Osaka is a perfect base from which to explore other parts of Japan. All of the country's major cities are accessible within a few hours by high-speed train, and a handful of desirable destinations make for great day trips. Kyoto  – 30 minutes  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 307 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

chuck4664

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour and guide spoke English very good.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Ciaran H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really great tour. Guide was fantastic and the lunch stop was good, compared to the quality of most tour lunch stops.

The guides were very informative and had a great depth of knowledge. Come highly recommended from me.

Doing what: Kyoto Day Tour of Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle and Sanjusangendo from Osaka

Anna G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very well organised, tour guides very informative and entertaining, which is an additional plus. Everything was run smoothly, as per description. Will certainly use Viator again.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

CHI-WHEI L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour of Kyoto. Our tour guide in the morning, Amy, was very knowledgeable about Kyoto and its history. She spoke English very well and was easy to understand. We ended our morning tour of Kyoto and had lunch. As the tour then separated into several different afternoon tours, we didn't really have enough time for lunch buffetas it felt rushed. We had another tour guide for the afternoon, KC. He was very knowledgeable and politeand he shared his knowledge of Nara's history with us. Overall, a great tour. but bewarea lot of walking involved.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Aileen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Everything went well from booking the tour to the whole tour itself. It just went smooth. Everything was on time from leaving the Hotel Granvia to arriving and leaving the spots. At first i was hesitant to book a tour with viator but now that i had, i would surely do so again on my next trip.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Tracy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really great tour which included a trip on the bullet train.

Our guide June was really informative and friendly. Buffet lunch wasn't bad. Busy but a Hughes selection of food.

Doing what: Himeji Castle and Akashi Kaikyo Bridge from Osaka

Gerald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour operator JTB Sunrise Tours is superb its experience shows. The tour guides are articulate, informative, lively, and very accommodating the attractions are all as beautiful and inspiring as advertised the pace is moderately brisk yet not punishing -- and well-organized, despite the crowds of other tourists the luncheon features a good selection of hearty fare. This particular tour packs in the key highlights if you need to hit two birds with one stone i.e., get a flavor of two nearby cities within a single day. A great experience for travelers of all stripes.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Jessie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely a delight. Miyajima was a treasure. Loved the entire trip. Yuko, the guide, was excellent. Shared so many things about Japan and Japanese life on top of the history of these attractions.

Doing what: Hiroshima and Miyajima Day Tour from Osaka

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

While a long day it was quite satisfying. Never got tired of seeing palaces and shrines as each had its own unique history and visual stimulation. Guide was full of humor, insight and historical knowledge.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

sarai l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The pace of this trip was perfect. Never once felt rushed. The guide was simply gorgeous and her personal stories both moving, and humorous.

Doing what: Hiroshima and Miyajima Day Tour from Osaka

David E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Oku Japan did an excellent job on this tour. The itinerary was clear, and the support was punctual and helpful. Kumano Kodo is the way to go if you're headed for Japan and want a lovely hike, especially in the spring.

Doing what: 3-Day or 4-Day Self-Guided Hike on Kumano Kodo Pilgrimage Route Including Lodging and Transport

INDRAJIT M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

very well conducted leaving no worries to us. Everything worked in clock like precision and the guides were very friendly and knowledgeable. The itinerary also was thoughtfully made to provide adequate free time. I would recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Hiroshima and Miyajima Day Tour from Osaka

George A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Beautiful sights on this tour. The highlight was the golden temple.

Doing what: Kyoto Day Tour of Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle and Sanjusangendo from Osaka

Jessy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Yuki, our guide during the kyoto morning tour, was really good. She explained everything very well in English. The 3 stops were great except for the crowds at golden pavilion. The nara afternoon tour was also educational and we even saw cherry blossoms in full bloom at todaiji temple. KC, our guide, was really fun. A great experience to remember!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

JENNIFER A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Do not miss this tour! the Hiroshima part was very good - educational and relaxing stroll through the museum and the park. But the Miyajima is the best part of this tour. The island has free roaming friendly deer. The food - okonomiyaki with oysters and maple cookies - is excellent. It has something for everyone in the family!

Doing what: Hiroshima and Miyajima Day Tour from Osaka

Clayton H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Akiko-san was an impressive tour guide, well-spoken, engaging and knowledgeable. The pace and timing of the tour was perfect. It was a long day, but well spaced so we never felt rushed and had plenty of time to take in the sites. Loved it!

Doing what: Hiroshima and Miyajima Day Tour from Osaka

Greg F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We enjoyed the tour very much. There was enough time to see the sights and then wander a bit before returning to the bus.

The guides were very knowledgeable and friendly and helped us through the train stations, which can get confusing for first time visitors to a large train station.

The busses were very modern, clean, and comfortable with an excellent driver.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Jamie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour guide, Seiko, was absolutely brilliant with the entire group. She was always willing to take photos, answer questions, and truly her English was amazing. On the way back she even helped us figure out the best way to get to Kyoto at the time of night we would be traveling. Truly a STAR.

I really liked the structure of the tour as well because it meant that we got to board one of the bullet trains and experience the Japanese rail network. The sites were pretty incredible on top of everything else and well worth the visit. The only thing we didn't love was the hotel lunch but that's pretty standard on a tour like this so not that disappointing. Overall we had a great time, got great advice and input from the amazing tour guide, and were treated to a really great outing from Osaka.

Doing what: Himeji Castle and Akashi Kaikyo Bridge from Osaka

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Kondo San is a great guide. Informative and always smiling. Never hurried. We had a fantastic experience walking through the palaces, shrines and temples across two ancient capitals of Japan. Well maintained properties. We learned a bit about the architecture and funnily all wood structures have been rebuilt several times because of destruction by fire sometime or the other in the past. The travel officers ensured that we knew our way back at the drop off places. Very very helpful right throug the day. I lost my camera in an Osaka taxi at the start of the day. They called up the taxi company immediately, raced the taxi and manages to have my camera back! Happy memories.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Kevin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Perfectly run and organised! I had a great time.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Tour Including Golden Pavilion and Todai-ji Temple from Osaka

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message