Oahu ATTRACTIONS See all

Dole Plantation

For a fun day out in the Hawaiian countryside, discover Oahu’s pineapple heritage at the Dole Plantation. What started out as a fruit stand in the middle of the pineapple fields in 1950 is now an extremely popular Hawaiian attraction. The Dole ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 145 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jane V F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great trip. The Japanese Temple was one of my favorite stops. Though, to be honest, I really just wanted to get Dole Whip at the Dole Plantation. Love that stuff. The beach stops were gorgeous. The stop at Nu'uanu Pali didn't work out so well. Rainy and so so windy. We had been there a few years before and had some really great photos from that time, so it didn't bother me that we couldn't see anything. The tour guide was very informative and accommodating. It's a really good day trip.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Jamie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was mostly a driving tour, but everything you see if very beautiful and definitely worth the trip. The guide is very informative and we learned a lot of historical and current facts about Hawaii. We would definitely recommend this tour! The first and last stop are breathtaking!! Lunch at the ranch was great, and the Dole Plantation was a great stop for dessert!!

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Donna E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

An excellent tour to do to get out of the city and see all around the island ... bus was very comfortable ... driver very informative and humorous ... enjoyed the tram tour at the lunch stop, great views ... ice cream whip at Dole Plantation stop is a must to try!!

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Karen Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide NOA made this the best trip every. It was full day and he kept it interesting and fun the whole time. How he kept it up ALL day is beyond me. From 7:30am till he dropped us off at 5pm, he was on his game. Funny, interesting, quizzicle. Dole plantation was too short. Should spend a littme more time there. We hit so many places. It was a great appetizer of all there is to see.
Great job!!!

Doing what: Oahu Coach Tour Including Dole Plantation and Waimea Falls

cecimontero76

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The tour was very good! Our driver and tour guide was very informative and funny. He gave us a glance at the whole island. The highlight was the stop at the Dole plantation for the pineapple whip, it was delicious!! I very much recommend this tour.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

cecimontero76

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The tour was very good! Our driver and tour guide was very informative and funny. He gave us a glance at the whole island. The highlight was the stop at the Dole plantation for the pineapple whip, it was delicious!! I very much recommend this tour.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Gerri M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Enjoyed the trip but we always seemed rushed. I'd say skip the ranch and have lunch at Dole plantation. Driver did well with his stories of history of the island.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Maureen B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The tour was ok. We didn't stop as much as I thought we would and we found it difficult trying to take pictures from the bus. The Plantation was nice but I found that when we stopped we didn't have much time to do anything. Everything seemed so rushed. Maybe this tour should start earlier and end a wee bit later. Our driver was ok but more interested in talking to the Americans as he was originally from there. Gives you a rough idea of the island and where to go on another day.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Dominic B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Not worth the money or time in our opinion. We wanted to see the Dole plantation that is why we chose this tour. Day was way too long, mostly scenic views. Great driver who was very knowledgeable. Did not have enough time at Dole plantation. Could have left off some of the other stops to shorten the trip and leave more time for Dole plantation. I would not recommend this tour. Probably could have spent the day better doing something else.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Nicholas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great day! Our guide was very informative and kept us on schedule for all of our stops. I feel the Dole plantation was a bit quick. If it would be possible maybe a few more minutes. It was fun to take pictures and taste the pineapple ice-cream. We got beautiful pictures of all the stops. The Byodo-In Temple was so beautiful and peaceful.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

zhena99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I wasn't quite sure what to expect from this tour. But it was simply amazing!!! We saw SO many things in just one day! Starting with a breathtaking view of Oahu from the Nu'uanu Pali lookout! This tour is well worth the money! You literally go around the whole island! My only wish is that we could have had a bit more time at the Dole plantation. I would have liked to look around more. Rest assured...this tour will create memories that will last a lifetime!

Doing what: Oahu Coach Tour Including Dole Plantation and Waimea Falls

Gary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip is the best way to view the entire island. Our tour guide, Shannon O, was fantastic! He is a combination, science and history teacher who explained things with great detail. He was very accommodating and hilarious. The sights that we visited were the Dole Plantation, the North Shore, and the Buddhist Temple amazing!. If you are to take this trip try to plan it at the beginning of your vacation because you will definitely want to revisit some of the stops, especially the lunchtime shrimp stand!!!

Doing what: Oahu Coach Tour Including Dole Plantation and Waimea Falls

Mary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very comprehensive tour of the island . . . lots of history and beautiful scenery! Loved the dole ship treat at the plantation

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Kirk L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Denis our tour guide was great! Friendly and informative with a bit of humor thrown in. We were disappointed to not be able to go out onto the USS Arizonia. The Navy cancelled the boat launches due to
High winds. Wish we had a little more time
At the Dole Plantation. PCC was great! Would recommend

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

Laura S Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Tovita was knowledgeable, funny and smart.
We saw soooo many things. I was expecting more stops along the way - it was more of a driving tour.
Pearl Harbor was very good and moving.
The Polynesian Centre was full of culture and knowledge.
I was disappointed with the amount of time we spent at the Dole plantation - only 25 minutes. I was hoping to go on the Pineapple express and see the maze but there was no time. It was more of a shopping tour than anything.
Still a good tour and you get to see many different things - perhaps if i had more time, i would go to each place separately.

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

HAROLD G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

The tour was overbooked and my wife and I were seated with half a window view at best, we were picked up at a different hotel for 300 dollars we should have been picked up at our hotel. Other tour groups pick up out front. The stop.at the Dole plantation was a joke. 15 minutes

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

Ymcollins5

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

It was a long trip only to find out dole plantation is onsite of a store with no pineapple tasting just to buy souvenirs

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Tracey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a must to do! Our tour driver Ed was very informative and kept the information coming all day. The views are spectacular and you get opportunities to take advantage of this with stops at vantage points along the way. One of the stops was at the Byodo-In Temples located at the foot of the Ko'olau Mountains in Valley of the Temples Memorial Park. This is such a serene place, truly beautiful. This tour is a great way to see most of the island. At the Dole Plantation stop make sure you try the pineapple ice cream, its delicious.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Carol H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyed the day, but slightly disappointed that we didn't stop to see the turtles or north shore beaches. Stop at Dole Plantation was very commercialised and would have preferred stop to see the turtles

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Amy G United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

My husband and I were staying on Oahu for 10 days. We booked this tour as one of our first experiences in Hawaii. We figured this tour would give us a good lay of the land so to speak. We didn't rent a car for the whole time and thought that with this tour if we saw something/somewhere we would want to go back to on our own, we could rent a car for the day. I really enjoyed the tour, but I think the timing was off on a lot of the stops. For example, we had way too much time at the Ranch even though that's where we had lunch and barely any time at the Dole Plantation. I really would have liked more than 45 minutes there. We only had time to get a Dole whip and then I barely even had time to shop, or do anything else. tip if you go there go around to the back counters to get your Whip. We stood in line with everyone else, not knowing that there was no one on the back side This is where we should have gone back to, but didn't. I can't recall he drivers name, but he was ok. Personable but didn't overly impress me. There was a lot of traffic up near North Shore so for a lot of the time it felt like we spent so much time just sitting in traffic. Overall it was good so that we could see a lot of the famous beaches etc., but we didn't get out of the bus at a lot of stops.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

G Cortz

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

There was not enough time at the stops, especially the Dole Plantation. I would recommend people save their money and instead rent a car, turn on your GPS, and do this tour on your own. Each stop had a very limited time allowance. In some stops, it was okay to do this but not all of them. We were given all the time we needed at their pre-chosen place to eat however, I feel we could have eaten at the Waimea Falls just as well and would have had more time at the falls. I recommend taking the walk to the falls but ride on the cart on your way back so that you can have more time at the fall. At the Dole Plantation, we were told that management had allotted us only 15 minutes but the guide was giving us 30 minutes. But we were also informed that we couldn't do the maze or ride the train to see the area because there wouldn't be back to the bus in time. We only had time to use their lavatory and purchase items and ice cream as the lines were too long. That was it! Same thing at the Temple not enough time. Also, we are asked not to talk or be on the phone when the guide is talking. We were told to whisper. This is not an unreasonable request however, the guide NEVER stopped talking. He was informative but it could have been better if he'd stuck to the history of the Island instead of talking about his school years in football positions he played, etc etc, or about his family and upbringing in the Island. I stopped listening. I booked this tour for us, especially for the Dole Plantation but saw nothing of it except inside the store.

Doing what: Oahu Coach Tour Including Dole Plantation and Waimea Falls

bfoster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Cousin Kevin was a blast! He made the trip a lot of fun. Great tour, as we experienced a lot of items in one day. We could not have done as much on our own. Only bad thing I can think of was that we did not have enough time at the Dole Plantation. More time needs to be allotted for there. Overall, a great tour that I would recommend to all.

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

Constance W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a wonderful trip. Our guide Lisa was very friendly and knowledgeable. Stops included a Japenese Temple, Waimea Falls, North Shore Beaches, a Coral Beach and a blow hole. The tour is a gastronomic delight too as there are stops at a Macademia Nut Farm, lunch at a Shrimp Farm and a stop at the Dole plantation for pineapple ice cream and fresh pineapple. Excellent day out which lasts eight hours.

Doing what: Oahu Coach Tour Including Dole Plantation and Waimea Falls

Cynthia B USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Felt rushed on this tour. Would have liked to have spent more than half an hour at the Dole Plantation so we could have seen more than the gift shop. The tour was informative, but felt more like a shopping tour, not what I expected.

Doing what: Small-Group Polynesian Cultural Center and North Shore Day Trip

Michael F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We were visiting the Hawaiian islands for 2 weeks and went on several excursions. We arrived a day early and went on this tour. It was one of the best tours we took the whole trip. Our guide was Garfield, and I hope he's your guide too if you take this tour. He was informative, amusing, and knowledgeable. The only concern I have is that I was told when we scheduled the trip that we would be at the Dole Plantation for 90 minutes. It ended up being 40, with 30 of it being spent in line for Dole whip. So we didn't see much of the Dole Plantation.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message