Palm Cove ATTRACTIONS See all

Skyrail Cableway

The rainforests of far north Queensland boast unparalled biodiversity, abounding with many unique plant species as well as possums, tree kangaroos, bats and a huge range of birdlife. But you needn’t necessarily rough it to get a taste of this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 118 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

SM B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Brilliant tour that was definitely worth travelling Gold class where not only was food and drink provided but the seats were really comfy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Chien Huah T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

No frills transportation arrangement that provides you with the flexibility to walk around Kuranda on your own. It is worth taking the Gold Class for the most comfortable positions to take photos. Do note that tea snacks, pastries and drinks are part of the package, so you don't really have to buy food at the station before you board.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Steven Z

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Train was unique and skyrail view was fantastic.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Jacqui M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Kuranda the township is a tourist trap, but the train and sky rail journeys were fun.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Chris P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Rubbish tour, totally waste of money to be pushed around by an inept and unresponsive tour

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Palm Cove

kedwards01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was grateful that the tour company contacted us in advance enough so that we could rearrange our tours to make sure that we were able to visit Kuranda. The city itself was kind of overrated but the experience of the train in Gold Class was an unique experience as well as the gondala ride back to Cairns.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Sarah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Simply amazing! First you get to ride in a brand new first class boat out to the reef. Then you get to snorkel or dive in two different locations - the best snorkeling in the world as far as I'm concerned. Even though there are lots of people this tour has everything very organized. It's easy to get away from the crowds once your in the water as well. You get plenty of time to swim with the fishes. Kuranda was also very nice. The scenic railway and riding the gondola were highlights for me!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

DANIEL

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour muy bien organizado. El primer día sin un guía pero con traslados, viaje en el scenic train almuerzo, recorridos y vuelta en teleférico cronometricamente indicados en el brief. El segundo día se llega a la Barrera de Coral en una embarcación lujosa y con buenos servicios buffet. Incursiones con snorkel y buceo, a elección, muy divertidas. Todo el tour muy recomendable.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Niranjan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A truly great trip with abundance of nature around. The scenic rail treats the tourists like a King and the delicacies offered are superb The Daintrain Tea . The journey itself is rejuvenating and the Kuranda village with its heritage market, village and Barron River walk are simply not to be missed ! The jouney back by Gondola is amazing too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

janine.s United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a great tour we took the train up and sky rail down. everything went well from being picked up outside our apartment to being dropped off. Booking Gold class was worth every penny the seats on the train were comfortable and uncrowded, we were served with food and drink throughout the train journey. the free time we had at the top was more than long enough to do what we wanted. It was a very hot day and we took the skyrail down earlier than our given time which did not seem to matter, when we got down we did not have to wait long before we were taken to our hotel.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Curt N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I took the Skyrail up to Kuranda and the Scenic Railway back. The views from the Skyway were awesome. I enjoyed the Gold Class seating, beverages and snacks on the way back to Cairns.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Victoria N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

All ran smooth staff were awesome would highly recommend

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Stuart C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Two days that were very well organised with top class tour operators in the local area. The reef trip was a game of two halves. The first, treated to a brand new boat, first step class crew providing entertainment and excellent advice with a brilliant lunch. The second half a huge disappointment as the helicopter ride was cancelled due to heavy rain. Can't hold that against the tour operator ! The second day in the rain forest was very good, really enjoyed the optional trip to tai forestation.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

ChuckJ

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Great choice if you have limited time. The Barrier Reef experience could have been better if the group size was smaller than the 138 people we joined.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Kevin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an excellent day out. The train was very nostalgic and great fun. The Gold Class was very good too. The village of Kuranda was full of shops and cafes and we enjoyed walking along the trails that surrounded the village. The cable car was enjoyable and gave us a different perspective than the train. The organization of the tour was professionally delivered although being collected over an hour before getting to the train station was a little frustrating as we were not that far away. Overall, a great day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Larry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Enjoyable with a train ride up to Kuranda. The gold class service on the train was well worth it. Kuranda is a small touristy town to walk around. The ride down the mountain on the cableway was fantastic. 7km ride lasted 45 min and over the top of rainforests and gullys all the way down the hill.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

kim b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Go gold all the way. So enjoyable to sit back and enjoy the view. The wine and food were excellent. Private washrooms. Staff there to serve you. The skyrail was nice way to end the day. Well worth the money

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Rodney P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was great!!! Guides were wonderful. Weather cooperated. Food was good. We had a wonderful time. My wife and I are in our 70's yet felt very safe and had a great time at the reef.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

james c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The trip was a success the train was a historic trip up an incredible railway and the town of Kuranda is a cute little place but the highlight for us was the skyrail which gave you an incredible view into the rainforest.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Eileen M K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Having the gold class was a wonderful experience. The railway tour is beautiful and very scenic. The sky rail on the way back down has beautiful views

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Fuzz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

a wonderful day - well worth the extra to go gold class

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message