Recherches récentes
Effacer

Inveraray Jail Excursions

Inveraray Jail
Payer l'entrée pour être enfermé dans une cellule stérile? À la prison d'Inveraray, cela en vaut la peine. L'ancienne prison transformée en musée réussit à faire le pont entre attraction touristique et infotainment et plonge dans les parties les plus sombres de l'histoire écossaise. Même si elle était petite, Inveraray était le siège du duc d'Argyll et la ville devint donc d'une importance capitale. La prison et le palais de justice ont été ouverts en 1820 et des prisonniers de toute la région y ont été amenés, non seulement des hommes, mais également des femmes et des enfants. En raison de la surpopulation, un bâtiment supplémentaire a dû être construit, mais toute la prison a finalement été fermée en 1889, lorsque les grandes prisons des grandes villes ont pris le relais.

Une visite à la prison d’Inveraray comprend une visite des différentes ailes de la prison et même une détention provisoire dans les cellules et la cage de la cour. Les visiteurs peuvent lire des histoires sur les détenus qui étaient enfermés dans ces cellules, s'asseoir dans la salle d'audience restaurée, écouter les procès et rencontrer le gardien et les gardiens de prison, tous vêtus de costumes d'époque authentiques. Par coïncidence, on pense que la prison d’Inveraray est l’un des bâtiments les plus hantés d’Ecosse et elle a de nombreuses observations de fantômes à signaler.

Practical Info

Inverary Jail is located in the small town of Inverary on the banks of Loch Fyne, about 90 kilometers north of Glasgow. The prison is open year round except Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day. Opening hours in the summer months are from 9:30am to 6pm and from November till March from 10am to 5pm.
Adresse : Main Street, Inveraray, United Kingdom, Écosse
Horaires : In the summer months, opening hours are from 9:30am to 6pm and from November till March from 10am to 5pm.
Entrée : Adults £9.50, Children 5-16 £5.50, Children Under 5 are free
Plus d'infos

3 Circuits et activités à essayer Inveraray Jail

Catégorie
Choisir dates
Aujourd'hui
Demain
Filtrer




Trier : Sélection
Annulation gratuite:Recevez le remboursement complet jusqu'à 24 heures avant pour la plupart des expériences.Voir les détails
Trier par :Sélection

Billet d'entrée pour la prison d'Inveraray

Explorez l’une des plus impressionnantes prison et salle d’audience complexes avec ce billet d’entrée à la prison d’Inveraray. Avec les commentaires de votre guide audio personnel, promenez-vous dans le complexe de la prison à votre propre rythme et obtenez un aperçu du système de justice de l’Écosse au fil des siècles. Découvrez les violentes formes de peines utilisées sur les criminels des siècles passés dans l’exposition Torture, mort et damnation. Lisez les procès des audiences depuis 150 ans, visitez les cellules de la vieille prison et découvrez la vie derrière les bars dans les cours de promenade.
...  Plus
  • 60 à 90 minutes
  • Anglais, Français
  • Annulation gratuite
À partir de  
15,18 $US
À partir de  
15,18 $US
En savoir plus
  • 60 à 90 minutes
  • Anglais, Français
  • Annulation gratuite

Excursions histoire et patrimoine

Glencoe, Inveraray et Luss

Le voyage vers les Highlands commence par un passage dans la rivière Clyde, avant de virer au nord en direction du parc national des Trossachs, puis d’arriver à Luss sur les rives du Loch Lomond. Ici, vous aurez le temps d'explorer le joli village et de profiter de la vue imprenable depuis la jetée.Il y a beaucoup plus de lochs et de curiosités à voir alors que nous nous dirigeons vers notre prochaine destination sur les rives du Loch Fyne; Inveraray. Cette ville distinctive a été établie à la fin du 18ème siècle. Profitez d'une visite à la prison ou au château, mais n'oubliez pas de déjeuner et de profiter de la vue sur le lac.De là, nous nous dirigeons vers Glencoe et, au fil des routes, nous traversons des montagnes formées il y a des millions d'années par une activité volcanique massive et des glaciations dévastatrices, qui laissent des merveilles géographiques.Chaque visite a un guide en direct dédié, qui vous donnera une expérience inoubliable sur nos véhicules de direction avec des fonctionnalités exceptionnelles, y compris le WIFI.
...  Plus
  • 11 heures
  • Annulation gratuite
À partir de  
51,50 $US
À partir de  
51,50 $US
En savoir plus
  • 11 heures
  • Annulation gratuite

Croisières cabotage

Shore Excursion - Greenock - Château d'Inveraray et Loch Lomond (journée complète)

Le château d’Inveraray et le Loch Lomond sont deux des monuments les plus photographiés d’Écosse. Une visite privée vous permettra de garder toute l’attention de votre guide. Au cours de cette excursion d’une journée au départ de Greenock, admirez le paysage du parc national du Loch Lomond et des Trossachs, traversez Glen Croe en empruntant le célèbre col ‘Rest and Be Thankful’, puis visitez le magnifique château d’Inveraray.
...  Plus
  • 8 heures
  • Annulation gratuite
À partir de  
792,25 $US
À partir de  
792,25 $US
En savoir plus
  • 8 heures
  • Annulation gratuite

Excursions culturelles

Expérience Inveraray Shore - Excursion privée d'une journée (1 à 8 personnes)

Parcourez la campagne écossaise et découvrez nos vallons escarpés, nos paysages de montagne brillants et nos châteaux historiques écossais. Nous visiterons le célèbre château d'Inveraray, siège du clan Campbell, puis nous ferons un petit tour dans la prison du XIXe siècle où vous découvrirez la vraie vie de vrais hommes, femmes et enfants qui ont été mis à mort .
...  Plus
  • 8 heures
  • Annulation gratuite
À partir de  
594,19 $US
À partir de  
594,19 $US
En savoir plus
  • 8 heures
  • Annulation gratuite


Réservez en ligne ou appelez
33 1 70 38 74 44
33 1 70 38 74 44

Recent Searches
Clear

Inveraray Jail Tours

Inveraray Jail
Paying admission to get locked in a barren cell? At Inveraray Jail, it is worth it. The former prison turned museum manages to bridge the gap between tourist attraction and meaningful infotainment and delves into the darker parts of Scottish history. Small as it was, Inveraray was the seat of the Duke of Argyll and thus, the town came to be of central importance. The prison and the courthouse were opened in 1820 and prisoners from all over the area were brought here, not only men, but also women and children. Due to overcrowding, an additional building had to be constructed but the whole jail eventually shut down in 1889, when larger prisons in the bigger cities took over.

A visit to Inveraray Jail includes a tour through the different wings of the prison and even a trial lock-up in the cells and courtyard cage. Visitors can read stories about the inmates who were locked up in those cells, sit in the restored courtroom and listen to trials and meet the warden and prison guards, all dressed up in authentic period costumes. Coincidentally, Inveraray Jail is believed to be one of the most haunted buildings in Scotland and has many ghost sightings to report.

Practical Info

Inverary Jail is located in the small town of Inverary on the banks of Loch Fyne, about 90 kilometers north of Glasgow. The prison is open year round except Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day. Opening hours in the summer months are from 9:30am to 6pm and from November till March from 10am to 5pm.
Address: Main Street, Inveraray, United Kingdom, Scotland
Hours: In the summer months, opening hours are from 9:30am to 6pm and from November till March from 10am to 5pm.
Admission: Adults £9.50, Children 5-16 £5.50, Children Under 5 are free
Read More

3 Tours and Activities to Experience Inveraray Jail

Category
Select Dates
Today
Tomorrow
Filter




Sort: Featured
Free Cancellation:Get a full refund up to 24 hours in advance on most experiences.See Details
Sort by:Featured

Inveraray Jail Entrance Ticket

Explore one of the world’s most impressive jail and courtroom complexes with this Inveraray Jail entrance ticket. With commentary from your personal audio guide, walk through the jail complex at your own pace and gain insight into Scotland’s justice system over the centuries. Learn of the brutal forms of punishment used on criminals in centuries passed in the Torture, Death and Damnation exhibition. Read of courtroom trials from 150 years ago, visit the cells of the Old Prison and experience life behind bars in the Airing Yards.
...  More
  • 60 to 90 minutes
  • Free Cancellation
From  
$14.81
From  
$14.81
Learn More
  • 60 to 90 minutes
  • Free Cancellation

Historical & Heritage Tours

NEW TO VIATOR

Glencoe, Inveraray and Luss

The journey to the Highlands starts with a trip crossing over into the River Clyde, before turning north towards the Trossachs National Park and then shortly arriving at Luss on the banks of Loch Lomond. Here you will have time to explore the pretty village and enjoy the breath-taking views from the pier.There are plenty of more lochs and sights to be seen as we wind our way up to our next destination on the banks of Loch Fyne; Inveraray. This distinctive town was established at the tail end of the 18th Century. Enjoy a visit to the jail or the castle but remember to grab some lunch and enjoy the views of the Loch.From here we make our way towards Glencoe and as the roads twist and turn through the mountains which were formed millions of years ago by massive volcanic activity and devastating ice ages, leaving geographical marvels.Every tour has a dedicated live guide, who will give you an unforgettable experience on our executive vehicles with great features including WIFI.
...  More
  • 11 hours
  • Free Cancellation
From  
$50.21
From  
$50.21
Learn More
  • 11 hours
  • Free Cancellation

Cultural Tours

NEW TO VIATOR

The Inveraray Shore Experience - Private day tour (1 to 8 People)

Journey through the Scottish countryside and discover our rugged glens, brilliant mountain scenery and historic Scottish castles. We will visit the famous Inveraray castle which is the seat of the Campbell clan, and then take a short walk over to the 19th century jail where you will experience what real life was like for real men, women and children who were tried and locked up.
...  More
  • 8 hours
  • Free Cancellation
From  
$579.39
From  
$579.39
Learn More
  • 8 hours
  • Free Cancellation

Ports of Call Tours

Shore Excursion - Greenock - Inveraray Castle and Loch Lomond (Full-Day)

Inveraray Castle and Loch Lomond are two of Scotland’s most photographed landmarks, and exploring on a private tour ensures the undivided attention of your guide. On this full-day shore excursion from Greenock, soak up the scenery in the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park, journey through Glen Croe along the famous ‘Rest and Be Thankful’ pass, then visit the magnificent Inveraray Castle.
...  More
  • 8 hours
  • Free Cancellation
From  
$772.52
From  
$772.52
Learn More
  • 8 hours
  • Free Cancellation


Book online or call
(888) 651-9785
(888) 651-9785