Osaka's food culture can be summed up in one word: "Kuidaore," a Japanese word that means eat until you drop. Osakans love food, and they should; the city has some of the best of it in all of Japan. With easy access to the ocean and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Blanche L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Love, love, Love Yayo. She was full of charm and cheer and generosity. The two-plus hours with her were a delight... culture, food and adventure all in one. My son is a big fan of hers

Doing what: Sushi Cooking Class in Osaka

cammy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I highly recommend taking this cooking class!!! Yayo is amazing! I learnt the art of Japanese cooking and sushi making. It requires patience and havibg gentle hands. More than that, she also enlightned me on the Japanese culture ❤️❤️❤️❤️ Thank you again Yayo and Akane!

Doing what: Sushi Cooking Class in Osaka

Ron M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

Nikki J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyable class. Yayo was lovely and friendly and helpful. We learned how to cook different dishes but also learned about normal life in Japan which was really interesting. Loved all the little gifts at the end... The chopsticks and rest we had used.. And also Yayo insisted on giving us both umbrellas when we left as it was raining. So sweet!

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

Bronwyn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Such a unique and lovely experience! Yayo and her little dog Akane are very welcoming hosts - we had such a nice afternoon in her home. One for travelers interested in learning how to prepare popular Japanese dishes. Thanks again Yayo!

Doing what: Sushi Cooking Class in Osaka

ritter13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Now, i can make Sushi, Misosoup and Japanese Omelett. My teacher was very nice and she explain reilly well. The cooking lesson was very interesting and i had a good time.
Thank you

Doing what: Sushi Cooking Class in Osaka

A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a hugely enjoyable experience and well worthy of the 5 stars that I and the other reviewers have given it. The class takes place in Yayo's home and she is a delightful and welcoming host who is obviously passionate about cooking. We made a number of dishes see the class description using the 'watch one do one' format and recipe/instruction sheets are provided that you can take away afterwards. Everything tasted delicious and I only wish that I hadn't had breakfast that morning! The meeting arrangements were excellent and the station that you meet at is only a few stops out of central Osaka. This is well worth including in a visit to Osaka.

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

Jeremy J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a very unique moment with our cooking teacher Yayo. She's very open-minded and we loved to ask her about japanese culture. We spent one month across Japan, and that cooking class is one of the best memories of our trip.

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

Ben Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was truly a memorable experience! Teacher Yayo came and picked me up from the railway station, along with two other participants who were waiting in the same spot. Yayo was dressed in traditional Yukata, and so was her little dog. :o
We were invited into her home where she prepared green tea for us and explained what we would be cooking.
There was a good balance between instruction/demonstration and us repeating the techniques after her.
It was nice that we also had the opportunity to eat together the dishes we had created: Dashimaki, Takoyaki, Okonomiyaki and Miso soup.
When the cooking class was concluded, we received some nice souvernirs from Yayo. She escorted us back to the railway station.
The class lasted slightly longer than scheduled, so we didn't feel rushed at any time.
I'll be back next time to try the sushi lesson in the evening. :o

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

Deneen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Yayo was an excellent host and a wonderful teacher. We had such fun and learned so much. I HIGHLY recommend this cooking class. You will have such a great time as well as have fun! Her little dog, Akane, is so cute and lovable as well.

Doing what: Sushi Cooking Class in Osaka

Franklin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Sushi Cooking Class in Osaka

Jan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was the funnest experience! Very personalized for our group. The hostess's were great!!! This is a must do!!! Love it!

Doing what: Sushi Cooking Class in Osaka

Daniel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a very nice cooking class. I totally enjoyed it!!

Doing what: Sushi Cooking Class in Osaka

Courtney H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Best Viator I have been on ever! The hostess, Yayo, welcomes you warmly into her home and teaches you to make sushi! She is a very kind and patient teacher with a womderful sense of humour. I would 100 recommend this tour to others as I had a wonderful experience from start to finish. All of the food made is delicious and especially satisfying as you get to make it yourself. I cannot thank Yayo enough for this womderful and unique experience in Osaka.

Doing what: Sushi Cooking Class in Osaka

Eric N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Yayo-San was an incredibly kind and helpful cooking instructor! My wife an I showed up at the JR and Yayo-san walked up to us with a sign with our names on it, then walked us to her cooking class. After entering and donning slipperware, she led us to the tatami room where she made us Machya green powder tea from scratch. It was delicious. From there, we washed our hands and sat at the dining table where the lesson began. She was very kind and interested in our lives which made it a very personable experience. Her kawaii dog Akane was very friendly and enjoyed our company as we enjoyed hers! Yayo-san offered us some of her home made sake which was absolutely delicious. After the lesson concluded and photos were taken, she walked us back to the JR train station and helped us get on the proper train line. And by the way, she insisted I keep her umbrella since it was raining, and there was no refusing : she is a selfless person with a great class. I greatly recommend this class for anyone looking to learn about Japanese food and culture or just looking for a good couple of hours to fill their vacation. She speaks English very well, although she will modestly tell you she doesn't. :D Thanks Yayo-san and Akane-chan!

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

Ely El Salvador

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We Lived and interesting expirence With YAYO. Great way of teaching Japanese food cooking. Her cordiality, kindness and teaching was amazing and also to Have the opportunity to penetrate in the common way of leaving of Japanese People. We really enjoyed. Congrats.

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

Michael A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

There is a good reason this class receives 5 stars from everyone...my wife and I are very happy that we took the class.

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

James P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great experience. From being met at the train station by Yayoi in a kimono to the hands on cooking class. We really felt like guests in her beautiful home and active participants in the kitchen. The preparation for the class was well done. We learned new techniques, Osaka style recipes, and enjoyed eating our creations. A good taste of Japanese culture and food. Highly Recommended.

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

Amber H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

An intimate tour! It was amazing being invited into the home of two lovely sisters to learn their Osakan cooking techniques, passed down from their grandmother. We learned traditional Japanese recipes and how to cook two iconic Osaka dishes.

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

Megan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great time learning how to cook Japanese food. The teacher was super sweet.

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

Claire6

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This cooking class was so great! It was a highlight of my time in Japan. Learnt how to make some great food with lovely people and the sake tasting was great too! I highly recommend this class!

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

Christine L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Yayo and Niro were so nice and accommodating was so full after the class and a little tipsy with all the sake tasting that we did.

Doing what: Osaka Cooking Class

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message