Smack-bang in the middle of Queensland’s Tropical Coast, Palm Cove lives up to its name, with palm-lined streets and a pretty beach. Travelers come to this tranquil resort town for its chilled-out Far North lifestyle and proximity to big-name ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 344 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Daniel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Enjoyed the rain forest and the reef
I liked the local drivers, they were very well informed.
We liked the special room on the dive boat. The food was excellent and the crew very helpful, friendly and attentive.
On the helicopter ride, we expected the pilot to give us information as we were flying over the different reefs and thought the helicopter ride would last longer.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Hardy S

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Decent tour. The wildlife sanctuary is fun with free roaming kangaroos and other animals/birds. The rainforest and beach were nice as well, although not on the level of other tropical rainforests I've seen. The tour guide was solid but also not very engaging quiet early in the day, played a movie on the long drive home, etc.. The boat ride in Daintree river was pretty disappointing because we didn't see any crocodiles in the water and the two on land shown to us were so still that I'm not sure they were real. Overall good experience but a bit too slow for my taste.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Kathy Kris Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Long Day, too much driving. Not enough time at the Cape Tribulation! Not enough time at Rainforest we didn't even see waterfalls! Lunch was good.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Noelene C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The trip up to Kuranda on the train was pleasant and we enjoyed wandering around Kuranda itself the mango wine tasting was great Cathy, a member of the Golden Drop family from Mareeba was a brilliant sommelier and made the experience fabulous. The market with the locally made/sourced products was better than I had expected - try the home made fudge at the Kuranda Fudge Bar and Tearoom. Hope was great fun and makes all of the myriad flavors herself. Also, don't miss the bat refuge Bat Reach on the short rainforest walk Jumrum Walk, I think. For a small donation you can get up close and personal to these incredible animals, and hear a wealth of interesting information from their carer.
There were plenty of places to have lunch in Kuranda it is an actual small town so you have most facilities available to you.
The cable car ride down was interesting. Don't worry when the car slows to almost a standstill - it's just part of the operation and you're not left hanging for more than a second or two. We chose to come straight down so can't comment on the stopovers.
Day two was great. The Catamaran, Evolution Down Under, was superb and the staff were magnificent - couldn't fault a single one for their personality, and attention to passenger enjoyment, comfort and safety. Although the seas were calm it was a bumpy ride to the reef and there were a few sick people so take your sea sickness tabs with you if you're susceptible. Having booked the 2 day package with helicopter ride back at the end, we were assigned a small lounge room which we shared with only a few other passengers. This was a pleasant surprise! The snorkeling was good and the staff assisted with getting you into the water with a minimum of fuss. For a 50 refundable deposit I was even able to hire prescription goggles which made snorkelling so much better. Flotation devices were available if you wanted a little extra security. We took the semi sub tour which was ok but I don't think I'd bother next time if you can snorkel instead.
Lunch was nice, with lots of fresh salads, prawns, sausages, fish and steak.
Returning to Cairns by helicopter with doors was a real highlight. The pilot took us over parts of the reef before we headed back to the airport about 30 mins in total. Even with a fear of heights I loved it!
From pickup on Day 1 to drop off on Day 2 this whole tour ran like clockwork and, despite the number of people on the boat for the reef trip, everyone was treated as a special person. Can't recommend this tour group more highly.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Stella C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Very good tour, in one day you can see many different places. I would have spent some more time at the beach but I understand that in just one day it's difficult to do all those things.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

khalltja

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was one of our favorite tours during our holiday in Australia. The bus driver was very personable and highly knowledgeable. His narration was interesting and informative. The views as we drove along the coast were breathtaking. The Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary allowed close up encounters with many of Australia's famous mammals and birds. I just wish we could have spent more time there. The Daintree Rainforest was very pretty, and the lunch they provided there was very good. We really enjoyed the cruise on the Daintree River watching for crocodiles. Our excellent boat captain helped us spot several crocs including a baby.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

liv2pnt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was one of the best trips we took!!! We love our Driver/Guide he was just the best and so informative.our Aboriginal guide was wonderful and we loved our time hunting for lunch!!
He cooked it up and it was so Delish!!
My husband even managed to spear a Crab!!!
Would defiantly recommend this trip!!!

Doing what: Aboriginal Cultural Daintree Rainforest Tour from Cairns or Port Douglas

mrs j lund l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

would highly recommend this tour if you are only in the area for a short time and need a whistle stop tour, our guide Daniel was great fun and very informative , simply had the most amazing day.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Eduardo F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is an unforgettable experience. The Great Barrier Reef is the super highlight of this tour. You spend so much time snorkeling that I cannot recommend this tour enough. Simply amazing!
The Kuranda trip by train is very scenic. Lovely experience. The Kuranda city itself is ok.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

AERYN A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The Reef part of the trip was amazing and faultlessly organised - especially the helicopter ride home!
Mia our guide on the reef trip was so patient with my mum who has a fear of deep water but got her out on the reef. cannot fault this part of the 2 day trip at all.
The rainforestation part let down the Kuranda trip as was very rushed and unorganised.
Other than that an amazing trip and well worth doing

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Peta B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The pick up was on time. Tour guide Matt was knowledgable and easy to listen to. Lunch was very nice. The Daintree was stunning.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Evelyn J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful weather, terrific local guide, magnificent scenery, delicious lunch, and added bonus of spotting a cassowary with two chicks - an awesome and rare sight. Need to go back and do it over again, but take more time to explore.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Geraldine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Good day - fortunate to see a Cassowary with chick right by the roadside. Also saw large crocodiles on Daintree river.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Sarah O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The day was packed with activities, all of which were great. Lunch was in a restaurant close to cape trib and was excellent. The guide provided lots of information, the group was small. Great day!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

rachel.hoy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Was a great trip. Shame about the weather but hey whats the point of going into a rainforest if its not raining. The guide was fantastic and Cape Tribulation certainly lived up to its name.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Elizabeth C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

It was a great overall experience to see the Daintree, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest habitat.
Never have I seen so close crocodiles, wallabies, birds, and many more flora and fauna.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Brian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A first class tour. Everything ran perfectly and all that was promised was delivered. Our driver, Daniel, was knowledgeable and entertaining. I would not hesitate to recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Laura F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I found that the customization of the tour by our first aboriginal tour guide was quite impressive. I doubt that on any other tour in my life, I will get to taste and smell green ants. Our tour guide who drove us to the Daintree and described a brief history of the aboriginals in the area and the language groups was quite articulate, kind, and open to questions. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Aboriginal Cultural Daintree Rainforest Tour from Cairns or Port Douglas

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message