The Waitomo Caves offer an exciting underworld experience in New Zealand. There are a variety of activities to partake in and the fascinating cave system with its geological wonders and fantastic creatures to explore. Climb through the long ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 193 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Malou Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour is the highlight of our New Zealand trip. Starting off with the hotel pickup, we were picked up on time based on the first email they sent. The driver/tour guide of our whole day trip I forgot his name is very informative, kind and approachable. He gave us lots of information while we were on the coach bus. My sisters and I were amazed when we learned that he is just on the job for 2 weeks but knows a lot of information.
The Hobbiton location is really a very nice tourist spot. The place is really taken cared of and has amazing views. We had a lot of pictures and the people who saw our pictures in social media were delighted to see them and I had some friends who asked me about the place and they also want to visit NZ too in the future.
The Glowworm cave is also an amazing area and who could've imagined that there could be creatures in a cave which glow like stars. During our boat ride, we were all in awe watching the thousand glow worms which look like stars at night.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

ccwa29 Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour! We enjoyed everything! Tour guide/bus driver was very friendly and informative. Seats on the coach bus was very comfy. Buffet lunch was very good! The hobbiton tour was alot fun. We wished the boat ride for the glowworm caves were longer but still very cool experience! No photo taking inside the caves tho! Book this tour is you want to do both attractions in one day!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a complete package and worth the day. First, Damian, our driver, was excellent. He provided an excellent presentation of the culture and politics of New Zealand. Background you probably will never get on a tour and made it all the better. He also gave a complete background history of the Hobbit area from start to the present, more than we were provided by the tour guide at the location she was excellent too, more later. The Hobbiton set was magical, being a long fan of the adventures of the Hobbits. Our guide was excellent, filling in on the background and set features that Damián missed. The complementary Hobbit beer, Cider, or Ginger beer was excellent as was the buffet lunch provided. On to the Caves, a short but excellent tour showing the cavers and glow worms that hang from the ceiling we were told they weren't worms but sounded better than glow roaches :-.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

ROY J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Not many things can make you go WOW, but the glow worms in the Waitomo caves sure did. Amazing, great tour.
Roy and allana, Geraldton WA

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Jaymi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This trip was great. It was a very long day, but our coach driver, Rachael, was excellent. I was traveling by myself and highly recommend it for solo travelers. It takes you to parts of the north island you otherwise wouldn't see especially if you're like me and are terrified of driving on the correct side of the road, and to know that your lunch and snacks are included with the price is worth it. If you are staying at a central hotel in Auckland, they will even pick you up the morning of just make sure you arrange for it ahead of time!. The glow worm cave was out of this world. Too bad you can't take pictures, but I know the photos would do it no justice. I really recommend this tour!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

eddie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Out of this world experience at Waitomo Cave!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Mitche227

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Love the glowworm cave. Amazing - you travel inside a boat and see the cave lit up by the glowworms. It was a very convenient way to see sights while traveling to our next New Zealand destination - Rotorua

Doing what: Auckland to Rotorua via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour

ash.oliver1289

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Hobbiton was a lot of fun and seeing the glow-worms in the Waitomo Caves was definitely something I'll never forget. You also get to see a lot of the surrounding areas and countryside while you are driving to and from the sights.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Erika L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Worth Every penny!
We went on a drive through the beautiful landscape of New Zealand's North Island, with our bus driver as our tour guide. He was so funny and informative. Hobbiton was absolutely a sight to see. The lunch buffet was alright, I'm a bit of a food snob so I'm not the best person to talk about that. And the Waitomo caves were indescribable, something you have to see in your life time! 100 worth it, Don't do Hobbiton without going to see the Waitomo Caves!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Wayne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a fantastic day trip and included even more than advertised. The driver was very knowledgeable about Auckland and pointed out lots of interesting sights along the way. The Agrodome farm stop was lots of fun, where we got to feed lambs and sheep right out in the field. The glowworm cave is spectacular. Rotorua is amazing with the geyser and mudpools. Only lunch was mentioned in the tour description, but we were given fruit when we started in the morning, plus a lunch box, plus another sandwich and water later for the ride home. Very nicely done and a great way to see these beautiful sights.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Leolani K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Literally an all day tour but what a wonderful experience. Favorites for us were Waitomo Caves and Te Puia especially because of the Maori culture experiences. A snack is provided in the morning cut fruit and a boxed lunch sandwich, fruit, juice box and yogurt both of which was more than sufficient. This was a large group tour and some of which there were guests who did not speak English. All in all a fabulous tour and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Elizabeth J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The best part of this varied tour day was going to the Agrodome where we watched a sheep being shorn, and a working sheep dog herd the flock. The glowworm cave was interesting, but not as grand as all the hype about it. The thermal areas were mini versions of Yellowstone. The show the Maori people put on gave an endearing look into their history and culture.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Alison J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the highlights of the trip thankfully as it was quite expensive!. There was some confusion in the morning. Our tickets said 7:30am so we checked out from our accommodation early with our toddler and rushed to the bus stop 20 minute walk as our accommodation wasn't on their list with a broken suitcase thanks Jetstar only to discover that for some reason the tour was at 8am and we had to wait 45mins.

We went to Hobbiton first I thought we were going to Waitomo caves first as per the itinerary on the site which seemed to make more sense for those going to Rotorua later. There's a short time to buy souvenirs at the shop, but they tended to be really expensive or cheap junk, there wasn't much middle ground. Hobbiton was fantastic, and the weather was beautiful which helped us enjoy it. We would have liked more time there, but all of the tour groups have a limited time as there are so many people. It looked like every session was full!

We had a fantastic lunch catering to our dietary requirements in a special tea party tent, it was great.

The tour guide was also kind and good value, we learnt a lot from him and this helped the trip be a success.

The caves were spectacular, we were in awe. Make sure you have a song in mind to sing in the caves!

Overall, it's a good way to get a lot done in one day without the stress/fatigue of doing all of the driving yourself. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Pick Chin N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Waitomo Caves - a surreal experience! Thumbs up for Rotorua Day Trip. Overall, the tour was well organized - a must to experience New Zealand. And booking through Viator was easy and straight forward.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland

Bonnie S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Such a great trip! The bus ride to Waitomo is very scenic. Loved the glowworm caves--the glowworms are so cool!

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Caves Discovery Tour from Auckland

ROSAIDA T B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing tour! Everything was great - the driver, the tour guides, the lunch and of course the tour itself of both the Hobbiton movie set and the Waitomo caves. The only thing I would wish for is a longer time at the Hobbiton so we can appreciate the place longer because it was really fantastic!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Meghan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I had an awesome time on this tour. Worth every penny. Our tour guide/bus driver from Great Sights New Zealand was awesome and not only gave us great info on Hobbiton, Waitomo Caves, and things we saw along the way, but also provided wonderful insights on the social issues, politics, history, and economics of New Zealand.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Lucinda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful day primarily because of our driver/guide, Damian. He spent the 3 hour drive to Hobbiton educating the group on the history of New Zealand, including her politics and economy. He was very knowledgeable! The tour of Hobbiton was fun, and Damiam proved to be as knowledgeable as the private guide we had there, Beth. He also shared helpful tips on buying souvenirs. After our visit to the Waitomo Caves, Damian chose a route home that allowed us to see wildlife along the roadside. GREAT!!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Kevin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was amazing. Hobbiton was such a great experience. The buffet lunch was huge as well! I took a lot of photos from the movie set. It's remarkable how good it all looks. You can't take photos within the Waitomo Caves but that was such a surreal experience to see all of the glow worms. There are a LOT of glow worms too. It was also great to see a lot of the landscapes of New Zealand. Our bus driver Damian was a great guy and gave us a lot of information about the history of New Zealand and the Maori people. This tour was definitely great value for money!

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Joseph A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great. The driver provided a lot of information about New Zealand's history and culture on the way to each of the destinations. The Hobbiton Movie Set and Waitomo caves are definite must sees while in New Zealand and this tour allowed me to see both in one day. Being able to enjoy an included meal in Hobbiton was an added plus to the tour. I didn't feel at all rushed at any point of the journey and the driver ensure we were able to get to most out of the experiences.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Clariza Mae G. R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour bus driver Ben was awesome! He was a great guide with a sense of humor. It made the long ride enjoyable. He was also very patient, especially when a lady from our group was missing. When we entered the set, we found her. She went with another tour group.

The Hobbiton Movie Set was beautiful! The tour and allotted time to take pictures in front of the hobbit holes was appreciated and the lunch served at the party tent was good, especially the desserts. The Waitomo Caves was definitely an experience and interesting. Definitely worth it for the price we paid! I have recommended it to my family and friends. On my next trip to Auckland with my family, this is on the itinerary.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Lco323

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing tour. My family and I totally enjoyed Hobbiton with the help of a very interesting commentary from our guide Shalia ?. The picnic lunch that was promised turned out to be a buffet, so that was a major surprise. The Waitomo Caves tour was phenomenal with outstanding tour by our guide Mark. Being in the cave with the glowworms was like floating in space. I've never done anything like it before. Take this tour- you won't regret it :

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

marla

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The attention to detail was incredible. The lunch was top notch. We enjoyed the experience.
The Waitomo caves were amazing.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Deborah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A must for any Lord of the Rings fan. Even in not so great weather we had a spectacular day. Waitomo Caves was surreal.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Roderick V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The trip to Hobbiton is informative and entertaining. Our driver, Damian, is quite knowledgeable about the history of New Zealand and about the local area. We enjoyed visiting Hobbiton in costumes as the Lord of the Rings characters and really immersed ourselves in the experience. The food at the Green Dragon Inn is great and quite hearty. I recommend the tour for everyone and Tolkien fans would really love it.
The Waitomo cave is quite an experience too. My son sang the theme song for the Hobbit inside the cave 'cathedral' and the sound was mesmerizing. In the boat ride, you can see thousands of glow worms like blue christmas LED lights.

Doing what: Waitomo Caves and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message