Palm Cove ATTRACTIONS See all

Skyrail Cableway

The rainforests of far north Queensland boast unparalled biodiversity, abounding with many unique plant species as well as possums, tree kangaroos, bats and a huge range of birdlife. But you needn’t necessarily rough it to get a taste of this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 127 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

EKTA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing! Helicopter ride was the highlight as well as private room on board the boat.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

jo_ann_ayers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Enjoyable day through the rainforest. The Gold Class service provided worthwhile upgrades!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Colin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had 2 excellent guides today
Lillia took us through Musee deOrday and her knowledge and ability to deliver an entertaining and informative review of the key artists represented was sensational
Shannon also excelled - taking us Through Notre dame cathedral and surrounds with enthusiasm and info ++

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Brian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a wonderful trip to take for anyone visiting the area. The scenery is fabulous and the service on the train, that included morning tea, was first class. It is an experience not to be missed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

hols

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome experience, we booked gold which lived up to our expectations. The standard of service and food and drink on the train were fantastic and complimented the whole journey, it also meant we didn't waste time in the village looking for something to eat and were able to explore.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

A C O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I did this trip - skyrail up and train back. Well worth it to go gold class on the train. Drinks and nibbles and nice seats and good service onboard. The gondolas up was good - all well run. Picked up and dropped back to my hotel - all up it was an enjoyable day out.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Mark Q

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

good fun, great for kids, would be better if program can combine with some adventure such as hot air balloon or zipline

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Judith R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We had a wonderful day on the skyrail and the gold class rail, but we found it to be a really long day. We were picked up from our hotel around 8am and dropped back around 6pm. Kuranda is a beautiful little spot with lots of eateries and a grand pub on the corner near the railway. Happy Hour is 2-4pm.
I would recommend this trip though.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Sandra K

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

We loved our trip up on Skyrail and our trip back down on the train. The scenery and views from Skyrail are amazing as are the views from the train. We had loads of time to spend in Kuranda and managed to fit in a boat cruise on the river where we saw freshwater crocodiles and turtles and fantastic birdlife.

The only down to the trip was not being given a reminder of the train trip that all the other gold class passengers received. It was like I was invisible. Good thing we have plenty of pictures that we took to remind us.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

SM B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Brilliant tour that was definitely worth travelling Gold class where not only was food and drink provided but the seats were really comfy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Chien Huah T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

No frills transportation arrangement that provides you with the flexibility to walk around Kuranda on your own. It is worth taking the Gold Class for the most comfortable positions to take photos. Do note that tea snacks, pastries and drinks are part of the package, so you don't really have to buy food at the station before you board.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Steven Z

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Train was unique and skyrail view was fantastic.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Jacqui M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Kuranda the township is a tourist trap, but the train and sky rail journeys were fun.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Chris P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Rubbish tour, totally waste of money to be pushed around by an inept and unresponsive tour

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Palm Cove

kedwards01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was grateful that the tour company contacted us in advance enough so that we could rearrange our tours to make sure that we were able to visit Kuranda. The city itself was kind of overrated but the experience of the train in Gold Class was an unique experience as well as the gondala ride back to Cairns.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Sarah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Simply amazing! First you get to ride in a brand new first class boat out to the reef. Then you get to snorkel or dive in two different locations - the best snorkeling in the world as far as I'm concerned. Even though there are lots of people this tour has everything very organized. It's easy to get away from the crowds once your in the water as well. You get plenty of time to swim with the fishes. Kuranda was also very nice. The scenic railway and riding the gondola were highlights for me!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

DANIEL

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour muy bien organizado. El primer día sin un guía pero con traslados, viaje en el scenic train almuerzo, recorridos y vuelta en teleférico cronometricamente indicados en el brief. El segundo día se llega a la Barrera de Coral en una embarcación lujosa y con buenos servicios buffet. Incursiones con snorkel y buceo, a elección, muy divertidas. Todo el tour muy recomendable.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Niranjan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A truly great trip with abundance of nature around. The scenic rail treats the tourists like a King and the delicacies offered are superb The Daintrain Tea . The journey itself is rejuvenating and the Kuranda village with its heritage market, village and Barron River walk are simply not to be missed ! The jouney back by Gondola is amazing too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

janine.s United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a great tour we took the train up and sky rail down. everything went well from being picked up outside our apartment to being dropped off. Booking Gold class was worth every penny the seats on the train were comfortable and uncrowded, we were served with food and drink throughout the train journey. the free time we had at the top was more than long enough to do what we wanted. It was a very hot day and we took the skyrail down earlier than our given time which did not seem to matter, when we got down we did not have to wait long before we were taken to our hotel.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Curt N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I took the Skyrail up to Kuranda and the Scenic Railway back. The views from the Skyway were awesome. I enjoyed the Gold Class seating, beverages and snacks on the way back to Cairns.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Victoria N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

All ran smooth staff were awesome would highly recommend

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message