Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Basilique du Sacré-Coeur

The Basilica of the Sacred Heart, or Basilique du Sacré-Coeur, perched at the very top of Butte de Montmartre (Montmartre Hill), was built from contributions pledged by Parisian Catholics as an act of contrition after the Franco-Prussian War ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 108 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

First, thanks to David for his cooperation in pushing back our vow renewal a day after our luggage and my wife's wedding dress that she wore 25 years ago and it still fit! was lost for 4 days! But cooperate he did, and communicated with us rapidly after notifying him of our emergency. We were staying within a block of the Eiffel Tower but given that the vows were delayed a day, my vouchers and therefore the meeting instructions disappeared, and once again, I had to turn to David, who gladly steered me literally in the right direction towards a patiently waiting Ari, our photographer. His Greek heritage instantly captured my wife of Greek heritage, and for the next hour, we did what Ari told us to do going from place to place around the Eiffel Tower Ari capturing the incredible afternoon light in about every imaginable way. While it was obvious that Ari knew the places that would produce the best shots he's obviously done this before, you could tell that he truly, truly cared about what he was doing. Be ready to climb if you're fortunate enough to get Ari you'll remember this, but it's all in his effort to produce a truly phenomenal picture history in incredibly beautiful surroundings. As we walked, people everywhere began to take pictures of us, especially my stunningly beautiful bride again, which added to the uniqueness of this experience. After about an hour, and multiple scene scapes including across from the Eiffel Tower and down on the Seine River, we met incredibly charming and Native Parisian celebrant, Victoria who has also lived in Miami who joined us for some final shots during which she skinned her leg and kept moving like the trooper she is and then our vow renewal, down along the Seine, while Ari continued to click away with his camera. Victoria's message was simple and so appropriate, defining the meaning of marriage again, followed by a poem that so captured the message that she delivered. Victoria and Ari then insisted that we have our own private moment, during which Ari kept clicking away, capturing the tears shed from both bride and groom at the incredible moment that we were experiencing. And to think that it almost didn't happen, and in some locations, our problems wouldn't have become anyone else's. But David responded Ari and Victoria delivered, and for that, my wife and I are eternally grateful! Needless to say, you need to do this, and I can only hope that your experience is as captivating and memorable as ours! Du fond de notre coeur, nous vous remercions! From the bottom of our heart, we thank you!

Doing what: Renew Your Wedding Vows in Paris

Deborah Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was the best thing we did! Our first visit to Paris and my husband is a good but nervous traveler so this Paris orientation put him at ease. Of course the credit goes to our guide, Milan, who was an amazing host and historian. Paris is a big city to take in all in one 8 hour round but Milan managed to ease us into the Parisian living with his in-depth knowledge of French history and blending of modern culture. We walked around the Montmartre district and the Basilica Sacre Coeur. And afterwards we stopped for a wonderful lunch before ascending the Eiffel Tower - all the way to the summit! Our Eiffel Tower guide was also fabulous - She had a great sense of humor and was very interesting. Our final stop was at Notre Dam Cathedral before heading back to our place. This tour was expensive but we definitely got what we paid for.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Full-Day Sightseeing Tour with Eiffel Tower

Michelle H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide, Quentin, was a friendly, knowledgeable native Parisian. There was only one other family in our group, which was fitting for such a quaint, intimate setting. Our tour was led through quiet, uncrowded, picturesque winding cobblestone streets as we were informed of the Belle Époque artists who once called the hill home. I appreciated how the tour ended at the Sacre-Coeur, as this showcased a decent portion of the surrounding village and emphasized that the Basilica is just the district's most prominent feature, rather than its only part. I would highly recommend this tour for any art/art history enthusiasts!

Doing what: Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and Optional Musée d'Orsay

Robert S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

My husband and I were the only ones in the group so needless to say we thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and knew how to get to Sacre Coeur without seeming to be climbing up the hill.

Doing what: Paris Saint-Germain Quartier Polaroid Photo Tour

Micheline B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

our informative guide Quentin took us on an easy walk from the Moulin Rouge to Sacre Coeur and welcomed all our questions. Will be going to the Musee d'Orsay next.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Micheline B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Informative guide Quentin took us on an easy walk from the Moulin Rouge to Sacre Coeur with stops along the way to talk about the Impressionists and point out lovely views.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Cheryl L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Charles was awesome! He brought Montmartre to life and we really enjoyed his stories. The Views from Sacre Coeur were amazing. The afternoon spent at the D'Orsay Museum was great too.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Ronald C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Good tour - very comprehensive commentary. Only problem was the Blue line stop at Sacre Coeur. About 30 people waited more than 40 minutes for a bus to arrive. Would recommend this activity especially if on first visit to Paris.

Doing what: Big Bus Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Savvy Sightseer USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

With Cedric, the tour guide, a Gourmet French Food Tour booked by Viator Tours through Pariss Montmartre district is a saunter not just in and out of top-notch French pastry shops, but also a trip through French history. Meeting at the Blanche metro station, Cedric warmly greeted me, and we started out on our adventure, despite our being a party of only two. The tour, operated by a local group, was billed as a small group excursion with a max of 8 people, but was guaranteed to run without a minimum. My trip was just after floods and strikes had hampered tourism in the city, but the local tour administration had reassured me via email that the tour would go as scheduled, and so it did.

Cedric enthusiastically shared his love of Paris while leisurely wandering through town. From pointing out the inner citys original Roman wall boundaries on a nearby transit map to leading the way to a sweeping view of Paris from the steps of Sacre Coeur, Cedrics walking tour was insightful, fascinating, interesting and, above all, a delicious tasting of Paris!

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

Wendy D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The best thing about the tour is that it allowed us to wind our way up the hill to Sacre Coeur taking the path less travelled. Our guide was a Montmartre native, and loved the place. Some highlights for me were the tales and statues of St Denis and Dalida I now have her music, and spotting the various breasts local artists have graffitied onto walls. Montmartre is a lovely place for a ramble - it's picturesque and there's so much to see. It's greatly enhanced by having a knowledgeable guide to show you their favourite nooks and crannies.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

guesswhat

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

We were disappointed in this tour. The guide was a professional photographer so only looked for unique items to photgraph. He didn't really tell us much about the area. I would suggest an option for a tour through Montmartre to Sacre Coeur who could talk about the history of the area.

Doing what: Private Photography Walking Tour of Paris: Latin Quarter or Montmartre

PSH

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It is a must during the summer to get a tour like this to see the Eiffel Tower and the Louvre. The crowds are huge, and this saves a lot of time. There is still a line, it was July 13, but much, much shorter than those without this benefit.
We learned some things we didn't know from the guide and gave us some thoughts about other things to go see Sacre Coeur.
This was a our second time to the Louvre and again the lines were huge. We only had to wait a few minutes.
We did the Seine river cruise two days later.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Eiffel Tower Summit, Louvre Museum and Cruise

Jenna K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was, by far, the best way I have ever seen Paris. Driving through backstreets at sunset, looking out over Paris from the top of the Sacre-Coeur and drinking champagne whilst watching the Eiffel Tower light up in the evening. Everything about this tour was amazing. Our guide, Julian was lovely. From teaching us about the city, where to go for dinner, coffee and drinks to taking the perfect selfie I couldn't say there was anything that wasn't perfect. The only way to see Paris. Incredible

Doing what: Retro Tour Paris: Sidecar Tour

jonnypantansky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

There is nothing I hate more than waiting in lines, so visiting the Eiffel Tower with a priority access ticket really reduced my wait time. I was able to skip a longer line and get to the main level quickly so I could enjoy the views of the Champs de Mars as well as take in the views of Sacre Coeur, Monmarte, the Louvre. Such beautiful views and memories from up there!

Doing what: Eiffel Tower Priority Access Ticket with Host

Barbara Jean P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We caught the Metro to Montmartre from the Latin Quarter and although the weather was hit and miss, this walking tour, guided by the experienced and knowledgeable Kit, made for a great tour. There are quite a few steps to go up and down but it is not a fast pace and the view from Sacre Coeur worth it.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

robert b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was one of the most entertaining tour /walks that I have been on. The Montmartre neighborhood and it's past residents are well known and most interesting. Our guide Adele is an actress and entertainer, suddenly breaking out into song and dance with a je ne sais quoi.....engaging and emotive.
This is not so much an intensive art tour, but a vibrant neighborhood immersion. It should be mentioned that this is an uphill excursion ending at Sacre Coeur, perhaps the highest point in Paris! The ticket to the Musee d'Orsay not nearby! gets you in the members entrance. Useful.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Kathleen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

If you can do it, I highly recommend this tour. My tour guide, Belen was amazing and I spent a wonderful day in Paris on this tour. She gave me a great tour of Montmartre and Basilica Sacre Coeur that was rich with history. After lunch, we toured the Musee d'Orsay and while she explained the different styles of painting associated with the Impressionist genre. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Skip-the-Line Musée d'Orsay & Montmartre Impressionist Walking Tour

AILEEN D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Best way to get around the city! This tour is the best way to see all the tourist spots in Paris especially if you are only in the city for a few days. We were able to take 3 out of the 4 bus lines to see Place de la Concorde, Champs Elysees, Arc de Triomphe, Eiffel Tower, Opera, and Sacre Coeur. It was very convenient that the bus stop was very close to our hotel. Will definitely use this tour again.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Tour Hop-On-Hop-Off

Mark T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We took a private 2-day tour of Paris with Marion and could not have asked for a better tour guide or experience for a first-time trip there. Particularly given how much we wanted to see in a short amount of time, Marion allowed us to relax and enjoy the sites as well as to gain a deeper understanding of what we were seeing. We took along our 8 and 9-year old children and Marion was very patient with them explaining things in a way they could understand. They have a particular interest in art and Marion efficiently guided us through the Louvre and Orsay, as well as through the Montmartre neighborhood where many of the artists lived. This neighborhood around Sacre Coeur was a highlight of the tour. Marion kept us on schedule, but did not sacrifice any of the things we really wanted to see. Liz with Viator did a great job lining out our itinerary and listening to what we wanted to see rather than just giving us a standard list of sites to see. With Marion we were able to overcome the language barrier as well as efficiently traverse the city either by walking or by Metro. We got so comfortable with this that were able to handle the third day of our trip on our own with equal efficiency. We would recommend Marion to anyone looking to gain a deeper understanding of Paris, particularly as it relates to the arts. She also introduced us to new French pastries at Maison des Choux, and took to some sites we didn't even know about for great views and photo ops. This tour was a great way to start our stay in Paris.

Doing what: Private 2-Day Tour: Customize Your Perfect Stay in Paris

Ramen J

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

A good tour, but take too long on SACRE COEUR and gare du nord side , and staff does not even tell you the seine river cruise stops for pickup and drop points.
Buses should have rain protection otherwise on rainy day your trip is wasted.
Three day tour should be full three days as in USA , it means it should start from the time of first boarding.

Doing what: Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Combo: Sightseeing Bus and Seine River Cruise

Claudia G

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very interesting and another good guide. The only glitch was that we took a train from Sacre Coeur, presumably to the bottom of the hill, but it did not stop and took us back up to the church. The tour had climbed the hill, with stops along the way. We made our way back down on foot and funicular and had a nice lunch at a place recommended by our guide.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Diana P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Amazing tour! Very knowledgeable and patient guide and she made this tour fun and informative!! I loved it! We took the best route up to Sacre Coeur theough the enchanting streets of Montmartre, learning quite a bit of history along the way.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Margo V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an excellent tour and exceeded our expectations. The guide was so knowledgeable about the Montmartre area and made the lives of the impressionist painters who lived there come alive. It was just the right pace with completion at beautiful Sacre Coeur. Loved it!
The Vallones, Georgia

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

cnp.drp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Gil took us on a great round about path to the Sacre Coeur. I really liked the length and pace of the tour. Two hours was just enough history and information to spark my curiosity and want to come home and read more but not so long that I got tired or bored. Gil also pointed out some more contemporary art, street art, that was not obvious to me.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

jhirbour82

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved it! I learned a lot from our guide, Laura, and the views at Sacre Coeur were stunning. I almost didn't go because I'd hurt my back and I'd read that it was a lot of walking up hills which it was but it was totally worth it!

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message