Inter-island flights from Oahu are a great way to expand your vacation experience and see more of Hawaii. The islands offer national park beauty, volcanic landscapes and coastal vistas, and the flight times are ridiculously short - it takes just 40 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 518 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ingrid O Venezuela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

a very complete tour and an exciting of one of the most wonderful sightseen: Volcano activity. We had a great guide
that made a real nice trip!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

MICHELLE L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Great overall trip, but definitely a long day particularly if your flight home is delayed due to bad weather, not something you can control of course. Suggestions for improvement I believe would be less time at the Hilo black sand beach and Japanese gardens. More time around Volcano house to be able to take in the art museum and visitors centre as well as lunch and souvenir shop, we simply ran out of time! We did do a little back tracking at this part of the tour too which was odd and wasted some time. Greater choice of lunches at the restaurant than what was offered in the bus, or at least booking tables for those who wanted to take in the view from there. There was some confusion about lunch arrangements and time was lost because of this unfortunately. A little more time at the volcano would have been also nice. Dennis did a great job though for what was only his second tour. A little more general information about Hawaiian life during the bus time would have been good.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Margaret Hudson H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

Take lunch and water with you. They did not have enough lunches to go around. The tour guide was great. Tour planning was disjointed and inefficient use of time. Great historical experience

Doing what: Kalaupapa and Molokai Day Trip from Oahu

Cassondra E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent trip! Great guide. Perfect way to see all the island highlights.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Fang X

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour to Volcanoes National Park is amazing. Before we get to the park, we visited a black sand beach and watched sea turtles, then we visited a Japanese Garden with Hawaii King's status. We had a short stop at a cold spring. We visited a rainbow water fall with a tropical rainforest. The tour guide is very nice and very experienced. On the way to the Volcanoes National Park, she explained many Hawaii and big island specialties. The Volcanoes Park is huge, there are so many amazing sites need to see. The tour guid knows where is the best part to see. Volcanoes National Park is a must to see park in a life time. We saw the endless cold lava, the nature arts of the cold lava, the lava tube, ..., the active volcanoes in the park. We saw the Volcanoes burst from the smoke during the day time and we came back before sunset to see the bigger volcanoes during night time. It was a long day, but tour guide had proper stops for food and drink. Our whole family were very happy.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Merrick J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our drivers name was Fred. From the minute we boarded his bus, he made us feel comfortable and was very organized in his thoughts an communication. He is a 21 year Coast Guard retiree and was organized in his timing of the trip, the answering of questions, the knowledge of the Hawaiian island of Oahu and it's history and culture, etc., etc. There was not a single question that he was asked that he couldn't answer. He was very polite, orderly, kept us on time in getting to our destinations and making sure that our breaks were timely. I would highly recommend Fred for your guide.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Grand Circle Island from Oahu

Bob H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour is an all day tour so be rested and ready. Pack some goodies to snack on as it is a long day but well worth it. I loved seeing the volcanos and the guide was SUPERB!!! What a great tour after I saw How Volcanos are Formed on TV. It's one of those WOW tours.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Lee S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Total rip-off. We spent most of the day waiting for the flight, waiting for the guide and waiting for the flight back. The tour consisted of a short tour around the former leper colony, a church and that was it. There was no tour of Molokai, just Kalapupapa. The box lunch was also horrible.

Doing what: Kalaupapa and Molokai Day Trip from Oahu

tmcfadzen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

My sister and I did this tour in November 2016 and Captain Rob was our guide - it was an amazing tour. We saw turtles at the black sand beach, stopped at the Shinmachi tsunami sight, visited the Japanese Gardens at Liliuokalani Park and Gardens, stopped at Rainbow Falls which were flowing and we could see the rainbow, the orchids were beautiful - and the free samples at the Macadamia farm were a bonus. We went into the Volcano Park for lunch at Volcano House which was pretty awesome as we had a view of the caldera - that was our first sighting of the volcano. After lunch we had some time to look around and walk down to the Sulphur Banks and then we got back on the bus and started going around and looking at different spots in the volcano park. We went everywhere - across old lava fields, into the Thurston Lava Tube, into holes in the ground. Our guide was really knowledgeable which made a huge difference. We drove down along the Chain of Craters Road with quite a few stops which was really interesting and ended up at the Holei Sea Arch on the coastline. From that point it is a 10 mile/16 kilometre hike to where the lava flows into the ocean - and there's no time on this tour to do that. From here we headed back up to the Jaggar Museum with a few more stops on the way back - and it also took us to the closest point to the volcano all day. The closest you get to the active part of the volcano is about a kilometre away at the Jaggar Museum at the end of the day - and that's for your own health and safety. It was worth the wait because as the sun is setting it is really pretty and better to see the lava bubbling away.
It is a long day - we had to be ready at 5am and were back at our hotel at 10pm. I would definitely recommend taking some insect repellant for the stop at the waterfall there were mosquitoes and a jumper/jacket as it was freezing by the time we got to Jaggar Museum. There is a domestic flight to get to the island and the rule regarding liquids being less than 100ml applies - for all liquids including sunscreen, insect repellant, etc. Anything bigger than that was confiscated or thrown away.
Overall, we would recommend this tour - it's whet our appetite to go back and see more!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Jaime H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great fun!! Highly recommend, the day flew by!!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

ledford

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is a full day. Our tour guide was very informative and we went places I wouldn't have known about, such as the lava tubes. Be aware that the environment is actually very uninviting, much like a weird isolated planet with little vegetation. If you're expecting something like Yellowstone steam vents, you'll be disappointed. This place is unique unto itself.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Lu Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Shellyann M United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed this trip. Even though it was raining off and on and visibility was poor for part of the day we made the best of it. We visited the volcano park, black sand beach and waterfalls. We also visited the orchid farm and the macadamia nut factory. not a bad trip if you're visiting the Big Island.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Sarah M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

For what it was it was a good tour however knowing that there was so much else to see on the island I'd suggest skipping it and spending more time. If you only have a day spare and are desperate to do it then definitely recommend.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Grand Circle Island from Oahu

Kathryn Ann F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing Day! Well worth it if you can spare the extra time 15 hr day and expense. Our tour guide, Jane, did an outstanding job showing us everything she could with the time we had together. We visited parks, black sand beaches saw giant sea turtles!, macadamia nut factory, orchid farm, several craters, several lava fields, waterfalls, steam vents, and visited the active volcano day and returned at dusk. WOW! We were lucky enough to witness bubbling lava! Simply amazing!

I cannot say enough good things about Jane. She even took a photo or two of us together, something hard to get sometimes while on vacation. She was extremely accommodating and pleasant. Jane never rushed us but kept us on schedule at the same time....there is no way we could have experienced, learned and witnessed what we did on our own!

Jane alerted us when we approached the last rest stop for a while, she also alerted us to snack/souvenir opportunities, and gave us information/history about the island.

My only minor complaint is I feel the lunch should be included in the price. Lunch was served at the Volcano House and while tasty with ample serving size, a bit pricey at 17 for a burger.

DO NOT miss the opportunity!!!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

tzuliani70

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This tour was very well organised from the pick ups to the plane travel. Our driver was very friendly and knowledgeable. We got to see the black sand beaches and while walking along there some sea turtles were swimming on the edge of the water next to us. The parks were lovely and to see the old lava flows was totally amazing. It was a very hot day when we were there and the aircon on the bus wasn't working and was very uncomfortable, we stopped to look at the waterfall and a new bus was waiting for us when we finished there, it made the trip a lot better. The volcano was so amazing to see, it was also very interesting to see a lot of the information in the museum there. The only downfall of this tour was we didn't get to see the lava flowing into the sea, we were so disappointed as the was one of the main reasons we did this tour. The driver said we didn't have enough time to go there, but if the time was shortened at the park InTown perhaps it could have been fitted in. As for the rest of the tour it was amazing, we loved it. Lunch was great, walking around the sulphur areas in the national park was so interesting. Our only disappointment from this tour as I said was not seeing the lava flows into the sea otherwise it was a fantastic day.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

GinnyB United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The sights we saw on the Big Island were astounding and our tour guide did a great job of explaining the sights while blending in interesting stories of the Hawaiian gods and myths. We had great weather and were able to see the lava bubbling out and shooting high into the air. There were people from a variety of countries on our tour and we enjoyed talking to them and sharing our experience with them.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Steven G S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

All the other reviews I read before booking this trip said it was excellent. Those people didn't lie, and it was even better than I imagined it would be. Thank you!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

binary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic trip, and awesome views. We could've probably dealt with a few less scrambles over previous lava flows, but to end the day looking at the active crater was amazing.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

binary

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Maui was a great place to visit, although we had a guide from upstate NY that was more intent on commenting on the driving of others and the appearances of pedestrians than sharing any information about the area. I'm sure I missed some of what he said, because I started tuning him out after the 1st hour. The provided lunch left a lot to be desired, as it was plain rice and bland grilled chicken... not at all what you would expect with all of the amazing local choices. It was also disappointing that with all of the roadside stands with fresh local fruit, the only stop we made was at the stand that sold the driver's favorite banana bread. We did our best to enjoy the experience, but it would have been much better without Wayne's rambling commentary.

Doing what: Maui Day Trip: Hana Adventure from Oahu

Jessica K

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Although it was a very long day 4am pick-up! I would thoroughly recommend this tour! It is a great way to get a sense of the biggest island of Hawaii and it was surprising how many different landscapes/scenery the island has to offer. Our bus driver Kala was exceptionally knowledgeable and likable and made the tour insightful throughout. Personal highlights for me were the black sand beach at Punalu'u and the Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park purely for the landscapes and the active magma. Unfortunately on this tour, we did not make it to the Macadamia Nut Factory as our bus experienced a tyre blow-out! This was disappointing and also slightly concerning about whether we would make it back for our inter-island flight. However Kala handled it all very calmly and professionally and we made it to the airport by alternate transport supplied by Polynesian Adventure Tours. There was a minor delay in being collected once back at Honolulu airport due to a change in the arrangements that we were not notified of. My boyfriend and I will definitely be returning to the islands and would be happy to use Polynesian Adventure Tours again!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Grand Circle Island from Oahu

Joanne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A once in a lifetime opportunity and so glad we took the tour. Saw beautiful scenery and waterfalls and very interesting volcano sights.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Sarah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful trip. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a day trip.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Matthew Aaron M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Not worth the money.morning was ok but after first stop at volcano it went down hill.saw no real volcanic activity just a few steam vents and views from top of craters.saw lots of trees and rocks but very little else.would recommend from speaking to other people doing helicopter flight over volcano instead.ended up being a long boring day.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Mark S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This excursion to the Big Island to see the volcanoes and area around Hilo was very enjoyable despite the weather from a passing tropical depression and the resulting closed roads limiting what we could see. It is a very long day and we traveled with an infant who was probably better than most teenagers. The departure time is about 5:00 AM from the Waikiki area and return is about 9:30 PM. It is a shame Viator does not include these sorts of times in their advertising. Of course, if booking directly with Polynesian Adventure Tours would have made questions easier to answer before booking.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message