Panama City ATTRACTIONS See all

Miraflores Locks

It is a mesmerizing scene, the massive machinery - some 700 tons of it, reinforced against the mighty Pacific - of iconic Miraflores Locks in operation. It is particularly impressive when Panamax barges, specifically designed to thread the world's ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 250 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kathleen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The partial transit tour was great. JC was a great tour guide. One problem was our bus was late and we were the last group to get on the boat and so we got the only seating that was left which were lightweight aluminum deck chairs that were not secured. It was a little scary a couple of times when the boat lurched and the chairs tipped. Since most everybody was 70 years old or older this could've been a disaster if the chairs had tipped over. Some of the people already on the boat seem to be getting more attention and better service than our group and we couldn't understand the reason for that but it was still a great day. Would highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Xiaohui L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The trip was shorter than we expected. There were some places we did not go because some kind of demonstration based on our guide.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Pino D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

I feel incredibly disappointed, first of all the guide arrived late to the meeting point, besides since we were the only ones who speak Spanish he said he would give information first in English then in Spanish, well not even an hour before he stopped doing it, we ate at a mall...

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Siobhan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is a must do once in Panama. Great value for money. Host was very informative and entertaining.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

JmanX27 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Knute F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide, Alon, was exceptionally knowledgeable and personable. Great experience.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

diannegeorge1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour guide was great. So much good information. Food- not a highlight.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

t_galeano12

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I really enjoyed this tour! I appreciated the fact that the group was small 4 people, including me and that our guide was very accommodating and knowledgable. We didn't feel rushed at any point during the tour and he was even kind enough to drop me off at my hotel at the end of the day. I would absolutely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Panama City!!!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Glenn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

If you go to Panama you have to go through the canal. It is somewhat long and while pretty it is one thing that lasts 4-5 or so hours. Our guide he's been doing it for 12 years so probably the one everyone gets is REALLY good: knows all there is to know, fluent English, very entertaining. Food is so so, but it's boat food. Bus was late picking us up seems to be the main negative but they claim it was other passengers so if reading please be on time.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

samelayla

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This was a good tour...the only weakness was a statement in the description that said exact departure time would be confirmed the day before the tour. I wrongly assumed an email or text message. YOU have to contact the tour operator yourself...not a big deal...The bus is comfortable...the tour guide speaks both spanish and english well. The lunch on the boat was very good Panamanian fare. The boat itself has an open/covered upper deck and a lower air conditioned deck, bar and snack area and a small gift shop, even a designated smoking area outside in the back of the boat. Lots of great views. Overall a very well run tour.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Tour - Southbound Direction

Allan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Having wanted to see the canal for decades I was very satisfied with the Boat, the Guide, the experience of passing thru the locks. Very well organized. Good food and drinks

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

David S N United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Helpful adjustment to the standard sequence of the tour to make the most of the weather, avoiding walking when it was raining. And the guide offered that at the end of the tour, he'd take those of us who wanted to walk to the top of a hill which was closed to traffic, Which we would otherwise have driven to.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Sara V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

The tour guide was very nice and apologetic but there were no contingency plans made so we just missed out on many things - no panoramic view of city, no ship going through the locks, no visit to the Nature Center (wonder what happened to our entrance fee?), also the van was incredibly uncomfortable

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Diane F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

This tour is way too expensive. I re-booked with another tour group for a full day including lunch and lock admission for not much more.
This product needs price review.

Doing what: Half-Day Panama City Tour

bogdan k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great trip with breakfast and lunch, very professional guide.

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

Loren B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

I found this tour to be worthwhile. It allows you to visit quite a few destinations in a short period of time, and we used the knowledge we gained from the tour regarding the overall layout of the city for the remaining days of our stay in Panama.

Gonzo, our tour guide, possessed a wealth of historical and current information regarding Panama.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Winona C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The canal was moving slow the day we went, so the trip was much longer than anticipated. This was not the tours fault!. They are at the mercy of the function of the canal. My husband, the engineer, really enjoyed all the aspects of the workings of the canal locks. It was a lovely day and all our party enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Mary R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a great adventure. We learned so much about Panama City. The walking tour was quite informative. The views incredible. Our guide was very knowledgeable. Sadly the time at the locks didn't line up with any ships going through the canal, but I understand that isn't something that can always be planned. The museum was interesting and worth the time. We speak very little Spanish and our guide was bilingual and we had no problems understanding him. He was polite and professional. I would suggest a little more time during the walking trip for picture taking. There were a few times that felt a bit rushed. But all in all I would highly recommend this tour as a way to see a variety of areas around Panama City.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Teddie R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was on my engineer husband's bucket list. Our guide was knowledgeable about the canal and it's history. The tour was longer than anticipated due to the traffic on the canal, not Viator, so be prepared to be patient.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

cvongartzen

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a very good tour. Really informative and the cruise through the canal and locks was truly a remarkable experience. Bus ride to and from the docks was ok, just very early pick up from our hotel5:15am as we were first hotelRamada Plaza Punta Pacificaon the list.

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

James B R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The transit of the canal was absolutely fascinating. No visitor to Panama should miss it.
My only negative comment about the experience was that it took a very long time to complete the pickup and dropoff of guests at the various hotels. I would suggest using several smaller vehicles, each going to a few hotels, rather than one large bus going to every hotel.

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

Margo E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a and #34;must do and #34; tour. The partial tour was just right to learn, actually experience the canal on the oldest tour boat and to go through 100 year-old locks. Both the land and boat english-speaking guides helped make this tour informative and enjoyable. Don and #39;the forget the sunscreen and a hat!.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message