Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Catacombs (Les Catacombes)

In 1785, Paris decided to solve the problem of its overflowing cemeteries by exhuming the bones of the buried and relocating them to the tunnels of several disused quarries, leading to the creation of the Catacombs, basically corridors stacked with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 305 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mary_mccormack

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

My first viator tour. Skipping the line was helpful as there were a huge line waiting to get in. I don't know why you'd go to the catacombs without a guide.

Doing what: Paris Catacombs: Skip-The-Line Small Group Tour

Donna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wow, what an interesting tour. Our guide Ari, was very knowledgable and our group learned so much about the history of Paris. He was very personable and engaging. The line up would have taken forever, so bonus that we got to skip that! There are parts of the catacombs that the regular visitors don't get to see and I found those very interesting, would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

Ben D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The guide Ari was great, his english was excellent and he was knowledgeable about the tour, able to answer just about all questions that were reasonable and relevant to the catacombs. A good number of people in the group so you could hear what was being said and able to take photo's without random people in the background.

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

Ann B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The catacombs tour was fantastic! It is a must see... well, if you have a budding archeologist in the family that is. Our guide as excellent in explaining everything where we would be walking and how important it was to stay together. Mundane maybe, but important on this for keeping us all together. Great information and history. There was nothing that felt creepy a little surprisingly, I thought.

Be SURE to book this tour! People were waiting very long times to get in.

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Can't remember our guide's name, but he was very nice and extremely knowledgeable and gave lots of great info! It was really nice to have access to some of the exclusive areas not available to the general public. Just know that if you are at all claustrophobic, the catacombs will not be for you. Also, the stairs down and then back up are quite steep and uneven and will have your heart racing.

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

Graham B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A well conducted tour with the experience a once in a lifetime. The millions of bodies bones here and the method of storage of their bones is a sight to see. The catacombs seem to go on forever, however, the overall burial has been well planned and methodically undertaken over the years. Our tour guide was well experienced and provided good commentary along the way. A fascinating tour and whilst one could see this as morbid, it really is a very interesting tour to undertake. Well worth the experience.

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

Stephen E

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This tour may seem expensive but it's definitely worth the money for 3 reasons:
1. You get to skip the line. You think, oh, it wont be so bad, just a 20-30min wait right? Wrong. Its 2 hours on a good day, 3 on a bad day. We arrived early and saw the line move once in 20 minutes.
2. You get to go to areas no one else is in. So, its mostly just all the same stuff: bones, tunnels, more bones, but it is nice to get away from the rest of the crowd and feel special
3. The tour guides can interact and have very good information. If you buy the audio tour, that's nice, but you don't get the same flavor from someone who knows the catacombs inside and out.

4 stars, would definitely tell everyone planning on visiting the catacombs to buy this tour.

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

vabandit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We've been to Paris several times and were looking for something different to do on this trip. The Catacombs Tour proved the perfect option! We loved it! When you first arrive and see the long line to get in on a weekday in December when we arrived, the line for the public entrance had a 90 minute wait!, you're worried. Then you remember, you are part of a private guided tour and you go past all those poor people in line! Our guide was fantastic--full of energy, enthusiasm, and knowledge about the catacombs. He have you a very thorough understanding about the history of the catacombs. The best part of the tour, however, was being taken into some of the private rooms that the general public does not get to see on their tour. These rooms are filled with bones, all sorted by size, and often arrayed in fanciful decorations. If you plan to visit the Paris Catacombs and you should, even if this is your first visit to Paris, then book this Skip the Line tour! You won't regret it!

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

Andrea C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We were able to see some areas of the catacombs that were not on the regular tour, which was just amazing. Our guide, Alberto was incredible. He hit just the right note of humor and information, was more than willing to answer any questions and always had the answers too!. Worth every penny, highly reccomended.

Doing what: Catacombs Skip-the-Line Small Group Tour in Paris

Vanessa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was one of the highlights of my trip to Paris. Our tour guide was fantastic and very knowledgable, giving us a lot of details on the history of Paris! We got to see parts of the Catacombs that the public do not get to see. Highly recommend!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

SJ

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Your was amazing
We skipped all the lines and were even taken to some VIP areas in the catacombs

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

Darrell D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It was a bit of walking, but our guide kept it VERY entertaining! We'd stop every little bit to get more information, a story, or something. The time flew by really quickly.

Note: If you are planning on taking pictures, bring something that can operate in LOW light. No tripods are allowed and there is minimal lighting below ground in the catacombs.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Kari M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide was knowledgeable and hilarious. The skip the line was well worth it. The line without it was 3 hours long and we got to see parts that general admission does not see. You must see the catacombs if you are in Paris!

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

Jaklin E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

David was an amazing host. So knowledgeable and friendly about the past and present history of the catacombs, no question too silly. We got to go off the beaten track a little, and skipping the queue felt really good the queue went around the block by the time I arrived. It is truly an amazing trip, has to be experienced to be believed 6 million people/bones, incroyable!

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

Amber M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour is a must! The line was extremely long on my visit so skipping the line was worthwhile. You also gain access to other parts of the catacombs not open to the public when booking a tour. Felix was a great guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

mclean93 Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Really enjoyed the tour through the catacombs. The stories were fascinating.

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

dianeronshelton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wow, did we do well picking out a tour from Viator for the Catacombs experience. We met our guide by the entrance, and got right in. The lines of people that did not do this in advance were lined up for blocks. Our guide was excellent, gave us a chance to go in areas where others could not go into. We learned so much, he took time for questions. We found the history and knowledge of the guide to be extraordinary. Very worthwhile, need to get the tour scheduled before you go, as you wouldn't want to stand in those lines.

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

AJ Florida United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was great. I really enjoyed it. The tour guide spoke 3 languages and was very informative. We walked a lot, so a person who might not well enough to walk and go up and down stairs should skip the catacombs. I highly recommend it for anybody visiting Paris. It's a unique place with lots of history.

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

Kathleen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Hands down, the best money we spent on our trip in Paris. We had heard ahead of time that the line to get in can be very long and it wasn't an exaggeration. We walked up and the line went around the block, and we were told the wait for the line was 3-4 hours. We were so happy to be able to cut the line. But honestly, the best part was having a tour guide. Our guide, Charlie, was great very knowledgeable and personable and he seemed to like the subject matter a lot and had a lot of good stories we wouldn't have gotten on our own. It was also nice to be with a smaller group so it didn't seem really cramped. It might seem like a high ticket price, but it is so worth it! The catacombs really are a unique experience you won't forget.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Kinga N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A really neat way to see the catacombs with a funny, knowledgeable and nice guide. The skipping the line is no joke, since to line is around the whole block. Also the fact that you learn so much more and get to see parts of the catacombs usually not open to the public makes is really worthwhile. I really liked how the guide allowed to take our time and had all sorts of interesting tidbits to add to everything. I was a little worried about finding him, but he was right by the entrance with the yellow umbrella, impossible to miss, so everything was super easy, interesting and well worth every penny. Yup, if you are considering the catacombs and you are an English speaker, this is the tour to take for sure. Also the other tour advertised here does not include the entrance fee and you have to stand in line.

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

Allison S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome tour. Our guide Alberto was fantastic. The chance some parts of the catacombs you can only see on this kind of tour was well worth the money. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

pappalardo.angel

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a really surreal and fascinating experience. We had no issues with wait time or lines. Our tour guide was pretty good as well and extremely knowledgeable regarding the catacombs and Parisian history. My only criticism is that it was a relatively large tour group and it was hard to hear/see the tour guide depending on where we were in the Catacombs.

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

Featle

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

The site is very interesting and worth a visit. However, we were disappointed with the tour, primarily due to the tour guide narration. We felt we may have learnt more using the standard ticket and headsets. It would have been wonderful to learn about how the catacombs were mined, the geology, detains of the underground resistance, etc

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

nancy z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a wonderful tour. Nice size group so we can all see and hear the guide.
Important to note: There are a bunch of cramped spiral steps up out of the Catacombs. Wear appropriate shoes. The catacombs are slippery in some areas. One lady fell in our group, and several others had a hard time making it up the the steps at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Steven K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was great to be able to skip the line to enter the Paris Catacombs. It was especially great to have a very knowledgeable guide to explain what we were seeing over the 2 km walk through the tunnels. We also had access to part of the Catacombs that is not open to the general public.

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message