti

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Jacob T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was pretty cool. The guide was very chill and very knowledgeable about the sites that we visited. I only took the half day trip in the afternoon, but it was enough time, as I was doing this for the day from Paris.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Michael John O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Awesome. Tour guide was extremely knowledgeable. Well organised and well worth the day trip from Paris.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Bradley C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My wife and I both really enjoyed this day trip. Our guide Jonathon had an incredible amount of knowledge of the history of all the sites we visited and their surroundings. It was only the two of us on the tour, so he was very flexible and gave us the options of which sites and museums we wanted to visit. Highly recommended tour for anyone with an interest in learning the history of the area.

Doing what: Private Tour: Normandy Landing Beaches, Battlefields, Museums and Cemeteries from Bayeux

Bradley C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A great day trip from Bayeux that my wife and I both enjoyed immensely. Our guide Jonathon was incredibly knowledgeable about the site and many other places we passed through on the trip, and he was very flexible in allowing us to see things at our own pace and to spend more time in the areas we found more interesting. Highly recommended for anyone visiting the area.

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Mont Saint-Michel from Bayeux

Rachel T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

If I could give this 6 stars, I would. I wish we had done the full day trip but time didn't allow for us to do so.

Our tour guide, Daniel, was very outgoing, friendly, and knowledgeable.

We took the train from Paris and it took two hours. It was well-worth it. We were met at the train station and we left for the tour from there, picking up two other couples along the way.

The tour started at Pont du Hoc, then we went to Omaha Beach, and then ended at the American cemetery and museum.

My grandfather served in WWII (in the Pacific) and my husband is currently active duty Army. The whole experience was beyond educational and extremely sobering. I have always had a deep love and appreciation for our men and women and uniform and seeing this part of history up close and personal was something I will never forget.

We didn't have much time at the end of the evening for the museum, but from what I did see, it is awesome.

If you have the time, do the full tour! I wish we had.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Darren C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our Bayeux tour was a complete success. I can't speak highly enough of Mathieu, our guide for the day.

We were looking for a short and focused tour that focused on the Canadian role in WWII and visiting relevant historical sites. Specifically, we wanted to visit Bény-sur-Mer Canadian War Cemetery, where my great uncle was buried. This tour fit the bill perfectly.

Mathieu picked up our small group of eight Canadians at the train station and we immediately set off into the countryside. Mathieu speaks English well and has a fun personality, and we all got along well. We fit a lot into our five hours together, including a stop at the Bay of Arromanches, time walking along Juno Beach, and a visit to the Juno Beach Centre, admission to which was included in the cost of this tour. (Advice: be sure to manage your time inside the centre.)

I was thrilled to visit the cemetery where my great-uncle is buried. I had looked up the location of his tombstone on the web, so quickly found it upon our arrival. That was a touching moment for the tour.

In terms of logistics, given our tight travel schedule, we wanted a tour short enough that we could do it as a day trip from Paris. This one worked quite well - we took an 8:45 am train out of Paris, which arrived in time to allow us to walk into town (under 10 min walk) for lunch. Mathieu picked us up at the train station at 1 pm and we were back shortly after 6 pm. As we had booked a 7:22 pm return train, we had plenty of time to head to a pub in town for dinner and a beer, before heading back to the station and Paris.

We'd like to return to Bayeux one day and spend more time there, but for now, this tour was exactly what we wanted. The registration process was easy and the experience was professional. We highly recommend this tour - a highlight of our trip to France.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - Canadian World War II Sites

Lynne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Mag was our guide. She was fantastic. It was overwhelming to stand on Omaha Beach. Our day in Bayeux was filled with emotion. I would encourage anyone going to France to make this stop. We did the half day trip with 6 other Americans who were also doing independent travel. The day before that we went independently to the War Museum in Caen.
While you are in the Normandy area, we would also suggest spending a few days in Rouen. The Cathedrals, the spires, the chimes, Joan of Arc's Church, and their Beaux Arts Museum are just a few of the highlights
Lynne and Allan

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We had a wonderful 1/2 day trip to Normandy. We were staying in Paris and took the train from the St. Lazare train to Bayeux...had to switch trains in Caen, but that was easy...small station. We walked from the train station in Bayeux to the Le Conquerant restaurant and had the most reasonably priced meal of our trip...and the folks were pleasant to deal with. We met our guide, Jonathan in front of the Churchill Hotel and he was actually a bit early...nice start to the trip. We drove to where the Army Rangers climbed steep cliffs to attack the Germans and it was awe inspiring. It was hard to imagine anyone doing this without someone shooting at you, I can't imagine the difficulty under fire. From there we went into the bunkers where you could see the damage done by flamethrowers. From there we went to the Normandy beaches where Jonathan explained how the landings went. He did a great drawing on the beach for us that illustrated the landing and went through it step by step. Nice touch. Finally, we went to the American cemetery where almost 10,000 soldiers lay. The whole experience was humbling. From start to finish the trip was first rate...thank you Jonathan and Viator.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Beverley D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Out half day trip to the Normandy beaches was very enjoyable. Our guide was very knowlegable and happy to answer questions. I would definitely recommend to others.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message