Palm Cove ATTRACTIONS See all

Skyrail Cableway

The rainforests of far north Queensland boast unparalled biodiversity, abounding with many unique plant species as well as possums, tree kangaroos, bats and a huge range of birdlife. But you needn’t necessarily rough it to get a taste of this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 155 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Scott W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The gold class was fantastic. Great seanary snacks, beer, and wine.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Richard O

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

This tour was good. Gold Class service was worth it in that it provided a truly unique experience. I would not recommend the animal exhibit n Kuranda unless you absolutely have to hold a Koala!. - there are better animal parks throughout Australia. the bird exhibit was good however. Scenic skyway was a truly unique experience and a great way to see the rain forest and the greater Cairns area!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

J L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I've done a lot of trip planning but I must admit that booking this tour/trip was a little confusing. It all turned out great and we all had a wonderful time. We selected the Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway Tour through Viator and the tour company was Down Under Tours. This program is not a fully guided tour where you are with a driver/leader the whole time. Instead, they are basically your bus drivers from/to your hotel or other meeting point. This particular tour requests that you arrange and confirm your pick up location in advance with the tour company Down Under Tours. They were very responsive and easily arranged for the hotel pickup. The most important item you'll receive is the pre-printed itinerary for you and your group.

We selected the Kuranda Scenic Railway to get to Kuranda. You'll be dropped off at the train station for the scheduled train departure. I highly recommend the Gold Class seating this will cost extra but I think it's well worth it. There's no air conditioning so it can get a little hot and stuffy. Fortunately, for the Gold Class, you are assigned seats for your group and you get to wait for the train in a separate Gold Class seating area where you'll be offered a refreshing beverage. On the train, the service was excellent where we had a special attendant for our car and were served drinks, snacks and other cold treats. The seats were very comfortable on the train and there were one or two stops on the way up to Kuranda I believe we got off at one stop for pictures. The ride was narrated throughout and everyone was provided the opportunity to take the perfect picture from inside the train. Overall, the views were magnificent and the experience was memorable. After an hour or so ride, you arrive at Kuranda Village. I recommend that you take the train up to Kuranda and the Skyway back down because if you take the train back, you'll have to make the scheduled return train with limited other options. The Cableway provides the return trip but they run all the time so you have more options to get back more on this later.

Once at the Village, you have a map that provides all the shopping, sites, restaurants, etc. We had a couple of hours to spend in Kuranda so we decided on walking around the village to go shopping vs. lunch. We did stop at the Kuranda Home Made Tropical Fruit Ice Cream van parked next to the Kuranda Markets Arcade. I highly recommend trying the ice cream sold by owner Cliff Timmins, who has operated the van for 22 years and his wife makes the best home made ice cream you'll taste. We had a great conversation and you can tell how proud he is of the ice cream and how he loves meeting people from around the world! I highly recommend a stop to try the ice cream! Finally, being in the rain forest, we experienced a couple of down pours but there was plenty of shelter and it's the rain forest, so you'll have to expect rain.

You can get through the Village in a couple of hours but the tour company suggests a time to get on the Cableway even though they run all the time because there are a couple of scenic stops you'll want to make on the way down as well. These are great photo opportunities! You should definitely make the stops and follow the paths to some great lookout points. Once you reach the bottom, there will be buses waiting to take you back to the original pickup locations. Overall, it was a fun and relaxing day with most of it on your own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

wwmelton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

On our trip to Australia and South Island New Zealand, we took six Viator excursions. They all exceeded our expectations.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Bonnie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a terrific 2-day experience! Our Great Barrier Reef experience started off on our gorgeous boat, The Evolution. It was 6 months old, so in pristine condition. The crew - total professionals and all very helpful, fun, and engaging. All the equipment was first rate. The snorkeling was fun and educational - seeing tons of colorful fish and a spectacular reef. Our highlight was seeing an active giant 4-5 foot clam surrounded by colorful fish open and close. We visited two snorkeling sites with a tasty buffet lunch in between site locations bring your own towels and change of clothing - sitting around in wet swimsuits gets cold in an airconditioned boat. We signed up and paid extra for the exciting 30-minute helicopter ride back to Cairns that took us over large parts of the reef and several sandbar islands that we were told people boat out to or helicopter to for picnics or...wedding proposals. We met a young couple on our return to the base who had just returned from such an excursion, the young lady was wearing her new engagement ring and a huge smile. -- The Daintree Rainforest Tour was the next day. We had a two-hour train ride with spectacular scenery up to the Kuranda Village bring water and a hand-fan - the train is un-airconditioned and can be hot. Kuranda Village was very commercial, but fun AND where my daughter struck Hug a Koala off her bucket list. This was the ONE place IN Australia where you can actually pay to HOLD a koala - a very limp, catatonic animal that's the cutest thing you've ever seen/held...human babies come in a distant second. An hour-long Duck Rainforest Tour followed where we learned about the nasties that await clueless tourists wandering off rainforest trails -- wait-a-while vines and the gimpy-gimpy plant - a very poisonous neurotoxin plant. You start the tour in the morning going up the mountain in the train and return in the afternoon in a gondola for a 30-minute ride that flies over the canopy of the rainforest. That was exciting and beautiful and you keep your fingers crossed that the machinery is top-notch because there is NOTHING but rainforest gimpy-gimpy plants and wait-a-while vines for MILES around. We HIGHLY recommend this 2-day tour - both days were fantastic!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

mark s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

really enjoyed both days of this experience. transportation/shuttle to and from for both days was outstanding ! traveling by train to kuranda was good as the sites from the train and the history shared were wonderful. kuranda itself was an adventure of small open markets and shops along with restaurants and some tourist traps as well. the koala gardens here were fair as i felt the area could have been more spacious for the animals, as the kangaroos and wallabies were sad and somewhat physically unhealthy. however the extra cost to enter and see this was healthy pricey! would liked to have checked out the rainforest and what it entailed while we were here but was overwhelmed with the small markets gong on and the time frame we had to work with. really enjoyed the skyrail as it represented itself well. the second day to the great barrier reef was truly enjoyed by myself and my daughter as we left cairns pier on a incredible big new boat called the evolution. the crew were great and knowledgeable and the boat spacious as they're were many of us onboard. snorkeling on the first part of the trip in the gb reef was awesome and then we travelled to another part of the reef while eating from their buffet which the food served was ok. on the second part of this trip on the boat we took a briefing about scuba diving and we decided to pay the xtra money to do this as we both never experienced this and it turned out be be one of the most enjoyable things i've ever done!! as we pulled up anchor to head back to cairns, we had booked to take the 30 min helicopter flight back with pilot brad whom was really a great person and pilot and rode right on the edge of a storm so this was a great decision to take the helicopter back and stay hi and dry! overall, i would do all of this again and recommend this to all. if i would share one small concern would be that i thought the helicopter flight back to cairns was included in the price i paid for when i booked all of this together back in september, instead of being charged later as we were boarding the evolution.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

stuart.rae

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great day out. We had limited time in Cairns and were trying to do as much as we could and this seemed like a great idea. We booked the train up and the Skyrail back down and, for me, this worked really well. we paid additional to go Gold Class and this was definitely a good idea - each carriage seating about 20 people in comfort with snacks to keep you going. There were a couple of stops on the way up with photo opportunities which were just great and also a running commentary about the railway and it's construction. Getting dropped off in Kuranda station you are given a return time for your Skyrail and this gives some time to wander the pretty town of Kuranda and in our case make a quick trip to the Koala sanctuary to get the obligatory picture holiding a koala! The return journey in the skyrail is awesome - travelling above the treetops - and just gives you some idea of the nature of the rainforest. Once again there are a couple of stops for photo opportunities on the way down - and if you time it right you can wander round with the ranger who will highlight more about the area. All in all a great day out - travel was great, staff were great and the views were just superb!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Patricia A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We highly recommend these two days of activity. Beautiful scenery to be seen from the train. Very comfortable ride and wonderful staff. Waterfalls were gorgeous. Next day we snorkeled and saw so many fish it was a treat. Staff was super helpful!!! Food was ok. I and #39;d take snacks onboard though.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Dmitri I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I would recommend this trip to anyone visiting Cairns, Australia. Great trip on the train with amazing views on the way.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Lynn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

FANTASTIC !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Went on the Gold tour and it was worth every dollar. Amazing views, great commentary and wonderful food, looked after all the way a must do trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Daniel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Enjoyed the rain forest and the reef
I liked the local drivers, they were very well informed.
We liked the special room on the dive boat. The food was excellent and the crew very helpful, friendly and attentive.
On the helicopter ride, we expected the pilot to give us information as we were flying over the different reefs and thought the helicopter ride would last longer.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Kathy Kris Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very nice tour. We enjoyed the train ride which was able to provide history and commentary for the trip. Gold class provided a lot of value for the refreshments and snacks provided. The village is definitely touristy, with many nice stores. The cablecar/skyrail down was really fun!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Albert S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Nice and interesting...the train was nothing special, the town was a little more commercial than I expected, but still fun, and a lot to see. Make sure to take a photo with the Koala at the Koala park. Not many good lunch options...

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Palm Cove

Noelene C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The trip up to Kuranda on the train was pleasant and we enjoyed wandering around Kuranda itself the mango wine tasting was great Cathy, a member of the Golden Drop family from Mareeba was a brilliant sommelier and made the experience fabulous. The market with the locally made/sourced products was better than I had expected - try the home made fudge at the Kuranda Fudge Bar and Tearoom. Hope was great fun and makes all of the myriad flavors herself. Also, don't miss the bat refuge Bat Reach on the short rainforest walk Jumrum Walk, I think. For a small donation you can get up close and personal to these incredible animals, and hear a wealth of interesting information from their carer.
There were plenty of places to have lunch in Kuranda it is an actual small town so you have most facilities available to you.
The cable car ride down was interesting. Don't worry when the car slows to almost a standstill - it's just part of the operation and you're not left hanging for more than a second or two. We chose to come straight down so can't comment on the stopovers.
Day two was great. The Catamaran, Evolution Down Under, was superb and the staff were magnificent - couldn't fault a single one for their personality, and attention to passenger enjoyment, comfort and safety. Although the seas were calm it was a bumpy ride to the reef and there were a few sick people so take your sea sickness tabs with you if you're susceptible. Having booked the 2 day package with helicopter ride back at the end, we were assigned a small lounge room which we shared with only a few other passengers. This was a pleasant surprise! The snorkeling was good and the staff assisted with getting you into the water with a minimum of fuss. For a 50 refundable deposit I was even able to hire prescription goggles which made snorkelling so much better. Flotation devices were available if you wanted a little extra security. We took the semi sub tour which was ok but I don't think I'd bother next time if you can snorkel instead.
Lunch was nice, with lots of fresh salads, prawns, sausages, fish and steak.
Returning to Cairns by helicopter with doors was a real highlight. The pilot took us over parts of the reef before we headed back to the airport about 30 mins in total. Even with a fear of heights I loved it!
From pickup on Day 1 to drop off on Day 2 this whole tour ran like clockwork and, despite the number of people on the boat for the reef trip, everyone was treated as a special person. Can't recommend this tour group more highly.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

trevor l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

train first class was great good service sky rail was good but if you don,t heights go back by train

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Xinwei R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

For the first time visit, it defintely was a must-go activity. Also, I wond highly recommond the gold class. The only inconvience was on the transportation. It took quite some time to pick up all the people. And we gave up the free transportation back to the hotel since it requested us to wait for around an hour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

stephanie.tom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Really fun trip. We enjoyed the train ride which was able to provide history and commentary for the trip. Gold class provided a lot of value for the refreshments and snacks provided. The village is definitely touristy, but I got to hug a koala so I consider it a success. The cablecar/skyrail down was really fun but if you're afraid of heights, you'd definitely want to try and find an alternative. It's not a direct trip down, there are 2 stops along the way where you need to transfer to another car down, so any delay at those changes might mean you're stuck in your cable car suspended over significant heights for a bit. But definitely worth it for a change of pace!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Lesley H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A great experience with running commentary which was interesting. Disappointed we did not get our souvenirs as promised at the end of the train ride. Kuranda village was interesting and we would have liked more time there. 2 hours up on the train did not give us enough time to go to all the animal parks, eat AND look in the shops. The trip back in the cable car was awesome!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Reef Lover United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Husband and I enjoyed the tour. However, it is a little longer than what we would spent if we are on our own. We had to follow the itinerary because they are pre arranged. The cable ride was very nice. We got an panoramic view of the Cairne area. We are very glad we chose the Skip the Line Gold Class train ride. The decor of the carriage is very nice and the service we got for the ride worth every penny. The tour operators are very efficient and pleasant. I would go with them again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Carolyn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a great tour. Definitely worth doing gold class on train. Pick up for Palm Cove needs to be corrected. Construction occurring and name of pick up location different than on print out. Short drive to site. Fun gift shop. Great train ride. Lovely shops, some touristy, but fun. Great jewelry shop. Do not do the Koala encounter there unless this is your only stop in Australia. Much better places. Sky lift down was incredible over rainforest. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

hamokmonky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent, and well organized. Had no problems with any part of the trip. Would have enjoyed more time in Kuranda but I know that scheduling is somewhat up to the train and skyrail and not so much the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

gregory m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Gold class was the way to go, cute town lots to do, recommend the german eatery.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Eduardo F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is an unforgettable experience. The Great Barrier Reef is the super highlight of this tour. You spend so much time snorkeling that I cannot recommend this tour enough. Simply amazing!
The Kuranda trip by train is very scenic. Lovely experience. The Kuranda city itself is ok.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Pat Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip was amazing. We decided to go Gold Class, as it is probably our first and last opportunity to do the trip. The ladies who looked after us and served us yummy refreshments were lovely - friendly, and couldn't do enough for us.
The views on the way are wonderful.
We could only be amazed at the workers who built the line back in the 1800s, and at the tunnels, bridges etc that were necessary in such difficult terrain.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message