Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Mémorial de la Shoah (Shoah Memorial)

Opened in 2005, the Shoah Memorial, or Memorial de la Shoah, is a museum located in the Marais, Paris’ 4th arrondissement, dedicated to the 76,000 French Jews deported from France to Nazi concentration camps during World War II. Honoring their ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 65 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bruce L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of the best tour guides I have ever had

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

Elizabeth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really interesting and unique. Knowledgeable and engaging guide!

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

caroline.alper

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour and tour guide. Highly recommend if you want to know more about this interesting section of Paris.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

Glenn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour with Kit! Loved it so much we booked the same company for Versailles the next day. 100 recommend.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

petekind

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent trip, good guide!

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

anita92024

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very very good tour and excellent guide. Learned a lot about the Marais district and what went on in the olden days and how it transitioned to the hip place it is today. A very worthwhile tour led by a charming guide (whose name escapes me. Please see that he gets proper credit.)

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

Christine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent. Highly recommend. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgable about the history of the area and was highly engaging.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

maree

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We met our guide on a hot afternoon. Our guide Gill had a good grasp on French history, he was kind to stop in shady areas when giving his talks. If you want to have insight as to the make-up of this district this is the tour to take. mareeS.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

Peter W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The guide was very personable and because only the three of us she went the extra kilometer. It was fascinating to learn about this district of Paris. We sense that the younger indigenous French generation are ashamed of what happened to the Jews during the Nazi occupation. This is a great way to utilize your time when making a short visit.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

Amy-Jo W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved our guide's, Octavia, enthusiasm and knowledge of the Marais District. It was a great introduction to familiarize ourselves and we even stayed the rest of the day there AND went back another day.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

Andrew D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Had a great time with Stephanie. The Marais, has so much history, even if bloody. Great to know more before walking around blind to what is really around you.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

Elizabeth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very informative and entertaining. Gil was fantastic.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

Shelley R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was an interesting section of Paris to experience. The guide was interesting and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

Margaret E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We did this tour on our first afternoon in Paris and as we were staying in the Marais district it was great to explore this area and learn about the history and landmarks. Our guide Kit gave us lots of information and on later days we were able to find our way easily around the area and return to places Kit had shown us. We did try the falafels Kit and they were delicious.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

Anne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent guide, full of anecdotes and historical information

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

Katherine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Loved it! I had been to the Marais in the past, but the history provided by the guide was really good. Based on what he had told us, I returned a few days later and took the English-speaking tour of the Memorial de Shoah (the English version is given the second Sunday of each month), which was very well done. All in all, I strongly recommend this walk.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

stuart e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Stephanie is VERY knowledsgeable and kept it interesting! knew the places to go and where to stop for a moments rest Knows the history! GREAT GUIDE!!

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

Rhonda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide was very good and it was very helpful to learn about the different communities that live in the bustling Marais.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

Susan L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The weather detracted from this tour. Paul, our guide, did an excellent job under some very trying conditions, heavy rain. Marais is an old and interesting section of Paris that we would visit again. The area also includes the Pompidou Center, a museum of modern art, the Hotel De Ville (City Hall), and a Holocaust Museum.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

Judy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

I loved this tour. Gil Stolz was an amazing walking encyclopedia of the area and we thoroughly enjoyed the mix of intellect and human story. Recommended.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

Mrs L A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

An excellent tour with an excellent guide. He was knowledgeable and charismatic and I learnt a lot.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

HARRIET C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was an excellent tour! The guide was the best! Great history, architecture, current event in the areas we were in and very personable! The most enjoyable tour of our trip! we loved it! Perfect!

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

Janice F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

What a wonderful guide, absolutely fantastic! Excellent walking tour in an area full of interesting history. Our guide was so knowledgeable and able to convery her information in an interesting way that kept our attention. She could answer any question posed and had a lovely personality .We thoroughly enjoyed our walking tour which was one of the highlights of our visit to Paris.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

Anthony R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Fabulous walking tour! Our guide was Steph and she was a fountain of knowledge and had a sense of humour to boot. We had a very small group (only 4) and she was able to answer any and all questions. She had a real love of the area and her enthusiasm was contagious.

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

Susanne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Brilliant! Our guide was fantastic and we really got a great feel for the marais...brilliantly planned, would definitely recommend!!

Doing what: Paris Walking Tour: Discover the Marais District

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message