This popular excursion offers a festive excuse to explore a bit of the Canal, visiting an island that has been "taken over" by four species of monkey: capuchin (white face), howler, Geoffroy's tamarin, and grey-bellied nocturnal monkeys. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Samantha P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Guide was great! Full of information but also let us relax and enjoy the experience. Well organized but also flexible based on what the group wanted.

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

Christy M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was a good tour, definitely worth doing. Wear a bug repellant band for when you visit the Indian reserve I was eaten alive by mosquitos. The ride down the Panama Canal was cool and feeding the monkeys was awesome!

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

Julius D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great trip!!!!!! Have to definitely check it out while in Panama

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

Elaine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide, Gonzo, was great. He offered helpful suggestions about things to do and restaurants in the area as well as interesting information about Panama in general. On the tour we saw three types of monkeys with some adventurous little guys boarding the boat to be fed peanuts by our guide. The Indian Village was interesting with a transfer from our motor boat to local canoes in order to reach the village due to low water levels. The village is a good place to pick up some authentic hand crafted souvenirs.

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

William G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Tour description and what happened are quite different. The boat ride was very short,less than an hour. There was no disembarking the boat, no kayaking, nothing but a very short boat ride. We then went to a nature preserve which was a poor excuse for a zoo. We were given a stale sandwich and a drink to picnic with. The most expensive tour that we took and most disappointing.

Doing what: Gatun Lake and Monkey Island Sightseeing Cruise from Panama City

Scott B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had an amazing experience on this tour. Nicholas was not only very informative, but very entertaining as well. Part Belgian, and part Panamanian, Nicholas has lived his entire life in Panama. A former student of biology, he had great perspective on many things about jungle and animal life. He speaks French, Spanish, and of course English, and was a joy to converse with about the local people, government, customers, culture, etc. He is contracted by Viatour, so be sure you ask for Nicholas on your tour!!

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

David D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a brilliant trip. Our Guide was very good, considering us and the wildlife at all time. A real plus for me was that the boats were comfortable and easy to get on and off - I was dreading sitting in a canoe as depicted in some pics . This was a great, interesting day trip and I would recommend it.

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

Leslie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a good guide for the two of us. Good experience all around: three types of monkeys and a young crocodile were special to see.

Doing what: Gatun Lake and Monkey Island Sightseeing Cruise from Panama City

Marsha P

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

trip around gatun lake fantastic. Saw capuchino and howler monkies, alligator, iguana and turtle.
kayak ride OK. lUNCH ok

Doing what: Gatun Lake and Monkey Island Sightseeing Cruise from Panama City

Joanne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide was Ross and he was friendly, fun and very knowledgeable. We saw a lot of monkeys and they jumped on the boat and were very curious. It was an eye opener seeing how they lived at the Indian Village and they did a cool dance for us. I really liked the walk through the jungle too. I highly recommend this trip if you like the personal touch as there were only 3 of us which was perfect - and the time didn't seem so drawn out either as with some tours.. Ross even gave us a ride back to our hotels. Great job!!

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

msoidick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour lived up to our expectations. Ross, went above and beyond to make our tour exceptional.

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

Kelly I

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Informational, fun, and I loved seeing the tiny tamarind monkeys.

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

Dennis R B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Guide was great, saw lots of monkeys. I just love the Canal and being on it when the big ships are passing. Only complaint is that by 12:30pm I was starving as we had to leave our hotel before 7am. Lunch break was not provided until 3:30pm. It could easily have been slotted in between the monkeys and the Indian village at somewhere in Gamboa.

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

Pamela P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our guide, AL, was extremely knowledgeable and professional. He took care to describe the segments of our trip clearly, and assured we knew what to expect along the way. I recommend this tour and guide!

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

Joyce C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very enjoyable tour! We had a small group, which is my preference for a more personal experience. There was a central meeting location so we didn't waste time picking up from various hotels. Our guide Jeff was excellent....knowledgeable and entertaining. The trip to Monkey Island was great! We fed the monkeys from the comfort of our boat, got some fabulous pictures, and saw all three types found in Panama. The Indian village was very interesting. The villagers were very outgoing and showed us how they live in the jungle environment. They had some handicrafts for sale and even put on a few dances for us. This was a great day!

Doing what: Soberania National Park, Monkey Island and Indian Village from Panama City

Bernardo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

George was a great guide. Had a fantastic time and definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Gatun Lake and Monkey Island Sightseeing Cruise from Panama City

Ralph E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great trip! Great Guide! This tour met all our expectation.

Doing what: Gatun Lake and Monkey Island Sightseeing Cruise from Panama City

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Our guide was very professional, knowledgeable, and friendly. And that he went out of his way to make us feel welcome in his country.

Doing what: Gatun Lake and Monkey Island Sightseeing Cruise from Panama City

Sharon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Highlight of our trip!! Everything was perfect!

Doing what: Gatun Lake and Monkey Island Sightseeing Cruise from Panama City

Jonathan E USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

The tour guide on this was wonderful a young man whom wanted to share his vast knowledge with us on the lakes and canal. Unfortunately when we got to the Island we were going to kayak but the equipment was locked away and no key! My son was eagerly awaiting the secret WW2 US communications center on one of the islands but this has been taken off the tour due to the widening of the canal.

Doing what: Gatun Lake and Monkey Island Sightseeing Cruise from Panama City

Allan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Our Monkey Island Cruise was spectacular. We saw monkeys, lizards, baby crocodiles, and a variety of birds. So glad we did this cruise.

Doing what: Gatun Lake and Monkey Island Sightseeing Cruise from Panama City

Matt G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Excellent family tour. Tour leader was terrific as was the boat captain. Highlight was definitely getting to feed the monkeys on Monkey Island.
If you're in Panama City this should be #1 on your list.

Doing what: Gatun Lake and Monkey Island Sightseeing Cruise from Panama City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message