Giverny is a tiny village west of Paris which has been made famous by the painter Claude Monet calling it home. In 1883 Monet fell in love with the place through a train window. He found a house there, moved in with his lady-friend, his two sons, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 216 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Heather S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fat Tire Tours was absolutely my favorite tour of my two week European vacation. Our guide, Nick, was hilarious and gave us great info about the sites along the way. I was pleasantly surprised about how much we saw besides the Garden itself. On the way there we stopped in a small town called Vernon where we bought a picnic lunch from local artisan shops. We enjoyed it by the river and then continued on by bike to Giverny and the Garden. The biking distance was actually very short, but through a beautiful area. I thought that this company was professional, entertaining, and well-organized. I would definitely book with them again.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour

Martin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing tour and guide. Very knowledgeable. He gave historical background on the way to Giverny. Comfortable ride on the bus. A beautiful home and town away from the city.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Myrna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was very well organized and timing was perfect - taking bus from Paris City Vision office to Giverny, then lunch delicious French cuisine with wine in a beautiful quaint restaurant setting!, to Versailles Palace and back to Paris. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor, which is important, as one can feel a bit sleepy, as bus took off early morning. All in all, the 4 of us, buddies in high school and now close to being senior citizens and coming from different states in the U.S. had a memorable time in Paris. This day trip was worth taking as it added more fun while we bond with each other. Giverny and Versailles are definitely must-see places while visiting Paris!

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Abigail W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A really easy way to see Giverny. Our guide was very good and the flowers amazing. Wasn and #39;t expecting much from the house but it was a nice surprise and the town is charming if you have a little time left to see it.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet

Chris K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Giverny was one of my favorite places to visit. Lunch was exceptional. Guide was excellent. Would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Stephen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We absolutely loved this tour. It was a perfect way to end our trip. Giverny and it's gardens are absolutely gorgeous and lunch was spectacular. Versailles was wonderful as well however the weather was very hot and there were so many tourists making it difficult to stay together and get a good look at things. We were there in the beginning of August so I would guess if you go during a different time of the year you won't have issues with excessive tourists and hot weather. Versailles was the only negative part of the day due to those things but the place itself we really enjoyed. Overall this is great tour and make for a relaxing day outside the city.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Liliana E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

WE HAD A WONDERFUL TIME! THE GUIDE WAS VERY NICE, GIVERNY PLACE WAS INCREDIBLE! LUNCH BEAUTIFUL IN THE COUNTRY SIDE AND VERSALLES AWSOME!!!! THAMKS!

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

nancymourer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Giverny was all we could have hoped for and more. Joelle? our tour guide was marvelous. So much knowledge about both places.

Versailles was also a place I would not have wished to miss but alas, there were so many visitors that it was difficult to enjoy all its beauty and history. Still both places are a must see.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Phong P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an excellent tour. Our guide, Kit, was very entertaining and knowledgable about art and France history. That's right. On our way to Giverny by train, he gave us a very animated history lecture and how art/painting styles were affected. The bike ride was bee pleasant through the small town but there were points during the ride where you have to merge with traffic, as that is always risky. Even though bikes have the right of way, always remember, right of way is given not taken, so be careful.

During the bike ride, we stopped at a cute little area of the town to buy some picnic items and had lunch underneath a shaded park by the river. While we were eating, Kit talked some more about art. Very interesting and the picnicking idea was a delightful addition to this tour. The Monet garden was also great the flowers were amazing photo opts. His house was nice, a quick walk-thru was all we needed. We were more impressed by the gardens.

This tour was provided by fat tires tour and they or specifically, Kit, did an excellent job giving us a tour of Giverny.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour

Kristine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Carlos was a great tour guide! He made the tour an enjoyable experience. It was great to see more of France outside of Paris. Giverny was gorgeous. Lunch was pleasant in a small town. We were able to cut through the lines to get into Versailles with enough time to tour the garden. I would gladly do this tour again!

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Elizabeth J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

From the very prompt pick-up at our abode, and the guides descriptions of places on the way to Giverny we knew we were in safe hands.At Giverny his knowledge about Monet,his extended family and the gardens made our stay memorable. The luncheon place was well chosen and the food and wine were superb.Finally when we reached Versailles and met with crowds ,that was when we felt we were fortunate to be wired-for-sound in the hands of a masterful guide whose knowledge of the place was awesome. All in all a memorable day.I am sure that our fellow travelers three Singaporeans, and three from the U.S would agree with we two Australians That this a memorable day.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Bernice M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful tour to Giverny. I have wanted to see the water lilies for a very long time, and, despite the rain, was not disappointed. I walked along the path, absolutely enthralled, and did not want to leave. Monet's house was also amazing. We had lunch at a lovely inn and then drove to Auvers sur Oise to learn about the last days of Vincent Van Gogh. Our guide was excellent and made both of these places come alive. What a wonderful day!

Doing what: Auvers sur Oise and Giverny Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Josh K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

From Trip Advisor- Robin the Tour Guide Made the Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour Awesome! We booked the Monet and Giverny bike tour through Viator on short notice without issue. We traveled as a family of 4 with a 10 and 13 year old. The entire trip was as described on the voucher. At 9:45 the day of the tour we met our awesome tour guide Robin who was full of knowledge and energy at the train station on the platform. After a short train ride 45 minutes we arrived in Giverny to gather our picnic supplies and bikes. This is a locals town and the shops are fantastic and reasonably priced. I was happy we were given the option to pick our own food and interact with the locals while shopping. We were given about 30- 40 minutes to gather our supplies and then we departed on a short 10 minute ride where sat at edge of the Seine to enjoy our lunch. We jumped on the bikes after lunch and rode 15- 20 minutes to Monets gardens. We used a side entrance to the garden which jumped the line and were given 2 hours to explore. In my opinion 2 hours was plenty of time and allowed us to sit at a café for a bit prior to our ride back. My only complaint was the chain on my 10 year olds bike popped off a few times but with a wrench and basic bike knowledge we were able to fix the issue. Cheers!

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our driver picked us up right on time outside our apartment rental. He was very pleasant and the group included our family of four, along with three other people. Giverny was beautiful, but somewhat crowded the morning we were there. The crowds, however, did not detract from our enjoyment of the gardens and home. Absolutely beautiful! We then had lunch at an old mill which is now a restaurant. The food was wonderful and the atmosphere very picturesque and quaint. We then traveled to Versailles, which was definitely crowded, but we were able to see everything we wanted to see. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and communicated with us through headsets throughout our tour. We had a little time after touring the palace to visit the gardens on our own. There wasn't a lot of time left to do this, but we found it to be enough time to walk around and see the highlights. This was one of our favorite excursions the entire week we were in Paris. It was fun to get out of the city for a little while and enjoy the countryside. Overall, we would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Lala A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour did not go on the June 25 2015, it went on June 26 2015 because of Paris taxi strikes. On June 26 2015 our tour guide picked us up from our Hotel and picked other two families. The tour guide was very nice explained everything, took us to Giverny where we were on our own pace going through the gardens, which were beautiful and the house which was quaint, the gift shop which i bought something and the little museum and gardens that surround it, not forgetting the poppy field in the back, everything was just exquisite. Next stop was at a restaurant, beautiful place and three course lunch with red wine, delicious.
Then we went to Versailles palace, the tour guide explained everything and we also had free time in the gardens to take pictures. At the end of the day we were all dropped off at our Hotel. It was a great and a beautiful day. I would take Viator again.

Lala

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

hearnek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour is a full on day tour to explore both Giverny and Versailles. You are given plenty of information from the guides and you have plenty of time to explore on your own both of the places.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Matthew R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a wonderful trip. It was a great way to get out of the city for the day into the very lovely Normandy countryside. Our guide, Manuel, was awesome. He was a great driver through the crazy Parisian traffic and was even able to book a late-day appointment with a dentist back in Paris for one of the tour members who broke a tooth during the trip. During our ride to Giverny, he gave our group of 7 a non-stop commentary in both English and Portugues about Monet, Paris of the 1800s and today and the French countryside. He even through in a few 'extras' for us--I won't spoil it unless you are lucky enough to get him as your guide. This guy has to be the hardest working tour guide in Paris!
The Monet gardens were wonderful, made even better by getting there early with our small group. Since we beat the big busses, we had a much quieter moment to tour for the first half hour or so.
The lunch at the Moulin de Fourges was wonderful. The setting was truly idyllic.
Auvers-sur-Oise is moderately interesting, but our guide set our expectations appropriately. It certainly would not be worth a trip on its own, but coupled with Giverny was worth seeing.
All in all, it was a great day and this was definitely the way to do it.

Doing what: Auvers sur Oise and Giverny Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Gregory C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our Guide was excellent. She knew the history of both places and knew how to navigate us through Versailles despite the crazy crowds. While we enjoyed seeing Versailles the hit for us was seeing Giverny and Monet's home and gardens. Just beautiful. Wished we had even more time to explore the little village a bit. The lunch between the two stops was excellent in taste and presentation and they did not skimp on the wine either. We met people from all over. It was an excellent value an done of our favorite days.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Karen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The day trip was awesome. Giverny was beautiful and tranquil. The drive was nice as well leaving the city. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. We had time to do the gardens on our own which I liked. I was expecting a boxed lunch on a picnic table but instead we received a three course sit down meal. The food was great but it was also nice to meet the others on the tour. Versailles was breathtaking. It was a little too crowded as the tour progressed and hard to keep up with our group but overall I would recommend it. There wasn't much time at the end for the gardens but the fountains were not on and there were few flowers. All in all, a great day.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Donald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a phenomenal day trip. We thought the visit to Giverny was just a small town we would visit. We didn't even realize that this was a trip to Monet's house and garden. Our guide Laura was tremendous. She led us around and knew her history, and her English was perfect. Some things didn't go quite right in Versailles and she straightened it out immediately. I would recommend this day trip to anyone.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

dustymartin2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a must do tour if you are visiting Paris! Giverny is such a beautiful and peaceful little town and the Monet house and property is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been. Standing and looking at the place where Monet painted Water Lillies will just give you chills and the understanding of why he wanted to paint there. It is breath taking! Very nice lunch afterwards at the restaurant with the waterwheel.
Versailles was beautiful as well. Wish we would have had more time to spend there. An excellent day trip.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Diane C G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful trip in a nice van with an interesting, knowledgeable guide. Monet's Giverny gardens were a dream come true. Visited gardens in the morning when the light and colors were pretty to photograph the flowers. Luckily got in when crowds were starting to grow from buses of visitors. But go if you want to see the flowers and Monet's home. Lunch on Epp River was delicious and setting was lovely. Afternoon at town Auvers was solemn considering VanGogh's death and grave but felt privledged to go to church he painted and walk around the town. Those who appreciate VanGogh's work should go.

Doing what: Auvers sur Oise and Giverny Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Nora L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Saw so much more than I had hoped, thanks to our guide/driver Manuel. His steady stream of information about the trip from Paris to Giverny and Versailles was not only informative, but funny and insightful. The trip from Giverny to the palace through back roads and quaint towns was beautiful and my travel mates from Australia and Brazil gave the trip a wonderful friendly touch. With apologies to Paris, this was my favorite part of my trip to France. If you want to pack a lot into one day, this is the way to do it!

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Kaye H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Enjoyable tour to a special place. Unfortunately at this time of year the crowds were somewhat overwhelming! Hotel pick up was appreciated as were interesting comments by the driver as we drove through Paris and countryside en route to Giverny.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Caroline K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My good friend and I had an amazing day with the Viator tour to Versailles and Giverny. I have to say that the highlight of my entire vacation was the tour of Monet's home and garden at Giverny. The most amazing place and the first moment I get to come back and particularly with the Viator tour, I will do so. Another highlight of the trip was the amazing stop at Fourges for lunch. Not only was it so picturesque, but the lunch was one of the best I had during our visit to Paris. Versailles was amazing. The tour guide was excellent and did an amazing job of explaining. I would highly recommend Viator to anyone who would ask. I will ensure that I always look at Viator tours prior to any other tour company.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message