In 1914, when the first ships sailed through the Panama Canal and directly into the history books, a route for ships that united two oceans was unlocked, shaving nearly 9,000 miles off of the long sailing trip around South America. The engineering ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 333 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alejandro C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Gregory was really nice with us and took us to all sight seeing and explained a lot of history of Panama. Excellent service.

Doing what: Luxury Half Day Panama Canal and City Tour

Margo E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a and #34;must do and #34; tour. The partial tour was just right to learn, actually experience the canal on the oldest tour boat and to go through 100 year-old locks. Both the land and boat english-speaking guides helped make this tour informative and enjoyable. Don and #39;the forget the sunscreen and a hat!.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Harvie Hopkins United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Perfection. My guide was waiting for me right outside customs, and from there we proceeded immediately to the Miraflores section of the Panama Canal. Along the way, in perfect unaccented English, my guide shared with me tidbits of Panamanian history, from independence from Spain through the 2000 handover of the canal from the US to Panama. He gave me a nice tour of the canal museum, took a few photos of me before we departed. Unfortunately, the time we went there were no ships transiting through, so to compensate he took me for a drive around the city to get a quick look at the old town and modern skyline, slowing down a bit on the highway along the way to allow me to snap a few awesome photos. After hearing about his family's strawberry farm and the awesome wildlife the country has to offer, I definitely would like to return to explore some more. Definitely worth a try if you're stuck at Tocumen Airport for a while.

Doing what: Panama City Layover Tour

vhperry

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The tour was great. The tour guide did a good job of explaining things (safety protocol and local sites) and introduced a little humor as well. It was a full day! Pick ups start at 6 am and the last hotel drop offs end near 8 pm. The boat ride end to end was 8 am to after 6 pm. It was the full canal

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

Kay United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

I've taken City Sightseeing hop-on hop-off tours in several countries around the world and this one was way below standard. Guides were constantly speaking over the audio tour and their commentary was random and irrelevant most of the time. The audio tour is informative, but could offer much more - there were a lot of long phases with just music
We boarded at stop number 1 and weren't provided earphones until we got on a later bus.
Good as transportation if you plan to visit the different places along the route, but not the greatest city tour experience.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Melinda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Brilliant tour guide, very knowledgable and personable. Great tour group, the best way to see the best parts of Panama City. Couldn't recommend it any more highly!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

John O C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent trip with great guide. Well worth the price. Particularly fortunate to time visit to Miraflores Locks with ships transiting the locks

Doing what: Luxury Half Day Panama Canal and City Tour

Debbie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a fabulous tour that really highlights the beauty and history of Panama City. Kevin is an amazing guide whose factual knowledge is limitless! Loved the personalized feeling of this tour!

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Dennis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great experience with Rafael, our tour guide. We had the private tour with three of us including one 12 year old and Rafael was great at communicating at both an adult level and also the level for a 12 year old. His English is excellent and he is very knowledgeable about the customs and history of Panama. The day began at 8:00 am and ended at 5:00 pm and we saw three of the four main lock systems and we were on both the Atlantic and Pacific side of Panama. His Toyota Van was very comfortable and the AC was very strong which we needed since it was very hot and humid outside. He as able to show us the shortcuts to avoid lines and to get better viewing places to see the canal operation. I highly recommend the tour and in particular Rafael.

Doing what: Luxury Canal Riviera Tour- Coast to Coast

Carter C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Kevin was a very knowledgeable guide, and he also had a sense of humor to add to the mix. We got to see a lot in a relatively short amount of time. So . . . Thumbs Up.

Doing what: Panama City Sightseeing Tour Including Miraflores Locks

Gabriela Maria Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Everything was perfect.It was very well organized by the tour operator.
The Cruise was very interesting, It was a great experience.
Thank you VIATOR.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Michael L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

From the moment I was picked up from my hotel, to the moment I was dropped off, I couldn't have had a better day. The coach travel to and from the boat was excellent. The tour itself was brilliant, good and plentiful buffet, and JC the guide was a star, witty and informative. You must do this tour.

Doing what: Panama Canal Transit Tour

RALEIGH B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a wonderful time in Panama city. We are a family of 5, My husband and I, two 16year olds and a 13 year old. We opted for a half day private tour. Our tour guide Gregory arrived at our hotel well before time. He accommodated us in a comfortable, well air-conditioned minivan. He was courteous and knowledgable about Panama and world events in general. He easily explained the engineering behind the Panama Canal to my eager 16 year old son.
After the trip he helped me find a pharmacy to get some medication for my husband and offered to take us to the airport for our flight the following day.
I would recommend this trip to anyone. A little bit pricey but worth it.

Doing what: Luxury Half Day Panama Canal and City Tour

Kathy J R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour. The tour guide, JC and all of the staff were wonderful!!!!!

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Waldemar B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Canal passage is a really excited experience. Advice: return bus to Marina should have additional stop at downtown, as many people do not need go back to the starting point.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Tour - Northbound direction

Emilio N

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good trip but long waits.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Georges B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Actually went well. I made a massage in booking dates and was able to change with a bit of effort. But the tour was a real pleasure

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Vincent H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour was great but a couple of things could have made it more enjoyable. Free parking was easily available under the Multicentro mall but I had to discover this myself. Also it was hard to listen to the information on the ear buds with the loudspeaker blaring at the same time.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Judith T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Their website said the pickup for tour was 7:45am. The night before, we were told it would be 5:30am! No one showed up until 6:15am and it was one person with no car or van. He said the driver did not show up for work and he called a friend to drive us. At 6:45am we were finally picked up. After the tour, we were told that everyone with our color wrist band should get on a specific bus so we did. After driving around for almost 2 hours we were the only ones left. The driver said we must have gotten on the wrong bus but he took us to our hotel. Would have given one star but we actually did go through the canal. Very worried because this was our first Viator experience and we have several more in different countries.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

William C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Unfortunately this day Ancon hill was closed, in addition the Miraflores locks were in maintenance, hence we do not enjoy in its fullness the tour. Lucky the guide was a nice and charming person

Doing what: Luxury Half Day Panama Canal and City Tour

mimihti

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

it was raining and water was coming from the roof and pouring on us.Audio speakers were not working and we had to wait more than the supposedly one hour between bus rotation.Panama bus and metro are cheap and you can visit better than with this bus.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Panama City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jonathan N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Euclides Okie was FANTASTIC! He was so friendly and knowledgeable about the city. He made sure that we had flexibility in each stop of the tour to customize it to what we wanted to see and for how long. He even took us to a great spot for an authentic Panamanian lunch that was so delicious, and to a little cafe in Casco Viejo for the BEST cup of coffee. Also, we don't speak any Spanish, but his English was so great. I would highly recommend this tour to everyone visiting Panama City!!

Doing what: Luxury Half Day Panama Canal and City Tour

david s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Top class guide and value for money

Doing what: Luxury Full Day Panama Canal and City Tour

Sunanda S W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It is awesome.It is a must see.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Thomas C

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The tour was good. Great way to see the locks and the tour guide was very knowledgeable. The bus service was excellent and very prompt on hotel pick up. Only issue was that nothing was wheelchair accessible. If you can't climb stairs you will be in trouble.

Doing what: Panama Canal Partial Transit Sightseeing Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message