Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Château de Fontainebleau

Château de Fontainebleau is a popular destination for those looking for a day trip from Paris. Once here, it can be a full day of fun for the entire family. From touring the massive interior to boating in the lake, riding a Segway around the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 86 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Advhotel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you're tired of the hustle and bustle of Paris tourist with endless lines and big crowds, this excursion is a very worthwhile escape. Vaux le Vicomte is a stunningly beautiful private chateau, off the beaten track. There might have been less than 40 people when we were there, so when touring all the various lavishly furnished rooms, I was in there all alone. There might have been a dozen people in the gardens.. Fontainebleau is a busier place, but not overwhelming. It's a beautiful palace to visit, and the nearby town offers some excellent food at suburban prices, i.e. much cheaper than central Paris restaurants. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Anne-Marie P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

All you paid for was a bus trip and entry - no commentary or guide on the bus and the driver just dropped us off with no word on where to go etc. driver was over 15 mins late in picking us up - no apology. Would recommend the chateau and #39;s but would be better using uber or hiring a car to get there.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Melissa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour allowed me to see two very different style chateaus. Found the history of these two very interesting. The guide was very knowledgeable and filled us in on information before arriving at each location. Prompt and on time, followed schedule perfectly. I would recommend taking a tour out of Paris proper with this company. Conveniently located near the Louvre and Tuilliers.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

catchelliott

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The time allowed at each location was enough to enjoy all the aspects of the chateaux's.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Lynda T

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Fontainebleau and Vaux Vicompte are well worth seeing. With this tour you basically just get a bus ride and admission ticket that includes audio guide. You will just barely have enough time to see everything and grab lunch at a kiosk.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Christene T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Vaux le Vicomte was my favorite of the two Chateaux. This is a self guided tour. I recommend someone from the local tour operator explain the tour before we leave Paris. We did not realize the bus was for this trip and people taking the Provins trip. I almost did not get off at the right stop and some people got off at the wrong stop and had to take a taxi to Provins.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

rosalyn.fleischer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

These castles are not to be missed! Vaux is not well known, but the chateau is beautiful and the grounds rival Versailles. Fontainebleau is grand and well maintained, but crowd control and signage are disappointing. Both places have informative audio guides that are included in the tour price. Fun!

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

jwillie925

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Both chateaux were quite beautiful and the guide was very informative. The tour is pretty much all-day, which I expected. But was worth it.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

kattiekwok

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The tour guide shares with me the history during our trip to the Chateau, get the admission ticket and the audio equipment ready for my visit. He is experienced and answered all my questions raised. Yet, the Chateau is quite large. If you are interested to know every displaced items, 4.5-hour tour is not sufficient because the travelling time to and from the Chateau have already taken almost 2.5 hours.

Doing what: Chateau de Fontainebleau Admission Ticket with Transport from Paris

Mary Jane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Enjoyed this tour very much. We were picked up right on time and our driver gave us a wonderful history of the Fontainebleau chateau and French history. He also tied into art movements and explained to us about the painters who first painted open air in the forests surrounding the chateau. It probably would have been nicer if we went in the spring or summer when everything on the grounds would be alive and in bloom, but that was our choice to visit in January. I would not hesitate to book with Viator again.

Doing what: Chateau de Fontainebleau Admission Ticket with Transport from Paris

Tiffnay D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We love going to this chateau. We were lucky that the tour was only for us. Our guide was very informative and this tour is not a full guide but once you are at the chateau, we have the radio set that will give you the history in each room. This is a beautiful chateau and we highly recommend it.

Doing what: Chateau de Fontainebleau Admission Ticket with Transport from Paris

David T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

the bus ride was comfortable, and the chateau's were beautiful

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Lila J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a wonderful tour event well worth the time. The tour departed as stated, leading us into a world of history, art, wealth and wonder. You are given enough time to explore, shoot photo's and shop for gifts. I took snacks with me so that I would not waste time grabbing a bite in the cafe.
Chateaux Vaux le Vicomte provided the historical background to the movie version of, All This and Heaven Too. Thirty minutes away, Chateaux de Fontainebleau, is visually expansive in size with room after room of historical beauty. Both buildings are architectural masterpieces that are worth the visit.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Kimberley J B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Outstanding Chateau deeply connected with France's history.

Doing what: Chateau de Fontainebleau Admission Ticket with Transport from Paris

Bill C USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

We enjoyed seeing the Chateauxs but there was no interaction with anyone- m

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Alison H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour with 2 very interesting Chateaux. Tour Guide was incredibly knowledgeable. Thoroughly enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

radtechy2003

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Instead of doing Versailles we chose to see two chateau's. Glad we did the tour from the beginning it was fabulous. The tour bus was new and modern which had a moon roof and seats very comfortable. The Vaux le Vicomte was my favorite as it was stately and in the country. Lunch at Vicomte was terrific but you need to allow time as you can't do all the gardens and include lunch so budget your time. The Chateaux de Fontainebleau is endless and at times boring but you can choose where you want to go. I would split my time and do some of the gardens which we only had a small amount of time as we didn't know better. This is a full day as we left at 9:00 am and arrived home at 6:30 pm. Viator I have used in New York and Chicago and for the price it is quality all the way.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

skclaudi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was one of my favorite places Vaux le Vicomte. It was such a great day of history and exploration. The sheer beauty of the chateaux and gardens were beyond belief. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

William W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very interesting and impressive visits to great monuments to French history, culture and life. What tremendous achievements in art, architecture, landscaping and culture these two palaces represent. The only negative was could not fully enjoy the gardens in Fontainebleau as it was raining.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Augusta M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Both Chateauxs are breathtaking. The bus is a very efficient way to get to both places. My only complaint is that it took such a long time to sign in and get going in the morning. We arrived at 8:45 and the bus did not really get rolling till almost 10pm. They need to streamline their sign in process. If you go it might be smart to bring a drink and a sandwich as there is so much to see and so little time.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Diane N

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed being able to tour these two chateaux at our own pace. The audio headsets were informative and outlined the history and artifacts at each site. There may not have been a hall of mirrors as in Versailles but the treasures were no less spectacular and there were far fewer crowds.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Ruth M R

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Great driver! Very congenial and well informed! Not enough time to really enjoy Chateau de Fontainebleu When we finished the self guided tour it was time to leave without seeing the gardens or other areas

Doing what: Chateau de Fontainebleau Admission Ticket with Transport from Paris

David G

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The transportation provided was good, because that is all that is provided on the tour. It was understood that this was not a guided tour, but some more information on the tour plan and lunch would have made it more enjoyable. The time is limited at both locations, b ut still worthwhile. Vaux de Vicomte far outshines the chateaux.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Nancy W

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The chateaux were superb as expected, but we were not informed as to what to do with paperwork for Fontainebleau consequently, we left a required voucher on the bus and were denied an audio tour, which hampered our full appreciation of this magnificent site--very disappointed.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

sopclk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a wonderful tour I enjoyed both the Chateauxs and could spend enough time at each.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message