The Ottawa Locks 1 to 8 regulate the flow of the city’s signature Rideau Canal as it flows south from the Ottawa River. The hand-cranked locks provide a gradient of 24 meters (79 feet) on the canal, which runs for more than 200 km (124 miles) ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 68 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

W R K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was exceptionally well done. Great overview of Ottawa area. Highly recommend it to first time visitors to Ottawa.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Nikki B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Tour provided an overview of city ... enjoyed it.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

timmonsjane

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The 3 of us arrived at the bus kiosk and registered. We were told we had to go a couple of streets over to register for the cruise. It was pouring rain. We only had a few minutes. We assumed you would do both at the same spot. We were in such a rush that we went where we were told to register for the cruise not realizing this was just for the Ottawa River cruise not the Rideau Canal cruise which is what we wanted to take. The bus tour and guide were awesome. We saw everything we wanted to see and more. Now we can go back and take individual trips another day, The boat cruise was nice, a little walk to get to the boat, which should have been explained when booking. It had stopped raining by then and the guide was very knowledgeable. It was nice to see the back of Parliament Hill and other places. Wish we knew where the kiosk was for the Rideau Canal cruise, we never found it and it was too late to ask anyone as it was the end of the day.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Maria T

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

I would have liked to hear more about the city. Although there was some interesting facts, it seemed rushed. The driver and announcer were great, don't get me wrong, however for the price I was expecting more.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Kathleen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Why does your Seniors rate starts at age 65 when the hop on/off bus tour through Greyline who you use is Age 60 and Paul's Boat Tours that you also use for the River Cruise is Age 55! Why did we have to pay more to book through Viator? Otherwise, both the bus tour and Cruise are excellent.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

William K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way to tour the city when you have limited.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Roger G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way to see Ottawa...would love to do it again

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Rita G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great overview of the city with historical facts and stops at all the points of interest. Take the Ottawa River cruise option as well - great photo ops!

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Barbara M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Once there, Scheduling was found on the planned date to be much less flexible than the ad implied. As a result, we had to forego the bus tour to take advantage of a late afternoon cruise. The cruise itself was enjoyable, but the day did not go as planned, due to timing constraints discovered only upon arrival.
Staff was pleasant and apologetic!

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Melinda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Group of six adults and two toddlers went -- very nice tour, bus pickups were prompt and on time and the boat trip on the Ottawa River was very, very lovely. We all enjoyed!

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Joseph P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Terrific tour and experience.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Debbie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour guides on the bus and the boat rides were awesome. They spoke clearly and explained everything we were seeing , going back next year to spend more time , Thanks !

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Charles V

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The Ottawa hop-on, hop-off tour was very enjoyable. Both the bus guide and the riverboat cruise guide were excellent. The only objection we had is that the microphone was of such poor quality on the bus tour that we often had difficulty understanding the guide.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

kumarbelavadimohan

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Worth it. Taken all major attraction and help us make a short list to re visit attraction point..

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Claire A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

So much to see, great places to visit and loved the river cruise. Ottawa is wonderful

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

John J

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very comprehensive tour of the city and a nice boat ride to conclude. Sometimes hard to take in all the information from the guide who is required to speak in both English and French, which made things rushed. Maybe possible for bus to slow or stop at certain points so all can assimilate properly?

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Cathie M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was an excellent tour. Again it's a great overview of the major interests of Ottawa. The tour guide and driver were good. We saw and learned so much. We did the tour one day and took the cruise the next evening. Remember to bring sunscreen and a hat.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Beryl R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was awesome but a lot to take in in one day. The double decker tour was great and the guide was very informative and very friendly and helpful. The boat tour was great as well but we were travelling with elderly and the walk to the boat was a bit overwhelming, would of been nice if there was a shuttle of some kind. The guide on the boat tour did offer to get us a cab on the quebec side which we thought was very nice of her!

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Janet K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was useful to take this tour, since we got to go into all the main attractions and locations. The cruise was really nice and informative.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

annad_spa

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Overall it was a good tour to get an overall view of the city except when we were at the Museum of History, the driver for the 1:15 pm bus on July 4th did not stop or even pause at the stop as we were walking towards the stop. We tried to run after the bus but ignored us and as I have a bad knee - it did not help that I had to run to try and catch the bus. So if you are not standing right at the stop, they will assume no one is there and they will just pass the stop rather than pausing for a minute like other Hop and Go buses in other cities that I have had the pleasure of using. So beware. The Ottawa cruise was nice and informative.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Nataliya T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nice tour , it is the best you can do when you visit city for the first time.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

L D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed both the hop on hop off tour as well as the cruise . Both tour guides were excellent.
Being senior citizens, we both found it difficult to go down all the steps and the walk to the cruise boat by the locks. I have a cane and it was difficult. You might want to mention that it is better to start the river cruise at the Maurice Richard statue for those who find it more difficult to do many steps.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

COLIN B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fabulous combination of Hop On Hop Off Bus and River Cruise (no hop off recommended unless you swim well)
Lots of landmarks to see at all levels and from different perspectives

Really enjoyed both elements...highly recommended

Add on a free trip around Parliament building too!

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Remedios L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message