Oahu ATTRACTIONS See all

Diamond Head

The pointy peak of Diamond Head forms a dramatic backdrop to Waikiki on Oahu’s south coast. Diamond Head is a State Monument, and a popular lookout point on Oahu. Formed from volcanic tuff, the crater is part of a geological outcrop of cones, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 98 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Maxljones

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was full of information on the journey to Diamond head, and whilst there, a great walk, not to difficult, but so worth while for the view at the top

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Adventure

charliebear_97

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide, Justin, was really great and knowledgeable about Diamond Head and the ecology. He would take breaks on the way up which was greatly appreciated since I am a senior. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to hike up the crater.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Adventure

Katherine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Such a great tour, our guide Mike was amazing and tailored the speed of the hike to suite the capability of participants. You also get to skip the queue of people waiting to get access to Diamond Head as you and #39;re with a tour group. Would highly recommend this!

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Adventure

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We so enjoyed the tour guide, she was awesome!! She was an environmental scientist and was very informative about Diamond Head as well as the culture of Hawaii. She was very cautious for all guests and their safety while hiking, loved again the wonderful personality. The views at the top are awesome but the crowds I could do without.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Adventure

Chuck H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyed the hike up Diamond Head. Tour Guide Bethany was great. Only could have been better if it wasn't raining.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Adventure

Jessica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was our first time in Hawaii and we had a blast hiking up Diamond Head Crater. The view from the top was amazing and we and #39;ll worth the hike. Our guide Bethany was very informative and helped made sure everyone was safe on the hike. I would definitely recommend going on this tour.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Adventure

Starr H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide, Mandy, was very knowledgeable on the history of Diamond Head. Also, she would stop the group for a break and made sure that everyone was good to go on, which was very helpful for my friend with COPD! The hike was great and so worth the climb for the beautiful view. Thank you for a great adventure and will contact you for our next trip.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Adventure

Wayne United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour to Diamond Head Crater summit. Recommend camera's that can strap on you to keep hands free. Bring a bottle of water and wear some comfortable sneakers. A little drizzle on the way up made the first half of the hike very slippery, but good to cool you down. Great views, probably would have been nice to see the sunrise. If you're attempting this hike prior to boarding a cruise, make sure your transportation to the cruise ship is aware you have the morning hike and make sure your guide is also aware what time you need to be back at the Hotel. My wife and I made the hike with our group starting at 8 am, finished before 10:30 am round trip and made it back to our hotel before 11am for an 11:15 am shuttle to our cruise. We did cut it kinda close, but it worked out perfectly.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Adventure

MARTY S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great small group tour. We had a group of about 10 people. Mandy, our guide, was very knowledgeable about all aspects of the nature of Hawaii. She shared info about the geology, plants, animals and birds. The hike up Diamond Head was a bit challenging and we had a diverse group but she did a great job of pacing the climb for varied abilities. I would recommend this to anyone who was some exercise and would like some inside information about Hawaii.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Adventure

Sheilah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was great. Jason our guide had lots of interesting information about trees, plants and the history of diamond head and Oahu! Good time!

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Adventure

Anne P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

You not only get the benefit of some exercise but the view at the top is a bonus. Our guide Dave was a lovely young man who kept up an interesting commentary about Diamond Head and Hawaii in general. There were only two of us on the sunrise tour and Dave personalized the tour for us. I'd highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Adventure

Cheryl H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Phenomenal Adventure! We are senior citizens and were a little concerned about the physical aspect of this hike, but we needn't have worried. Not that it doesn't give you a workout--but a fun one. The tour included a Professional guide, Use of backpack, Personalized I Climbed Diamond Head certificate with a photo of the crater suitable for framing, Entrance fee, Local taxes, Hotel pickup and drop off. We were picked up exactly where they told us to be and right on time. Our professional tour guide was so knowledgeable, sweet, patient, and helpful. I wish I could remember her name, but I do remember that she knew so much about all the plant life along our hike to the top of Diamond Head. All of our tour group that day were senior citizens, and she was very patient and understanding. We took breaks whenever needed, water was supplied as well as walking sticks to help on the uneven trails. I will warn folks that there are quite a lot of stairs to climb at one point in the hike. I think there were at least 50 or so steps to the stairs. Some folks might find that a little difficult--as I did, but I made it to the top. The tour does take longer than 2.5 hours, so plan a little extra time. We left the hotel at 9:30, and did not get back until about 1:30. I highly recommend this tour. We had a blast!

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Adventure

Sharon R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent way to start the morning. I recommend the 6am tour to avoid the tourists and to get some great photos of the rising sun. The hike was easy, however it has a section with stairs that can be difficult and rocks can be slippery in some areas. David, our guide, was very friendly. We were back to the hotel by 9:30am. A nice visit to Diamond Head.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Adventure

JUDITH C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was very knowledgeable about the area and took his time walking us up to Diamond Head. Good to do this early in the morning as it got hot as we came down.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Adventure

Dan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We took the shuttle to Diamond Head on Friday, December 5th. Our tour guide was Tiffany and she was awesome! On the trip out to Diamond Head she explained sites along the way and gave us the history of Diamond Head once we arrived on site. She was very enthusiastic, interesting and made us feel very comfortable. She informed us of the rules regarding our climb and the route/routes to take and gave us encouragement as we began the climb. She told us where to purchase water and refreshments after we finished the climb and where to meet her. After the climb she gathered us together and presented certificates to each of us. She made each of us feel special and to us it felt like a ceremony of achievement! We were very happy with the tour and especially with Tiffany and her knowledge of Diamond Head. We also noticed her respect for the islands of Hawaii and the Hawaiian culture. We were very pleased with this tour and we will recommend to our friends! Thank you for the wonderful adventure! Dan and Kathy Scheer

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Adventure

Tami J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was great. The guide was VERY knowledge. He would tell everyone to watch out for this crack in the pavement or the shrubbery and if there was any litter along the way, he picked it up. When we got to the top of Diamond Head, he took photos for everyone. A very nice and caring man with a lot of knowledge to share.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Adventure

Lachlan T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tour, did the early 6am start to avoid the heat, Justin our guide was extremely well informed about Diamond Head and Hawaii in general. Well worth doing, highly recommended.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Adventure

Kathleen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

If you are not in shape, good luck getting up Diamond Head!! I made it up to the top by the grace of God!!! It was well worth it though when I reached the top. What a view! The tour guide was fantastic and very interesting. I would recommend this tour, but, suggest you do it during the morning hours.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Adventure

Larry C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was Bethany, she was the best. She knows a lot about the Honolulu, Waikiki, and Diamond Head.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Adventure

Sarah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great Tour. Our tour guide, Mike, was fun and energetic. Well worth 3 hours of your day! The views from diamond head are amazing.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Adventure

AL

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

One of the many highlights of our trip. So many beautiful and different landscapes in one trip. Possibly the most efficient way to see the south side of Oahu in a short half-day trip. From Diamond Head to Hanauma Bay, to the countryside and Pali Lookout, we even got in some added bonus like Coconut Island where they filmed Gilligan's Island and several other iconic Hollywood filming locations. There were plenty of stops and photo ops along the way, and just the drive itself is amazing. I would highly recommend this tour for people of all ages.

The tour itself is a must, but the company was fantastic, especially our guide, Cousin Dwight. The bus was practically new and very clean and comfortable. It had a bathroom and strong air conditioning. Our tour guide, Cousin Dwight is one of the most enthusiastic and passionate people I have ever met and he made our tour that much greater. He is hospitable and entertaining and has so much intricate knowledge of the island and culture. As a great added bonus, Cousin Dwight took us past the Hospital where President Obama was born, his grandmother's apartment, and even the local Baskin Robins where he worked as a kid scooping ice cream. I took so many beautiful photos on this trip and took home even more knowledge. Mahalo Cousin, and thanks for treating us all like Ohana!!!!

Doing what: Diamond Head & Oahu Coast Half-Day Tour

Janice L. P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved the hike on Diamond Head. Our tour guide, Damar, was wonderful. Very informative and made the hike fun! The views are definitely worth the hike!

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Adventure

loripopolizio

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was excellent and enjoyed by the entire family. Our tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable about not only Diamond Head, the the Hawaiian Islands as a whole.

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Adventure

James F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Ronna was the best! We would take another tour with her in a heartbeat. The Diamond Head Crater is a must-see on the island. We enjoyed the day thoroughly!

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Adventure

Julie J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour and tour guide, who was very knowledgeable of Diamond Heads

Doing what: Diamond Head Crater Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message