Skipping over floating brush and water, the iconic image of the airboat with its enormous fan is quintessentially American Southern. If you visit the Everglades or any of Florida’s many subtropical waterways, you’ll quickly realize that the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 184 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Justin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wanted a relaxed trip out from Orlando with a couple of colleagues on a business trip from the UK, to experience a little of airboats and alligators. This was perfect, had a great day out just an hour south of Orlando

Doing what: Florida Everglades Airboat Tour and Alligator Encounter with Optional Lunch

lynn c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

amazing. had a really good view of mum and calf. the guys on the boat are so helpful and make you feel so relaxed. wonderful time

Doing what: Swim with Manatees at Crystal River plus Everglades Airboat Adventure

Paul H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The trip we booked was an air boat tour followed by a visit to Kennedy Space Centre. The boat was fantastic, but we could not go to kennedy as there had been an explosion. Kennedy validated our ticket for a return visit and we were told to re book the bus at no extra charge. When we tried to do this we were told we had to pay an extra 200 for the transport. I complained but there was no manager on to rectify this. I was then told to put my complaint in an e-mail to the manager to try get it waived, we were ignored, never getting a reply. We were ripped off for a lot of money and were unable to re book later as we were flying home, the whole reason for coming to Orlando was to take the kids to the space centre to see the launch pad before the rocket was sent up a few days later.

Doing what: Kennedy Space Center and Everglades Airboat Safari from Orlando

Lynda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved this tour, timing schedule was spot-on, just enough time in each attraction. The air-boat ride was great fun! Only disappointment was lack of pickup points, we had to get a taxi to the closest pickup point which added an additional 50 to our cost.

Doing what: Kennedy Space Center and Everglades Airboat Safari from Orlando

Balaji R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The trip was very well organized. The Airboat ride Safari was very nice and the Captain of the boat was able to show us a couple of alligators. The highlight of the tour is the Kennedy Space centre which is a must do on a trip to Florida. The guide Tom who claimed it was his first independent trip as a guide did an excellent job.

Doing what: Kennedy Space Center and Everglades Airboat Safari from Orlando

Janet S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Everyone associated with the tour service was helpful and courtesy. The air boat ride was enjoyable for our whole family and I also think it was educational.

Doing what: Florida Everglades Airboat Tour and Alligator Encounter with Optional Lunch

Lynne R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The pick up was a problem as it was a long way from our hotel but everything was good after that. The airboat trip was amazing, even though there was heavy rain part way through. We found the Space centre extremely interesting and well organised. It was impressive to be able to speak to so many retired engineers so could get accurate information. The tour around the launch pads was awesome, along with the simulator. On the whole, a very good day.

Doing what: Kennedy Space Center and Everglades Airboat Safari from Orlando

Eric G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

5-stars for Madeline AKA J-Lo for a great tour! Funny, friendly, informative, good driver!

The day:
0830 breakfast buffet at Ponderosa...not great. The day's low point...but it gets better!
Shuttle bus 1.5 hours to Crystal River
Don wet suit, board boat, and spend 2 hours looking for and swimming with manatees. We got to see 5 to 7 of them, but water conditions sucked murky and I recommend going in winter when the whole lot of them are around summer is the off-season for manatees in the rivers. Bring a change of clothes and a towel.
Board bus and eat a good bag-lunch ham/turkey/cheese sandwich, chips, cookies, fruit-cup, capri-sun, bottled water. Recommend adding sandwich choices for people who can't eat pork etc.
Drive about 30 minutes to wildlife sanctuary and stay there about 1.5 hrs. Basically a zoo for rescued animals. It was OK, but would have preferred more time with manatees or on airboat.
Back on bus for about an hour to airboat place. Fun 30-minute boat ride of 1 hour there despite weather threatening to cancel it, plus friendly southern hospitality from Tom and Jerry's airboat captain and gator handler.
Back on bus one last time for 1 hour ride back to Orlando.

Overall fun and with the cost. We would go back just for the manatees but in Winter. Thanks Florida Dolphin Tours for a great day!

Doing what: Swim with Manatees at Crystal River plus Everglades Airboat Adventure

SUETYR Isle of Man

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The tour started with a hotel pick up at around 8 am followed by an all you can eat buffet breakfast at the Ponderosa Restaurant in Orlando. Our tour guide known as J Lo was very entertaining and helpful giving details about our planned activities and raised points about the local history during the bus journey. Our first stop was at Crystal River. Snorkels are available but hire of wet suits for 10 is recommended as the water is cold. As manatees are wild, sightings are not guaranteed but we managed to see some and swim with them. Manatees are protected and swimming near them is highly regulated. Also, the river is shallow in some places so visibility can be affected by silt being stirred up from the river bed. After our swim we were given a pack lunch consisting of a ham roll, crisps, biscuits and a drink to eat on the bus on the way to Homosassa State Wildlife Park. After this we travelled to Lake Panasoffkee where we enjoyed an airboat ride where bug spray is highly recommended ! We were told during the hot weather alligators tend to only be seen at night but we managed to see one guarding her nest. We started back at around 5:30 pm and it was an hour back to Orlando and subsequent hotel drop off. It is a long day but very interesting, I don't think it would be suitable for young children.

Doing what: Swim with Manatees at Crystal River plus Everglades Airboat Adventure

SUETYR Isle of Man

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Please note that this tour does not include transport so if you do not have a hire car you will have to get a taxi from Orlando which will cost you up to an extra 300 above the tour price for a return journey ! We booked a 60 minute airboat ride including lunch and tour of the small wildlife park. The airboat ride was well organised and very enjoyable. Due to the hot weather we only saw two nesting alligators but the birds and scenery were beautiful ! Lunch was a choice of burger from the cafe but adequate.

Doing what: Florida Everglades Airboat Tour and Alligator Encounter with Optional Lunch

Russell J

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Wouldn't have bothered with breakfast too rushed or the airboat ride saw a couple of juvie gators
Or the packed lunch!!.
Homossassa springs is great if you time it right, there are manatees that live around the springs all year and are fed by the park rangers at certain times of the day.
Our bus left 10 minutes after a feeding session so not everyone had the opportunity to see the manatees from the underwater observation deck.
The driver wasn't very good at explaining things so when we got to Crystal river to get wet suits extra 10 on top of ticket price it was a little chaotic to say the least.
However, watching the information film on the coach about interacting with manatees did save a bit
of time.
The boat driver and guide were both really helpful and informative and made the whole experience
enjoyable for everyone on our boat.
I was quite surprised how quickly they spotted a couple of manatees and within ten minutes there
was a boatload of us in the water swiming with these huge animals.
Don't be fooled by the name Crystal river, the water is quite murky, but you are in the manatees
natural environment so you can't complain too much.
Swam with three manatees and watched another two over the next 45 mins.
Prices in the gift shop are a little steep for what's on offer, but the dvd with pictures and film of your
swim with the manatees....priceless
For all the europeans reading this, Be prepared to be tipping all day!
breakfast, airboat captain, Homossassa springs donation, manatee skipper and guide, bus driver
along with 10 for the wesuit hire, our party of four tipped in the region of 220.
Bearing in mind this is on top of the ticket price, it starts getting a bit expensive, after all, you only wanted to swim with a manatee not all that other stuff, right?
Having said that, there's no driving or navigating or toll roads or parking to worry about.

Doing what: Swim with Manatees at Crystal River plus Everglades Airboat Adventure

tnthealy

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

The bus was very clean and comfortable and the tour guide was friendly by didn't really provide any history or information on the places we were visiting which was disappointing He was more interested in making silly jokes. The everglades airboat ride was very disappointing it was supposed to run for 30 minutes however was actually barely 20 minutes. We also only traveled about 200 meters from the jetty. Would have liked the ride to have gone longer and further into the everglades. Overall value for money was very average and would have trouble recommending.

Doing what: Kennedy Space Center and Everglades Airboat Safari from Orlando

bencar09 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We did this tour June 2013, booked it through Viator, was my first time booking through Viator. Was a fantastic and very well organised tour. We were picked up by coach from our Lake Buena Vista Hotel and others along the way. experience is the Airboat adventure. Great, lots of fun. My teenage kids loved it and so did my husband. the airboats are very loud, they provide ear muffs and take you across the swamp showing any crocodiles that pop up. That took about an hour to 11/2 hours then it was off to the NASA SPACE CENTRE. What an amazing place to visit. Commentry on coach was great, few jokes along the way, American humour!. We drove slow past the massive aircraft building hanger and arrive at space centre. They gave us plenty of time to go through the centre and we meet back out into the entrance of the centre, had refreshmnents and time to go back to hotel. dropped at front door of hotel. Very well organised. Thank you for that great day!

Doing what: Kennedy Space Center and Everglades Airboat Safari from Orlando

tersteash

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Kennedy Space Centre is awesome in scale. I could easily have spent far longer looking over the displays. I recommend the right hand window seats for the bus tour to the launch pads. You get the best overall views.
The Airboat ride is great fun, and there is a chance of seeing alligators on a good day. The boat's 'Captain' shared his knowledge and obvious care for the area and the wildlife.
Huge call-out to Red and Nicky who handled different parts of this bundled package. Great job making everyone welcome and comfortable. Not to leave Gene the 'Driving Machine' out who drove all day without any drama.

Doing what: Kennedy Space Center and Everglades Airboat Safari from Orlando

Thomas J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

In a word maybe two words, awesome and HOT but not on the airboat. Even th heat wasn't bad because of the exiting exhibits. Our tour guide was witty, knowledgable and definitely gave us our money with. The swamp is beautiful and we saw lots of wild life, even an eagle. We saw a momma gator protecting her nest and we even saw a huge alligator and when he hissed, it wasn't long before he showed us that open mouth and those teeth. My grand children ages 10 and 12 loved the exclusion. So glad we took the trip. My only regret is not having my grands picture taken with the gator due to the handler offering families who attended the exhibit show first dibs then we had to get to our appointed station for the tour and when we returned the handler wasn't there and a note said will return in an hour. Yet the check in rep said we could request that they take the picture, yet no one was there to ask, we missed out on the opportunity of a great memory one we listed as a highlight of the tour. Perhaps, this could be a photo op no matter the time and not just around the exhibit time.

Doing what: Florida Everglades Airboat Tour and Alligator Encounter with Optional Lunch

Julie B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Had fun, even though it was so stinkin' hot and humid - that's what we get for going in July! : The 1/2 hour airboat tour was a tad boring but we loved walking around the wildlife park, especially the Hawk swamp - that was beautiful and so serene!

Doing what: Florida Everglades Airboat Tour and Alligator Encounter with Optional Lunch

Betty E

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Didn't see any gators, but beautiful scenery. Did see bald eagles and water birds. Enjoyed airboat ride.

Doing what: Florida Everglades Airboat Tour and Alligator Encounter with Optional Lunch

Mike C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was a great day out and the only reason it does not have 5 stars is that it was 'off-season' for manatees and there are much better companies to use for the airboat ride than Tom and Jerry's. Overall it was fun and I would do it again.

Doing what: Swim with Manatees at Crystal River plus Everglades Airboat Adventure

Tana L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour offering excellent value for money. Our guide, Madeline, was very knowledgeable and a great entertainer. The pick-up and drop-off were on time. The breakfast was basic, but just enough to give us energy for the day. The tour started with an enjoyable boat ride at the Everglades and we were lucky enough to spot an alligator on a very warm day. Then we had 2h to visit South Beach, which was enough to have a walk to the beach and see the most important highlights of the area. Madeline gave us a comprehensive cheat sheet which helped us make best use of our time. The tour ended with a delicious cuban meal recommended by our guide and a very nice cruise around Biscayne Bay. This tour is enough to get a taste of Miami. I wouldn't have been able to do all this on my own within one day. Really worth the money and perfect for solo travellers. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Miami Day Trip and Florida Everglades Airboat Ride

Jennifer R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The airboat safari was fantastic, the captain was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. It broke up a long tour day to Kennedy albeit enjoyable and unmissable we are space enthusiasts the airboat ride added a completely unforgettable dimension to the day. I would definitely recommend this tour

Doing what: Kennedy Space Center and Everglades Airboat Safari from Orlando

Sim Ni C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was fantastic and very well organised. I really enjoyed the everglades airboat ride and Kennedy Space Centre. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Kennedy Space Center and Everglades Airboat Safari from Orlando

Christina C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Had a great time! Breakfast/lunch verygoid! Manatee swim was fantastic! Bus ride and guides were great/entertaining. Only thing I did not like was the constant need for tipping! We paid $120 for the trip, yet continually a tip seem to be required? The airboat driver asked for $5 (x20 people)?

Doing what: Swim with Manatees at Crystal River plus Everglades Airboat Adventure

Helmut B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

I have never written a negative review but felt this tour deserved it. The tour did not start so well as the tour company left a message with the hotel we were staying at saying they changed our pick up point. We only got the message just before we were about to leave to get to our pick up point. Our preferred method of contact was email but we had not received one. We spent 20 for a cab to get to our pick up point. Upon being dropped off we noticed the bus drove past the front door of our hotel. They dropped us off at our pick up point and after waiting there for 30 minutes we got a cab which cost another 20. Pathetic organisation. Our guide got a very small tip even though he did an okay job. He should take this up with the company.
The airboat ride was good. When we got to the Kennedy Space Centre we were given our tickets and told to meet back at the bus at 5.30pm.
We could have made our way to the Space Centre by ourselves and saved a great deal of money. would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Kennedy Space Center and Everglades Airboat Safari from Orlando

Alicen Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Marvellous Tour. Great to swim with the manatees, nice zoo and great fun on the jetboat. Lunch was tasty. Only thing I really didn't need was the breakfast. It was good, but we had that provided at our hotel and it made for a late start to the day.
Madeleine was a super guide and driver throughout the trip - very knowledgeaqble and personable.

Doing what: Swim with Manatees at Crystal River plus Everglades Airboat Adventure

Bec N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Awesome tour, we have been to Kennedy Space Center before but our tour guide Madeline gave us a schedule so we wouldn't miss anything and we got to see so much more then our first visit. The air-boat safari was fantastic, we saw at least 4 alligators and the driver let us sit in the air-boat and take photos after the tour. Have already told family to do this day trip

Doing what: Kennedy Space Center and Everglades Airboat Safari from Orlando

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message