Oslo ATTRACTIONS See all

Oslo Cruise Port

The capital of Norway, Oslo is the second busiest port in the country, ranking behind only Bergen. It is one of the world’s largest capital cities, but also one of the least densely populated.  Much of the city’s 175 square miles are covered by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 92 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jimmyz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Always the best way to see the city!

Doing what: Oslo Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Ross T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This wad a fun trip with good sights along the way.

Doing what: Oslo Shore Excursion: Oslo Fjord Sightseeing Cruise

Kenneth W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Last time we were here it poured and was icy cold. We took a boat tour then huddled beneath plastic sheeting, hardly seeing a thing. Today we took the same sort of trip with much better results. The morning clouds gradually gave way to sunshine, but I was glad that I brought a hat, mittens, and parka. We couldnt tell the permanent homes from the summer homes, but were left with the impression that every Oslo family must own a boat. Were not sure when it was summer here, but it certainly is over now. We cant imagine going swimming here. Many of the newer homes conformed to a paint color code - the same shades of yellow, red, green and blue are interspersed to a cheery effect. Older homes are white, the color that was fashionable at the time they were built. One house with Greek columns out front and a mansion-y look stuck out like a sore thumb. Its owner had visited Italy and loved the villa look so much he bought one of his own here. While some homes were larger than others, most had a conservative, functional look. The Norwegians are not an ostentatious people.
The excursion was a short walk from the berth where our cruise ship was docked. It was easy to exchange the Viator voucher for a ticket, but this time of year, we could have just walked on.

Doing what: Oslo Shore Excursion: Oslo Fjord Sightseeing Cruise

Matthew S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Relaxing narrated tour of the fjords. Not too exciting

Doing what: Oslo Shore Excursion: Oslo Fjord Sightseeing Cruise

Paul S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The boat ride was boring since the commentary was very minimal and too few speakers

Doing what: Oslo Shore Excursion: Oslo Fjord Sightseeing Cruise

Mr G J S

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Good way to get around but it was very crowded with 3 cruise liners docked on the same day!

Doing what: Oslo Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

cinardone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Easy access to the hop on, hop off bus from the port, a clean and beautiful city.

Doing what: Oslo Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Rebecca R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Stopped right at the Viking museum and didn't have to wait long at all

Doing what: Oslo Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

hilliz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Saw everything we wanted to see and information was very useful. Lots better than a tour who talk all the time!

Doing what: Oslo Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

bschex

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Timely, friendly and relaxing cruise.

Doing what: Oslo Shore Excursion: Oslo Fjord Sightseeing Cruise

evelyn

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The buses were always full. We had to wait for several buses and took much or our time. I would have preferred a guided tour.

Doing what: Oslo Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Ping Ping Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Location of bus stops was excellent, close to the port and key points of interests
Allow us to browse around key places with good amount of time and the drivers are friendly and helpful
Very impressive views at Vigeland Scrupture Park and Akershus Castle

Doing what: Oslo Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Rick Smith Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Using the Hop-On Hop-Off Bus service is probably the best way to see and discover any City. The Oslo experience is no exception. My tip is and always has been, to do a complete circle first, noting the particular places of intrigue/interest and then do the Hop-On Hop-Off bit. One confusing situation is that most Cities have more than one Company providing this service and all of them have turned the initiative into an art form by adding different coloured Tours which sometimes cross-over into their other Tours - so you need to be careful that your plans don't mix with other Company's!!
Another consideration is that whilst the average length of a round trip may be advised as 1.5 hours, it is more likely to be 2hours, also the frequency, often advised by driver and/or brochure as 15-20 mins couldn't be further from the truth! More like 30 -50 mins. Everything is dependent upon the flow of traffic - as it does anywhere in the World.
Apart from the above considerations all went.

Doing what: Oslo Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Paul M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Tour was excellent . The cruise left on time and arrived back on time as well. The ship was a beautiful old schooner and added charm to the delightful scenery .The recorded guide was informative and knowledgeable , pointing out both highlights and some obscure point of interest. Scenery was beautiful and ride comfortable although a bi chilly on this day . Blankets were provided mercifully and all I all I would recommend this couple of hours in this grand city

Doing what: Oslo Shore Excursion: Oslo Fjord Sightseeing Cruise

sclark174

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The driver did not announce the stops and he was a very herky-jerky driver.

Doing what: Oslo Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Charity K

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The hop on-hop off bus was a great way to see what you needed. Super easy to use!

Doing what: Oslo Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Oslo Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message