Oahu ATTRACTIONS See all

Dole Plantation

For a fun day out in the Hawaiian countryside, discover Oahu’s pineapple heritage at the Dole Plantation. What started out as a fruit stand in the middle of the pineapple fields in 1950 is now an extremely popular Hawaiian attraction. The Dole ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 132 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip is the best way to view the entire island. Our tour guide, Shannon O, was fantastic! He is a combination, science and history teacher who explained things with great detail. He was very accommodating and hilarious. The sights that we visited were the Dole Plantation, the North Shore, and the Buddhist Temple amazing!. If you are to take this trip try to plan it at the beginning of your vacation because you will definitely want to revisit some of the stops, especially the lunchtime shrimp stand!!!

Doing what: Oahu Coach Tour Including Dole Plantation and Waimea Falls

Kirk L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Denis our tour guide was great! Friendly and informative with a bit of humor thrown in. We were disappointed to not be able to go out onto the USS Arizonia. The Navy cancelled the boat launches due to
High winds. Wish we had a little more time
At the Dole Plantation. PCC was great! Would recommend

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

HAROLD G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

The tour was overbooked and my wife and I were seated with half a window view at best, we were picked up at a different hotel for 300 dollars we should have been picked up at our hotel. Other tour groups pick up out front. The stop.at the Dole plantation was a joke. 15 minutes

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

Ymcollins5

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

It was a long trip only to find out dole plantation is onsite of a store with no pineapple tasting just to buy souvenirs

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Tracey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a must to do! Our tour driver Ed was very informative and kept the information coming all day. The views are spectacular and you get opportunities to take advantage of this with stops at vantage points along the way. One of the stops was at the Byodo-In Temples located at the foot of the Ko'olau Mountains in Valley of the Temples Memorial Park. This is such a serene place, truly beautiful. This tour is a great way to see most of the island. At the Dole Plantation stop make sure you try the pineapple ice cream, its delicious.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Carol H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyed the day, but slightly disappointed that we didn't stop to see the turtles or north shore beaches. Stop at Dole Plantation was very commercialised and would have preferred stop to see the turtles

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Amy G United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

My husband and I were staying on Oahu for 10 days. We booked this tour as one of our first experiences in Hawaii. We figured this tour would give us a good lay of the land so to speak. We didn't rent a car for the whole time and thought that with this tour if we saw something/somewhere we would want to go back to on our own, we could rent a car for the day. I really enjoyed the tour, but I think the timing was off on a lot of the stops. For example, we had way too much time at the Ranch even though that's where we had lunch and barely any time at the Dole Plantation. I really would have liked more than 45 minutes there. We only had time to get a Dole whip and then I barely even had time to shop, or do anything else. tip if you go there go around to the back counters to get your Whip. We stood in line with everyone else, not knowing that there was no one on the back side This is where we should have gone back to, but didn't. I can't recall he drivers name, but he was ok. Personable but didn't overly impress me. There was a lot of traffic up near North Shore so for a lot of the time it felt like we spent so much time just sitting in traffic. Overall it was good so that we could see a lot of the famous beaches etc., but we didn't get out of the bus at a lot of stops.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

G Cortz

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

There was not enough time at the stops, especially the Dole Plantation. I would recommend people save their money and instead rent a car, turn on your GPS, and do this tour on your own. Each stop had a very limited time allowance. In some stops, it was okay to do this but not all of them. We were given all the time we needed at their pre-chosen place to eat however, I feel we could have eaten at the Waimea Falls just as well and would have had more time at the falls. I recommend taking the walk to the falls but ride on the cart on your way back so that you can have more time at the fall. At the Dole Plantation, we were told that management had allotted us only 15 minutes but the guide was giving us 30 minutes. But we were also informed that we couldn't do the maze or ride the train to see the area because there wouldn't be back to the bus in time. We only had time to use their lavatory and purchase items and ice cream as the lines were too long. That was it! Same thing at the Temple not enough time. Also, we are asked not to talk or be on the phone when the guide is talking. We were told to whisper. This is not an unreasonable request however, the guide NEVER stopped talking. He was informative but it could have been better if he'd stuck to the history of the Island instead of talking about his school years in football positions he played, etc etc, or about his family and upbringing in the Island. I stopped listening. I booked this tour for us, especially for the Dole Plantation but saw nothing of it except inside the store.

Doing what: Oahu Coach Tour Including Dole Plantation and Waimea Falls

bfoster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Cousin Kevin was a blast! He made the trip a lot of fun. Great tour, as we experienced a lot of items in one day. We could not have done as much on our own. Only bad thing I can think of was that we did not have enough time at the Dole Plantation. More time needs to be allotted for there. Overall, a great tour that I would recommend to all.

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

Constance W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a wonderful trip. Our guide Lisa was very friendly and knowledgeable. Stops included a Japenese Temple, Waimea Falls, North Shore Beaches, a Coral Beach and a blow hole. The tour is a gastronomic delight too as there are stops at a Macademia Nut Farm, lunch at a Shrimp Farm and a stop at the Dole plantation for pineapple ice cream and fresh pineapple. Excellent day out which lasts eight hours.

Doing what: Oahu Coach Tour Including Dole Plantation and Waimea Falls

Cynthia B USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Felt rushed on this tour. Would have liked to have spent more than half an hour at the Dole Plantation so we could have seen more than the gift shop. The tour was informative, but felt more like a shopping tour, not what I expected.

Doing what: Small-Group Polynesian Cultural Center and North Shore Day Trip

Michael F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We were visiting the Hawaiian islands for 2 weeks and went on several excursions. We arrived a day early and went on this tour. It was one of the best tours we took the whole trip. Our guide was Garfield, and I hope he's your guide too if you take this tour. He was informative, amusing, and knowledgeable. The only concern I have is that I was told when we scheduled the trip that we would be at the Dole Plantation for 90 minutes. It ended up being 40, with 30 of it being spent in line for Dole whip. So we didn't see much of the Dole Plantation.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Terri T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a very enjoyable day. Christine was our guide and although she was not native to the island, we learned a lot from her. There were lots of others also going to the Dole Plantation and the Cultural Center that day... So her tips on where to meet and which lines to stand in made it easy to avoid the rush and enjoy the whole experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Polynesian Cultural Center and North Shore Day Trip

Rhonda W USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

It started out fine, the bus driver was friendly. But as the tour went on it was clearly a tourist type of trap deal, the Dole Plantation was a real disappointment-just a place to spend money.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

francis d

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

It started out pretty good but then just kind of died. very disappointed in the dole plantation. I thought we
would get more info on how it is raised harvested etc. all it turned out to be was a gift shop.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Lesley M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

We enjoyed the island tour of Oahu. The driver Cody was very informative and friendly. The cons were we did not get to stop at the North Shore and had limited time at the Dole Plantation after an unscheduled stop at a macadamia nut outlet. Other than the narration, I would recommend renting a car and driving the island on your own. No sense taking this tour more than once.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Helga C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide told us that 500,000 people visit this landmark every year. With good reason: the site is movingly and tastefully done. We followed this with a circle Oahu tour, which was great, even though it rained torrentially for the rest of the day. Don't miss our guide, Cousin Kev: he was funny, flexible, and prepared for the weather, in all quite possibly the best tour guide I have ever traveled with. Even the touristy stops were fun, the waves on the North Shore were frighteningly huge, and you could get a feel for what the island was like in the days of the sugar and pineapple plantations. Be warned, it is a very looong day!

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

JOHN D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The North Shore was my favorite stop - always wanted to see those big waves - but alas they weren't that big the day we actually took the tour - loved the Dole Plantation - alas didn't see any samples of the pineapple - but the ice cream was to die for! The lunch at the Ranch was a bit of a let down - sounded fantastic but wasn't all that. the tour guide was phenomenal and very informative.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Virginia A

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

This tour was least meaningful to us among the tours we took. Seeing the punchbowl cemetery and a beautiful Buddhist temple were nice, but the Dole Plantation was uninteresting. We felt like the day was largely wasted by the length of the tour, which took 7 or 8 hours.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Rodney C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A must do. The whole day tour was great. Dole was very cool. The macadamian plantation was nice, since I love macadamians

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Phil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Had an awesome day. Our guide was the best. Very informative and fun. Pineapple sorbet was the bomb at the Dole Plantation.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

William H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great to have only 12 on our tour. Bus is uncomfy in the backseat...avoid...needs new shocks! Also the only other complaints...not enough time at the Dole Plantation. Would love to have had time to ride the Pineapple Express train on the property. Our guide was FANTASTIC...I tipped him 20...he was that good! Polynesian Cultural Center has improved over the 38 years that I've been visiting Oahu. Do see it...lunch buffet was GREAT...so many times they are not. IMAX movie at PCC was terrific with atmospheric effects with seats that move...wind in your face, etc. There was a snafu on the reservations. The local tour operator hadn't receive my reservation info...even though I had my confirmation number. Took nearly one hour by phone to get it straightened out...but VIATOR was fantastic and most proficient in getting it resolved. I would still highly recommend this tour. It is long but very, very fast. Pearl Harbor was fantastic and very moving.

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

Dianne S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

This tour is a good way to experience the Oahu outside of Honolulu. Our guide was excellent - gave us a lot of background in an entertaining way. We had plenty of time to take photos. The stop at the Dole Plantation is nothing more than a 45 minute shopping stop. The timing of the visit and the amount of time spent there meant that we could not do much more. We also stopped at a ranch for lunch - the food was very nice, but it wasn't mentioned on the itinerary for the tour I booked.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Lucy

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Not enough time at dole plantation, Polynesian cultural village is worthy to visit, love the Byodo-in temple and the Pali look out.

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

jeff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great full day tour of the sites in Oahu, our tour guide did an excellent job point out the various sights as well as providing us plenty of history of the Island. She navigated us well through the crowds at the Pearl Harbor memorial. Overall it was a great experience. Being on a small bus rather than a big tour bus was a big plus that led to a much more personal experience.

My only real complaint is that I felt that the Dole Plantation and the Macadamia nut farm stops were a bit of a tourist trap. Fortunately we did not spend long at these locations.

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message