Panama City ATTRACTIONS See all

Miraflores Locks

It is a mesmerizing scene, the massive machinery - some 700 tons of it, reinforced against the mighty Pacific - of iconic Miraflores Locks in operation. It is particularly impressive when Panamax barges, specifically designed to thread the world's ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 241 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Siobhan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is a must do once in Panama. Great value for money. Host was very informative and entertaining.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

JmanX27 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Allan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Having wanted to see the canal for decades I was very satisfied with the Boat, the Guide, the experience of passing thru the locks. Very well organized. Good food and drinks

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

David S N United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Helpful adjustment to the standard sequence of the tour to make the most of the weather, avoiding walking when it was raining. And the guide offered that at the end of the tour, he'd take those of us who wanted to walk to the top of a hill which was closed to traffic, Which we would otherwise have driven to.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Sara V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

The tour guide was very nice and apologetic but there were no contingency plans made so we just missed out on many things - no panoramic view of city, no ship going through the locks, no visit to the Nature Center (wonder what happened to our entrance fee?), also the van was incredibly uncomfortable

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Diane F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

This tour is way too expensive. I re-booked with another tour group for a full day including lunch and lock admission for not much more.
This product needs price review.

Doing what: Half-Day Panama City Tour

bogdan k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great trip with breakfast and lunch, very professional guide.

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

Loren B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

I found this tour to be worthwhile. It allows you to visit quite a few destinations in a short period of time, and we used the knowledge we gained from the tour regarding the overall layout of the city for the remaining days of our stay in Panama.

Gonzo, our tour guide, possessed a wealth of historical and current information regarding Panama.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Winona C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The canal was moving slow the day we went, so the trip was much longer than anticipated. This was not the tours fault!. They are at the mercy of the function of the canal. My husband, the engineer, really enjoyed all the aspects of the workings of the canal locks. It was a lovely day and all our party enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Mary R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a great adventure. We learned so much about Panama City. The walking tour was quite informative. The views incredible. Our guide was very knowledgeable. Sadly the time at the locks didn't line up with any ships going through the canal, but I understand that isn't something that can always be planned. The museum was interesting and worth the time. We speak very little Spanish and our guide was bilingual and we had no problems understanding him. He was polite and professional. I would suggest a little more time during the walking trip for picture taking. There were a few times that felt a bit rushed. But all in all I would highly recommend this tour as a way to see a variety of areas around Panama City.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Teddie R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was on my engineer husband's bucket list. Our guide was knowledgeable about the canal and it's history. The tour was longer than anticipated due to the traffic on the canal, not Viator, so be prepared to be patient.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

cvongartzen

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a very good tour. Really informative and the cruise through the canal and locks was truly a remarkable experience. Bus ride to and from the docks was ok, just very early pick up from our hotel5:15am as we were first hotelRamada Plaza Punta Pacificaon the list.

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

James B R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The transit of the canal was absolutely fascinating. No visitor to Panama should miss it.
My only negative comment about the experience was that it took a very long time to complete the pickup and dropoff of guests at the various hotels. I would suggest using several smaller vehicles, each going to a few hotels, rather than one large bus going to every hotel.

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

Margo E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a and #34;must do and #34; tour. The partial tour was just right to learn, actually experience the canal on the oldest tour boat and to go through 100 year-old locks. Both the land and boat english-speaking guides helped make this tour informative and enjoyable. Don and #39;the forget the sunscreen and a hat!.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Shawn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The reason to go to Panama. You can't miss the locks. It was very informative, fun and the food was good too.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

vhperry

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The tour was great. The tour guide did a good job of explaining things (safety protocol and local sites) and introduced a little humor as well. It was a full day! Pick ups start at 6 am and the last hotel drop offs end near 8 pm. The boat ride end to end was 8 am to after 6 pm. It was the full canal

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

Melinda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Brilliant tour guide, very knowledgable and personable. Great tour group, the best way to see the best parts of Panama City. Couldn't recommend it any more highly!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Debbie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a fabulous tour that really highlights the beauty and history of Panama City. Kevin is an amazing guide whose factual knowledge is limitless! Loved the personalized feeling of this tour!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Carter C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Kevin was a very knowledgeable guide, and he also had a sense of humor to add to the mix. We got to see a lot in a relatively short amount of time. So . . . Thumbs Up.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Gabriela Maria Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Everything was perfect.It was very well organized by the tour operator.
The Cruise was very interesting, It was a great experience.
Thank you VIATOR.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Michael L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

From the moment I was picked up from my hotel, to the moment I was dropped off, I couldn't have had a better day. The coach travel to and from the boat was excellent. The tour itself was brilliant, good and plentiful buffet, and JC the guide was a star, witty and informative. You must do this tour.

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

Kathy J R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour. The tour guide, JC and all of the staff were wonderful!!!!!

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Waldemar B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Canal passage is a really excited experience. Advice: return bus to Marina should have additional stop at downtown, as many people do not need go back to the starting point.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Tour - Northbound direction

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message