Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Catacombs (Les Catacombes)

In 1785, Paris decided to solve the problem of its overflowing cemeteries by exhuming the bones of the buried and relocating them to the tunnels of several disused quarries, leading to the creation of the Catacombs, basically corridors stacked with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 293 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kari M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide was knowledgeable and hilarious. The skip the line was well worth it. The line without it was 3 hours long and we got to see parts that general admission does not see. You must see the catacombs if you are in Paris!

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

Jaklin E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

David was an amazing host. So knowledgeable and friendly about the past and present history of the catacombs, no question too silly. We got to go off the beaten track a little, and skipping the queue felt really good the queue went around the block by the time I arrived. It is truly an amazing trip, has to be experienced to be believed 6 million people/bones, incroyable!

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

Amber M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour is a must! The line was extremely long on my visit so skipping the line was worthwhile. You also gain access to other parts of the catacombs not open to the public when booking a tour. Felix was a great guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

mclean93 Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Really enjoyed the tour through the catacombs. The stories were fascinating.

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

dianeronshelton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wow, did we do well picking out a tour from Viator for the Catacombs experience. We met our guide by the entrance, and got right in. The lines of people that did not do this in advance were lined up for blocks. Our guide was excellent, gave us a chance to go in areas where others could not go into. We learned so much, he took time for questions. We found the history and knowledge of the guide to be extraordinary. Very worthwhile, need to get the tour scheduled before you go, as you wouldn't want to stand in those lines.

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

AJ Florida United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was great. I really enjoyed it. The tour guide spoke 3 languages and was very informative. We walked a lot, so a person who might not well enough to walk and go up and down stairs should skip the catacombs. I highly recommend it for anybody visiting Paris. It's a unique place with lots of history.

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

Kathleen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Hands down, the best money we spent on our trip in Paris. We had heard ahead of time that the line to get in can be very long and it wasn't an exaggeration. We walked up and the line went around the block, and we were told the wait for the line was 3-4 hours. We were so happy to be able to cut the line. But honestly, the best part was having a tour guide. Our guide, Charlie, was great very knowledgeable and personable and he seemed to like the subject matter a lot and had a lot of good stories we wouldn't have gotten on our own. It was also nice to be with a smaller group so it didn't seem really cramped. It might seem like a high ticket price, but it is so worth it! The catacombs really are a unique experience you won't forget.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Kinga N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A really neat way to see the catacombs with a funny, knowledgeable and nice guide. The skipping the line is no joke, since to line is around the whole block. Also the fact that you learn so much more and get to see parts of the catacombs usually not open to the public makes is really worthwhile. I really liked how the guide allowed to take our time and had all sorts of interesting tidbits to add to everything. I was a little worried about finding him, but he was right by the entrance with the yellow umbrella, impossible to miss, so everything was super easy, interesting and well worth every penny. Yup, if you are considering the catacombs and you are an English speaker, this is the tour to take for sure. Also the other tour advertised here does not include the entrance fee and you have to stand in line.

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

Allison S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome tour. Our guide Alberto was fantastic. The chance some parts of the catacombs you can only see on this kind of tour was well worth the money. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

pappalardo.angel

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a really surreal and fascinating experience. We had no issues with wait time or lines. Our tour guide was pretty good as well and extremely knowledgeable regarding the catacombs and Parisian history. My only criticism is that it was a relatively large tour group and it was hard to hear/see the tour guide depending on where we were in the Catacombs.

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

Featle

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

The site is very interesting and worth a visit. However, we were disappointed with the tour, primarily due to the tour guide narration. We felt we may have learnt more using the standard ticket and headsets. It would have been wonderful to learn about how the catacombs were mined, the geology, detains of the underground resistance, etc

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

nancy z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a wonderful tour. Nice size group so we can all see and hear the guide.
Important to note: There are a bunch of cramped spiral steps up out of the Catacombs. Wear appropriate shoes. The catacombs are slippery in some areas. One lady fell in our group, and several others had a hard time making it up the the steps at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Steven K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was great to be able to skip the line to enter the Paris Catacombs. It was especially great to have a very knowledgeable guide to explain what we were seeing over the 2 km walk through the tunnels. We also had access to part of the Catacombs that is not open to the general public.

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

Robyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a fantastic tour! The line to get into the catacombs is very long, so it was lovely to be whisked to the front and let in immediately.

Our guide, Charlie, was fantastic! He was enthusiastic and knowledgeable and very entertaining. He clearly knew his stuff.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Lindsae L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour guide, Avi was very informative and able to answer all of our questions! I've been to other catacombs/ossuaries in the past and found the addition of a guide to be really helpful in this situation as the bones in Paris are not as elaborately arranged as they are in other locations. Having the history, background info, and interesting stories presented throughout the walk kept the experience engaging.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Meridith P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A good informative tour that takes you to see parts of the catacombs that the general tour doesn't

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

williamsgerry

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Definitely key to get the guided tour to learn all about what happened in the catacombs.

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

Michael L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic Tour and Guide- Danyl. We got to the stop by the Catacombs and took the bus to the Chateaux's. One by one we were in love. Having our guide Danyl explain as we went through was very important. To know the history behind these massive structures that were built before us was phenomenal. Thank you to Viator and City Tours for making this so pleasurable. We enjoyed the Wine, the Food and the Company! We will definitely use Viator and City Tours on our next adventure.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Whitney O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was fantastic! Very easy meet up-Our tour guide Adam was waiting across from the metro and in front of the catacombs, exactly as described. We not only got to see some impressive castles and drink authentic regional wine, we also learned an amazing amount of french history that surrounds the sites. Would take a tour from City Wonders again in a heart beat.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Chateaux de Chambord, Chenonceau and Loire Valley Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Paris

Sharon K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Definitely worth doing if only to skip the crazy line for those waiting to buy tickets probably saved an hour at least! Our guide was Lilia ?, who had an incredible amount of knowledge about the history of the catacombs and of Paris. Absolutely recommend the tour, especially since otherwise you're just walking through tons of bones on either side of you honestly would have gotten bored and more creeped out after 5 minutes by myself...Much better to listen to the stories behind everything and have the little details pointed out! We also got to explore a locked off area of the catacombs that are NOT open to general/individual ticket holders, so that was cool.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Stephanie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide, Lillia was her name I believe, was an excellent tour guide. She is a history teacher from America and now lives in Paris, and she came well prepared. She had pictures to go along with the stories she told. It was very fascinating . I learned so much about the catacombs. I wish I had more time with her to explore. Definitely ask for her as your guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Barns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our trip to the Catacombs was fantastic. Charlie our English host, a self confessed and #34;Cataphile and #34; - someone who loves going underneath cities into the history was a ripper host who well and truly new his history and background.
It and #39;s amazing there is some much history behind the catacombs.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Brad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

First time going to the Catacombs after many trips to Paris. This is a great attraction to visit and one where skipping the very long line and having a guide made it much better.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

lee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a real experience to see. So interesting and our guide was great. Worth the money.Everybody should do a guided tour to get the information and to protect the catacombs from mindless destruction

Doing what: Skip The Line Paris Catacombs Tour

Norine A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide Randa was amazing! Very entertaining and really new the history of the Catacombs.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Catacombs of Paris Small-Group Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message