The Sultanate of Oman is an off-the-beaten track desert destination for lovers of empty sand dunes rolling into the distance, and miles of pristine beaches lining the Gulf. Mountain trails lead to ancient tombs, desert forts, wadi oases and walled ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 125 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cheryl W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour! I really enjoyed our time with Rashid, a real gentleman. The sites were very beautiful and the tour was well-organized and timed so we could see a lot. It was a good, full day.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

WK C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This is a very relaxing, well organized trip. The dhow offers great views and although there isn't much commentary, it is well worth doing.

Doing what: Sunset Dhow Cruise from Muscat

Peter A

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Oman has transformed into a very modern country with terrific infrastructure, unfortunately it has swept away all the old world charm that visitors come to see. One of the best features to us on this trip was the fish market at Barka. It is still in original form and best of all it has a tiny fish auction. Here they have a circular tiled area where the old auctioneer sits with his cane and conducts the auction. The fish are either auctioned separately if they are of a reasonable size, or in bundles strung together with string. The fish to be auctioned are place in the centre near the auctioneers feet and he conducts the auction with voice and tapping of his cane. The buyers seem to be half a dozen local housewives or a couple of guys. The success bid pays and gets the fish and the next fish is placed in the middle and auctioned immediately. A real scene from the past. Bait Na'am and Rustaq Fort are well preserved but a bit sterile, but if you imagine the past you can see how effective they must have been the countryside is nice desert country, although modernism is encroaching. You get to see oasis and where the springs burst out at the base of the mountains. A worthwhile day out.

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Rustaq - Voyage into the Past

Peter A

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

A nice drive around this modern city. The Grand Mosque is the MUST visit place in Oman. It is an absolutely beautiful building, no matter what your religion or leanings, you cannot and will not be disappointed with a visit to it. Muttrah Souk is worth a visit, but not the hive of activity we had hoped for and like most souks is now more geared to the tourists rather than the locals. The fish market is being placed in a new modern building, so it too is losing its charm. A nice way to see Muscat.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Peter A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

To be honest rather disappointing and not we expected after reading other reviews. Oman has become a very modern country, but in doing so has swept away all its old world charm. Nizwa Fort has been maintained, but looks sterile. The Nizwa soup has been completely rehoused in a modern building and could be a modern market anywhere in the world. Very little to recommend.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Stuart L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our day out was very good, we got to see many places and try food in a restaurant that we would not have had the opportunity to experience otherwise. Our guide was very good and knoweldgeable. The only drawback of the whole day was that we were sitting in the very back of the car that was very cramped. This was not so much of a problem on the way to our destinations as we were not in the car very long, but the journey home was very uncomfortable as we had to sit cramped up in the back of the car for over 2 hours. we were in the extra seats in the boot area of the car

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Anthony W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide Mr Rasheed was excellent and shared some wonderful information about each place. The Mosque is a must see! We shared a larger SUV with another couple so it was like a private tour. We saw a lot in 4 hrs !!

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Though the travelling time is quite long, the end result to see the forts, castle and other sites is well worth it. Plus the air-conditioning was very efficient and welcome.
Rasheed our guide was very knowledgeable and made the visit all the more memorable.
An excellent trip and very good value.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

ShamSN

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The guide Rasheed was very good, patient and we saw and learnt a lot. It was very good value and packed in a lot of sights. An excellent day

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Kathryn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide was experienced, knowledgeable and had great English skills. We loved him.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Martin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The 'driver' guide we had, Racheed, was excellent a real pleasure to spend a morning with him. His knowledge was tremendous. It was the best part of our visit to Oman.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Jennifer K

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Really lovely tour! The staff was very friendly and were always offering us snacks and drinks. The boat was very clean and overall a great 2 hours spent cruising the omani coastline and watching the amazing sunset. If you're looking for a relaxing excursion, this is it.

Doing what: Sunset Dhow Cruise from Muscat

Chantel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A wonderful tour and a great guide Rasheed. Never felt rushed and had plenty of time to see everything listed. I highly recommend!

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Chantel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guide, Rasheed, was wonderful. Very informative, nice, and a good driver. Loved seeing the forts and learning more about Oman. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

bobburrows747

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Ok Guide good all on time but to pay over 200 to see several forts and the main one closed so all we actually saw was a small fish market a couple of houses and the hot water springs

Rustaq we only saw from the distance

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Rustaq - Voyage into the Past

Max K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide Rashid was very knowledgeable and polite with perfect English. He was able to answer all our questions and we were so happy to have toured the city with him. We would highly recommend this tour and would recommend having an Omani as your tour guide if you get to choose.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Peter B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Comfy 4x4 excellent guide with decent English spoken Prompt pick-up.
Grand Mosque is simply stunning, fish market and souk less so! Well worth the modest cost.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Jairo D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

very nice tour guide a gentleman with a lot of experience about muscat he was on time and was a great experience I highly recommended this tour in 4 hours you get a good idea about muscat a how the city is running great experience

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Yvonne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent value for money with a guide who took plenty of time to talk about the history of his country and the places he took me to. The only disappointment was the closure of Niswa Fort until later in September, but I saw and experienced so many other things that I really can't complain.

I'd booked the coach tour but as i was the only passenger, had a car and driver to myself. Rasheed was courteous and knowledgeable and made sure that I was comfortable at every step of the way. An excellent and instructive guide - thank you.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Arturo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent half day Tour in Muscat !

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

UMAR T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a lovely gentleman come pick us up from our hotel. The group was very small 2 other people besides us. We travelled in a 4x4 jeep a very nice spacious vehicle. Our guide was very friendly and informative. Gave us plenty of time at each venue we visited the whole time speaking to us and passing on very interesting details. at the end of the tour we asked for a special favour to be dropped of some other place besides our hotel and he obliged very kindly. Thanks to you all for giving us a wonderful experience and insight.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

SCHMIDT R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantástico tour with a great guide. The car was air-conditioned and the driver/guide had a very good level of English, he was opened and willing to explain everything with great knowledge about Muscat, Oman and Islam in general. Worth every penny!

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Riad C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were picked up on time by a car. The driver was very nice and well informed. We thought we were going on bus. But this was a private tour in a car which made it very pleasant. The driver was giving us information about every place we passed. We stopped at many places on route for a look around or refreshments. Nissan fort and the surrounding areas are interesting.
Very enjoyable day and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Catherine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great day out: very informative, excellent guide and fascinating countryside and history

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message