Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Questions?

Call (888) 651-9785

Oaxaca has the bluster and range of a sizeable city, which it is. Even the historic downtown (only a fraction of the urban area) shows considerable diversity, from swank European-style cafes to stately squares to blaring market districts. Day 1: ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 31 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Allison D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I really enjoyed this tour. I usually avoid touristy activities when I'm exploring a new place by myself, as I was in Oaxaca, but I wanted to check out the towns outside the city and didn't have a car. I thought the driver and the guide were very kind, patient, funny and relaxed. I thought each stop was interesting and beautiful. I especially appreciated that none of the guests were ever pressured into buying anything from any vendors, even though I bought two gorgeous rugs from the master weaver favorite stop!. I'm so glad I went on this tour and I would highly recommend it to anyone else visiting Oaxaca.

Doing what: Day Trip to Mitla, Tule, Matlatan and the Teotitlan Valley from Oaxaca

Donald C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent and friendly driver. Very knowledgable. It was an excellent way to get the lay of the land and learn a lot about Oaxaca and the wonderful sights in the region.

Doing what: Monte Alban, Arrazola, Coyotepec and Cuilapam Full-Day Tour from Oaxaca

Melinda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

fascinating trip, wonderful knowledgeable guide with Don Antonio, good food for lunch. Especially enjoyed watching the beautiful Oaxacan rugs being woven.

Doing what: Day Trip to Mitla, Tule, Matlatan and the Teotitlan Valley from Oaxaca

Erika P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Guelaguetza Show was amazing. The colors, dances, and the traditions of Oaxaca are overall shown during this dinner.

Doing what: Guelaguetza Dinner Show in Oaxaca

Nadirah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great trip. The site itself is just 20 minutes outside of Oaxaca so it's definitely worth your morning if you're in the city. The tour guide was knowledgeable and engaging and the ruins and surrounding landscape are absolutely incredible. It wasn't at all crowded and we were able to climb the steps of the pyramids. The 3-hour excursion offered just enough time to get informed and explore the site on our own. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Monte Alban Day Trip from Oaxaca

Fiona G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This trip is a must if you and #39;re in Oaxaca or planning a trip.

Doing what: Day Trip to Mitla, Tule, Matlatan and the Teotitlan Valley from Oaxaca

ovidius United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour around Oaxaca. The guides included additional towns to the tour as Teotitlan del Valle and Santa Maria del Tule. Plus tour! Book with confidence and don't miss it if around Oaxaca.

Doing what: Mitla and Monte Alban Combo Tour from Oaxaca

Jamie Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was a highlight of our trip to Oaxaca. In the description they don't mention you also go to see the Tule (widest tree in the world) and a textile maker. Oaxaca is famous for its textiles, so it was truly a pleasure to stop and see what they are all about. We loved Monte Alban. The views are incredible. Our guide took us right up to the entrance gates after passing many people hiking up the hill toward the entrance. Mitla was also fantastic. Try the ice cream outside of the gates.

Doing what: Mitla and Monte Alban Combo Tour from Oaxaca

Dayle M Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide Antonio was fantastic! His knowledge of the history of Monte Alban was amazing and he was very personable. His English was clear and concise, we had absolutely no problems understanding him. He catered to the group and answered many questions. I would recommend this tour and would even take it myself again the next time we arrive in the beautiful city of Oaxaca

Doing what: Monte Alban Day Trip from Oaxaca

CHRISTINE H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a pleasure to see our driver waiting for us after a long night of traveling. He was very friendly and gave us lots of info during our drive to the hotel. As first time visitors to Oaxaca this was very much appreciated.

Doing what: Shared Arrival Transfer: Oaxaca Airport to Hotels

Debra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was amazing!
Gabriel, the tour guide, was extremely patient and took his time to answer questions, allow picture taking and wait for people who were lagging a bit behind. Though I believe the afternoon portion of the trip took longer than he was scheduled to work, he never made us feel rushed or as though we should not satisfy our curiosity. Though I had been to the archaeological ruins before, it was still fascinating as well as a wonderful introductory experience for my companion.
The tour company in Oaxaca was amazing!

Doing what: Mitla and Monte Alban Combo Tour from Oaxaca

Debra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We took 3 tours while in Oaxaca and this one was our favorite!
The artisans were very generous about their time and explained everything in detail. Our tour guide (Moises) was funny but very informative. It is absolutely a "shopping" tour as compared to the other tours we took, but as it was the last one after a long week of visiting "sights", it was the perfect light-hearted day with which to end the week.

Doing what: Oaxaca Day Trip: San Bartolo Coyotepec, Santo Tomás Jalieza and Ocotlán de Morelos

Kristina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great guide and wonderful way to explore around Oaxaca!

Doing what: Monte Alban, Arrazola, Coyotepec and Cuilapam Full-Day Tour from Oaxaca

SYLVIA F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I was delighted with this tour and with our guide - I am an Anthropology sudent and have studied some Meso - American cultures, but my partner is not so inclined. This trip was so well presented that both of us mainatained a high level of interest and enjoyment. We had been to the Santo Domingo Cultural Museum, the prior evening, which contains the treaures from the Monte Alban dig and this really rounded out the "Zapotec Experience" in Oaxaca. Sorry I didn't have time to do Mitla, but I'll be back for another tour. Five stars.

Doing what: Monte Alban Day Trip from Oaxaca

Jessica D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

If you are in Oaxaca you undoubtedly need to take this trip. My boyfriend and I went on this excursion and we were accompanied by two other parties and an English speaking tour guide who was knowledgable and friendly. I recommend you wearing lots of sun screen because the only shade is in the van! Have fun!

Doing what: Mitla and Monte Alban Combo Tour from Oaxaca

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great cooking class! Oaxaca is known throughout Mexico (and the world!) as a culinary destination and this class is a great introduction to Oaxaca's food. Oscar is an amazing chef and guide and helps where necessary. The cool part about this cooking class and what sets it apart from others is that the menu for the day is entirely up to the group. Oscar will give his recommendations, but if you want to make something specific, you can! And since Oscar is so talented, he'll know exactly what ingredients to buy and the best way to make it! Great fun and would do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Oaxaca Cooking Class

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Great overview of Oaxaca and you really can't beat the price! The guide's English was perfect and we walked around town talking about all things Mexico and Oaxaca related. From the Zocalo and it's impressive cathedral to the markets and the Oaxaca Regional Museum, this tour should not be missed!

Doing what: Oaxaca City Sightseeing Tour: Temple of Santo Domingo de Guzman, Oaxaca Regional Museum and Benito Juarez Market

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Great tour from start to finish! The operation was flawless from start to finish. Our guide was knowledgeable about the history of the Zapotec civilization and Monte Alban itself. It's just a short drive away from Oaxaca, which makes it a perfect short tour!

Doing what: Monte Alban Day Trip from Oaxaca

Eric B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable and clearly enjoyed leading our tour. If anything, I found the tour too short. While he explained the finer points of Monte Alban's astronomical purposes, for example, we really didn't get to see much of the site itself. My partner and I decided not to return with the group to Oaxaca, and stayed a couple of extra hours to simply explore on our own, and I'm very glad we did. The site allows you to wander in among several of the structures, which we would not have been able to do on the tour. A regular shuttle from Monte Alban to Oaxaca took us back for only 25 pesos each. Make every effort you can to see this incredible place.

Doing what: Monte Alban Day Trip from Oaxaca

Christopher A

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

We really enjoyed this tour and our guide/driver was courteous, informative, and spoke excellent English. The only thing that keeps me from giving it five stars is that we were only allowed 45 minutes of free time at Monte Alban, which is not nearly enough to explore the sight. If the tour could be adjusted to allow at least an hour and a half, it would be perfect. Despite that criticism I would still recommend this tour to others. It's particularly good for people whose time in Oaxaca is limited and who want to see as much as possible in a short amount of time.

Doing what: Monte Alban, Arrazola, Coyotepec and Cuilapam Full-Day Tour from Oaxaca

carol d

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We got a shuttle from hotel to airport in Oaxaca. We didn't hear anything so we called on Saturday before being picked up on Monday. We were given a time of pick up. We were picked right on time and got to airport with plenty of time.

Doing what: Shared Departure Transfer: Hotels to Oaxaca Airport

Hikerhamish Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Tour schedule was upset by political activity in Oaxaca City, but the staff met the challenge and we had a wonderful day. The tour guide, Moses, was enthusiastic and knowledgeable. A very full day!

Doing what: Mitla and Monte Alban Combo Tour from Oaxaca

Keith E

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Excellent driver who gave us great information on things to experience in Oaxaca. He was there to greet us at the airport in a nice vehicle and the ride was enjoyable.

Doing what: Shared Arrival Transfer: Oaxaca Airport to Hotels

Geraldine C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The highlight of this tour was visiting the artisans and having a demonstration by them of the heritage techniques they use to produce their products. The black pottery and rugs made with natural dyes were particularly fascinating. Take some cash with you because there are some beautiful items which you will not see in places like Oaxaca or any where else and they are extremely reasonable priced.

Doing what: Oaxaca Day Trip: San Bartolo Coyotepec, Santo Tomás Jalieza and Ocotlán de Morelos

Fred E

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Saw a lot of Mexico nw of oaxaca but the guide,while a nice guy, didn't tell us a lot about the history of the buildings and the area.

Doing what: Dominican Route Day Trip Including San Pedro and San Juan Bautista

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message