Centrally-located in the Bay of Plenty and home to a deep water harbor, the port of Tauranga is a popular cruise hub with over 85 ships per year. The cruise port itself is actually located in the township of Mt. Maunganui, a laidback beach town ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 230 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

andrew a Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Rotorua sights were great.. Village tour outstanding.
Reasonable cost and the tour was professionally organised.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

philip c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mum needed assistance with walking . Steve the driver already knew and was so helpful with an extra step into the bus and a wheelchair at the main visitor area . We had a fantastic day with options when others more mobile were able to go over rough or steep paths. Great views, stops , commentary with inside local knowledge. Comfortable informative and fun. Phil from Ballarat

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

1yellowvett

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely loved this tour was amazed at the beauty of the fantastic farm it is on

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

Mele United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Docked from our cruise and found the rep right where they said they would be. They also had a board with tours and booked passengers names. We booked ahead but some bought that morning. Was a medium sized van with ten of us. This was the highlight of our cruise through all of New Zealand! The driver made sure not to lose us in the crowded gift shop area. We picked up our guide and walked through the site. Then we went to the green dragon for a drink. It was like being in the movie! Exacting details and perfect in every way. The driver stopped at several scenic overlooks and even dropped us in the shopping area instead of the dock a few blocks away.

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

Teresa F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing place, even in the rain. Definitely worth a visit.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

Debbie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Nate and Maria were great and knowledgeable hosts. The Hobbiton experience was well spaced out so you don't feel like you are there with so many other tourists. The meal there on site was fabulous. All the staff was great. The Maori cultural center was also very interesting. Great all day tour.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

michaelkinsley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide/driver was great! We started out by visiting a kiwi farm and admiring all the vines. Next, we went to a park with turbulent waterfalls and rushing rapids where students learned how to handle kayaks and rafts. We stopped for lunch at a waterside cafe, and then drove through a redwood grove where there were walkways between trees! The highlight of the tour was a visit to the Maori village. We had a resident tour guide there who walked us through the whole village and explained how the residents used all the geothermal pools for everything from cooking to bathing. The visit was wrapped up with a wonderful show of Maori singing and dancing. We ended the day with a great surprise: a kiwi tasting picnic by a lake filled with black swans. The gold kiwi fruit was delicious, as were the candies and biscuits/cookies. We felt totally spoiled! Then we drove back to the ship in Tauranga, with plenty of time to board for our departure.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a fantastic trip with our guide Stephen from Zealander Tours. He did extra bits including bringing different food from NZ. Also showed us water falls which coincided with rafters coming down. Very patient, caring and knowledgable man. Would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Denis M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An excellent tour. Bus driver was outstanding ... thanks Duncan. Friendly and helpful. Rotorua sights were great.. Village tour outstanding.
Reasonable cost and the tour was professionally organised. We had a great day.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

trudy e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had an amazing tour and it always helps when the bus driver is very informative and a local. The Elms mission Station was amazing as was the Kiwi fruit farm. We had a wonderful time and would recommend this tour when staying at Tauranga

Doing what: Shore Excursion: Tauranga Highlights Including The Elms Mission Station

KAREN P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved this tour .

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Lelia Ann B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The driver of our bus was excellent, pointing out some sights on the way to Rotorua and actually stopping at other sights along the way. The xtra time at a small cafe on the shore of Lake Rotorua, where we bought lunch, gave us just enough time to admire the lake and walk around before departing to an AUTHENTIC Maori village in an active volcanic area not one constructed for the tourists. Our Maori tour guide actually lived in the village and demonstrated how they actually cook in volcanic vents and how they bathed in the volcanic water. They put on a show for us in a tent singing and dancing. Very entertaining! After the show we were scheduled to leave but our bus driver alerted us that a geyser we had viewed earlier was erupting and he held the bus up so we could double back to see the eruption!
All in all, it was a LONG day but well worth the money! Would Highly Recommend This Tour!

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

lp_624

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Delightful tour as promised in the ad brochure. Would recommend this small number group excursion.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

Mark Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Even though we knew that this was going to be a a touristy tour, the landscape, setting and flowers made the trip worth it. It was a very crowded area, but our guide kept things moving and we could hear her clearly.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour

Surely9805

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Colin our our guide being well informed about the area and we were able to see most of the area before the rain started in late afternoon.
Was one of the best tours of our cruise trip!!! Many thanks for making our trip pleasant to remember

Doing what: Shore Excursion: Tauranga Highlights Including The Elms Mission Station

Moiseshai United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour, the Maori village is amazing, ever in a windy and rainy day we enjoy it

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

Diane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

was a excellent tour for young and old, would do again

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Lord of the Rings Hobbiton Movie Set Tour Including Rotorua Sightseeing

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The recent tour to Hobbiton was a truly memorable occasion and one I would highly recommend. The tour company, driver and guide were simply outstanding. A fantastic day!

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

joecan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great itinerary. Very friendly and knowledgeable tour guide and driver.

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Small-Group Bay of Plenty and Tauranga Tour

George

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had a great time on this tour. It was worth every penny.

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

KELLIHER J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

great trip and host-very informative-itinerary well laid out

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights

sallyspelman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an very good tour because it was just my husband and I with a tour guide. Our guide chatted with our constantly showing us all the interesting points. Kirsty was excellent and when she dropped us off at the hot pools we felt that we had learnt alot about the area. The hot pools were a lovely end to our tour and I could have stayed in for ever!!!!!

Doing what: Tauranga Shore Excursion: Mt Drury and Moturiki Island Walking Tour including Mount Hot Pools Admission

AMANDA E Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I must confess before the tour I knew very little about LOTR nor was it of much interest - mainly doing his tour for my husband. Burt what a fabulous day it was! The scenery is simple breathtaking and the tour at Hobbiton is very well organized. The girl who took us around was so enthusiastic and told us many great stories. The free glass of ginger beer or stout if preferred was really nice and the pub had a great rustic atmosphere. We were very fortunate with our driver Les who as luck would have it worked on the movie set as a medic so he shared many fantastic stories along our drive. THe surrounding countryside is so beautiful. An unexpected quick stop to look at a kiwi farm on the way back was a nice surprise too. Was a wonderful day and well worth the price.

Doing what: Hobbiton Shore Excursion Including Lord of the Rings and Hobbit Movies Set Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message