Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Château de Fontainebleau

Château de Fontainebleau is a popular destination for those looking for a day trip from Paris. Once here, it can be a full day of fun for the entire family. From touring the massive interior to boating in the lake, riding a Segway around the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 98 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

JOHN D S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Tour guide was extremely well educated and provided am awesome history of France and Chateau de Fontaineblue.

Doing what: Chateau de Fontainebleau Admission Ticket with Transport from Paris

Lynne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great tour. It was well handled and full of beautiful sights. The two chateaux were lovely, especially Fountainbleau. There was plenty of time to enjoy the grounds, grab a bite, and walk the gardens. I thoroughly enjoyed the day. The price was very good for a full day of enjoyment.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Lynda Gail W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is a wonderful tour you have 3 hours at each place to enjoy the tour, you get audio guides. The grounds at Vaux le Vicomte are fantastic but they are huge you can enjoy them better if you rent the clubcar and drive around rather than walk. The grounds at Fontainebleau are also large the little train is also nice

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Mark A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour!!! Very informative visit to 2 fabulous chateaux!!!
Excellent guides added to experience!!! Near to Paris and shouldn't be missed!!!

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Kirk B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This was a good tour, although there was not enough time to enjoy the gardens at both places. If you are more into seeing the gardens, then I suggest you don't use the audio tour given at Vicomte as there is a lot of useless information that keeps the tour running for too long, and then there is not enough time to see the gardens. Also, when you get to Fontainebleau, the signage is terrible, so if you want to see the gardens, be prepared to rush through somewhat. I wish Viator would actually list the time for travel and the actual time at each venue. The travel time to and from Paris is a little more than four hours, so the time at each place is about two hours if you give yourself an hour for lunch.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

maree

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This tour was booked for the 19th but for some reason was changed to the 17th. As I had already been to Fontainebleau I knew what to expect it is an awesome chateau and a real must see. With Vaux le Vitcomte I was disappointed, perhaps it was the write up it receives that made me expect something different.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Carole L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

The service that picked me up was excellent and the driver relayed so much history to us but the Chateau was so terribly disappointing with only a small area on level one of the right wing available to view. I expected that much of the total Chateau would be open for viewing.

Doing what: Chateau de Fontainebleau Admission Ticket with Transport from Paris

Maryanne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Both of these chateaux are marvelous. Our French friends recommended them instead of some of the more frequently mentioned destinations and they were right. They are beautifully maintained and furnished, and not at all crowded. We could have used more time, especially at Fontainebleau, as there is so much history in every room!

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Dinah V

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Long trip and loved the narration and seeing another chateau. It would be great to have it more furnished true to history. Gardens expansive and beautiful. Wish we had known we needed to rent golf cart to see all the gardens in the allotted time. Did not make it across the moat. Reminded me of the movie Vatel.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

brongard

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a great activity, enjoyed seeing both Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte especially the beautiful gardens at both these chateauxs. The bus was very comfortable and the trip was well organised.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was very good and helpful. Both chateaux were extremely interesting. Food was good at Vaux le Vicomte and fairly reasonable. I enjoyed all the thought that went into Vaux le Vicomte.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

mdmoran2

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The woman checking people onto the bus was rude. sholud have known then that things would not be right. Bus driver was 20 minutes late picking us up from the first stop and 35 minutes from the 2nd stop. this was after he made a big deal to us about being on time. No appologies or anything from him. Never again on Viatar. Both Chateaus wer fabulous.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Advhotel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you're tired of the hustle and bustle of Paris tourist with endless lines and big crowds, this excursion is a very worthwhile escape. Vaux le Vicomte is a stunningly beautiful private chateau, off the beaten track. There might have been less than 40 people when we were there, so when touring all the various lavishly furnished rooms, I was in there all alone. There might have been a dozen people in the gardens.. Fontainebleau is a busier place, but not overwhelming. It's a beautiful palace to visit, and the nearby town offers some excellent food at suburban prices, i.e. much cheaper than central Paris restaurants. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Anne-Marie P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

All you paid for was a bus trip and entry - no commentary or guide on the bus and the driver just dropped us off with no word on where to go etc. driver was over 15 mins late in picking us up - no apology. Would recommend the chateau and #39;s but would be better using uber or hiring a car to get there.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Melissa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour allowed me to see two very different style chateaus. Found the history of these two very interesting. The guide was very knowledgeable and filled us in on information before arriving at each location. Prompt and on time, followed schedule perfectly. I would recommend taking a tour out of Paris proper with this company. Conveniently located near the Louvre and Tuilliers.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

catchelliott

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The time allowed at each location was enough to enjoy all the aspects of the chateaux's.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Lynda T

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Fontainebleau and Vaux Vicompte are well worth seeing. With this tour you basically just get a bus ride and admission ticket that includes audio guide. You will just barely have enough time to see everything and grab lunch at a kiosk.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Christene T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Vaux le Vicomte was my favorite of the two Chateaux. This is a self guided tour. I recommend someone from the local tour operator explain the tour before we leave Paris. We did not realize the bus was for this trip and people taking the Provins trip. I almost did not get off at the right stop and some people got off at the wrong stop and had to take a taxi to Provins.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

rosalyn.fleischer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

These castles are not to be missed! Vaux is not well known, but the chateau is beautiful and the grounds rival Versailles. Fontainebleau is grand and well maintained, but crowd control and signage are disappointing. Both places have informative audio guides that are included in the tour price. Fun!

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

jwillie925

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Both chateaux were quite beautiful and the guide was very informative. The tour is pretty much all-day, which I expected. But was worth it.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

kattiekwok

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The tour guide shares with me the history during our trip to the Chateau, get the admission ticket and the audio equipment ready for my visit. He is experienced and answered all my questions raised. Yet, the Chateau is quite large. If you are interested to know every displaced items, 4.5-hour tour is not sufficient because the travelling time to and from the Chateau have already taken almost 2.5 hours.

Doing what: Chateau de Fontainebleau Admission Ticket with Transport from Paris

Mary Jane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Enjoyed this tour very much. We were picked up right on time and our driver gave us a wonderful history of the Fontainebleau chateau and French history. He also tied into art movements and explained to us about the painters who first painted open air in the forests surrounding the chateau. It probably would have been nicer if we went in the spring or summer when everything on the grounds would be alive and in bloom, but that was our choice to visit in January. I would not hesitate to book with Viator again.

Doing what: Chateau de Fontainebleau Admission Ticket with Transport from Paris

Tiffnay D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We love going to this chateau. We were lucky that the tour was only for us. Our guide was very informative and this tour is not a full guide but once you are at the chateau, we have the radio set that will give you the history in each room. This is a beautiful chateau and we highly recommend it.

Doing what: Chateau de Fontainebleau Admission Ticket with Transport from Paris

David T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

the bus ride was comfortable, and the chateau's were beautiful

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Lila J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a wonderful tour event well worth the time. The tour departed as stated, leading us into a world of history, art, wealth and wonder. You are given enough time to explore, shoot photo's and shop for gifts. I took snacks with me so that I would not waste time grabbing a bite in the cafe.
Chateaux Vaux le Vicomte provided the historical background to the movie version of, All This and Heaven Too. Thirty minutes away, Chateaux de Fontainebleau, is visually expansive in size with room after room of historical beauty. Both buildings are architectural masterpieces that are worth the visit.

Doing what: Chateaux de Fontainebleau and Vaux le Vicomte Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message