Oman’s capital might have the same scrubbed-clean streets as the major Gulf cities but it replaces their dehumanizing skyscrapers with fascinating historical sites. Prime examples include the 16th century Portuguese-built forts of Al-Jalali and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 188 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Hannah F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We had a great tour guide who gave us a really good tour of Muscat city provided a lot of info about the daily lives of the locals as well as info around their religion which we found fascinating.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Neil R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

What a lovely guy who couldn't do enough for us. Charming, informative and fun - would highly recommend.

Doing what: Private Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Margaret O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We were very pleased with Mr. Rashid and Orient Tours for how they handled this excellent tour of Nizwa and Jabrin Forts and surrounding areas. Mr. Rashid gave detailed descriptions of the places we visited, picked great shops for us at the Souks, and was a gentleman throughout the journey.

Doing what: Private Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

robin.drefs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Might just be the best value-for-money experience you can have in Muscat. Punctual and friendly pick-up and drop-off by bus shuttle, extremely service-minded staff all around, gorgeous views of both rugged cliffs and urban coastal areas. Cold and hot drinks plus some little snacks on board. As an outdoors experience, your mileage in terms of temperature and swell may vary, but for us this was an entirely pleasant affair. Just bring a sweater for the way back after sunset.

Doing what: Sunset Dhow Cruise from Muscat

sambedfordwwfc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic tour. Hasheem, our guide, was awesome. Would 100 reccommend

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Edina K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very nice tour guide with lots of info

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Stuart A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Rashid was an excellent, friendly, and knowledgeable guide. Good and interesting content and decent value. Overall an enjoyable day.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Laura L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

A two hour drive to see the fort and castle via a freeway. The driver was very nice and answered any questions we had though he was not a tour guide and did not go with us into either the fort or castle. There was ample time to check out some shops if you wanted to and lunch was on our own, the guide did take us to a small restaurant that he said was good. It was a basic small restaurant and the food was ok. We also stopped at an old uninhabited village to look around and for those who wanted to we did a short visit to Bahla Fort

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Cheryl W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour! I really enjoyed our time with Rashid, a real gentleman. The sites were very beautiful and the tour was well-organized and timed so we could see a lot. It was a good, full day.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Njomza M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

The Wadi Shab is definitely a place to see, although I don't think this trip was worth the money we paid. Basically we were taken to two stops, the sink whole and the wadi shab and returned back to the hotel for the amount of 500 euros.

Doing what: Private 4x4 Safari of Wadi Shab - The Coastal Caravan

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Was better than expected with a very good guide who was informative and knew his product

Doing what: Private Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

WK C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This is a very relaxing, well organized trip. The dhow offers great views and although there isn't much commentary, it is well worth doing.

Doing what: Sunset Dhow Cruise from Muscat

Peter A

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Oman has transformed into a very modern country with terrific infrastructure, unfortunately it has swept away all the old world charm that visitors come to see. One of the best features to us on this trip was the fish market at Barka. It is still in original form and best of all it has a tiny fish auction. Here they have a circular tiled area where the old auctioneer sits with his cane and conducts the auction. The fish are either auctioned separately if they are of a reasonable size, or in bundles strung together with string. The fish to be auctioned are place in the centre near the auctioneers feet and he conducts the auction with voice and tapping of his cane. The buyers seem to be half a dozen local housewives or a couple of guys. The success bid pays and gets the fish and the next fish is placed in the middle and auctioned immediately. A real scene from the past. Bait Na'am and Rustaq Fort are well preserved but a bit sterile, but if you imagine the past you can see how effective they must have been the countryside is nice desert country, although modernism is encroaching. You get to see oasis and where the springs burst out at the base of the mountains. A worthwhile day out.

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Rustaq - Voyage into the Past

Peter A

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

A nice drive around this modern city. The Grand Mosque is the MUST visit place in Oman. It is an absolutely beautiful building, no matter what your religion or leanings, you cannot and will not be disappointed with a visit to it. Muttrah Souk is worth a visit, but not the hive of activity we had hoped for and like most souks is now more geared to the tourists rather than the locals. The fish market is being placed in a new modern building, so it too is losing its charm. A nice way to see Muscat.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Peter A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

To be honest rather disappointing and not we expected after reading other reviews. Oman has become a very modern country, but in doing so has swept away all its old world charm. Nizwa Fort has been maintained, but looks sterile. The Nizwa soup has been completely rehoused in a modern building and could be a modern market anywhere in the world. Very little to recommend.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Colin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour although the old town was rather elusive! It would be very useful to know that the tour starts at the cruise terminal when ships are in, which is where we joined it. This info was not on the big bus web site. This also applies to Abu Dhabi

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

mary h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Hi, to all concerned about muscat city hop on hop off bus.What can i say. this lovely open top bus will take you to lot,s of lovely places to see in muscat. They,re lovely to get round in. The souks. the parks the coffee shops, it,s all there. so a good price and the perfect way to get round.there,s always they,re very efficent and free water as you wish. Top marks.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Gail Annette T

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This was a very pleasant and informative way to see as much of Muscat as I could in one whole day. Ms Aimee was very helpful in getting me set on the tour and I thoroughly enjoyed it and found the commentary excellent, especially as it was through a multi-track device and you could hear it in just one language. I would have liked to be able to see a more detailed map before hand so that if I wanted to hop off I would be able to get around.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Walter B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The big bus in Muscat is efficient and the staff is most helpful. We received great service from JHAY.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Stuart L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our day out was very good, we got to see many places and try food in a restaurant that we would not have had the opportunity to experience otherwise. Our guide was very good and knoweldgeable. The only drawback of the whole day was that we were sitting in the very back of the car that was very cramped. This was not so much of a problem on the way to our destinations as we were not in the car very long, but the journey home was very uncomfortable as we had to sit cramped up in the back of the car for over 2 hours. we were in the extra seats in the boot area of the car

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Anthony W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide Mr Rasheed was excellent and shared some wonderful information about each place. The Mosque is a must see! We shared a larger SUV with another couple so it was like a private tour. We saw a lot in 4 hrs !!

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A safe and pleasant driver taking us through stunning country to the Nizwa Fort. Very interesting, as was a stroll through the nearby souks, checking out the local coffee and Omani sweets. Then onto Jabreen Castle, which we considered even better than Nizwa. It was good being able to look around at our leisure, without being ordered around. We were not hassled, and could take our time, or not, as we chose. Lunch was taken at a roadside cafe. OK, but not particularly elegant. Next time we would take a packed lunch. All in all, a tour to be recommended.

Doing what: Private Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Though the travelling time is quite long, the end result to see the forts, castle and other sites is well worth it. Plus the air-conditioning was very efficient and welcome.
Rasheed our guide was very knowledgeable and made the visit all the more memorable.
An excellent trip and very good value.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message