For a band that broke up 40 years ago, The Beatles’ popularity is as stratospheric as ever. Reissues and anthologies of their recordings continue to bombard the charts, while feature films and the recent Beatles Rock Band video game do their bit to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 157 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

revaudrey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Best day of the whole trip. Beautiful city, friendky people. Beatles Museu and Magical Mystery Tour were awesome.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

Nico P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This trip includes several things some of them are really great and actually touching, specially for a really Beatles fan like me. It starts pretty early and takes most of the day, which is something one should take into consideration. The train from London to Liverpool was actually shorter than I expected and I, once arrived, I took a walk directly to the Albert Dock in order to reach the Beatles Story Exhibition. With regard to this first stop I might say that I expected a little more. The exhibition os not as large as one may, but is very entertaining, including some nice things, such as the John Lennon Glasses, black velvet Jacket and, as far as I understood, the only blue LP copy of the White Album which is not permanent. It was probably because of the time around 10:30, but the place was not crowded at all. I takes probably less than one hour to go over the whole exhibition. I might also say that is only an Exhibition, not an actual museum of the Beatles something that I really believe the fans still deserve. Since the Magical Mystery Bus Tour was going to start until 2:00 PM, I had time to visit the Maritime Museum, located only a few meters from The Beatles Story, within the same Albert Dock. In spite I originally wasn't interested in visiting such museum, it was a nice surprise. It had a great exhibition about the Titanic. I didn't know how linked Liverpool was to the tragedy os such famous ship. You can see a lot of interesting things there, such as the list of passengers who died and the ones who where rescued, enlisted by class. There are lots of other interesting things related to the Titanic. And, at the end, even tough I am a huge Beatles fans, may I say the Maritime Museum was at least as nice the the Beatles Story visit. I would also recommend to visit the Slavery Museum, within the same building in one of the top floors.
However, the best two things of the trip where the Magical Mystery Bus tour and the final visit on your own to the Cavern Club. The bus is a very normal one, tough painted identically as the one used in the famous Beatles Movie. The bus tour takes around two hours and the guide gives you just about enough information of the places they take you. You go over all the houses where every one of the Beatles used to live or were born. Some highlights for me where the stop at Penny Lane and the Strawberry Fields Gate. One of the things I was really touched by was walking towards the house where Paul McCartney lived in such place he frequently met Lennon to compose, thus was a magic point of origin for many Beatles songs. The bus also pases in front of the Church where Lennon and McCartney met for the first time. Although you don't go off the bus, at least you see the place and is wonderful. Finally, they leave you quite near the Cavern Cavern Club at the perfect time to have a couple of beers and listening to one guy performing Beatles songs. What a better place to end the tip?

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

simspanoo

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Really good fun, but the Mystery Magical Bus tour sure is boring...

Zzzzz.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

mmo0015

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

You have less time than you think in Liverpool - so the early departure is worth it. The train ride was smooth, the Beatles Story is very well done - Magical Mystery bus tour was great! I recommend to any Beatles Fans!

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

Jay J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great experience with both the museum and the tour. Strongly recommend it!

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

James Bell United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Best Day despite the rain... Enjoyed the train ride and being on our own to do what we wanted when we wanted. Loved it.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

Herbert J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

one of the best trips I have ever taken, the city was wonderful and the Magical Mystery Tour bus and guide were fantastic. As a Beatle fan I was really excited about the trip and it exceeded my expectations. One thing off my bucket list!

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

pchiu Hong Kong

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

The quantity was huge but not delicious.

Doing what: Hard Rock Cafe Manchester

Karyn D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide on the Magical Mystery Tour Bus was excellent.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

Andrew M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We had the most wonderful day in Liverpool, and if you're a fan of the Beatles, this trip is a can't miss! If you worry that you will have too much time in Liverpool, that is not the case at all. The Beatles Story museum is incredible, and the Liverpool area is lovely to just wander around in. We loved the Magical Mystery Tour - I wasn't expecting to actually get off the bus to take pictures with and see the different sites, so I was pleasantly surprised. I can't recommend this trip enough.

My only complaint was that this morning started out pretty stressful for us. We got to the train station around 6:15am, as we were told to do by the tour company. We were told that the trip would begin at 6:30am. The representative from the tour company did not show up until nearly 6:40am, and we were extremely worried that we were in the wrong place or had missed something. When she did arrive, she was completely unapologetic for being late and tried to blame it on Viator, which I found completely unprofessional.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

Martin G Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

As a Beatles fan, I must say this is definitively a great trip to do. The train was pretty fast to get there. If you have good weather forecast, i recommend to take the ferry, it is a pleasant activity there's a discount on ferry tours. Beatles story and magical mystery tour are two cool experiences.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

Ken K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Easy. Self guided for the most part. Ample time for first visit. Nice greeter at outbound train. Just what I wanted.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

Kelly P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An absolute must for any Beatles fan! Well-organized, plenty of time to explore and just a thrilling day overall.
Our Magical Myatery tour guide was brilliant!

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

Elizabeth Anne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour is a must for anyone who is a Beatles fan. It was definitely worth getting up early to catch the train to Liverpool. The tour rep met us at the station and gave us very detailed instructions for our self-guided tour. The first class rail travel was definitely the way to go as it set the scene for what was a sensational day. I learnt a lot about the Beatles at the museum that I didn't know previously and the tour of Liverpool where the Fab Four grew up and went to school was awesome. There was plenty of time after the tour to visit Mathew Street and enjoy some Beatles music and a drink in the Cavan Club before catching the train back to London.
This experience was the highlight of my trip!

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

Caridad C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Love this tour. The only thing that I do not understand is why a guide does not go to Liverpool with the group. I am pretty sure we will obtain more information. We did enjoy it since we are Beatles fan so this was a must for us.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

Chrissy B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Long but very enjoyable day. Well organised and well planned. If you have trouble with stairs you might want to skip the last stop - the Cavern as there were several flights of stairs involved.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

Tim D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really had a great time in Liverpool. Had a pint and listened to some live entertainment at the Cavern Club after the tour. We had a great driver and guide on the bus who really knew how to keep it fun and interesting. Learned more about the Beatles and saw where it all began. Loved it!

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

KC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a self guided tour and it is easy to go round by yourself as Liverpool is a small city. Combining the magical misery tour, the Beatles story and the Cevern club, there are plenty to see about the Fab Four. The time required is about right too, though I finished earlier to take an earlier train back.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

Karen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The bundle made this trip from London to Liverpool and back so easy. We had time for a quick lunch and a leisurely early dinner at a local pub. The trip was fun, entertaining and we learned information that we did not know before. Arrived back in London early enough to get a good nights sleep before our next busy day.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

Robbin P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

the tour bus broke down and we were left outside a store for over an hour. we requested to be dropped off so we wouldn't miss our train back to London. we were dropped off across the street from the train station. just made our train by 10 minutes!!

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

MSbeatles2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I LOVED this trip! My husband and I flew all the way from Las Vegas to London and Liverpool to have a Beatles-oriented trip. This tour was great because they help set the itinerary, get the tickets for you, but you are not beholden to a big tour group the entire day. It's great for people who like to have a skeleton of a trip planned and fill in the blanks with your own desired spots to see and experience.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

slanecfamily USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic day. We meet the tour rep. at the train station, she gave us our tickets and detailed instructions and off we went. We had plenty of free time between the Beatles Story and the Magical Mystery Tour. We loved the tour Penny Lane, stawberry fields ect. The Cavern was icing on the cake.

Doing what: Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London

Clara O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The waiter was very informative and friendly, our meal was exactly as expected and the location decor, as ever, superb and interesting.

Doing what: Hard Rock Cafe Manchester

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message