Centrally-located in the Bay of Plenty and home to a deep water harbor, the port of Tauranga is a popular cruise hub with over 85 ships per year. The cruise port itself is actually located in the township of Mt. Maunganui, a laidback beach town ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 265 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Margaret S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a great trip and we thoroughly enjoyed the countryside and our driver was excellent. Jan joined us as sat and enjoyed a coffee and the tour of the kiwi orchard and bees was extremely interesting. Travelling the countryside with something who knows and enjoys the area is wonderful I would highly recommend this trip to any one going to New Zealand. Tks Jan

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Small-Group Bay of Plenty and Tauranga Tour

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was the best tour of our 27 day cruise. The local guide grew up in the area and new a lot about New Zealand. The tour was on a 12 passenger van. Both Rotorua and Hobbiton were excellent stops. The included lunch was high quality. The cruise line offered separate excursions to each of these stops for about the same price as this tour that went to both of them.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

Donna N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

great tour and the price was great too. pickup easy with on time return to the cruise boat. Small group many the trip a comfortable adventure without the massive crowd effect.

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

Kaz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Loved this trip. The Maori village was fabulous. The driver was knowledgeable and informative and made the day.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

james m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

One of the best tours we've had in a long while guides at hot springs were brilliant driver very informative and professionall would highly recommend

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

melissalandon Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We had a great day our tour guide was great and very informative of the area. Thanks

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

V.J. A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We took this tour from a cruise ship. We are New Zealanders holidaying in our own country. For us the tour was well paced and visited the two main attractions we had decided were for us.It was a pleasure to see tourism in NZ in action and would like to say this felt like a genuine NZ experience ,thankyou Colin

Doing what: Shore Excursion: Tauranga Highlights Including The Elms Mission Station

Vanessa K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

One of our favourite stops on our recent cruise. This tour was awesome, the living Maori village is amazing, and the cultural performance a must do.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Hayden

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We had a fantastic time exploring the set with our very knowledgeable tour guide and really enjoyed our bus driver who threw in a beautiful surprise on the way home!

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

Stephen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We had Phillip as our tour guide. As it turned-out, we were the only tour participants. Phillip took us to all the great sites in Rotorua plus a couple of hidden gems on the way back to Tauranga. The time spent at each location was perfect. We saw geysers, Maori, kiwi farm, redwood forest, lake and waterfalls. The cafe by the lake was beautiful and the food reasonably priced. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Georgina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We had a wonderful day trip with Stephen. The LOTR site is amazing and the other places he took us to were excellent. Stephen has a great knowledge of the area and told us many interesting things about Tauranga. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

Vickie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I had a great time. It was absolutely beautiful. One of my favorite things I did in New Zealand. Our guide was informative and helpful.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

tayoc2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent day highlighted by visit to Maori Village and tour by 'Chief'. Very good presentation of Maori dancing and singing.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Wendy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic tour ... If you love The Hobbit or Lord of the Rings you will love seeing this movie Set....

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

Bichvan N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It is raining almost all day in summer! Driver and tour guide are pleasant and informative, we experienced in their cultures and enjoyed the show very much!

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Dan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Learned a lot from this shore excursion

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Samuel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Linton, our bus guide was very informative, pleasant as was our guide at Hobbiton,
A wonderful tour!

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

Iva M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

One of the best tours we've done while cruising around New Zealand. We first went to Te Puia where we've seen geyser and Maori performance, both very good. The highlight of the tour was hobbiton movie set. Really beautiful and worth seeing even for people that are not LOTR fans.
To reach both destinations and come back to the port we travelled for quite some time in a mini bus with very knowledgeable driver who told us a lot about the area and New Zealand in general during the drive.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

Nidhi Tina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Highly recommend this tour. It's a must see for all LOR and Hobbit movie fans. The gysers and mud pools were also phenomenal. Our tour guide Grant from Zeelandier tours was amazing and provided lots of details about the sights and general commentary on the Country's Maori history, geography, leading industries etc. He was well informed and kept the audience engaged. He was also quite funny with his anecdotes and stories. We were picked up and dropped off at the cruise terminal well within the timelines.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

Kathryn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My husband and I had a great time on this tour. The guide was knowledge, friendly and accessible. No question went unanswered, although there was little need to ask additional questions. The Maori Village Whakawawerawa was amazing.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Lesley C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We arrived in Tauranga on a cruise ship and I had booked this independent of the cruise company so I was a little nervous of how it would work. But it was absolutely fine, no problems at all. We got off the ship and were met by the tour organisers who directed us to a minibus where we met our driver, Nick. He took us, along with 6 other cruise members and another family of 3, to a Maori village where we had a very interesting tour of the village with its thermal springs and geysers. Then we watched a traditional Maori performance before moving on to Rotorua and lunch. On the way back to Tauranga we stopped off at a kiwi farm and sampled some kiwi juice. Nick was very informative on the journey, the ride was very comfortable and he was very accommodating of his passengers needs. Excellent all round. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

debbiemorcutt Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mind boggling the scale of this film set
T is incredible and tha natural use of the land is too,
this is one to take for sure,

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

andrew a Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Rotorua sights were great.. Village tour outstanding.
Reasonable cost and the tour was professionally organised.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message