Palm Cove ATTRACTIONS See all

Skyrail Cableway

The rainforests of far north Queensland boast unparalled biodiversity, abounding with many unique plant species as well as possums, tree kangaroos, bats and a huge range of birdlife. But you needn’t necessarily rough it to get a taste of this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 145 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Daniel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Enjoyed the rain forest and the reef
I liked the local drivers, they were very well informed.
We liked the special room on the dive boat. The food was excellent and the crew very helpful, friendly and attentive.
On the helicopter ride, we expected the pilot to give us information as we were flying over the different reefs and thought the helicopter ride would last longer.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Kathy Kris Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very nice tour. We enjoyed the train ride which was able to provide history and commentary for the trip. Gold class provided a lot of value for the refreshments and snacks provided. The village is definitely touristy, with many nice stores. The cablecar/skyrail down was really fun!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Albert S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Nice and interesting...the train was nothing special, the town was a little more commercial than I expected, but still fun, and a lot to see. Make sure to take a photo with the Koala at the Koala park. Not many good lunch options...

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Palm Cove

Noelene C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The trip up to Kuranda on the train was pleasant and we enjoyed wandering around Kuranda itself the mango wine tasting was great Cathy, a member of the Golden Drop family from Mareeba was a brilliant sommelier and made the experience fabulous. The market with the locally made/sourced products was better than I had expected - try the home made fudge at the Kuranda Fudge Bar and Tearoom. Hope was great fun and makes all of the myriad flavors herself. Also, don't miss the bat refuge Bat Reach on the short rainforest walk Jumrum Walk, I think. For a small donation you can get up close and personal to these incredible animals, and hear a wealth of interesting information from their carer.
There were plenty of places to have lunch in Kuranda it is an actual small town so you have most facilities available to you.
The cable car ride down was interesting. Don't worry when the car slows to almost a standstill - it's just part of the operation and you're not left hanging for more than a second or two. We chose to come straight down so can't comment on the stopovers.
Day two was great. The Catamaran, Evolution Down Under, was superb and the staff were magnificent - couldn't fault a single one for their personality, and attention to passenger enjoyment, comfort and safety. Although the seas were calm it was a bumpy ride to the reef and there were a few sick people so take your sea sickness tabs with you if you're susceptible. Having booked the 2 day package with helicopter ride back at the end, we were assigned a small lounge room which we shared with only a few other passengers. This was a pleasant surprise! The snorkeling was good and the staff assisted with getting you into the water with a minimum of fuss. For a 50 refundable deposit I was even able to hire prescription goggles which made snorkelling so much better. Flotation devices were available if you wanted a little extra security. We took the semi sub tour which was ok but I don't think I'd bother next time if you can snorkel instead.
Lunch was nice, with lots of fresh salads, prawns, sausages, fish and steak.
Returning to Cairns by helicopter with doors was a real highlight. The pilot took us over parts of the reef before we headed back to the airport about 30 mins in total. Even with a fear of heights I loved it!
From pickup on Day 1 to drop off on Day 2 this whole tour ran like clockwork and, despite the number of people on the boat for the reef trip, everyone was treated as a special person. Can't recommend this tour group more highly.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

trevor l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

train first class was great good service sky rail was good but if you don,t heights go back by train

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Xinwei R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

For the first time visit, it defintely was a must-go activity. Also, I wond highly recommond the gold class. The only inconvience was on the transportation. It took quite some time to pick up all the people. And we gave up the free transportation back to the hotel since it requested us to wait for around an hour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

stephanie.tom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Really fun trip. We enjoyed the train ride which was able to provide history and commentary for the trip. Gold class provided a lot of value for the refreshments and snacks provided. The village is definitely touristy, but I got to hug a koala so I consider it a success. The cablecar/skyrail down was really fun but if you're afraid of heights, you'd definitely want to try and find an alternative. It's not a direct trip down, there are 2 stops along the way where you need to transfer to another car down, so any delay at those changes might mean you're stuck in your cable car suspended over significant heights for a bit. But definitely worth it for a change of pace!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Lesley H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A great experience with running commentary which was interesting. Disappointed we did not get our souvenirs as promised at the end of the train ride. Kuranda village was interesting and we would have liked more time there. 2 hours up on the train did not give us enough time to go to all the animal parks, eat AND look in the shops. The trip back in the cable car was awesome!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Reef Lover United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Husband and I enjoyed the tour. However, it is a little longer than what we would spent if we are on our own. We had to follow the itinerary because they are pre arranged. The cable ride was very nice. We got an panoramic view of the Cairne area. We are very glad we chose the Skip the Line Gold Class train ride. The decor of the carriage is very nice and the service we got for the ride worth every penny. The tour operators are very efficient and pleasant. I would go with them again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Carolyn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a great tour. Definitely worth doing gold class on train. Pick up for Palm Cove needs to be corrected. Construction occurring and name of pick up location different than on print out. Short drive to site. Fun gift shop. Great train ride. Lovely shops, some touristy, but fun. Great jewelry shop. Do not do the Koala encounter there unless this is your only stop in Australia. Much better places. Sky lift down was incredible over rainforest. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

hamokmonky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent, and well organized. Had no problems with any part of the trip. Would have enjoyed more time in Kuranda but I know that scheduling is somewhat up to the train and skyrail and not so much the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

gregory m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Gold class was the way to go, cute town lots to do, recommend the german eatery.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Eduardo F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is an unforgettable experience. The Great Barrier Reef is the super highlight of this tour. You spend so much time snorkeling that I cannot recommend this tour enough. Simply amazing!
The Kuranda trip by train is very scenic. Lovely experience. The Kuranda city itself is ok.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Pat Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip was amazing. We decided to go Gold Class, as it is probably our first and last opportunity to do the trip. The ladies who looked after us and served us yummy refreshments were lovely - friendly, and couldn't do enough for us.
The views on the way are wonderful.
We could only be amazed at the workers who built the line back in the 1800s, and at the tunnels, bridges etc that were necessary in such difficult terrain.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really good, plenty of photo ops during the ride

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Palm Cove

AERYN A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The Reef part of the trip was amazing and faultlessly organised - especially the helicopter ride home!
Mia our guide on the reef trip was so patient with my mum who has a fear of deep water but got her out on the reef. cannot fault this part of the 2 day trip at all.
The rainforestation part let down the Kuranda trip as was very rushed and unorganised.
Other than that an amazing trip and well worth doing

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Melissa I

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Was very disappointed. Down under tours lied about this. They say the tour is 10 hours but it was more like 5. We were scheduled for our sky rail at 9:45am which took us to Kuranda. Then had to be on the train to leave at 2pm. Because it was half the time they said we missed an excursion and lost $94

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Palm Cove

EKTA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing! Helicopter ride was the highlight as well as private room on board the boat.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

jo_ann_ayers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Enjoyable day through the rainforest. The Gold Class service provided worthwhile upgrades!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Colin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had 2 excellent guides today
Lillia took us through Musee deOrday and her knowledge and ability to deliver an entertaining and informative review of the key artists represented was sensational
Shannon also excelled - taking us Through Notre dame cathedral and surrounds with enthusiasm and info ++

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Brian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a wonderful trip to take for anyone visiting the area. The scenery is fabulous and the service on the train, that included morning tea, was first class. It is an experience not to be missed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

hols

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome experience, we booked gold which lived up to our expectations. The standard of service and food and drink on the train were fantastic and complimented the whole journey, it also meant we didn't waste time in the village looking for something to eat and were able to explore.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

A C O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I did this trip - skyrail up and train back. Well worth it to go gold class on the train. Drinks and nibbles and nice seats and good service onboard. The gondolas up was good - all well run. Picked up and dropped back to my hotel - all up it was an enjoyable day out.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Mark Q

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

good fun, great for kids, would be better if program can combine with some adventure such as hot air balloon or zipline

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message