In 1914, when the first ships sailed through the Panama Canal and directly into the history books, a route for ships that united two oceans was unlocked, shaving nearly 9,000 miles off of the long sailing trip around South America. The engineering ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 369 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

christofh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Alex was waiting for us and ready to take our group of four in his clean and comfortable SUV. The greatest benefit of having your own driver/guide is that you have a lot of flexibility on how to spend the day, when you visit specific sites and for how long. Especially with a guide like Alex, who speaks perfect English not a given in Panama and is happy to provide you answers with anything you want to know about Panama City and Panama. He even recommended places for lunch where only locals go to get a more authentic and cheaper experience. We had him join us you are not obligated to and he was of great help to pick authentic Panamanian dishes we enjoyed very much. The Miraflores locks and the old city are probably the highlights for most visitors, but getting to places where we could enjoy great views of the skyline and driving through the upscale neighbor hoods was enjoyable too. Eventually there is only so much to see in Panama City and if you don't spend a long time at the locks and in the old city and its markets, you eventually run out of things to see and it will be a stretch to fill 8 hours. We would have probably been content with 6 hours, but I see that people other than us would probably need 8 hours.

Doing what: Luxury Full Day Panama Canal and City Tour

Kathleen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The partial transit tour was great. JC was a great tour guide. One problem was our bus was late and we were the last group to get on the boat and so we got the only seating that was left which were lightweight aluminum deck chairs that were not secured. It was a little scary a couple of times when the boat lurched and the chairs tipped. Since most everybody was 70 years old or older this could've been a disaster if the chairs had tipped over. Some of the people already on the boat seem to be getting more attention and better service than our group and we couldn't understand the reason for that but it was still a great day. Would highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Xiaohui L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The trip was shorter than we expected. There were some places we did not go because some kind of demonstration based on our guide.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Frederick A

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

No headphones on first bus. Good service on second.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Pino D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

I feel incredibly disappointed, first of all the guide arrived late to the meeting point, besides since we were the only ones who speak Spanish he said he would give information first in English then in Spanish, well not even an hour before he stopped doing it, we ate at a mall...

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Siobhan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is a must do once in Panama. Great value for money. Host was very informative and entertaining.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Boyce B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Easiest way to get around Panama City, the Panama Canal, and Casco Antiqua, plus some other sites. You don't have to pay a cab driver or worry about parking if you rented a car especially in Casco Antiqua!. And flexible -- I spent two hours in Casco Antiqua and skipped a shopping trip. A fun trip with fun people and they even pick you up and deliver you back to your hotel!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

JmanX27 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Knute F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide, Alon, was exceptionally knowledgeable and personable. Great experience.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Carol C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Perfect way to get acquainted with a large, vibrant city with great sites, i.e Panama Canal, and Old Town, and Amador Causeway.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

diannegeorge1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour guide was great. So much good information. Food- not a highlight.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

t_galeano12

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I really enjoyed this tour! I appreciated the fact that the group was small 4 people, including me and that our guide was very accommodating and knowledgable. We didn't feel rushed at any point during the tour and he was even kind enough to drop me off at my hotel at the end of the day. I would absolutely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Panama City!!!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Glenn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

If you go to Panama you have to go through the canal. It is somewhat long and while pretty it is one thing that lasts 4-5 or so hours. Our guide he's been doing it for 12 years so probably the one everyone gets is REALLY good: knows all there is to know, fluent English, very entertaining. Food is so so, but it's boat food. Bus was late picking us up seems to be the main negative but they claim it was other passengers so if reading please be on time.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Diana B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Thank you Viator and our guide Alex for showing us the highlights of Panama City in a day. Our family enjoyed every minute of it and we did not miss a thing. We learned so much about the history of the city and the building of the canal. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone who is limited on travel time and wants a fulll picture of the culture and growth of Panama as a rising metropolois in latin america. There is nothing like a small group to enhance your experience...

Doing what: Luxury Full Day Panama Canal and City Tour

samelayla

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This was a good tour...the only weakness was a statement in the description that said exact departure time would be confirmed the day before the tour. I wrongly assumed an email or text message. YOU have to contact the tour operator yourself...not a big deal...The bus is comfortable...the tour guide speaks both spanish and english well. The lunch on the boat was very good Panamanian fare. The boat itself has an open/covered upper deck and a lower air conditioned deck, bar and snack area and a small gift shop, even a designated smoking area outside in the back of the boat. Lots of great views. Overall a very well run tour.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Tour - Southbound Direction

Tammy L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

I didnt use it at all that day cus it took forever for the bus to come ...useless! Don't buy it.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Allan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Having wanted to see the canal for decades I was very satisfied with the Boat, the Guide, the experience of passing thru the locks. Very well organized. Good food and drinks

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

David S N United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Helpful adjustment to the standard sequence of the tour to make the most of the weather, avoiding walking when it was raining. And the guide offered that at the end of the tour, he'd take those of us who wanted to walk to the top of a hill which was closed to traffic, Which we would otherwise have driven to.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Diane F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

OK, sound system quality was terrible, but that's usual.
Not a long route but then it's not Rome or London.
Would be nice if the route was published on the 'sales' web site so one could plan ahead where to pick up the bus. This happens in many other cities.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Sara V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

The tour guide was very nice and apologetic but there were no contingency plans made so we just missed out on many things - no panoramic view of city, no ship going through the locks, no visit to the Nature Center (wonder what happened to our entrance fee?), also the van was incredibly uncomfortable

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Axiel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Had an 8 hour lay over and this was perfect. Only went to the Canal and old town. Bus was on time and it was very easy.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

bogdan k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great trip with breakfast and lunch, very professional guide.

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message