Circular Hanauma Bay is a particularly attractive, sheltered inlet of turquoise water, carved from a submerged volcanic crater east of Diamond Head. The sandy beach park is popular with families, with its calm waters, lifeguards, and gentle ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 86 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

bibiana.beardsley

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

First of all, Hanauma Bay really is that great for snorkeling. However, I would not book this tour if I had known more about it. You are picked up at your hotel, driven to a shopping center store front where you get your snorkel equipment. Then you have to wait to be driven to the Bay. You pay 7.50 to get in. My snorkel equipment was broken, so I was forced to use just the mask. When you are ready to leave, you have to WAIT again to be picked up. You are driven to the store, where you turn in your equipment. Then you have to WAIT again to be driven to your hotel. It would have been faster and less expensive to take a cab or Uber to the Bay, and rented the equipment there.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

Trang D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Had a good time snorkeling at Hanauma Bay. Transportation was on time , very nice and professional driver / tour guide . Will definitely refer to friends

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

charliebear_97

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The half day tour was perfect to go to Hanauma Bay! Everything was very organized and there was enough time to snorkel!

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

Lois S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a day! While staying in Waikiki, it was very easy to think that what we saw there was all that Oahu is. How wrong we were! This tour showed us the island in a very informative and beautiful way. Our tour guide, Keao, was awesome! So informative, related to everyone on a personal level, and entertained us during the entire tour. Hanauma Bay and the Halona Blowhole were spectacular sights! Words and pictures simply cannot express how beautiful this island truly is. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Elizabeth Z

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

I think the tour information needs to include some things. First, it is not a 3 hour tour. It was two hours between the time we were supposed to be picked up at the hotel and the first time our feet touched water and Hanauma Bay and it's only 10 miles away! The pick-up van was late, we were crunched into the very back seat and the air was off. Once we left hotel the driver spoke about Hawaii and various sites the entire time. Problem was we couldn't hear anything from the back seat speaker would be nice after driving for some time we arrived at an office complex where we picked up snorkeling gear. Then we waited again for another bus to go the the bay. No employees seemed concerned to hurry and get on our way. Traffic was heavy. Once at the bay we had to pay 7.50 each add'l to get in. I didn't see this in the tour description. Then we stood in line to watch a movie. After movie we finally walked 5 minutes to the bay to snorkle. Then we had to hurry back to catch the bus for return to office building and then hotel. I would never do this again. Instead, I would suggest to friends to leave early, catch a cab or rent a car and rent snorkels right at bay. This tour needs to let people know how long it takes to do everything.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

Paula R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour. The tour company was very efficient and organized, and Hanauma Bay is the perfect place to go snorkeling for the first time. Apparently a lot of snorkeling tours take you out on a boat and you are in very deep water. At Hanauma Bay, you wade out into the water and are in waist-deep water at most. Even those in our group who didn't want to snorkel were able to have a good time.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

Chris W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was our second time in 12 years visiting Hanauma Bay. Our first time taking advantage of Viator. We loved it and enjoyed every minute.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

Heidi V

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

We did not go to Hanauma Bay and did not stop at the North Shore at all. Otherwise the tour was great.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Brian H

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

This tour is good not great. I wouldn't do the tour again. I would rent a car and go on my own. This tour is simply a ride to Hanauma Bay , there are no tips or insights about the area. Not worth the money

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

Ai Chin W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was excellent, comprehensive overview, knowledgeable and humorous tour guide. Am telling friends to join it! Only wish we could have dipped our knees in Hanauma Bay even for a while!

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

MARTY S

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

This tour was structured a bit oddly. I was picked up at my hotel then taken to their tour headquarters were we received equipment, then went to Hanauma Bay by a taxi ?. I would recommend snorkeling at Hanauma Bay if you have children and don't want to take them out on a boat but the snorkeling was only ok. There is quite a walk down to the beach and back up also the concessions are located at the top. There is a shuttle but there is a fee. I did other snorkeling off shore by boat which was much better. I thought this tour wasted quite a lot of time with transportation.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

Caeser M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

They don't necessarily show you how to snorkel, but their equipment and shuttle service to Hanauma Bay were superb. They 're located about 5 mins away from the bay and it beats having to find parking at or near the bay on a busy day. Plus their prices are comparable to the rental shops at and around the bay.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

Pam

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The pick up was very timely. All guides with the local company were great. I left my umbrella on the bus and they returned it to our hotel to me. Well worth it as the lot was full and they were not letting any individual cars in at that time. Hanauma Bay is a must to see.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

Madeline W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Couldn't get into Hanauma Bay as they stopped cars from going in, but good tour overall!

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Jean D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommend this excursion to Hanauma Bay. Whether your an experienced snorkler or just a beginner this is the perfect place for you. My booking with Viator was very smooth and they were on time to pick us up and return us to our hotel. I was so pleased with the service that I have now booked 5 more excursions with them. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

Shirley S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

First of all.. Hanauma Bay is beautiful! Unfortunately we were there on a pretty rough seas day which made snorkeling really tough. The tour operator picked us up a bit early, dropped us off for our equipment and delivered us to the bay. All in all a pretty good deal and very nice people.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

Ryan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was an amazing experience, we went to so many beautiful places. Great photo opportunities around, and the guide was knowledgeable, funny, and talented. He even got everyone singing and knew everyone's names by the end of the day. Make sure to sit on the right side of the bus so you get the ocean-side view! I would highly recommend this experience. You visit such incredible places such as, the Kahala Neighborhood Hawaii's Beverly Hills, Hanauma Bay, Halona Blowhole, Nuʻuanu Pali Lookout Site, the Byodo-In Temple, Kualoa Ranch, Chinamans Hat, Kahana Bay, Sunset Beach, and finally, the best way to end the day: with some pineapple ice cream from Dole Plantation!

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Craig

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We have been lucky enough to do a lot of travel top a lot of different countries and the day we spent at Hanauma Bay was up there with the very best days we have had. Absolute stunning spot, inexpensive and great variety of tropical fish just metres off the beach. Would highly recommend it. Apparantly it gets very busy in summer1 million visitors per year so go early if going in summer as you must watch the video and they said it can take 2 to 3 hours to get in to watch the video in peak times, Also shady spots are limited so keep this in mind when planning your day.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

Noelle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

You can rent snorkeling gears in Hanauma bay, but I chose this tour because they give you a ride to Hanauma bay from hotels in honolulu. I didnt rent a car in this trip, so this was helpful. hanauma bay is a must visit place i think. I saw so many fishes moving around, and the beach itself was so beautiful, too.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

Lina T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

For someone who doesn't have a car and wants to see Oahu, this tour is excellent! It takes you all around the island with stops at many key locations (Hanauma Bay, Byodo-In Temple, Sunset Beach, etc.) along the way. Our driver, Ed, was very knowledgeable about the island's history, and he did a great job explaining everything in a light and funny way :) Thank you!

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Suzanne J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Well organised tour. It was great how once there the rest of the day was yours to do whatever you wanted. Would not hesitate to recommend this tour. Hanauma Bay was stunningly beautiful and a definite must do

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

karen h

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

This tour is so boring . We expect seeing all kind if fish at the hanauma bay . But nothing there to see at the ocean . We just pay for the trip to swim at the other beach . Not worth it

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

Kamila C

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We arrived very late to Hanauma Bay itself and due to that I had only 1 hour of time for snorkelling.
No understanding for that from the staff.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

Stephanie B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Hanauma Bay is a beautiful place and definitely worth visiting when in Waikiki.

The tour picks you up from your hotel, drives you to a store to pick up your snorkeling equipment, and then you a driven via taxi to Hanauma Bay. While collecting the snorkeling equipment, you are asked what time you wish to return and are given 3 time slots. My friend and I chose an earlier time as we appeared to have plenty of hours left and did not think we would need all day. Unfortunately, nobody on the tour gave us any indication as to how long everything would take.

When you arrive in Hanauma Bay, there are some great photo opportunities as you approach the entrance and then you must join a long queue to buy your tickets. Following the ticket purchase, you must then wait in another queue to attend a compulsory 10-15 minute film about the Bay. By the time all this is done and you've made your way down to the beach, you suddenly have very limited time to do what you came there for. If you have never snorkeled before, it does require practice with the breathing and swimming the big slippers. No-one explains to you how to use the equipment. By the time you have mastered it and are enjoying snorkeling in the bay, it is time to hurry back to the pick up location. There is no time to buy a snack or look in the gift shop.

My friend and I rushed back, only to be told there was not enough room in the taxi for everyone, so we had to wait for them to return. This is not good enough. There should be enough transport to take everyone back at the designated time. If I had known we would have to wait, I would have given myself more time to look for some gifts.

To sum it up, snorkeling in Hanauma Bay is worth doing. However, if you can hire snorkeling gear and get yourself there through alternative means, I'd recommend that. You'd be able to stay as long as you please and enjoy the scenery both below and above the water without all the rushing.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

Vanessaruzin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I love Hanauma Bay! It is amazing to swim with all the fish. We did not rent a car so we had them pick us up and it included snorkeling equipment. We also loved our driver. You still have to pay the entrance fee but you get dropped off and you don't have to worry about the lot being full.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message