With its rich display of culture and stellar collections, the Louvre may be the world's greatest art museum. The former fortress began its career as a public museum in 1793 with 2,500 paintings and now houses some 30,000, covering human ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2014 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andrew G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

PERFECT way to see the Louvre! We saw a lot of highlights, learned a lot, and our tour guide was super knowledgeable! He even helped my partner propose to me!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Gina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is the way to see the Louvre to understand the art, history and context. It was wonderful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

Kathleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Nothing like the Louvre. Our guide had degrees in both history and art history, and was remarkable in her insight. She showed us the highlights and provided great detail, and then we had all the time we wanted on our own. Great tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Annette D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Good to purchase tickets before going as there was no waiting time in the line. Overall excellent day touring the Louvre.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

Bruce w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you are in Paris and do not take this Viator Louvre Museum tour you will miss out on one of the best gifts that you could give to yourself.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Elizabeth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Claire M was very knowledgable and friendly and encouraged our teens to try to speak a little French! We lucked out and had a private tour since a few folks didn't show up in the group many guides per time slot and then they divide you up in to small groups. The Louvre is giant and it is so helpful to have a knowledgable guide take you to the hot spots. It's a good 3 hours, and well worth the price. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Frederic B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide, Laura, was exceptional! She spoke perfect English and deftly moved our group from the tour office into the Louvre and through the most outstanding exhibits. Having a guided tour was well worth the expense.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

esperancetiles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a very knowlegable guide who showed us all the important parts of the Louvre. There were thousands of people on the day but somehow we managed to get a good view of everything and got some great photos

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

skye

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We were short on time so found this to be a great way to get a quick overview of the Louvre, and our guide Sylvie was fabulous.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small Group Louvre Masterpieces Express Tour

Stephen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is so worth the money. The tour was great. The skip the line was the even better. The lines were so long for entry and there was a heat wave that week -- I am happy to report we did the smart thing. Also, the guide knows where to go and what to highlight. Louvre is enormous and a guide will prevent you from wandering off to oblivion. This is best for a first timer. If you have been there before, then I think that would be a different story, though you may still want to find ways to skip the line. We did the Wednesday evening tour and that gave some relief from the crowds too. Loved it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Laura A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful tour! Wonderful Tour guide! She made such a difference for my children who were seeing the Louvre for the first time. Kept my preteens interested and engaged. We had a great time and would recommend it. Get there early to go to the gift shop in the Louvre because after the night tour it will be closed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Barns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a place the Louvre is. Wow - and our host Violet was fantastic and is so passionate about the History and the Art itself.
Violet was able to take us on a tour which covered what we needed to see in the Louvre in 3 hours or so rather than the 3 days it might have taken us to see everything.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Jeff L Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great way to see the main attractions within the Louvre

Doing what: Viator VIP: Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum Small-Group Tour with Champagne and Gourmet Lunch under the Pyramid

robinowen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent. With a maximum of six people on the tour, we had almost an individual tour experience with our highly informative guide, Joanna. We were able to skip the very long queue to enter the Louvre and Joanna took us to all the major exhibits we were keen to see. The three hours went by in a flash as she was so interesting and knew so many fascinating little snippets about many of the sculptures and paintings. I'd definitely recommend this tour to anyone going to the Louvre.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

dpgunby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a wonderful time at the Louvre. Joanna, our guide was fantastic. She was able to capture our boys attention ages 11 and 14 for the full three hours of the tour. She was very knowledgeable and passionate about the Louvre and its art collection as well a very personable person. Our tour was in the evening and as a result we were able to avoid the very large crowds. I would recommend the evening tour and if you get lucky you will have Joanna as a guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Edwin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I would give this 10 stars if I could. Caroline D from City Wonders Tours was our guide. With a degree in art history, she knew so much about the museum and the art. Her love for the art was apparent as well. We were very lucky and the museum was not crowded. Some of us stayed for a bit extra with Caroline and saw the apartments of Napoleon III. They are AMAZING. I had gone on the Versailles tour the day before and it was do crowded and rushed I barely saw anything. At the louvre, all of the furnishings are original. BOOK THIS TOUR

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Rosemary A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour with a very knowledgeable guide. Don't hesitate to book. The group was small and we saw all the important highlights. Louvre can be overwhelming due to its size and crowds. We had a very stress-free and enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Daniel C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

i am just giving 4 stars because pretty much you are on your own you just pick up tkts and audio guide at the tour office but not necessarily a tour the office is right in front on the louvre very convenient just walking to the entrance and a real skip the line you can spend all the time you want there

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Audio Tour

Chesley M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

When we got inside the Louvre, out tour guide waited in the lobby for everyone to go to the bathroom and grab water at the store it took almost 1 hour of our tour. I and everyone else surely realized that I should have water and go to the bathroom before the tour! Then the tour was extremely rushed she talked before we all got into the room about the pieces and gave no time for pictures before we were off to the next piece. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Thomas F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

On the plus side, you skip a very long line. Our expectations were a guide with a good grasp of English and knowledge about the museum and the art works contained. Our guide was understand when she said things like meet over there or We will stop here. When it came time to learn about a piece of art, the language skills deteriorated and for the most part unintelligible. We saw the Venus D'milo and the Mona Lisa, as best we could with the crowd skipping the line does not avoid the masses inside the museum. It did not help that it was a hot day and thus hot inside the Louvre that is not the fault of the guide - but it amplified our discomfort of the totality of the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Paris Louvre Museum Guided Tour

Diane P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our group was just 4 people and our guide, Maili. I have a mobility problem but Maili, guided us through the Louvre effortlessly. Got to see the big names like Mona Lisa, Venus De Milo and Winged Victory of Samothrace plus more! Highly recommend if you are short on time in Paris! This is the tour for you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Small Group Louvre Masterpieces Express Tour

victoria H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent. We were so fortunate to have Carolyn - and due to the groupings, shared her with only another couple. She was very knowledgeable and fun to be with. Without her, we would have been lost in the cavernous halls of the Louvre. Wish she could have stayed for the wine tasting. We will recommend this tour to others. The wine tastings were excellent, with good selections and knowledgeable sommelier. The location in Louis XV's wine caves couldn't be beat. The sommelier gave us a great location for a follow-on wine experience that evening.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Evening Louvre Tour and Wine Tasting

Becky United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

So worth having a tour guide as this was our first time at the Louvre. She didn't just guide us through the museum, she offered us a lot of history as well. Very informative and great pace at going through the museum- not too fast and not too slow. She offered us plenty of time for photos when we wanted them. Thank you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Margaret L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide, Michelle, was perfect. He kept us moving through the Louvre, so we could see as much as possible. His love of art was contagious.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Allan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Throughly enjoyable tour of the Louvre, you could be walking around trying to find your favourites for weeks. Heve took us on a great tour explaining about the progression of art through the various periods. I agree with him that the Mona Lisa is not as nice as da vinci's The Virgin and Child with St. Anne. The length of the tour was about right as we were getting tired. You could easily spend a number of days here.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message