The Ottawa Locks 1 to 8 regulate the flow of the city’s signature Rideau Canal as it flows south from the Ottawa River. The hand-cranked locks provide a gradient of 24 meters (79 feet) on the canal, which runs for more than 200 km (124 miles) ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Melinda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Group of six adults and two toddlers went -- very nice tour, bus pickups were prompt and on time and the boat trip on the Ottawa River was very, very lovely. We all enjoyed!

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Joseph P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Terrific tour and experience.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Debbie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour guides on the bus and the boat rides were awesome. They spoke clearly and explained everything we were seeing , going back next year to spend more time , Thanks !

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Charles V

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The Ottawa hop-on, hop-off tour was very enjoyable. Both the bus guide and the riverboat cruise guide were excellent. The only objection we had is that the microphone was of such poor quality on the bus tour that we often had difficulty understanding the guide.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

kumarbelavadimohan

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Worth it. Taken all major attraction and help us make a short list to re visit attraction point..

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Claire A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

So much to see, great places to visit and loved the river cruise. Ottawa is wonderful

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

John J

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very comprehensive tour of the city and a nice boat ride to conclude. Sometimes hard to take in all the information from the guide who is required to speak in both English and French, which made things rushed. Maybe possible for bus to slow or stop at certain points so all can assimilate properly?

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Cathie M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was an excellent tour. Again it's a great overview of the major interests of Ottawa. The tour guide and driver were good. We saw and learned so much. We did the tour one day and took the cruise the next evening. Remember to bring sunscreen and a hat.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Beryl R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was awesome but a lot to take in in one day. The double decker tour was great and the guide was very informative and very friendly and helpful. The boat tour was great as well but we were travelling with elderly and the walk to the boat was a bit overwhelming, would of been nice if there was a shuttle of some kind. The guide on the boat tour did offer to get us a cab on the quebec side which we thought was very nice of her!

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Janet K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was useful to take this tour, since we got to go into all the main attractions and locations. The cruise was really nice and informative.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

annad_spa

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Overall it was a good tour to get an overall view of the city except when we were at the Museum of History, the driver for the 1:15 pm bus on July 4th did not stop or even pause at the stop as we were walking towards the stop. We tried to run after the bus but ignored us and as I have a bad knee - it did not help that I had to run to try and catch the bus. So if you are not standing right at the stop, they will assume no one is there and they will just pass the stop rather than pausing for a minute like other Hop and Go buses in other cities that I have had the pleasure of using. So beware. The Ottawa cruise was nice and informative.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Nataliya T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nice tour , it is the best you can do when you visit city for the first time.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

L D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed both the hop on hop off tour as well as the cruise . Both tour guides were excellent.
Being senior citizens, we both found it difficult to go down all the steps and the walk to the cruise boat by the locks. I have a cane and it was difficult. You might want to mention that it is better to start the river cruise at the Maurice Richard statue for those who find it more difficult to do many steps.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

COLIN B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fabulous combination of Hop On Hop Off Bus and River Cruise (no hop off recommended unless you swim well)
Lots of landmarks to see at all levels and from different perspectives

Really enjoyed both elements...highly recommended

Add on a free trip around Parliament building too!

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Remedios L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Monique P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I loved it. In hindsight, it should be done over a 2 or 3 day tour as everything is so spread and you need the time at each stop to fully appreciate this beautiful city.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Gerald W Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

My wife and I completely enjoyed the bus tour we were badly put off our efforts to find the canal we ended the bus tour at 11:30 took us until 1:30 to find the canal trip and thought it did not compare to the bus tour only seen the back of the buildings and far obstructed view by the tree canopy

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

mmortonuk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good way to get around all the main sightseeing places. Lovely well put together itenerary.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Suresh B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Olympia L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The Ottawa bus tour and cruise was very generic but informative. The guide did speak very good English and French. He was very easy to understand. The bus and cruise took us to a lot of places. I was disappointed in the boat though as I thought it would be open air. Instead it was basically a closed in bus in the water. On the whole though, this was a good tour, impersonal but good.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Jeanette A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Staff informative and helpful
Canal cruise was down and back something needed on way back or change route if posasible.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Konrad B

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We were travelling from Montreal via train so we arrived in Ottawa late morning. When we got to the kiosk to pick up our tour tickets, we learned that there are up to 2 hour intervals in between the hop off/hop on again. We only got as far as the bayward market, had lunch and rushed to the cruise due to time constraints. We ended up missing the first cruise and had to take the second one. It was very enjoyable! But since we had to get the train back to Montreal by 5 p.m., we never got a chance to get back on the hop on/hop off. Unfortunately we ended up seeing very little of the city. I would recommend doing this but stay in Ottawa overnight and not try to do this as a day trip. It's a very pretty city! I would also recommend going there on Canada Day (July 1st) to get the full experience of Canada's "4th of July."

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Nicole L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An excellent way to see the city and visit the attractions.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Winn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The only hiccup is that we were not picked up at Les Suites Hotel after calling and confirming that we would be by Grey Lines. I called them when we arrived home to put in a complaint, we were in their computer system, but the left hand did not let the right hand know what was going on. We eventually had to take a taxi, because we did not know where the kiosk was. Good bilingual guides, funny, especially the one on the Hop-on Hop-off.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message