Smack-bang in the middle of Queensland’s Tropical Coast, Palm Cove lives up to its name, with palm-lined streets and a pretty beach. Travelers come to this tranquil resort town for its chilled-out Far North lifestyle and proximity to big-name ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 355 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mimi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We booked this tour on our first day of the Queensland trip and it is a great way to start off the whole trip. We started in the morning with Mossman Gorge, took a walk around and getting in the gorge for a very refreshing swim. Bridget, our guide, was very warm and open to questions. It is amazing how much she knows about the forest, the plants and animals. It is also fascinating to learn about the way aboriginal people uses the environment around them. As Bridget manoeuvres herself through the forest, she tells us about the seemingly random plants around her and the forest all of a sudden comes to life. We walked away with a new understanding and appreciation of the forest, and the aboriginal people. The schedule of the day depends on low tide timings, and we did our crabbing in the afternoon that day. We took an amazing walk through the sea to the mangrove swamps. There are heaps of mosquitoes there, and even with mozzie sprays brought by Bridget, I got like 20 bites. We also got to see the Kubirri Warra brothers in action, catching a giant crab and a stingray, which was let go. On the way back, I was not feeling great due to the mozzie bites so Bridget took us to a pharmacy. We really appreciate it! The trips was very memorable and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to learn more about the aboriginal culture.

Doing what: Aboriginal Cultural Daintree Rainforest Tour from Cairns or Port Douglas

Bonnie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a terrific 2-day experience! Our Great Barrier Reef experience started off on our gorgeous boat, The Evolution. It was 6 months old, so in pristine condition. The crew - total professionals and all very helpful, fun, and engaging. All the equipment was first rate. The snorkeling was fun and educational - seeing tons of colorful fish and a spectacular reef. Our highlight was seeing an active giant 4-5 foot clam surrounded by colorful fish open and close. We visited two snorkeling sites with a tasty buffet lunch in between site locations bring your own towels and change of clothing - sitting around in wet swimsuits gets cold in an airconditioned boat. We signed up and paid extra for the exciting 30-minute helicopter ride back to Cairns that took us over large parts of the reef and several sandbar islands that we were told people boat out to or helicopter to for picnics or...wedding proposals. We met a young couple on our return to the base who had just returned from such an excursion, the young lady was wearing her new engagement ring and a huge smile. -- The Daintree Rainforest Tour was the next day. We had a two-hour train ride with spectacular scenery up to the Kuranda Village bring water and a hand-fan - the train is un-airconditioned and can be hot. Kuranda Village was very commercial, but fun AND where my daughter struck Hug a Koala off her bucket list. This was the ONE place IN Australia where you can actually pay to HOLD a koala - a very limp, catatonic animal that's the cutest thing you've ever seen/held...human babies come in a distant second. An hour-long Duck Rainforest Tour followed where we learned about the nasties that await clueless tourists wandering off rainforest trails -- wait-a-while vines and the gimpy-gimpy plant - a very poisonous neurotoxin plant. You start the tour in the morning going up the mountain in the train and return in the afternoon in a gondola for a 30-minute ride that flies over the canopy of the rainforest. That was exciting and beautiful and you keep your fingers crossed that the machinery is top-notch because there is NOTHING but rainforest gimpy-gimpy plants and wait-a-while vines for MILES around. We HIGHLY recommend this 2-day tour - both days were fantastic!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Kim W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome trip with beautiful scenery and great commentary throughout. Lunch was delicious and the Daintree river tour was fantastic. The kids loved it. Recommend highly.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

mark s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

really enjoyed both days of this experience. transportation/shuttle to and from for both days was outstanding ! traveling by train to kuranda was good as the sites from the train and the history shared were wonderful. kuranda itself was an adventure of small open markets and shops along with restaurants and some tourist traps as well. the koala gardens here were fair as i felt the area could have been more spacious for the animals, as the kangaroos and wallabies were sad and somewhat physically unhealthy. however the extra cost to enter and see this was healthy pricey! would liked to have checked out the rainforest and what it entailed while we were here but was overwhelmed with the small markets gong on and the time frame we had to work with. really enjoyed the skyrail as it represented itself well. the second day to the great barrier reef was truly enjoyed by myself and my daughter as we left cairns pier on a incredible big new boat called the evolution. the crew were great and knowledgeable and the boat spacious as they're were many of us onboard. snorkeling on the first part of the trip in the gb reef was awesome and then we travelled to another part of the reef while eating from their buffet which the food served was ok. on the second part of this trip on the boat we took a briefing about scuba diving and we decided to pay the xtra money to do this as we both never experienced this and it turned out be be one of the most enjoyable things i've ever done!! as we pulled up anchor to head back to cairns, we had booked to take the 30 min helicopter flight back with pilot brad whom was really a great person and pilot and rode right on the edge of a storm so this was a great decision to take the helicopter back and stay hi and dry! overall, i would do all of this again and recommend this to all. if i would share one small concern would be that i thought the helicopter flight back to cairns was included in the price i paid for when i booked all of this together back in september, instead of being charged later as we were boarding the evolution.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Patricia A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We highly recommend these two days of activity. Beautiful scenery to be seen from the train. Very comfortable ride and wonderful staff. Waterfalls were gorgeous. Next day we snorkeled and saw so many fish it was a treat. Staff was super helpful!!! Food was ok. I and #39;d take snacks onboard though.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

bellcatr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Tour guide was brilliant and very knowledgeable!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Daniel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Enjoyed the rain forest and the reef
I liked the local drivers, they were very well informed.
We liked the special room on the dive boat. The food was excellent and the crew very helpful, friendly and attentive.
On the helicopter ride, we expected the pilot to give us information as we were flying over the different reefs and thought the helicopter ride would last longer.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Awesome day out - stunning scenery and a great guide.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Gustavo W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Excellent guide - Daniel! Informative and friendly! The tour itself compared to other tours I have taken during this trip has not been very eventful.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Alan C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

You hit multiple destinations but little time is spent in each place. Better to stay in port Douglas to decrease commuting time

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

swimchickee88

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

I really liked the tour, the guide was very knowledgeable. the only thing I would change would be less time at the lunch site 1.5 hours at a beach you can't swim in and more time for walking at mossman gorge.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Hardy S

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Decent tour. The wildlife sanctuary is fun with free roaming kangaroos and other animals/birds. The rainforest and beach were nice as well, although not on the level of other tropical rainforests I've seen. The tour guide was solid but also not very engaging quiet early in the day, played a movie on the long drive home, etc.. The boat ride in Daintree river was pretty disappointing because we didn't see any crocodiles in the water and the two on land shown to us were so still that I'm not sure they were real. Overall good experience but a bit too slow for my taste.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Kathy Kris Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Long Day, too much driving. Not enough time at the Cape Tribulation! Not enough time at Rainforest we didn't even see waterfalls! Lunch was good.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Sarah M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

Don't think there was enough time spent in each of these locations to be honest, I think it would have been better to hire a car and do it ourselves. The whole trip wasn't very informative. The guide was very friendly though.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Noelene C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The trip up to Kuranda on the train was pleasant and we enjoyed wandering around Kuranda itself the mango wine tasting was great Cathy, a member of the Golden Drop family from Mareeba was a brilliant sommelier and made the experience fabulous. The market with the locally made/sourced products was better than I had expected - try the home made fudge at the Kuranda Fudge Bar and Tearoom. Hope was great fun and makes all of the myriad flavors herself. Also, don't miss the bat refuge Bat Reach on the short rainforest walk Jumrum Walk, I think. For a small donation you can get up close and personal to these incredible animals, and hear a wealth of interesting information from their carer.
There were plenty of places to have lunch in Kuranda it is an actual small town so you have most facilities available to you.
The cable car ride down was interesting. Don't worry when the car slows to almost a standstill - it's just part of the operation and you're not left hanging for more than a second or two. We chose to come straight down so can't comment on the stopovers.
Day two was great. The Catamaran, Evolution Down Under, was superb and the staff were magnificent - couldn't fault a single one for their personality, and attention to passenger enjoyment, comfort and safety. Although the seas were calm it was a bumpy ride to the reef and there were a few sick people so take your sea sickness tabs with you if you're susceptible. Having booked the 2 day package with helicopter ride back at the end, we were assigned a small lounge room which we shared with only a few other passengers. This was a pleasant surprise! The snorkeling was good and the staff assisted with getting you into the water with a minimum of fuss. For a 50 refundable deposit I was even able to hire prescription goggles which made snorkelling so much better. Flotation devices were available if you wanted a little extra security. We took the semi sub tour which was ok but I don't think I'd bother next time if you can snorkel instead.
Lunch was nice, with lots of fresh salads, prawns, sausages, fish and steak.
Returning to Cairns by helicopter with doors was a real highlight. The pilot took us over parts of the reef before we headed back to the airport about 30 mins in total. Even with a fear of heights I loved it!
From pickup on Day 1 to drop off on Day 2 this whole tour ran like clockwork and, despite the number of people on the boat for the reef trip, everyone was treated as a special person. Can't recommend this tour group more highly.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Stella C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Very good tour, in one day you can see many different places. I would have spent some more time at the beach but I understand that in just one day it's difficult to do all those things.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

khalltja

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was one of our favorite tours during our holiday in Australia. The bus driver was very personable and highly knowledgeable. His narration was interesting and informative. The views as we drove along the coast were breathtaking. The Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary allowed close up encounters with many of Australia's famous mammals and birds. I just wish we could have spent more time there. The Daintree Rainforest was very pretty, and the lunch they provided there was very good. We really enjoyed the cruise on the Daintree River watching for crocodiles. Our excellent boat captain helped us spot several crocs including a baby.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

liv2pnt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was one of the best trips we took!!! We love our Driver/Guide he was just the best and so informative.our Aboriginal guide was wonderful and we loved our time hunting for lunch!!
He cooked it up and it was so Delish!!
My husband even managed to spear a Crab!!!
Would defiantly recommend this trip!!!

Doing what: Aboriginal Cultural Daintree Rainforest Tour from Cairns or Port Douglas

mrs j lund l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

would highly recommend this tour if you are only in the area for a short time and need a whistle stop tour, our guide Daniel was great fun and very informative , simply had the most amazing day.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Eduardo F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is an unforgettable experience. The Great Barrier Reef is the super highlight of this tour. You spend so much time snorkeling that I cannot recommend this tour enough. Simply amazing!
The Kuranda trip by train is very scenic. Lovely experience. The Kuranda city itself is ok.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message