Panama City ATTRACTIONS See all

Miraflores Locks

It is a mesmerizing scene, the massive machinery - some 700 tons of it, reinforced against the mighty Pacific - of iconic Miraflores Locks in operation. It is particularly impressive when Panamax barges, specifically designed to thread the world's ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 223 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Melinda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Brilliant tour guide, very knowledgable and personable. Great tour group, the best way to see the best parts of Panama City. Couldn't recommend it any more highly!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Debbie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a fabulous tour that really highlights the beauty and history of Panama City. Kevin is an amazing guide whose factual knowledge is limitless! Loved the personalized feeling of this tour!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Carter C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Kevin was a very knowledgeable guide, and he also had a sense of humor to add to the mix. We got to see a lot in a relatively short amount of time. So . . . Thumbs Up.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Gabriela Maria Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Everything was perfect.It was very well organized by the tour operator.
The Cruise was very interesting, It was a great experience.
Thank you VIATOR.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Michael L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

From the moment I was picked up from my hotel, to the moment I was dropped off, I couldn't have had a better day. The coach travel to and from the boat was excellent. The tour itself was brilliant, good and plentiful buffet, and JC the guide was a star, witty and informative. You must do this tour.

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

Kathy J R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour. The tour guide, JC and all of the staff were wonderful!!!!!

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Waldemar B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Canal passage is a really excited experience. Advice: return bus to Marina should have additional stop at downtown, as many people do not need go back to the starting point.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Tour - Northbound direction

Emilio N

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good trip but long waits.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Georges B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Actually went well. I made a massage in booking dates and was able to change with a bit of effort. But the tour was a real pleasure

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Judith T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Their website said the pickup for tour was 7:45am. The night before, we were told it would be 5:30am! No one showed up until 6:15am and it was one person with no car or van. He said the driver did not show up for work and he called a friend to drive us. At 6:45am we were finally picked up. After the tour, we were told that everyone with our color wrist band should get on a specific bus so we did. After driving around for almost 2 hours we were the only ones left. The driver said we must have gotten on the wrong bus but he took us to our hotel. Would have given one star but we actually did go through the canal. Very worried because this was our first Viator experience and we have several more in different countries.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Sunanda S W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It is awesome.It is a must see.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Thomas C

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The tour was good. Great way to see the locks and the tour guide was very knowledgeable. The bus service was excellent and very prompt on hotel pick up. Only issue was that nothing was wheelchair accessible. If you can't climb stairs you will be in trouble.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

MANUEL B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Viaje muy interesante, que vale la pena realizar.
La compra de los ticket los realicé por internet y fui contactado oportunamente para coordinar el traslado desde mi hotel y la realización del viaje.
Todo bien.-

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Sue D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved it, loved it, loved it! It was better than I thought it would be. A great way to transverse through the canal and see the locks working.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Joe M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We are so grateful we decided to do this tour. It is a complete day with plenty of food, information, and time in the canal. The full transit would have been too tiring. You go through two locks and the experience is amazing. This cruise does not include time at the Miraflores visitor center FYI

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Donald C M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was outstanding with our guide and driver, Gonzo, demonstrating a thorough knowledge of Panama and the Panama Canal. We arrived at the Miraflores Locks just in time to see some shipping passing through the locks. Our guide, Gonzo, engaged us with anecdotal stories and facts about Panama as we toured the old city and during our luncheon at Di Ranchito, a local restaurant on the Armador, which turned out to be one of the best restaurants during our stay in Panama. In all, the tour was a very memorable one with no stone left unturned. It was a pleasure to be guided by the Barefoot Panama tour company they are the best. Don M. Washington, DC

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Holly J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great overview of the city, the history of Panama, and the Canal. Our guide was very knowledgeable, and had a passion for the city and the country. What a really wonderful way to be introduced to Panama! We now want to know and do more!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Lindsey A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an absolute highlight!
The entire crew and staff were so nice. They would answer any and all of our questions. We were even invited to drive the boat for a bit through the canal. Truly a once in a lifetime experience!

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

Susan m S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

knowledgeable, energetic, friendly.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Hilary T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip, quite a long time on the boat waiting for the canal to fill with other boats etc. but very good commentary by an excellent guide.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Angela R

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The boat ride was incredible the staff and the captain made it great.The diesel fumes were a bit much but nothing can be done and the food was less than stellar but good. The pick up was shaky. The drop off was reason for only three stars. The driver was bad and UN communicative. Arranfe you and #39;re own.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Charlotte B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Go to Panama was a horrible tour director. They lied about pickup time, they lied about starting time for the boat trip, they were totally disorganized and incompetent getting us to the ship. Cannot say enough about how excellent the tour guide was, however. His English was excellent, his knowledge was deep, there was no question he could not answer. But the tour company, never, ever, ever would I recommend them at all, and for that reason I will never book a tour through Viator again, you do not screen your subcontractors.l

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message