Inter-island flights from Oahu are a great way to expand your vacation experience and see more of Hawaii. The islands offer national park beauty, volcanic landscapes and coastal vistas, and the flight times are ridiculously short - it takes just 40 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 506 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

tmcfadzen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

My sister and I did this tour in November 2016 and Captain Rob was our guide - it was an amazing tour. We saw turtles at the black sand beach, stopped at the Shinmachi tsunami sight, visited the Japanese Gardens at Liliuokalani Park and Gardens, stopped at Rainbow Falls which were flowing and we could see the rainbow, the orchids were beautiful - and the free samples at the Macadamia farm were a bonus. We went into the Volcano Park for lunch at Volcano House which was pretty awesome as we had a view of the caldera - that was our first sighting of the volcano. After lunch we had some time to look around and walk down to the Sulphur Banks and then we got back on the bus and started going around and looking at different spots in the volcano park. We went everywhere - across old lava fields, into the Thurston Lava Tube, into holes in the ground. Our guide was really knowledgeable which made a huge difference. We drove down along the Chain of Craters Road with quite a few stops which was really interesting and ended up at the Holei Sea Arch on the coastline. From that point it is a 10 mile/16 kilometre hike to where the lava flows into the ocean - and there's no time on this tour to do that. From here we headed back up to the Jaggar Museum with a few more stops on the way back - and it also took us to the closest point to the volcano all day. The closest you get to the active part of the volcano is about a kilometre away at the Jaggar Museum at the end of the day - and that's for your own health and safety. It was worth the wait because as the sun is setting it is really pretty and better to see the lava bubbling away.
It is a long day - we had to be ready at 5am and were back at our hotel at 10pm. I would definitely recommend taking some insect repellant for the stop at the waterfall there were mosquitoes and a jumper/jacket as it was freezing by the time we got to Jaggar Museum. There is a domestic flight to get to the island and the rule regarding liquids being less than 100ml applies - for all liquids including sunscreen, insect repellant, etc. Anything bigger than that was confiscated or thrown away.
Overall, we would recommend this tour - it's whet our appetite to go back and see more!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Jaime H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great fun!! Highly recommend, the day flew by!!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Kathryn Ann F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing Day! Well worth it if you can spare the extra time 15 hr day and expense. Our tour guide, Jane, did an outstanding job showing us everything she could with the time we had together. We visited parks, black sand beaches saw giant sea turtles!, macadamia nut factory, orchid farm, several craters, several lava fields, waterfalls, steam vents, and visited the active volcano day and returned at dusk. WOW! We were lucky enough to witness bubbling lava! Simply amazing!

I cannot say enough good things about Jane. She even took a photo or two of us together, something hard to get sometimes while on vacation. She was extremely accommodating and pleasant. Jane never rushed us but kept us on schedule at the same time....there is no way we could have experienced, learned and witnessed what we did on our own!

Jane alerted us when we approached the last rest stop for a while, she also alerted us to snack/souvenir opportunities, and gave us information/history about the island.

My only minor complaint is I feel the lunch should be included in the price. Lunch was served at the Volcano House and while tasty with ample serving size, a bit pricey at 17 for a burger.

DO NOT miss the opportunity!!!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

tzuliani70

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This tour was very well organised from the pick ups to the plane travel. Our driver was very friendly and knowledgeable. We got to see the black sand beaches and while walking along there some sea turtles were swimming on the edge of the water next to us. The parks were lovely and to see the old lava flows was totally amazing. It was a very hot day when we were there and the aircon on the bus wasn't working and was very uncomfortable, we stopped to look at the waterfall and a new bus was waiting for us when we finished there, it made the trip a lot better. The volcano was so amazing to see, it was also very interesting to see a lot of the information in the museum there. The only downfall of this tour was we didn't get to see the lava flowing into the sea, we were so disappointed as the was one of the main reasons we did this tour. The driver said we didn't have enough time to go there, but if the time was shortened at the park InTown perhaps it could have been fitted in. As for the rest of the tour it was amazing, we loved it. Lunch was great, walking around the sulphur areas in the national park was so interesting. Our only disappointment from this tour as I said was not seeing the lava flows into the sea otherwise it was a fantastic day.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

GinnyB United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The sights we saw on the Big Island were astounding and our tour guide did a great job of explaining the sights while blending in interesting stories of the Hawaiian gods and myths. We had great weather and were able to see the lava bubbling out and shooting high into the air. There were people from a variety of countries on our tour and we enjoyed talking to them and sharing our experience with them.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Steven G S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

All the other reviews I read before booking this trip said it was excellent. Those people didn't lie, and it was even better than I imagined it would be. Thank you!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

binary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic trip, and awesome views. We could've probably dealt with a few less scrambles over previous lava flows, but to end the day looking at the active crater was amazing.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

binary

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Maui was a great place to visit, although we had a guide from upstate NY that was more intent on commenting on the driving of others and the appearances of pedestrians than sharing any information about the area. I'm sure I missed some of what he said, because I started tuning him out after the 1st hour. The provided lunch left a lot to be desired, as it was plain rice and bland grilled chicken... not at all what you would expect with all of the amazing local choices. It was also disappointing that with all of the roadside stands with fresh local fruit, the only stop we made was at the stand that sold the driver's favorite banana bread. We did our best to enjoy the experience, but it would have been much better without Wayne's rambling commentary.

Doing what: Maui Day Trip: Hana Adventure from Oahu

Jessica K

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Although it was a very long day 4am pick-up! I would thoroughly recommend this tour! It is a great way to get a sense of the biggest island of Hawaii and it was surprising how many different landscapes/scenery the island has to offer. Our bus driver Kala was exceptionally knowledgeable and likable and made the tour insightful throughout. Personal highlights for me were the black sand beach at Punalu'u and the Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park purely for the landscapes and the active magma. Unfortunately on this tour, we did not make it to the Macadamia Nut Factory as our bus experienced a tyre blow-out! This was disappointing and also slightly concerning about whether we would make it back for our inter-island flight. However Kala handled it all very calmly and professionally and we made it to the airport by alternate transport supplied by Polynesian Adventure Tours. There was a minor delay in being collected once back at Honolulu airport due to a change in the arrangements that we were not notified of. My boyfriend and I will definitely be returning to the islands and would be happy to use Polynesian Adventure Tours again!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Grand Circle Island from Oahu

Joanne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A once in a lifetime opportunity and so glad we took the tour. Saw beautiful scenery and waterfalls and very interesting volcano sights.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Sarah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful trip. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a day trip.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Matthew Aaron M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Not worth the money.morning was ok but after first stop at volcano it went down hill.saw no real volcanic activity just a few steam vents and views from top of craters.saw lots of trees and rocks but very little else.would recommend from speaking to other people doing helicopter flight over volcano instead.ended up being a long boring day.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Mark S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This excursion to the Big Island to see the volcanoes and area around Hilo was very enjoyable despite the weather from a passing tropical depression and the resulting closed roads limiting what we could see. It is a very long day and we traveled with an infant who was probably better than most teenagers. The departure time is about 5:00 AM from the Waikiki area and return is about 9:30 PM. It is a shame Viator does not include these sorts of times in their advertising. Of course, if booking directly with Polynesian Adventure Tours would have made questions easier to answer before booking.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Donald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We flew over from Oahu so had to leave the North Shore at 3am. Got to the airport at 4 and was met by an agent from Polynesian Adventures. She gave us our tickets and got us to the counter. Our flight landed at 5:45am but no one was there to meet us. A call was made to the Polynesian office where we were informed that they don't pick up that early but would send someone in 15 min. hmmm? Aside from that the trip was fantastic!. Tommy our guide and bus driver was knowledgeable, funny and talked for 12 hours God bless him He drove that big bus like a pro!! Give that guy a raise :.The big island is so different from Oahu we were awestruck. A few recommendations if you are flying over take an empty water bottle as there is no place to buy water except lunch, which is on you . Also if you are a coffee person bring an empty container as you can refill it at your first stop free. I think a cooler on the bus with water would be a good addition that Polynesian could implement especially considering the cost of the tour All in all this is a tour that I highly recommend even if you are staying on the big island. Tommy got us to the airport in plenty of time for our flight home walked in the door at 9:30 pm exhausted but so glad we did this.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Grand Circle Island from Oahu

Steve R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My wife and I enjoyed the tour very much, we wish we would have had more time to visit the Big Island. The tour guide was FANTASTIC! We loved it.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Wendy Dee L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to the Big Island. Loved all of the stops. The best part of the tour was our guide, Jane. She was awesome! We loved her commentary. I learned so much about The Big Island. It was like a classroom on wheels. The highlight was her stories about Pele. She was kind, thoughtful, funny and informative.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

CHARLES MICHAEL L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

GREAT GUIDE STOPPED TO SEE TURTLES AT THE END HE WENT ABOVE AND BEYOUD.

Doing what: Maui Day Trip: Haleakala, Iao Valley, Old Lahaina from Oahu

CHARLES MICHAEL L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

GUIDE REALLY CARED. EXTREMELY KNOWLEDGEABLE OF FLORA. GREAT TRIP.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Christine A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

excellent tour -- we saw so much and the tour guide Aki was great.
everything handled perfectly and very comfortable transportation.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Katina P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

a LONG day but an enjoyable and informative one

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Richard M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was a good tour. The driver/guide was knowledgeable and entertaining and we covered the interesting areas of the park. If I could redesign it, I would skip a couple of the stops and allow more time for exploration in others. The group was fairly worn out by the end of it.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Jaime D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

A great way to check out the big island from Honolulu. You do have to wake up really really early because of the flight. but you're supported all the way to check-in. You get to see Hilo town east side of the island, its black sand beaches, the Japanese gardens, Rainbow Falls, the Mauna Loa macadamia factory, and the star of the trip, volcano national park. Unfortunately, it was raining most of the time we were there but it only dampened our spirits a bit. Strongly recommended - Hawaii island is beautiful. Next time, we plan to do the Kona west side.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

PATRICIA M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great trip overall. Started off a little slow with stops at the Nut Factory and Orchid garden which were not as I expected as well as the food at the Volcanoes Restaurant over priced and food not soo good and I am not a picky eater but being able to walk the black sand beach, walk upon old lava rocks, walk through the lava tube and see the Caldera with smoke and Lava spiting out made up for the whole trip. It was amazing. I wish the tour was designed to filter out the less enchanting stops and give more time at the Volcano and lava rock stops.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message