This popular excursion offers a festive excuse to explore a bit of the Canal, visiting an island that has been "taken over" by four species of monkey: capuchin (white face), howler, Geoffroy's tamarin, and grey-bellied nocturnal monkeys. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Delores Pifer United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was well led by a nature and history expert. Our tour guide Ross was excellent! The local boat operator was especially helpful in spotting and calling the birds and monkeys to get responses and we saw many varieties. The trip included a bit of time on the canal with the container ships, Charges River, Monkey Island- with the Carpuchian monkeys that are delightful, and the indigenous indian village with a hike and opportunity to purchase lovely items made by the women. It was a very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

Claudia L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

I can highly recommend this tour, consisting of a boat drive around Islands where you can spot and feed tamarind as well as white-faced monkeys and a visit of a small local village including a walk through the nearby forest and some very interesting survival tips.

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

Ally Munro United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

A great way to see the natural world against one of mankind's greatest engineering feats. The inlets around the canal and Charges river provide greta opportunities for spotting monkeys, birds and crocodiles, whilst huge container ships pass on the canal. Also very interesting to see the indigenous Indian village and their simple life style.

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

Christopher C

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Overall, this was a great way to see a lot of Panama. My only minor complaint was that our tour guide I think his name was Alan could have been a bit more outgoing and engaging - there was a lot of awkward silence during our car rides.

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

kevin y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The trip was great and exceeded our expectations. Gonzo our guide was amazing.

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

Seanna Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I highly recommend this tour. The whole day from start to finish was enchanting. Tons of wildlife to see: birds of all kinds, several species of monkeys the monkeys hop right on the boat from the trees!!, alligators, iguanas, raccoons.... The indigenous tribe was also so welcoming and friendly - they gave us an excellent tour of the jungle, explaining uses for the various trees, and also gave us a history of their tribe, explanations on their traditions, and how they are adjusting to modern times. It was very genuine. The guide spoke perfect English I thought at first he was from California! and was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

micascope

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We visited the monkeys on a previous tour and were allowed to feed the monkeys on that tour. Only the guide fed the monkeys on this tour. It would have been great to have been told that we were going from seeing the monkeys to the Indian Village. Because that was not clear to us, we didn't take bug spray, cash, and other items that would have been great to have.
We really enjoyed the Indian Village and the walk through the rain forest above it.

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

amy b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Even before we took a different tour we knew we had found a great one here. The small group number gave an intimate day. We began at a place that was closed for a holiday- so Kevin was there to greet us- merely to wait with us until our guide, Nick, arrived. From the minute we got into the air conditioned van- Nick was communicating with us. Extremely knowledgeable, fluent in several languages and friendly, organized and efficient, Nick was the perfect guide. He is with Barefoot Panama Tours- subcontracted here. We went to the less touristy Indian Village, had a smaller boat where Nick explained so much to us the entire ride. Stopped for lunch afterward and chatted more- Would HIGHLY recommend this tour- and Nick was the main reason why!

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

Ilya S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great friendly knowledgeable guide. The tour was as described. Please provide a tour length range. Ours tour took 4 hours, while description said 8 (I and #39;m sure it and #39;s based on traffic and conditions) Also provide multiple pick up/drop off points and times.

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

Shawn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Gonzo, 2 thumbs up. Don't miss this, the Indian village is amazing.

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

Dince

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very nice trip! Our guide, Nick, was very friendly, very professional and very knowledgeable. We saw monkeys and fed them from the boat. The Indian Village was interesting, only take mosquito spray. We highly recommending this trip!

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

Samantha P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Guide was great! Full of information but also let us relax and enjoy the experience. Well organized but also flexible based on what the group wanted.

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

Christy M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was a good tour, definitely worth doing. Wear a bug repellant band for when you visit the Indian reserve I was eaten alive by mosquitos. The ride down the Panama Canal was cool and feeding the monkeys was awesome!

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

Julius D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great trip!!!!!! Have to definitely check it out while in Panama

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

Elaine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide, Gonzo, was great. He offered helpful suggestions about things to do and restaurants in the area as well as interesting information about Panama in general. On the tour we saw three types of monkeys with some adventurous little guys boarding the boat to be fed peanuts by our guide. The Indian Village was interesting with a transfer from our motor boat to local canoes in order to reach the village due to low water levels. The village is a good place to pick up some authentic hand crafted souvenirs.

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

William G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Tour description and what happened are quite different. The boat ride was very short,less than an hour. There was no disembarking the boat, no kayaking, nothing but a very short boat ride. We then went to a nature preserve which was a poor excuse for a zoo. We were given a stale sandwich and a drink to picnic with. The most expensive tour that we took and most disappointing.

Doing what: Gatun Lake and Monkey Island Sightseeing Cruise from Panama City

Scott B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had an amazing experience on this tour. Nicholas was not only very informative, but very entertaining as well. Part Belgian, and part Panamanian, Nicholas has lived his entire life in Panama. A former student of biology, he had great perspective on many things about jungle and animal life. He speaks French, Spanish, and of course English, and was a joy to converse with about the local people, government, customers, culture, etc. He is contracted by Viatour, so be sure you ask for Nicholas on your tour!!

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

David D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a brilliant trip. Our Guide was very good, considering us and the wildlife at all time. A real plus for me was that the boats were comfortable and easy to get on and off - I was dreading sitting in a canoe as depicted in some pics . This was a great, interesting day trip and I would recommend it.

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

Leslie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a good guide for the two of us. Good experience all around: three types of monkeys and a young crocodile were special to see.

Doing what: Gatun Lake and Monkey Island Sightseeing Cruise from Panama City

Marsha P

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

trip around gatun lake fantastic. Saw capuchino and howler monkies, alligator, iguana and turtle.
kayak ride OK. lUNCH ok

Doing what: Gatun Lake and Monkey Island Sightseeing Cruise from Panama City

Joanne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide was Ross and he was friendly, fun and very knowledgeable. We saw a lot of monkeys and they jumped on the boat and were very curious. It was an eye opener seeing how they lived at the Indian Village and they did a cool dance for us. I really liked the walk through the jungle too. I highly recommend this trip if you like the personal touch as there were only 3 of us which was perfect - and the time didn't seem so drawn out either as with some tours.. Ross even gave us a ride back to our hotels. Great job!!

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

msoidick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour lived up to our expectations. Ross, went above and beyond to make our tour exceptional.

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

Kelly I

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Informational, fun, and I loved seeing the tiny tamarind monkeys.

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

Dennis R B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Guide was great, saw lots of monkeys. I just love the Canal and being on it when the big ships are passing. Only complaint is that by 12:30pm I was starving as we had to leave our hotel before 7am. Lunch break was not provided until 3:30pm. It could easily have been slotted in between the monkeys and the Indian village at somewhere in Gamboa.

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message