Place de la Bastille is one of the more well-known squares in Paris and occupies an important place in French history. This is where the Bastille Prison stood until 1789, when this 'symbol of royalist tyranny' was stormed on July 14 during the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 339 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Featle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We met Charlotte on the steps of th Opera House and she was vibrant and full of information from the start. Our first stop was for coffee and a giant croissant...hint: don't have breakfast before you start! We then hit the closed market and tasted a variety of meats, terrines and pate. The serves were generous and by the time we had tasted the cheeses we were all full. We finished with a friendly wine tasting which really rounded off the morning. We'd highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Dr.Kenneth S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

I struggled to find the meeting location because the building numbers are not sequential. The guide was hanging out across the street at the Metro stop and did not come to the designated meeting location. I had to call the office to find out where the guide was. A bad start to what turned out to be a very good walking tour. Guide was knowledgeable and spoke very clear English/American.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Mary M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

We were so excited about this tour, but the guide was disorganized and had very little knowledge about the food or wine we tasted. Our first stop on the tour was in a urine-soaked alleyway. Disgusting. We ate samples of food behind a dirty fish stall in the market and the guide had zero idea what cheeses or wine we sampled. The last stop was in a smoky wine shop with cramped seating. Our guide looked like she rolled out of bed. I would NOT recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Georgia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We loved the tour! Our guide was such a great story teller and had deep knowledge. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Bruce L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of the best tour guides I have ever had

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

Donna N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

I'm sorry. We can't recommend this tour. Charlotte our guide was great, but it was far to expensive for what we did. It would have been nice to be able to sit and enjoy the tastings, instead of out of a paper bag. The wine bar was disappointing, the owner was smoking and there wasn't enough seats for all of us. Also the wine tasting lacked a professional approach

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Shelley United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Our guide, Charlotte, was a very energetic young lady. The market and food sampling was okay. It was like a walk with girlfriends, which for my husband, was not very enjoyable.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Joe M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour was great. Tour guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Richard Rish P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We very much enjoyed this tour, partly because we are foodies and partly because we like a local explaining things we would normally have missed. Our guide, Charlotte, was wonderful and worked so hard to make sure we had a great day. We only had one other great couple on the tour, so that made it very easy to see and hear all Charlotte had to point out and say.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Elizabeth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really interesting and unique. Knowledgeable and engaging guide!

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

caroline.alper

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour and tour guide. Highly recommend if you want to know more about this interesting section of Paris.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

Olivia E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

When booking my trip to Paris some 5 months ago, I focused my activities around going on this walking tour. Despite running a few minutes late, the tour guide was still at the meeting point and greeted us promptly. At each stop our guide gave us plenty of information about what the site was and what the historical context/importance of the stop was without being too convoluted. Whilst at a stop at Place de la Concode, she pointed out that whilst the square today does not have any obvious markers of its violent role during the Revolution, there is a subtle homage to the guillotine if you look very closely and your guide happens to point it out!! Overall, very pleased with this walking tour and I would wholeheartedly recommend if you have an interest in history.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Kathleen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a wonderful tour. Our guide, Andrea, was friendly, on time and very interesting to learn French culture from. We tried some of the typical French foods, and were able to mingle with some of the locals in a wine shop. It was fun and we loved it.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

ronjudy.rooks

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Really enjoyed this morning. Great guide great food good company and the wines capped off a great experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Swanny

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was another excellent tour that introduced us to the Bastille area and in particular Marche d aleigre that we had not visited before. The food and wine tastings were excellent. We would highly recommend this to anyone particularly those staying in the Gare de Lyon area

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Sarah S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was an interesting tour with a knowledgeable and friendly guide. It was a nice introduction to Pariis, and focusing on just one era made the history easier to absorb and understand.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Dharris132

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Charlotte was fabulous, the food, oysters, strawberries, meats and wine were first class, and plenty of it. We were taken down hidden lane ways which we would never have found, Charlottes knowledge of old Paris was amazing and the small group, 6 in total made it very personal. A must do if you want to explore the food market and learn the history of the Bastille district.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Sangeeta S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommended. Guide was very knowledgeable and fun to walk around with.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Glenn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour with Kit! Loved it so much we booked the same company for Versailles the next day. 100 recommend.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

herbie2448 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour with our guide Charlotte being knowledgeable and having a good sense of humour. We saw some areas of Paris we would probably never have visited or appreciated fully if we had. Lane ways and eateries and markets etc with all having their significance to Parisians explained. Tastes of croissants best ever, meats, oysters, cheeses and wines. Overall a highlight of our visit.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Fernando

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Fantastic guide took us to fun places and arrange for great food stops.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent walk! Informed on many characteristics and idiosyncrasies of the city as well as an introduction to the gastronomical history and characteristics of the Parisians and French in general. Begin with sampling the ubiquitous croissant and being informed about the Bread Culture of the Parisians we moved to the small market sampling oysters and sausage and discussing various foods often eaten throughout France. Moving to a cheese shop we sampled several varieties of cheese and discussed cheese of France. The best at last we visited a boutique wine shop sampling some reds and whites of France. What made this the best was our tour guide Charlotte Maziere. Very knowledgeable, great English, relaxed, and personable. The pace and interaction was perfect.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

kakigun48 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Lots of great information. Would have been even better if the weather was warmer and drier. There was some confusion as to the meeting place to start the tour. We were given a street address, but our guide was waiting as the nearby Metro stop about 1/2 a block away. A phone call got us all in the right place.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour - The French Revolution

Errol C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Being a foodie, this was fantastic. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Gourmet Food and Market Tour of the Bastille District in Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message