Nizwa is one of the most impressive of Oman’s numerous fort cities. It sits on a plain in the Hajar Mountains which was once a strategic point on the caravan route and, like Rustaq, served time as Oman’s capital. Its fort, with its warren of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 74 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cheryl W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour! I really enjoyed our time with Rashid, a real gentleman. The sites were very beautiful and the tour was well-organized and timed so we could see a lot. It was a good, full day.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

WK C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great time. Our guide Yasir was highly knowledgeable and gave us plenty of time to see the Souq in Nizwa and look around the old fort and then explore the Jabreen castle. He was a delight to be with. The drive into Nizwa takes you through mountainous rugged areas and is well worth the trip by itself.

Doing what: Small Group Day Trip to Nizwa Fort and Jabreen Castle from Muscat

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Was better than expected with a very good guide who was informative and knew his product

Doing what: Private Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Peter A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

To be honest rather disappointing and not we expected after reading other reviews. Oman has become a very modern country, but in doing so has swept away all its old world charm. Nizwa Fort has been maintained, but looks sterile. The Nizwa soup has been completely rehoused in a modern building and could be a modern market anywhere in the world. Very little to recommend.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Stuart L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our day out was very good, we got to see many places and try food in a restaurant that we would not have had the opportunity to experience otherwise. Our guide was very good and knoweldgeable. The only drawback of the whole day was that we were sitting in the very back of the car that was very cramped. This was not so much of a problem on the way to our destinations as we were not in the car very long, but the journey home was very uncomfortable as we had to sit cramped up in the back of the car for over 2 hours. we were in the extra seats in the boot area of the car

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A safe and pleasant driver taking us through stunning country to the Nizwa Fort. Very interesting, as was a stroll through the nearby souks, checking out the local coffee and Omani sweets. Then onto Jabreen Castle, which we considered even better than Nizwa. It was good being able to look around at our leisure, without being ordered around. We were not hassled, and could take our time, or not, as we chose. Lunch was taken at a roadside cafe. OK, but not particularly elegant. Next time we would take a packed lunch. All in all, a tour to be recommended.

Doing what: Private Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Though the travelling time is quite long, the end result to see the forts, castle and other sites is well worth it. Plus the air-conditioning was very efficient and welcome.
Rasheed our guide was very knowledgeable and made the visit all the more memorable.
An excellent trip and very good value.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

ShamSN

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The guide Rasheed was very good, patient and we saw and learnt a lot. It was very good value and packed in a lot of sights. An excellent day

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Chantel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guide, Rasheed, was wonderful. Very informative, nice, and a good driver. Loved seeing the forts and learning more about Oman. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Yvonne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent value for money with a guide who took plenty of time to talk about the history of his country and the places he took me to. The only disappointment was the closure of Niswa Fort until later in September, but I saw and experienced so many other things that I really can't complain.

I'd booked the coach tour but as i was the only passenger, had a car and driver to myself. Rasheed was courteous and knowledgeable and made sure that I was comfortable at every step of the way. An excellent and instructive guide - thank you.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Maia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The trip was incredible! Regular and wonderful stops along the way with a friendly and knowledgeable guide. A delicious lunch was included and the tour guide/driver helped recommend lovely traditional food.

Sadly the start of the trip was dampened by the poor service from the tour operator. I had been communicating with the head office about the pick up (we were staying outside of the city centre) and none of this had been communicated to the office in Muscat. Consequently we left late because the driver didn't think we were there any more and the office in town though we were staying at the hotel when we were waiting in the lounge. They had asked at the reception, who turned them away because they said we weren't staying there! It would have been much easier if I had booked it there straight through the office.

I would however, highly recommend doing this tour. An amazing way to see Muscat.

Doing what: Private 4x4 Safari - The Mountain of the Sun

Riad C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were picked up on time by a car. The driver was very nice and well informed. We thought we were going on bus. But this was a private tour in a car which made it very pleasant. The driver was giving us information about every place we passed. We stopped at many places on route for a look around or refreshments. Nissan fort and the surrounding areas are interesting.
Very enjoyable day and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Catherine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great day out: very informative, excellent guide and fascinating countryside and history

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

andy.wells140

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

very enjoyable, excellent guide

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Carol C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

There were 6 of us on this tour. Rasheed was our knowledgeable and gentlemanly guide. I have been to Oman many times but had not been to some of the places where there were old ruins. The highlights were Bahla Fort, which l had waited 20 years to see on opening after restoration, and Jabreen Castle, as we had time to see both, as well as Nizwa fort and Tanuf ruins. A great bunch of people, from US, Australia and UK and all interested in history. Recommended.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Gary C

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

My husband really enjoyed the trip to Nizwa and the Grand Canyon. Spectacular view once we got up the mountain side.

Doing what: Private 4x4 Safari - The Mountain of the Sun

Margaret M

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

great trip, tour guide/ driver very informative, loved the Nizwa Souq.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

William M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

I do not recommend Orient Travel. They have no respect for their customers. I was the last to be picked up in a car with seven seats plus a driver and I took the remaining seat in the back row (3rd) middle. I'm a short guy and there was absolutely no leg room. My knees were bent at a 45 degree angle pressed into the seat in front of me. My right foot was immobilized and my left foot had an inch of wiggle room. After half an hour we stopped and my right leg was cramping. I discussed the problem with the driver who called his boss and had me speak to him. The boss, a shouting bully, maintained the car could comfortably seat 7 passengers and they would only use a larger car if they had 8 or more. Really, only children under age 12 could be comfortable in back. I was prepared to find a taxi back to Muscat as I could not continue. The driver solved the dilemma by having a very gracious and small young lady swap with me. Plenty of legroom in the front and middle row.
The tour itself was pretty good. Nizwa fort was good but the souk was empty and disappointing. The driver stopped at a couple of interesting deserted villages. The stand out of the trip was the final stop, Jabreen castle which was excellent.
Don't do the tour if you are not willing to chance being very uncomfortable. I give the tour itself 3 stars and Orient Travel ZERO stars

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Ian I

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Very informative. The forts were gorgeous. Wish we got to see more of Bahla. The lot of us were tired; it was an extensive and tiring day.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

S.G.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Okay, though little bit complicated in reconfirmation process (I wonder why the Orient agent doen´t simply sent an mail to reconfirm... it costs a fortune for clients to phone from mobiles phones or hotels being in holidays to reconfirm... ). Not much substantial information about historic context, really just a drive and some little introduction as to where to go etc. ) The guide could´nt even tell me which year the fort of Nizwa was build and he did´nt know about East and West Souk.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

tyfj56

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Our guide came to pick us up on time with a car (Lexus), because our party was small, only 3 people. He sent us to Nizwa market, Nizwa fort, Bahla fort, and Jabreen castle. He is a good driver but not a good guide. He always waited us at the entrance or an outside cafe and said "Watch and read explanatory notes on the wall."
He wanted to go back to Muscat early time but we requested the "Falaj Daris (famous national heritage)" and so on. He did not know them exactly, asked the residents and arrived there. I estimated his efforts but it was so strange for the fixed tour.
It was like chartering a taxi or renting a car by myself.
I understood it is difficult to get high class guides in Muscat, but I expected a better one at this tour.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Christine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Yoshiko O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Nizwa is very attractive and historical place.
Nizwa Fort and Falaji are worth to see.
Local people are very friendly and kind.I also enjoyed shopping at the souq.
I totally enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Hideo O

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

The driver/guide was so flexible to change the itinerary in response to our requests and the changes in the circumstance such as hitting Dates Festival, which I was satisfied with. He was also helpful to learn the reasonable prices of goods at the souk. He did not, however, seem to be a professional guide in explaining the historical stories.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Jason O

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Rasheed is a great tour guide, he really knows his stuff. Nizwa is a charming old town.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message