The Rideau Canal is a signature Ottawa landmark, dividing the city’s downtown into eastern and western segments. Opened in 1832, it’s the oldest still operational canal system in North America. In winter, the 8 km (5-mile) stretch of canal ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 106 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

W R K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was exceptionally well done. Great overview of Ottawa area. Highly recommend it to first time visitors to Ottawa.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Nikki B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Tour provided an overview of city ... enjoyed it.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

timmonsjane

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The 3 of us arrived at the bus kiosk and registered. We were told we had to go a couple of streets over to register for the cruise. It was pouring rain. We only had a few minutes. We assumed you would do both at the same spot. We were in such a rush that we went where we were told to register for the cruise not realizing this was just for the Ottawa River cruise not the Rideau Canal cruise which is what we wanted to take. The bus tour and guide were awesome. We saw everything we wanted to see and more. Now we can go back and take individual trips another day, The boat cruise was nice, a little walk to get to the boat, which should have been explained when booking. It had stopped raining by then and the guide was very knowledgeable. It was nice to see the back of Parliament Hill and other places. Wish we knew where the kiosk was for the Rideau Canal cruise, we never found it and it was too late to ask anyone as it was the end of the day.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Maria T

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

I would have liked to hear more about the city. Although there was some interesting facts, it seemed rushed. The driver and announcer were great, don't get me wrong, however for the price I was expecting more.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Kathleen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Why does your Seniors rate starts at age 65 when the hop on/off bus tour through Greyline who you use is Age 60 and Paul's Boat Tours that you also use for the River Cruise is Age 55! Why did we have to pay more to book through Viator? Otherwise, both the bus tour and Cruise are excellent.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

mothertrucker10

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We really enjoyed our experience, would do it again in a heartbeat, very interesting.

Doing what: Ottawa City Tour by Land and Water

William K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way to tour the city when you have limited.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Kathryn O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great overview of Ottawa's historical and cultural sites. My husband and I took this tour the first day we were in Ottawa and it gave us a good orientation as to where the museums, etc. were, especially the National Gallery of Canada since that was the reason we were in Ottawa anyway. And the boat tour was a fun experience as we had never been on a transitional vehicle before. And the views from the river were gorgeous!

Doing what: Ottawa City Tour by Land and Water

Roger G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way to see Ottawa...would love to do it again

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Rita G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great overview of the city with historical facts and stops at all the points of interest. Take the Ottawa River cruise option as well - great photo ops!

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Michele C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was my most favorite activity during my Ottawa trip. The bike ride down the canal and past a handful of the city's sights was most informative and went at a pace that truly allowed the bikers to take in the scenery. The guide was fabulous and I can't wait to return to Ottawa and do the same exact bike ride again, that's how fabulous it was! Highly, highly recommend it!

Doing what: 2-Hour Ottawa Express City Bike Tour

Barbara M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Once there, Scheduling was found on the planned date to be much less flexible than the ad implied. As a result, we had to forego the bus tour to take advantage of a late afternoon cruise. The cruise itself was enjoyable, but the day did not go as planned, due to timing constraints discovered only upon arrival.
Staff was pleasant and apologetic!

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Melinda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Group of six adults and two toddlers went -- very nice tour, bus pickups were prompt and on time and the boat trip on the Ottawa River was very, very lovely. We all enjoyed!

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Joseph P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Terrific tour and experience.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Kaitlin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a great way to experience Ottawa! Our tour guide Marie was extremely pleasant, knowledgeable, and helpful, making the tour all the more pleasurable. I'd do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: 2-Hour Ottawa Express City Bike Tour

Debbie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour guides on the bus and the boat rides were awesome. They spoke clearly and explained everything we were seeing , going back next year to spend more time , Thanks !

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

MD Mahmudur R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour was excellent.

Doing what: Ottawa City Tour by Land and Water

Kelly F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very helpful booking agent. The tour was great, awesome guide and driver. The only downside, was the seat placement person, was very cranky with a group of tourists that just wanted to sit together. It was all good after everyone got settled. Would go again.

Doing what: Ottawa City Tour by Land and Water

Charles V

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The Ottawa hop-on, hop-off tour was very enjoyable. Both the bus guide and the riverboat cruise guide were excellent. The only objection we had is that the microphone was of such poor quality on the bus tour that we often had difficulty understanding the guide.

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

kumarbelavadimohan

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Worth it. Taken all major attraction and help us make a short list to re visit attraction point..

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

David F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

I had car trouble and wasn't able to make the appointed time.

Doing what: Ottawa City Tour by Land and Water

Shona N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great way to see the city and learn the locations of things. The guide was brilliant, if slightly speedy on the bikes. Was a good tour and workout in one. Beautiful city!

Doing what: 2-Hour Ottawa Express City Bike Tour

Ines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was AWEWSOME!

Doing what: Ottawa City Tour by Land and Water

Claire A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

So much to see, great places to visit and loved the river cruise. Ottawa is wonderful

Doing what: Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message