With its rich display of culture and stellar collections, the Louvre may be the world's greatest art museum. The former fortress began its career as a public museum in 1793 with 2,500 paintings and now houses some 30,000, covering human ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2102 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

shari T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

the tour guide was fun, enthusiastic and wonderful. the Louvre was our favorite thing we did in Paris. The Louvre is so big it would be crazy to do it on your own. Book the 3 hour tour, we did the night time tour and it was awesome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Colleen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved the Louvre! Our guide was very knowledgable, you could spend days here.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Ditchnorman Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour of the musuem with an exceptional tour guide who's knowledge and passion was very evident in his presentation and personality. Great way to skip the queues and avoid missing something of interest in a very vast and complex building. Would highly recommend this walking tour to visitors so you can appreciate the wonders of the Louvre.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Jeffrey R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great way to see the Louvre at your own pace. The skip-the-line tickets are really worth it!

Doing what: Louvre Museum Skip-the-Line Ticket

Deborah Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The perfect way to see the Louvre! It's so enormous, Sylvia I think that's her name... guided us to all the top sculptures and paintings and not only gave us the background of each piece, but the history of the Louvre as well. She was extremely knowledgeable on all aspects of history, French Greek, Roman... We did not need headsets because there was only 5 of us and we could ask as many questions as we wanted. You can't beat having a personal guide in a museum of this magnitude!

Doing what: Semi-Private Tour: Louvre Museum With Skip-the-Line Entry

Catherine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The walking tour was a perfect introduction to the Louvre. Our tour leader, Bere probably incorrect spelling was wonderful. Her knowledge was expansive and she was very keen to make sure everyone understood the art. She went over the time limit because she really wanted to share everything possible. If she is an example of the rest of the guides, I would highly recommend this company. The value was also very fair.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Sonya Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were very glad we took a guided tour of the Louvre. Yes, you get the assistance to make it to the high-points. However, the historical background of the Louvre was more interesting to us. We would never have gotten that information in such an interesting way without the tour. We have always heard about how big the Louvre was and how you can get lost. We are thankful that the well structured tour allowed focus and made the visit such a positive experience. We felt like we were missing so much information when we explored later by ourselves. I highly recommend that make your first visit to the Louvre with the help of this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Maria F. R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour guide, Emily was great. The tour lasted about 3hrs. Emily is very passionate about the Louvre and it showed during the tour. The guided tour is a must when visiting the Louvre!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Christina R

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

I was disappointed that I couldn't pick my ticket up right at the Louvre or even have my voucher on my phone. Going to the Tourism office to pick up the ticket is an inconvience and would be the same amount of time as just waiting in line.

Doing what: Louvre Museum Skip-the-Line Ticket

Margaret S

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

I knew the Louvre was going to be crowded but this was much worse than we thought. Our guide was OK her headset did not work correctly and we had a very hard time hearing her, You only get a very short time to look at everything. I know this museum is huge and we only saw the highlights and it was nice to be able to skip the lines...that was the best part. Otherwise if possible try to go at a time when it is not so crowded, don't really know when that would be. You just have to be patient and expect it to be very crowded.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Frankie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Louvre is an amazing place and the guided tour was fantastic. Violet, our guide, was very knowledgable and made our tour very interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

cyke7777

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very good tour. Saw all the best of the Louvre and had time to explore.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really enjoyed this tour, and can't imagine going to the Louvre without taking this. We learned so much and the tour really brought the museum to light. Our tour guide Caroline was excellent, she had a microphone and the group had earbuds, so you could always hear her. The group was not too big as well. I highly recommend this tour if you want to appreciate the highlights of the Louvre. You could spend days here and would miss the stories if you are on your own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really enjoyed this tour, and can't imagine going to the Louvre without taking this. We learned so much and the tour really brought the museum to light. Our tour guide Caroline was excellent, she had a microphone and the group had earbuds, so you could always hear her. The group was not too big as well. I highly recommend this tour if you want to appreciate the highlights of the Louvre. You could spend days here and would miss the stories if you are on your own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Madelyn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide was amazing!!! So happy that we did this tour. The Louvre would have been utterly overwhelming and this tour showed us the major highlights without the headache!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Rebaylor1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Outstanding evening tour with an amazing and enthusiastic guide who shared his knowledge of the amazing artifacts and masterpieces, ending in the extravagant apartments of Napoleon! Perfect way to see the Louvre for the first time!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

deanmarcon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Highly informational tour that highlighted the most important works of the Louvre. Loved the place and the whole concept of a living breathing museum that was once a fortress. Incredible collection of works in one place.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Colleen H Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great way to see the Louvre when you are short on time. It was nice to be able to see what we really wanted to see and decide how much time we wanted to spend at certain exhibits. The audio tour gives great detail Highly Recommend!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

Patricia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We toured with Caroline, she was awesome, very knowledgeable about many of the pieces we were shown. Love the history on the French and Italian art as well as the historical conversation about the Louvre itself.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Clark Grant M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I felt this tour was well worth the money. Our guide was very knowledgeable and she made the tour very interesting. The length of time was perfect for us although you could spend days in the Louvre to cover everything. This tour points out the highlights. I would recommend this tour for those who would like to see the Louvre but have limited time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

MARTIN B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a fantastic tour. We were able to skip the long tourist lines which was worth the price to start with. Our guide, Sylvia, was superb. She combined an in depth knowledge of French history, art, and mythology. She was informative as well as entertaining. There is no way we would have seen or learned as much as we did if we had visited the Louvre on our own. If your time is limited, this is an especially good way to visit the Louvre.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

jewelhll

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Camille, our Tour Guide was excellent, I could listen to her all day long she was so knowledgable about the Louvre, she made it come to life. I had a great time at the Louvre and with Camille.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

William H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a wonderful way to explore the Louvre! I had always considered the Louvre to be overwhelming. Our recent experience with Catherine as our guide has changed my mind. Time flew as we lost ourselves in this magical place. Catherine's knowledge of art and history made me feel as if the paintings, sculptures, and the Louvre itself came alive. A definite highlight of my Paris trip.

Jackie

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

William H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a wonderful way to explore the Louvre! I had always considered the Louvre to be overwhelming. Our recent experience with Catherine as our guide has changed my mind. Time flew as we lost ourselves in this magical place. Catherine's knowledge of art and history made me feel as if the paintings, sculptures, and the Louvre itself came alive. A definite highlight of my Paris trip.

Jackie

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Pamela G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We really enjoyed this tour: my husband and I were the only ones on it, and we were accompanied by our own guide, Violette, an art historian, who took us to the best known masterpieces and told us all about the artists and the creation of the works. She was very knowledgeable. It was just what we wanted -- a two-hour tour of the highlights of this massive museum. We were free to explore the Louvre on our own after the tour.

Doing what: Skip-The-Line Louvre Small-Group Tour: Introduction to the Masterpieces

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message