In 1914, when the first ships sailed through the Panama Canal and directly into the history books, a route for ships that united two oceans was unlocked, shaving nearly 9,000 miles off of the long sailing trip around South America. The engineering ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 354 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Siobhan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is a must do once in Panama. Great value for money. Host was very informative and entertaining.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Boyce B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Easiest way to get around Panama City, the Panama Canal, and Casco Antiqua, plus some other sites. You don't have to pay a cab driver or worry about parking if you rented a car especially in Casco Antiqua!. And flexible -- I spent two hours in Casco Antiqua and skipped a shopping trip. A fun trip with fun people and they even pick you up and deliver you back to your hotel!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Allan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Having wanted to see the canal for decades I was very satisfied with the Boat, the Guide, the experience of passing thru the locks. Very well organized. Good food and drinks

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

David S N United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Helpful adjustment to the standard sequence of the tour to make the most of the weather, avoiding walking when it was raining. And the guide offered that at the end of the tour, he'd take those of us who wanted to walk to the top of a hill which was closed to traffic, Which we would otherwise have driven to.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Diane F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

OK, sound system quality was terrible, but that's usual.
Not a long route but then it's not Rome or London.
Would be nice if the route was published on the 'sales' web site so one could plan ahead where to pick up the bus. This happens in many other cities.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Sara V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

The tour guide was very nice and apologetic but there were no contingency plans made so we just missed out on many things - no panoramic view of city, no ship going through the locks, no visit to the Nature Center (wonder what happened to our entrance fee?), also the van was incredibly uncomfortable

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Axiel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Had an 8 hour lay over and this was perfect. Only went to the Canal and old town. Bus was on time and it was very easy.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

bogdan k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great trip with breakfast and lunch, very professional guide.

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

Loren B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

I found this tour to be worthwhile. It allows you to visit quite a few destinations in a short period of time, and we used the knowledge we gained from the tour regarding the overall layout of the city for the remaining days of our stay in Panama.

Gonzo, our tour guide, possessed a wealth of historical and current information regarding Panama.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Jorge M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

I got a pass for three days, but two days are more than enough. One I basically used for going to the Miraflores Locks, which according to me, it takes a few hours to do once you see their exhibits, and wait for the ships rush hour to start. And the second day I used for the rest of the attractions.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Winona C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The canal was moving slow the day we went, so the trip was much longer than anticipated. This was not the tours fault!. They are at the mercy of the function of the canal. My husband, the engineer, really enjoyed all the aspects of the workings of the canal locks. It was a lovely day and all our party enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Mary R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a great adventure. We learned so much about Panama City. The walking tour was quite informative. The views incredible. Our guide was very knowledgeable. Sadly the time at the locks didn't line up with any ships going through the canal, but I understand that isn't something that can always be planned. The museum was interesting and worth the time. We speak very little Spanish and our guide was bilingual and we had no problems understanding him. He was polite and professional. I would suggest a little more time during the walking trip for picture taking. There were a few times that felt a bit rushed. But all in all I would highly recommend this tour as a way to see a variety of areas around Panama City.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Teddie R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was on my engineer husband's bucket list. Our guide was knowledgeable about the canal and it's history. The tour was longer than anticipated due to the traffic on the canal, not Viator, so be prepared to be patient.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

cvongartzen

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a very good tour. Really informative and the cruise through the canal and locks was truly a remarkable experience. Bus ride to and from the docks was ok, just very early pick up from our hotel5:15am as we were first hotelRamada Plaza Punta Pacificaon the list.

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

James B R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The transit of the canal was absolutely fascinating. No visitor to Panama should miss it.
My only negative comment about the experience was that it took a very long time to complete the pickup and dropoff of guests at the various hotels. I would suggest using several smaller vehicles, each going to a few hotels, rather than one large bus going to every hotel.

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

terrelda g

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

I love Viator tours. We take the hop-on hop off tour in every country we travel to. However sometimes the origin location is difficult to find and the tours are a little different then advertised. In Panama the brochure offered two different tours but only was was available. Other than that it was good.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Alejandro C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Gregory was really nice with us and took us to all sight seeing and explained a lot of history of Panama. Excellent service.

Doing what: Luxury Half Day Panama Canal and City Tour

Margo E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a and #34;must do and #34; tour. The partial tour was just right to learn, actually experience the canal on the oldest tour boat and to go through 100 year-old locks. Both the land and boat english-speaking guides helped make this tour informative and enjoyable. Don and #39;the forget the sunscreen and a hat!.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Harvie Hopkins United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Perfection. My guide was waiting for me right outside customs, and from there we proceeded immediately to the Miraflores section of the Panama Canal. Along the way, in perfect unaccented English, my guide shared with me tidbits of Panamanian history, from independence from Spain through the 2000 handover of the canal from the US to Panama. He gave me a nice tour of the canal museum, took a few photos of me before we departed. Unfortunately, the time we went there were no ships transiting through, so to compensate he took me for a drive around the city to get a quick look at the old town and modern skyline, slowing down a bit on the highway along the way to allow me to snap a few awesome photos. After hearing about his family's strawberry farm and the awesome wildlife the country has to offer, I definitely would like to return to explore some more. Definitely worth a try if you're stuck at Tocumen Airport for a while.

Doing what: Panama City Layover Tour

Gregory H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We opted for the private tour which was great as we changed up the itinerary somewhat during the day. Rafael was a wonderful guide, very informative and worked with us as we requested changes. We came to enjoy his company as much as the tour itself. Well worth the price.

Doing what: Luxury Full Day Panama Canal and City Tour

Shawn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The reason to go to Panama. You can't miss the locks. It was very informative, fun and the food was good too.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Homa I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very Happy
Tour guide and driver very nice
Panama was the my third trip with Viator

Doing what: Luxury Half Day Panama Canal and City Tour

vhperry

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The tour was great. The tour guide did a good job of explaining things (safety protocol and local sites) and introduced a little humor as well. It was a full day! Pick ups start at 6 am and the last hotel drop offs end near 8 pm. The boat ride end to end was 8 am to after 6 pm. It was the full canal

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message