Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Catacombs (Les Catacombes)

In 1785, Paris decided to solve the problem of its overflowing cemeteries by exhuming the bones of the buried and relocating them to the tunnels of several disused quarries, leading to the creation of the Catacombs, basically corridors stacked with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 300 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I cannot recommend this tour highly enough.

The skip-the-line benefit it worth the cost in and of itself - on the day we visited the line was more than 2 hours long! Our tour guide was wonderful. He was friendly and knowledgeable so we learned much more about the fascinating history of the catacombs and how they came to be than friends who did not take a guided tour. Finally, as part of the tour you get to enter areas closed to the general public.

Doing what: Paris Catacombs: Skip-The-Line Small Group Tour

Helenemarie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The catacombs is an interesting place to visit. Having a knowledgeable guide really makes a difference in understanding and appreciating this very important landmark. Our guide was a young Canadian gentleman, in Paris studying art history. He was extremely personable and knowledgeable. I
His stories about how the catacombs came to be, how they are organized and their relevance in history were excellent. I definitely recommend going to the catacombs however, if you are claustrophobic this may not be the place for you. The ceilings are low in spots and the hallways narrow, though not overly so. Overall, great experience and recommend this company.

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

Tin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Skip the line tickets are a must. We skipped the line that wrapped around the block where people waited for hours to enter the catacombs. The tour and guide were absoultely amazing.

Doing what: Catacombs Skip-the-Line Small Group Tour in Paris

Leisha O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

EXCELLENT!!! From start to finish this tour of the Paris Catacombs was excellent! Our tour guide, Carla, was super friendly and full of information! We learned so much and totally enjoyed the tour! Would do it again in a heartbeat. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

Brewskiis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We took the Paris Catacombs tour with Pierre on June 29th, and it was fabulous! Pierre was very knowledgeable about the history of the catacombs and cemeteries, and made the tour very interesting and fun. He had a great sense of humor, was very high energy, and was an amazing tour guide. The skip the line tour was well worth the price as we were able to zip right in past the large lines, which were estimated to be about 2 hours long.

Doing what: Paris Catacombs: Skip-The-Line Small Group Tour

Rebecca D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The catacombs was a breath taking experience with the added bonus of having Leo with us to really give us all the extra info! I would book the tour again next time we are in Paris! Loved it! Rebecca from Sydney

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

Stephanie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Beyond my expectations! Victoire was our tour guide and she was absolutely amazing. She is so knowledgeable about the Catacombs and will answer any questions you may have. She takes the time to ensure everyone on the tour can hear what she is saying and makes sure any kids in the groups are included. She gives tips on how to take good pics of the bones and will offer help in anyway. I definitely recommend this tour and if I come back in the area would take it again. Highly Recommended! Don't wait in line, take this tour to skip the line and get great information.

Doing what: Skip the Line Paris Catacombs Guided tour

Tom United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was so friendly and pleasant and quite knowledgeable on the the history intertwined with the events of the Catacombs.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Sheryl T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was one of my favourite tours. Our guide was excellent, he had so much knowledge of the history of the city and the tunnels that these catacombs reside. Such a surreal experience and definitely not one to do without a guide. We saw a few things that the general public were closed off to, so we felt a little bit special! The skip the line option was also fabulous as it was raining when we went in, and there was at least a 2 hour wait outside! I would highly recommend this tour, and make sure your cameras are fully charged!!! By the end of the tour, my phone was going flat as I had taken so many photos of so many incredible things!

Doing what: Paris Catacombs: Skip-The-Line Small Group Tour

Leila P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very interesting tour of the catacombs - something you would never think is right under the bustling city streets of Paris! Our guide was well informed and able to answer all of our questions!

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

lmjpichler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Everyone that goes to Paris has to do this tour. When you are down in the Catacombs you are in the realm of unbelievable. Felix was are guide and was very interesting. He also was friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Raelene H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A very cool experience. Not for people who have trouble walking as there are a lot of stairs down and uneven footing once you are in the catacombs. My kids thought this was good as well 14 and 16 years old.

Doing what: Paris Catacombs Tour

Daryl F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was super professional and very knowledgeable not only about the Catacombs but about Paris history. You could tell that she was passionate about the subject and we learned a lot. I highly recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

Abigail B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Me and my boyfriend scheduled a sort of last minute trip to Paris. With this spontaneity came few options left available for popular tours such as the Catacombs of Paris. We were lucky enough to find that there was one option leftthe Private Tour of the Paris Catacombs. We were hesitant of the private tour experience because of the escalated price and mixed reviews but since it was our only option and we really wanted to experience the catacombs we went with itand we were SO GLAD that we did! Our tour guide Victoire was amazing! She stood in line for us before the catacombs opened and we were able to meet up with her with total ease! We did not waste any of our short-trip to Paris waiting in line which made our tour perfect to begin with. Victoire was really engaging and told us the history narrative of the catacombs better than we could have imagined. We were able to interrupt and ask questions that she was happy to answer and develop on. It was obvious that she has walked through the catacombs time-after-time and has studied them immensely. She walked with us at our own pace which was a great perk of the Private Tour and answered every question about the catacombs including the odd and mysterious ones! that we had. She is truly passionate about the catacombs, their history, and their preservation. My boyfriend and I are so glad that we did not have to rush through the Paris Catacombs with a large group, nor did we have to huddle in behind a group of people in order to hear the tour guide speak. Victoire and the experience she gave us on our Private Tour of the Paris Catacombs was so knowledgable and it was the total highlight of our trip! She made the tour both fun and a great learning experience. Once we finished the tour, she even walked us to the Metro and told us how to get to our next stop! I highly recommend the Private Tour it will make the experience UNFORGETTABLE.

Doing what: Private Tour of the Paris Catacombs

Kelsey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour is worth it. First, you skip the crazy long line. Second, you get way more information, history, and stories about the catacombs then doing it on your own.

Doing what: Paris Catacombs Tour

STEPHEN K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We booked the small group tour of the catacombs and found it to be very interesting and access to the VIP areas and skipping the queue was certainly worth paying a little bit extra. However, we had our children aged 9 and 12 with us and found the size of the group around 20 too many as the tunnels were narrow and it was difficult to hear the tour guide at times. The tour guide told interesting stories about the history of the catacombs and we would recommend this experience to others.

Doing what: Paris Catacombs Tour

Armando S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The catacombs and our guide's knowledge of them were both outstanding and fascinating. I do not believe this was a five star experience however, because I paid for and was expecting a small group experience, and so was disappointed and I believe my experience diminished by the inclusion of 28 people.

Doing what: Paris Catacombs Tour

Michael G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The Catacombs tour is awesome. Our guide was very interesting and did a great job. The cost was pretty expensive at about 80.00 which didn't even include the cost of admission. Had to pay that in addition.

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

Wendy H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

This tour was nice. It was well organized and we enjoyed the guide. He was English and completely knew his stuff. He let you stop along the way for photos. Gave you free moments to see the stuff and had so so much information.

However on the whole with Viator I would just like to mention that we didnt have a good experience on every other tour we took during our trip. Most of them we cut off from and went on our own. Some we had to purchase more tickets to stay inside the museums because they wouldnt give us an actual ticket. The tours are very poorly done.

The catacombs were amazing though !!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Radu

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

STAY AWAY, BIG RIP OFF! If I could rate this tour -5, I would. My wife and I did 16 tours in 3 weeks between Venice, Milan, Barcelona and Paris. Most tours were great, some were OK but this tour was the worst ever, any time, anywhere! First of all, this is not a 3 hour tour as advertised. They ask you to arrive at 8:50 AM only to find out that the Catacombs don't open until 10:00 AM. After 10 minutes of checking in with the guide of all participants in the group , we found out that we will be standing in line with the guide to get in no skip the line and also learned that the tour will end between 11:15-11:30. By the time we got in line, there were already about 35 people in front of us. Because of that, our group didn't get in until 10:20 AM. it ended at 11:25 AM. To make it worst, we found out the entrance fee was not included and we had to pay an additional 12 euros per person to get in! Mind you, we've already paid 45 a person for the tour! Also, this was not a small group. We had at least 16 people and it makes it very hard to follow and hear the guide in the small spaces of the Catacombs with such a big group. So, if you do this tour, you will end up paying about 60 per person for about 65 minutes of guided info, which for the most part I've already read online. DO NOT DO this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

Bonnie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My daughter and I spent a week in Paris and this was one of the most interesting things we saw. The scope of the catacombs is awe inspiring and the guide was great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Mike B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a really great tour, very personal and the tour guide was great. She was amazingly well informed on history of catacombs and was clearly genuinely interested in them. I would happily recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

Shelly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was awesome--one of the highlights of our trip! Our tour guide was Randa and she was the best! Very knowledgeable and VERY entertaining. Skip-the-line was the way to go. There were people in line waiting for three hours. The ticket through Viator was a Godsend--we walked right up and into the catacombs. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Tyler W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Everyone should go. The guide was excellent, knew a lot about the catacombs and very approachable. Only had roughly 10 ppl in the tour, which made it even better. You cannot go to Paris without coming here!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Catacombs Small-Group Tour

Diana A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great, not only did we get to skip the huge line, but our guide Pierre was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and entertaining. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone going to the catacombs

Doing what: Paris Catacombs: Skip-The-Line Small Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message