Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Catacombs (Les Catacombes)

In 1785, Paris decided to solve the problem of its overflowing cemeteries by exhuming the bones of the buried and relocating them to the tunnels of several disused quarries, leading to the creation of the Catacombs, basically corridors stacked with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 301 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic Tour and Guide- Danyl. We got to the stop by the Catacombs and took the bus to the Chateaux's. One by one we were in love. Having our guide Danyl explain as we went through was very important. To know the history behind these massive structures that were built before us was phenomenal. Thank you to Viator and City Tours for making this so pleasurable. We enjoyed the Wine, the Food and the Company! We will definitely use Viator and City Tours on our next adventure.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Whitney O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was fantastic! Very easy meet up-Our tour guide Adam was waiting across from the metro and in front of the catacombs, exactly as described. We not only got to see some impressive castles and drink authentic regional wine, we also learned an amazing amount of french history that surrounds the sites. Would take a tour from City Wonders again in a heart beat.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Sharon K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Definitely worth doing if only to skip the crazy line for those waiting to buy tickets probably saved an hour at least! Our guide was Lilia ?, who had an incredible amount of knowledge about the history of the catacombs and of Paris. Absolutely recommend the tour, especially since otherwise you're just walking through tons of bones on either side of you honestly would have gotten bored and more creeped out after 5 minutes by myself...Much better to listen to the stories behind everything and have the little details pointed out! We also got to explore a locked off area of the catacombs that are NOT open to general/individual ticket holders, so that was cool.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Stephanie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide, Lillia was her name I believe, was an excellent tour guide. She is a history teacher from America and now lives in Paris, and she came well prepared. She had pictures to go along with the stories she told. It was very fascinating . I learned so much about the catacombs. I wish I had more time with her to explore. Definitely ask for her as your guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Barns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our trip to the Catacombs was fantastic. Charlie our English host, a self confessed and #34;Cataphile and #34; - someone who loves going underneath cities into the history was a ripper host who well and truly new his history and background.
It and #39;s amazing there is some much history behind the catacombs.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Brad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

First time going to the Catacombs after many trips to Paris. This is a great attraction to visit and one where skipping the very long line and having a guide made it much better.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

lee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a real experience to see. So interesting and our guide was great. Worth the money.Everybody should do a guided tour to get the information and to protect the catacombs from mindless destruction

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

David C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Victoire provided us with a very informative tour of the catacombs. Her relaxed and laid back style made for an enjoyable visit, especially, I think, for my teenage daughter and her friend.

You certainly want to show up early in the morning, about 45 minutes to an hour before the catacombs open, to get in the line, otherwise you can be in line for hours as the line wraps around the block.

Victoire was kind enough to hold our place in line while we went off to enjoy and coffee and croissant in a local cafe. That was a nice treat pun intended. The catacombs themselves are something to see and Victoire's information provided during the tour was a great way to see them.

Doing what: Private Tour of the Paris Catacombs

karens

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The Catacombs are definitely worth seeing and this tour includes a few side rooms that are not open to the public which makes it more interesting than just using the audio guide. The skip the line option was also great given the long line up to get in. That said, it's pricey for what you get. Although I believe it was advertised as a 2 hour tour we were out in less than 90 minutes and much of the info the guide provided was readily available in the audio tour and signs inside. So, the Catacombs are worth doing, but this tour is a bit of a splurge.

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

Steven O

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

This is very misleading. This is NOT A SKIP THE LINE tour and does NOT INCLUDE ADMISSION. They basically have you get there about and hour and a half before the catacombs open and stand in line with them while they talk about French history. The tour guide was knowledgeable but had I known I wasn't going to get in any faster then showing up without booking anything I never would have spent the extra money. Also other tour groups get to go into closed off areas while this tour takes you strictly along the publicly open path.

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

Robert T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I cannot recommend this tour highly enough.

The skip-the-line benefit it worth the cost in and of itself - on the day we visited the line was more than 2 hours long! Our tour guide was wonderful. He was friendly and knowledgeable so we learned much more about the fascinating history of the catacombs and how they came to be than friends who did not take a guided tour. Finally, as part of the tour you get to enter areas closed to the general public.

Doing what: Paris Catacombs: Skip-The-Line Small Group Tour

Helenemarie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The catacombs is an interesting place to visit. Having a knowledgeable guide really makes a difference in understanding and appreciating this very important landmark. Our guide was a young Canadian gentleman, in Paris studying art history. He was extremely personable and knowledgeable. I
His stories about how the catacombs came to be, how they are organized and their relevance in history were excellent. I definitely recommend going to the catacombs however, if you are claustrophobic this may not be the place for you. The ceilings are low in spots and the hallways narrow, though not overly so. Overall, great experience and recommend this company.

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

Tin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Skip the line tickets are a must. We skipped the line that wrapped around the block where people waited for hours to enter the catacombs. The tour and guide were absoultely amazing.

Doing what: Catacombs Skip-the-Line Small Group Tour in Paris

Leisha O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

EXCELLENT!!! From start to finish this tour of the Paris Catacombs was excellent! Our tour guide, Carla, was super friendly and full of information! We learned so much and totally enjoyed the tour! Would do it again in a heartbeat. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

Brewskiis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We took the Paris Catacombs tour with Pierre on June 29th, and it was fabulous! Pierre was very knowledgeable about the history of the catacombs and cemeteries, and made the tour very interesting and fun. He had a great sense of humor, was very high energy, and was an amazing tour guide. The skip the line tour was well worth the price as we were able to zip right in past the large lines, which were estimated to be about 2 hours long.

Doing what: Paris Catacombs: Skip-The-Line Small Group Tour

Rebecca D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The catacombs was a breath taking experience with the added bonus of having Leo with us to really give us all the extra info! I would book the tour again next time we are in Paris! Loved it! Rebecca from Sydney

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

Stephanie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Beyond my expectations! Victoire was our tour guide and she was absolutely amazing. She is so knowledgeable about the Catacombs and will answer any questions you may have. She takes the time to ensure everyone on the tour can hear what she is saying and makes sure any kids in the groups are included. She gives tips on how to take good pics of the bones and will offer help in anyway. I definitely recommend this tour and if I come back in the area would take it again. Highly Recommended! Don't wait in line, take this tour to skip the line and get great information.

Doing what: Skip the Line Paris Catacombs Guided tour

Tom United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was so friendly and pleasant and quite knowledgeable on the the history intertwined with the events of the Catacombs.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Sheryl T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was one of my favourite tours. Our guide was excellent, he had so much knowledge of the history of the city and the tunnels that these catacombs reside. Such a surreal experience and definitely not one to do without a guide. We saw a few things that the general public were closed off to, so we felt a little bit special! The skip the line option was also fabulous as it was raining when we went in, and there was at least a 2 hour wait outside! I would highly recommend this tour, and make sure your cameras are fully charged!!! By the end of the tour, my phone was going flat as I had taken so many photos of so many incredible things!

Doing what: Paris Catacombs: Skip-The-Line Small Group Tour

Leila P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very interesting tour of the catacombs - something you would never think is right under the bustling city streets of Paris! Our guide was well informed and able to answer all of our questions!

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

lmjpichler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Everyone that goes to Paris has to do this tour. When you are down in the Catacombs you are in the realm of unbelievable. Felix was are guide and was very interesting. He also was friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Raelene H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A very cool experience. Not for people who have trouble walking as there are a lot of stairs down and uneven footing once you are in the catacombs. My kids thought this was good as well 14 and 16 years old.

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

Daryl F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was super professional and very knowledgeable not only about the Catacombs but about Paris history. You could tell that she was passionate about the subject and we learned a lot. I highly recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Guided Tour of Catacombs in Paris

Abigail B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Me and my boyfriend scheduled a sort of last minute trip to Paris. With this spontaneity came few options left available for popular tours such as the Catacombs of Paris. We were lucky enough to find that there was one option leftthe Private Tour of the Paris Catacombs. We were hesitant of the private tour experience because of the escalated price and mixed reviews but since it was our only option and we really wanted to experience the catacombs we went with itand we were SO GLAD that we did! Our tour guide Victoire was amazing! She stood in line for us before the catacombs opened and we were able to meet up with her with total ease! We did not waste any of our short-trip to Paris waiting in line which made our tour perfect to begin with. Victoire was really engaging and told us the history narrative of the catacombs better than we could have imagined. We were able to interrupt and ask questions that she was happy to answer and develop on. It was obvious that she has walked through the catacombs time-after-time and has studied them immensely. She walked with us at our own pace which was a great perk of the Private Tour and answered every question about the catacombs including the odd and mysterious ones! that we had. She is truly passionate about the catacombs, their history, and their preservation. My boyfriend and I are so glad that we did not have to rush through the Paris Catacombs with a large group, nor did we have to huddle in behind a group of people in order to hear the tour guide speak. Victoire and the experience she gave us on our Private Tour of the Paris Catacombs was so knowledgable and it was the total highlight of our trip! She made the tour both fun and a great learning experience. Once we finished the tour, she even walked us to the Metro and told us how to get to our next stop! I highly recommend the Private Tour it will make the experience UNFORGETTABLE.

Doing what: Private Tour of the Paris Catacombs

Kelsey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour is worth it. First, you skip the crazy long line. Second, you get way more information, history, and stories about the catacombs then doing it on your own.

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message