With its rich display of culture and stellar collections, the Louvre may be the world's greatest art museum. The former fortress began its career as a public museum in 1793 with 2,500 paintings and now houses some 30,000, covering human ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2120 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

JEFFREY DUKE S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

While there was a large crowd in the Louvre, our guide guided us through the crowds and gave us an amazing tour. It was great to skip the line which was very long.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Judith M H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our tour guide was excellent and it was the best way to experience the Louvre. The crowds are minimal in the evening hours. We couldn't believe the size of this museum. Most importantly our tour guide provided a wonderful historic prospective of the Louvre and made sure we saw the most important works of art! My husband and I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Joseph T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Best way to experience the Louvre in a few hours.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

Mellisa L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

A very enjoyable time at the Louvre with our guide Caroline who is amazingly knowledgeable n absolutely NOT boring at all. But I felt too much time was taken on initial logistics.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Michael R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Great to skip the line. A bit of direction on where to start the tour would be helpful, as we felt we were going backwards most of the time until we figured it out. The louvre is huge and confusing. Also, Richelieu wing was absent from the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

Justine B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

Very disappointing that the ticketing office was very difficult to locate and that there was no-one to assist at the main entrance of the Louvre.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

Note from Viator: 

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you had some difficulties location the tour office. Please note, the staff at the Louvre is not associated with our local tour operator so they would not be able to directly assist you at the museum itself. However, please remember to always check your Viator voucher, as we have "Directions" right at the top of the second page that includes the meeting point address, the local tour operator's contact details, details on how to redeem your voucher, and other such important information that help facilitate a smooth tour transaction. If all else fails, you may always call us at Viator as we are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, to help with your travel needs! We hope you enjoyed your time in Paris.

lizgolf34

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

I was disappointed with the Louvre tour company. We were told by the guides we used the day before by viator that the guides would be waiting for us across the street from the Louvre. We took a taxi and had them drop us off at that location. We spend some time finding the guides and were not able to. We finally called the company and was told we need to go to their offices three blocks away to pick up the self guided audio. It was not what we thought we paid for.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

Note from Viator: 

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear this tour experience did not meet your expectations. Please note, although you may have traveled with another guide through Viator, not all our guides operate with the same local tour company, so they do not necessary have the most accurate information for other company's meeting locations. To ensure you always have the correct details, please remember to always check your Viator voucher, as we have a "Directions" right at the top of the second page that includes the meeting point address, the local tour operator's contact details, and other such important information that help facilitate a smooth tour transaction. If all else fails, you may always call us at Viator as we are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, to help with your travel needs! We hope this did not affect your enjoyment of the Lourve itself and look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

mpminske

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Make the most of your visit to the Louvre and book this tour! Our guide Catherine was fabulous. I learned so much.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Larry P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is an amazing tour. The museum holds some of the most amazing works of art, is the largest museum I have ever seen and the guide was very knowledgeable, patient and showed us many exits that we would have overlooked. When initially visiting the Louvre invest in this tour because our flight and hotel cost several thousand dollars we are from Arizona so a few hundred to fully appreciate the artist you'll need on-site expertise from the tour guide. The tour guides themselves are very, very nice people.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small Group Louvre Masterpieces Express Tour

wilmalsisk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Different guides for each tour, but both were very knowledgeable, efficient and thoughtful. Our Notre Dame guide knew some unique history of the site. We would never have seen the best highlights of the Louvre in three plus hours without the guide who had interesting facts to share about each piece of art we viewed.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Small-Group Skip-the-Line Notre-Dame Tower and Louvre Museum

Gordon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was amazing. The tour guide was extremely informative and directed us to the major sites since we only had a 3 hour window to see the Louvre. She explained the highlights of the paintings, statues and artifacts as we weaved past the lines and the crowds. We really enjoyed the tour and find Viator provides excellent people to guide the tours. We will definitely use there services again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Galileo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The guide is very professional and glad that we arrived on Wednesday and could enjoy Louvre till 9pm - thanks for the tips!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

denlori

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide made this tour fascinating and interesting. The tour gets you past the very long lines waiting to buy a ticket and immediately gets you into the museum. Because the Louvre is so large with thousands of paintings, sculptures and artifacts, this tour had to curate the experience down to a few hours. Our guide had a strong knowledge of history and the artwork itself. She was able to tell us the meaning of certain colors used, the political or personal events that influenced the painter and point out clever statements the artist may have painted into the picture. This tour includes the highlights of the Mona Lisa and Venus de Milo, but because of our guide, I was able to appreciate all of the artwork as unique! I would highly recommend this tour to a friend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Bethany C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

this tour was AMAZING! Our guide, Raphael, knew everything there is to know about art and the history of the Louvre. She was exceptional in helping us beat the crowds, and showing us the true highlights of the museum. For any first time visitors, this tour is a MUST! I can't wait to go back and do it again!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Richard F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Louvre guide was wonderful and the wine and cheese tasting totally fun!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Evening Louvre Tour and Wine Tasting

armomup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very good tour which was smooth and very informative about the history of the louvre znd importantly got us to the highlights with the back story

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

ddie13 USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a lovely tour with a very engaging tour guide. She was very informative and gave us so much to see throughout the walking tour. There was a lot to see at the Louvre, but i didnt feel like i missed out on a lot of the exhibits. We covered a good number of artwork, without feeling like we barely spent time appreciating it.

BTW: when you do get to the Mona Lisa, please remember to turn around. The floor to ceiling / wall to wall painting is so much more awe inspiring! you wont regret it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Eric P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Easy to pick up tickets and were able to get into the Louvre within about five minutes.

Doing what: Louvre Museum Skip-the-Line Ticket

Lana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I waited until my last day in Paris to go to the Louvre and it was a great way to wrap up my visit! I was really tired after, since it was a three hour tour, but it was all worth it. Our tour guide, Bearthe, was a well of information and she made it more of an experience not just a museum tour. This tour is highly recommend! I will do it one more time in the future -

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Andrea R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Saved a lot of time and energy by skipping the line with an amazing guide which toured us all around the musuem by request and explained everything needed to know in the Louvre, we loved absolutly everything and completely recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small Group Louvre Masterpieces Express Tour

Jen

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

For this booking, you need to present the voucher first to the tour company office that is located outside the Louvre. It is only a few walks to the Louvre. They will provide all the necessary information. True to the title Skip the Line. Practical choice. Saves you a lot of time.

Doing what: Louvre Museum Skip-the-Line Ticket

Carolyn Anne M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Again picking up a ticket offsite and vague directions to the louvre so we walked around a bit. I wanted to get an earlier tour but that couldn't be accommodated and so we took it without the audio seeing as there was a 32 eu deposit and it would require walking back there to drop it off. Not worth the money spent on it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

Wes W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Expect lines for the Skip the Line tour at the Louvre.... We over paid for this event for sure.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

shari T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

the tour guide was fun, enthusiastic and wonderful. the Louvre was our favorite thing we did in Paris. The Louvre is so big it would be crazy to do it on your own. Book the 3 hour tour, we did the night time tour and it was awesome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Colleen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved the Louvre! Our guide was very knowledgable, you could spend days here.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message