The north west of England's diversity promises good times for every kind of traveler. Music fanatic? Northwestern cities Manchester and Liverpool boast enviable rock 'n' roll pedigrees. Untamed nature more your thing? The Yorkshire Moors and Lake ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 101 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Angela G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Punctual buses, which were clean, tidy and comfortable. The commentary was enjoyable and informative with a touch of humor. The drivers were polite and friendly. Great experience all round.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were so pleasantly surprised by how much we liked this city. We walked over the tilting bridge and got to see the tilting bridge in action. Amazing. The hop on/hop off bus was a great way to get an overview of what and #39;s out there. The people are so nice!!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Newcastle Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Leonardo T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This is a good option to see the must important attractions.
Takes between 20 to 30 minutes for the bus to pass by.
The only downside is that the bus didn and #39;t have the option for headphones so that makes difficult to hear the explanation.
That and #39;s why I give 4 start

Doing what: City Sightseeing Newcastle Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jan M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Brilliant way to see the sights. Beware that the last departure in Summer is around 2.45pm.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Newcastle Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Janet M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great experience, friendly drivers - so good we did the whole tour twice in one day!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Glenda P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great way to see and hear about all the history York has to offer. Fully recommend the tour

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

WNYNancy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great overview of York!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Ankit K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Value for money, should surely get one if you are visiting York.

Doing what: The York Pass

Mark E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Informative, interesting to myself, and my 11 and 6 year old...although upstairs in the open air essential and a great way to find out about some of the past of this beautiful historic city.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

kim t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic, great value for money as heaps of free entry to the attractions and discounts to lots of eatery's etc. What a beautiful place York is wish we had longer there.

Doing what: The York Pass

Kent R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We visited several venues and definetly got our money's worth. Castle Howard was our favorite and expensive without the York Pass.

Doing what: The York Pass

Janet M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Great experience, friendly drivers - so good we did the whole tour twice in one day!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

lynnmlesko

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Unfortunately, we were not able to use the vouchers. Reading the tour times from 1030 until three, that was followed by the terms that the voucher was good for 24 hours. I misunderstood and thought that the last tour started at three. However when we try to catch the tour bus at three the driver said they were done for the day. It is unfortunate we did not get to use the Boucher's so I can give no review. Because a review rating is required for me to submit this, I will give it one star but it is not actually an accurate reading

Doing what: City Sightseeing Newcastle Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

mmortonuk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Right off the train and onto the bus outside. York is not a big city so it takes about one hour to complete the ring road tour seeing and being pointed towards the main sites. Good commentary on board with regular stops to visit the attractions.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

MR D J RENDLE R

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

So much to do that 3 days were not enough.
Super atmosphere and certainly worth another visit and Pass

Doing what: The York Pass

Jenn13 Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It is a little hard to find the information center to collect the passes but once we had them it was well worth it. We were able to do the chocolate story, York Castle Museum, Yorkshire Museum, Roman baths, York Minister and Treasurers House in 1 day! Obviously more time was spent at some than others but a very good value.

Doing what: The York Pass

Clara O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The waiter was very informative and friendly, our meal was exactly as expected and the location decor, as ever, superb and interesting.

Doing what: Hard Rock Cafe Manchester

Peter C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A great place to visit..

Doing what: The York Pass

Hannie T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great personnel, food far exceeded our expectations, wonderful atmosphere, briefly: if you want to have a super fun night, just come to this place and you won't regret it :-

Doing what: Hard Rock Cafe Manchester

Docia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Awesome way to see the city! Totally do this!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

ANDREA T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really enjoyed the bus tour, entertaining commentary as we travelled. gave us ideas of parts of city to visit.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Ian N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We did the tour twice, once on Saturday, with the recorded commentary,and then a repeat on Sunday morning with a live guide who was brilliant, both informative and funny.
Would highly recommend the trip

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

ANDREA T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

The York pass was good idea but even though the passes were activated by staff one or other kept not working when scanned at place we were visiting. we went back to tourism shop several time to get new card etc but the places we visited said this often happened that cards would not scan.

Doing what: The York Pass

Huzefa m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour is helpful for checking out the city quickly, specially if you have about 1.5 hours to spare in the city. Quickly takes you to places around the downtown York area. It was also USD 19, so it is cheaper to take this bus for a day pass instead of paying the same to a cab to go everywhere. Alternatively, one could walk the city, but this is a nice ride if you wanna take it easy and not walk.

Commentary is in english and it gives a decent idea about the layout and some basic history of the place.

Overall, I would say 'not bad' in British terms, but 'fabulous' in American terms...:

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message