Giverny is a tiny village west of Paris which has been made famous by the painter Claude Monet calling it home. In 1883 Monet fell in love with the place through a train window. He found a house there, moved in with his lady-friend, his two sons, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 228 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nic1206

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a very enjoyable tour. Our tour guide was friendly, engaging and knowledgeable. It was a small group of eleven and this meant we were able to get to know the other passengers and chat as we went from place to place. Versailles was of course amazing and a memorable experience. Being in a small guide meant it was easier to stay together in the very busy rooms and we were also able to ask the guide lots of questions. We had some free time in the garden and were able to see the amazing musical fountains and appreciate the landscaping. Lunch was next. It was at a very picturesque restaurant and included authentic French food and wine. The guide gave us time to appreciate the lovely scenery before heading off to GIverny. This was an absolute highlight for me as I really appreciate Monet's pictures. The gardens were beautiful and the landscaping was amazing. We were given free time to explore the gardens and house at our own leisure and we thoroughly enjoyed it. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Dahlia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were grateful Viator.com could accommodate us at very short notice for a Sunday trip to Versailles and Giverny with Paris City Vision. This is a great combination as both locations are very interesting to see in their own way and combining them makes for a great day out.

It was a small group, just six of us, and we had the luxury of being picked up at our Airbnb apartment by our host for the day, the inimitable chauffeur cum guide extraordinaire, Honoré. We left the city at 0845h and with the very light Sunday morning traffic we were walking the grounds of Versailles by 0930h.

Honoré not only entertained us with his wonderfully informative stories but paved the way with priority access to the most interesting places. Our time in the gardens was necessarily short, which suited us as we spent adequate time inside the palace and saw the main rooms.

From Versailles we drove for an hour or so into Normandy and had lunch at the picturesque Moulin de Fourges in the heart of the impressionist region. This really was an idyllic location in a tranquil setting where we got to know our fellow travellers all the better before moving on to the second part of our day.

After lunch we went to the nearby village of Giverny and spent the afternoon wondering through Monet's lily ponds, garden and house and visiting the impressionist museum.

It was a lovely day, interesting and well paced with a good group and fantastic guide seeing two different parts of France's great heritage. . Well done Viator.com and Paris City Vision.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

wvillamil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Yvonne was our tour guide. She picked us up in a van and off we went. She spoke the entire trip of the locations we visited. She knew her stuff. Versailled was nice, but not enough time to visit the gardens. We barely had 15 minutes to see the gardens, when it takes at least a five minute walk each way from the palace to get there. Back in the van for the almost hour long trip to a beautiful place for lunch. This was a quality meal, wine included, from there to Giverny to see Monet's house, gardens and water lilly pond. This was a full day tour and you are driven back to your hotel.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Mrs Jocelyn M S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My family and I had a great afternoon at Giverny. Your English speaking guide was first rate and went out of her way to be extremely helpful and friendly at all times. We loved it. This was my second Paris excursion with Viator and I would have no hesitation in recommending you to anyone visiting Paris who wishes to venture beyond the city limits.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet

Jerry E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful guide Joseph picked us up at our apartment and was very knowledgeable about the sites of Paris on the way out of town. Giverny was every thing we expected and more. We were very glad we booked this excursion.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Susan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was fantastic. My fourteen year old granddaughter and I took this tour last July and it was extremely well organized. Though it was expensive it was well worth it. There were long lines at both places which we were able to bypass completely. We also had a charming lunch at a locall Moulin near Giverny. It was the perfect way to explore two places on our bucket list for Paris and its environs with no hassle.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Michelle L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent! Versailles was great with the extra time to be on our own in the gardens. I was with my 15 year old grandaughter and she loved it! I had never been to Giverny, !what a beautiful place! Some magic about i t! The stop for lunch very refreshing, and good food, and good company in the small tour. The guide was very good, my grandaughter was very impressed, which makes me thankful that I booked this double tour.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Jasmine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was probably the best part of my entire trip to Paris. Nothing better than riding through charming towns and stopping at a cute market to compile our own picnic lunches. Giverny has always been on my must-do list when I got to France, and it was everything I hoped for.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour

Jasmine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was probably the best part of my entire trip to Paris. Nothing better than riding through charming towns and stopping at a cute market to compile our own picnic lunches. Giverny has always been on my must-do list when I got to France, and it was everything I hoped for.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour

Edward H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Well planned day trip to see the out of the way places. Spectacular gardens of Giverny, delicious lunch at charming former watermill and historic imposing Versailles - what a terrific day! Only negative was dealing with the crowds of other tourists but was so glad to have our guides help us navigate through them. Thank you for a memory- filled day.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Heather S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fat Tire Tours was absolutely my favorite tour of my two week European vacation. Our guide, Nick, was hilarious and gave us great info about the sites along the way. I was pleasantly surprised about how much we saw besides the Garden itself. On the way there we stopped in a small town called Vernon where we bought a picnic lunch from local artisan shops. We enjoyed it by the river and then continued on by bike to Giverny and the Garden. The biking distance was actually very short, but through a beautiful area. I thought that this company was professional, entertaining, and well-organized. I would definitely book with them again.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour

Martin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing tour and guide. Very knowledgeable. He gave historical background on the way to Giverny. Comfortable ride on the bus. A beautiful home and town away from the city.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Myrna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was very well organized and timing was perfect - taking bus from Paris City Vision office to Giverny, then lunch delicious French cuisine with wine in a beautiful quaint restaurant setting!, to Versailles Palace and back to Paris. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor, which is important, as one can feel a bit sleepy, as bus took off early morning. All in all, the 4 of us, buddies in high school and now close to being senior citizens and coming from different states in the U.S. had a memorable time in Paris. This day trip was worth taking as it added more fun while we bond with each other. Giverny and Versailles are definitely must-see places while visiting Paris!

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Abigail W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A really easy way to see Giverny. Our guide was very good and the flowers amazing. Wasn and #39;t expecting much from the house but it was a nice surprise and the town is charming if you have a little time left to see it.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet

Chris K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Giverny was one of my favorite places to visit. Lunch was exceptional. Guide was excellent. Would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Stephen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We absolutely loved this tour. It was a perfect way to end our trip. Giverny and it's gardens are absolutely gorgeous and lunch was spectacular. Versailles was wonderful as well however the weather was very hot and there were so many tourists making it difficult to stay together and get a good look at things. We were there in the beginning of August so I would guess if you go during a different time of the year you won't have issues with excessive tourists and hot weather. Versailles was the only negative part of the day due to those things but the place itself we really enjoyed. Overall this is great tour and make for a relaxing day outside the city.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Liliana E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

WE HAD A WONDERFUL TIME! THE GUIDE WAS VERY NICE, GIVERNY PLACE WAS INCREDIBLE! LUNCH BEAUTIFUL IN THE COUNTRY SIDE AND VERSALLES AWSOME!!!! THAMKS!

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

nancymourer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Giverny was all we could have hoped for and more. Joelle? our tour guide was marvelous. So much knowledge about both places.

Versailles was also a place I would not have wished to miss but alas, there were so many visitors that it was difficult to enjoy all its beauty and history. Still both places are a must see.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Phong P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an excellent tour. Our guide, Kit, was very entertaining and knowledgable about art and France history. That's right. On our way to Giverny by train, he gave us a very animated history lecture and how art/painting styles were affected. The bike ride was bee pleasant through the small town but there were points during the ride where you have to merge with traffic, as that is always risky. Even though bikes have the right of way, always remember, right of way is given not taken, so be careful.

During the bike ride, we stopped at a cute little area of the town to buy some picnic items and had lunch underneath a shaded park by the river. While we were eating, Kit talked some more about art. Very interesting and the picnicking idea was a delightful addition to this tour. The Monet garden was also great the flowers were amazing photo opts. His house was nice, a quick walk-thru was all we needed. We were more impressed by the gardens.

This tour was provided by fat tires tour and they or specifically, Kit, did an excellent job giving us a tour of Giverny.

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour

Kristine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Carlos was a great tour guide! He made the tour an enjoyable experience. It was great to see more of France outside of Paris. Giverny was gorgeous. Lunch was pleasant in a small town. We were able to cut through the lines to get into Versailles with enough time to tour the garden. I would gladly do this tour again!

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Elizabeth J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

From the very prompt pick-up at our abode, and the guides descriptions of places on the way to Giverny we knew we were in safe hands.At Giverny his knowledge about Monet,his extended family and the gardens made our stay memorable. The luncheon place was well chosen and the food and wine were superb.Finally when we reached Versailles and met with crowds ,that was when we felt we were fortunate to be wired-for-sound in the hands of a masterful guide whose knowledge of the place was awesome. All in all a memorable day.I am sure that our fellow travelers three Singaporeans, and three from the U.S would agree with we two Australians That this a memorable day.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Bernice M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful tour to Giverny. I have wanted to see the water lilies for a very long time, and, despite the rain, was not disappointed. I walked along the path, absolutely enthralled, and did not want to leave. Monet's house was also amazing. We had lunch at a lovely inn and then drove to Auvers sur Oise to learn about the last days of Vincent Van Gogh. Our guide was excellent and made both of these places come alive. What a wonderful day!

Doing what: Auvers sur Oise and Giverny Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Josh K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

From Trip Advisor- Robin the Tour Guide Made the Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour Awesome! We booked the Monet and Giverny bike tour through Viator on short notice without issue. We traveled as a family of 4 with a 10 and 13 year old. The entire trip was as described on the voucher. At 9:45 the day of the tour we met our awesome tour guide Robin who was full of knowledge and energy at the train station on the platform. After a short train ride 45 minutes we arrived in Giverny to gather our picnic supplies and bikes. This is a locals town and the shops are fantastic and reasonably priced. I was happy we were given the option to pick our own food and interact with the locals while shopping. We were given about 30- 40 minutes to gather our supplies and then we departed on a short 10 minute ride where sat at edge of the Seine to enjoy our lunch. We jumped on the bikes after lunch and rode 15- 20 minutes to Monets gardens. We used a side entrance to the garden which jumped the line and were given 2 hours to explore. In my opinion 2 hours was plenty of time and allowed us to sit at a café for a bit prior to our ride back. My only complaint was the chain on my 10 year olds bike popped off a few times but with a wrench and basic bike knowledge we were able to fix the issue. Cheers!

Doing what: Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our driver picked us up right on time outside our apartment rental. He was very pleasant and the group included our family of four, along with three other people. Giverny was beautiful, but somewhat crowded the morning we were there. The crowds, however, did not detract from our enjoyment of the gardens and home. Absolutely beautiful! We then had lunch at an old mill which is now a restaurant. The food was wonderful and the atmosphere very picturesque and quaint. We then traveled to Versailles, which was definitely crowded, but we were able to see everything we wanted to see. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and communicated with us through headsets throughout our tour. We had a little time after touring the palace to visit the gardens on our own. There wasn't a lot of time left to do this, but we found it to be enough time to walk around and see the highlights. This was one of our favorite excursions the entire week we were in Paris. It was fun to get out of the city for a little while and enjoy the countryside. Overall, we would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Lala A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour did not go on the June 25 2015, it went on June 26 2015 because of Paris taxi strikes. On June 26 2015 our tour guide picked us up from our Hotel and picked other two families. The tour guide was very nice explained everything, took us to Giverny where we were on our own pace going through the gardens, which were beautiful and the house which was quaint, the gift shop which i bought something and the little museum and gardens that surround it, not forgetting the poppy field in the back, everything was just exquisite. Next stop was at a restaurant, beautiful place and three course lunch with red wine, delicious.
Then we went to Versailles palace, the tour guide explained everything and we also had free time in the gardens to take pictures. At the end of the day we were all dropped off at our Hotel. It was a great and a beautiful day. I would take Viator again.

Lala

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message