Montmartre is the hilly part of Paris. There are stairs galore and the crowning glory is, of course, the famous Sacré Coeur Cathedral perched at the top, looming over Paris. There is another church on the hill, the older Saint Pierre de ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 280 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cheryl L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Charles was awesome! He brought Montmartre to life and we really enjoyed his stories. The Views from Sacre Coeur were amazing. The afternoon spent at the D'Orsay Museum was great too.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Bob M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Without Quinton, our tour guide, we would have been hopelessly lost in Montmartre and we would not have known the history.

Doing what: Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and Optional Musée d'Orsay

Frances P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way to see Paris. The green route covers just about every point of interest you would wish to see. We also went on the yellow route to Montmartre. We filled in 2 days hopping off and on.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Tour Hop-On-Hop-Off

Ruby R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was one of my favorite tours in my entire Europe trip! Our guide, Marie, definitely knew her art history. She made it fun as well as informative. I'm a total Impressionist art nerd, and Montmartre is now my favorite area of Paris.

Do not miss Musee d'Orsay...it was the best museum I've ever visited.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Kathryne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour run by Secret Food Tours of Paris was amazing. We toured Montmartre stopping at 2 chocolate shops, a bread and pastry shop, a cheese and then a meat market. At each stop our guide picked up items. We then, a group of 9, sat is their shop and enjoyed the purchases while the guide explained the food and dining culture. This was fun, relaxing and very informative. A must if you are in any way a foodie traveling in Paris

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

Janice A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Both of these tours were great. The morning one in Montmartre helped us see some interesting spots and hear some tidbits we would not have known on our own. The evening tour was also a lot of fun. They were short enough 90 minutes each so they did not take up a lot of our day. I would recommend both.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour plus Night Walking Tour

Bill W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful tour. Our guide was an art student who reviewed the entire Montmartre neighborhood in the context of the turn-of-the-last-century artist scene. Musee d'Orsay was take-it-or-leave-it, with some of the pieces in which I was most interested on loan to other museums.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Savvy Sightseer USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

With Cedric, the tour guide, a Gourmet French Food Tour booked by Viator Tours through Pariss Montmartre district is a saunter not just in and out of top-notch French pastry shops, but also a trip through French history. Meeting at the Blanche metro station, Cedric warmly greeted me, and we started out on our adventure, despite our being a party of only two. The tour, operated by a local group, was billed as a small group excursion with a max of 8 people, but was guaranteed to run without a minimum. My trip was just after floods and strikes had hampered tourism in the city, but the local tour administration had reassured me via email that the tour would go as scheduled, and so it did.

Cedric enthusiastically shared his love of Paris while leisurely wandering through town. From pointing out the inner citys original Roman wall boundaries on a nearby transit map to leading the way to a sweeping view of Paris from the steps of Sacre Coeur, Cedrics walking tour was insightful, fascinating, interesting and, above all, a delicious tasting of Paris!

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

Jillian O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a very enjoyable time on this tour around Montmartre. The guides, who were both history students, were very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about their subject and importantly they were entertaining. The walk lasted an hour and a half and my only 'criticism would be that it was not long enough. Both my husband I were enjoyed it so much we would have liked it to have continued. Very well worth doing.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

skim1031

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We loved every minute and every morsel. Montmartre was like a village inside Paris - small, strollable, quiet. Our guide was charming and SO knowledgeable - we went only to the BEST shops, tried something at each one, and then had a substantial Paris-style lunch in a former wine cellar. Shopping afterward was also delightful. I think it was our favorite single outing in a 24-day European trip.

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

Becky United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a superb tour and high light of our time in Paris. Our guide PJ was fantastically knowledgeable and passionate about everything to do with food. We spent the morning exploring fascinating local food producers in Montmartre, also sampling some of the delicious specialities they had to offer. Later on in the tour we had the opportunity to enjoy a wonderful lunch made up of all local produce that had been collected by PJ during the morning, accompanied by French wines which complimented the food perfectly. I would absolutely recommend this tour to anyone wishing to have a memorable Parisian culinary adventure!

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

mary m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

we were very lucky to be the only 2 people on the tour that morning---and Heidi ,our Tour Guide was sooo interesting and informative---and we went back afterwards to several of the places she,d shown us--eg the bistro Deux Moulins--felt she gave us a good overview of the History of Montmartre/Paris---we would definitely use this tour company again

Doing what: Montmartre and Moulin Rouge and Sacré Coeur Walking Tour

James R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great way to get oriented on Montmartre, impressionist artists. Guide was great and a treat to be with. Great way to spend 2 hours, walking tour, interesting and manageable.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Cynthia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was one of the highlights of our trip to Paris! We booked it based on reviews we had read and were not disappointed! Our guide, PJ, was wonderful! He was extremely knowledgable and shared lots of great information about the history of Paris, Montmartre, and the wonderful food we sampled. We stopped at specialty food shops along market street with PJ taking time to explain what we were looking at and why it's so good! We then went to a cozy spot and feasted on many different types of bread, cheeses, meats and wine. There was no shortage of food or wine. We were stuffed! After that, we went for dessert fresh crepes and visited a local chocolate/macaroon shop. We were so full they packaged our samples to go.
PJ was a delight and we really enjoyed his sense of humor and stories of his travels and adventures. We could tell that he really loves leading these tours and sharing his passion for French food and wine with others. We would 100 do this same exact tour next time we go back to Paris!
One note of advice. If you are meeting the tour at the Abbesses metro stop, take the elevator ALL the way to the top!! The signage isn't great and we weren't sure where to get off and ended up walking up a TON of steps to get to the top!

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

margaret

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend this tour - not much walking but great food and wine. Very informative about the Montmartre area. Lots of fabulous food cafes and shops in the area.

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

karen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Marion was our guide and she did a wonderful job. She was full of interesting stories about the artists back in the early days of Montmartre and then she brought us up to date about the current population. We felt she kept up a good pace, also. We would use her agin and recommend her.

Doing what: Montmartre and Moulin Rouge and Sacré Coeur Walking Tour

Barbara Jean P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We caught the Metro to Montmartre from the Latin Quarter and although the weather was hit and miss, this walking tour, guided by the experienced and knowledgeable Kit, made for a great tour. There are quite a few steps to go up and down but it is not a fast pace and the view from Sacre Coeur worth it.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Albert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent, almost two-hours long show.
We got a bottle of champagne and we truly enjoyed a one-of-a-kind performance.
It's ended with a famous can-can and stairs-and-feathers finale.
It's a variety show more than a cabaret but it's full of dance, gymnastic acrobatics, animals and there's even a quirky magician. The costumes were amazing, the dancing was top-notch.
There is a partial nudity involved topless female dancers so it's not for children, and children are not allowed inside, but it's classy and elegant.
Actually we've had a bit of a problem with our tickets our fault. We've had a small emergency in Paris, and we missed the show. I thought we lost the tickets but I've called the Moulin Rouge and I've asked if there was any chance of re-scheduling, for next day. They helped us and they understood the problem. We we re-booked and we enjoyed the show next day.
Their customer service speaks very good English and they were very helpful.
There is easy access to the theatre by taking a Metro line 2. Just find your connection/transfer from your hotel and take line 2 to Blanche station. The theatre is right there. You can't miss it.
If you have a little time to spare you may take a walk to Place Pigalle, and Montmartre neighborhood.
Pigalle used to be a 'red light district'. Not so much today but there are still some girls girls girls shows available, and also some sex-shops.
Montmartre, a few blocks north, is a wonderful neighborhood filled with a charm of the old world.
But, that's a story for a whole new review.

Doing what: Moulin Rouge Show Paris

Daniel O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

One word: FANTASTIQUE!

Our tour guide, Randa rhymes with Panda, which is what she said when she introduced herself, was amazing. She spoke with such enthusiasm as we walked through the streets of Montmartre, telling storied about the artists and the history of the region. The tour of Clos Montmartre was great too. The woman at the vineyard was so lovely and spoke with such passion! I was hanging on her every word. This is a must-do for wine lovers in Paris.

Doing what: Montmartre Tour with VIP Clos Montmartre Vineyard Visit

tantlock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide P.J. was amazing! He took us all around the Montmartre district informing us about the history surrounding the area and Paris. P.J. was extremely outgoing, lively and knowledgeable. This tour made our last day in Paris very memorable. The food and wine was fabulous. We couldn't have asked for anything more. We had the best time.

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

lynn h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great trip under difficult circumstances - accident blocking access for vans at CDG. Drivers were encouraging and fun. Great tour of Montmartre while dropping off other passengers.

Doing what: Paris Shuttle Arrival Transfer: Charles de Gaulle Airport (CDG)

dave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wow! I literally teleported inside the famous Louvre museum as well as Notre-Dame cathedral! I walked through Montmartre and the Champs Elysees...while standing on the Eiffel Tower! Got to access the Eiffel Tower without having to wait in line. Loved it, and I would like to congratulate the team for launching this new activity. All the best!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Eiffel Tower Priority Access Admission with Virtual Reality Tour

robert b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was one of the most entertaining tour /walks that I have been on. The Montmartre neighborhood and it's past residents are well known and most interesting. Our guide Adele is an actress and entertainer, suddenly breaking out into song and dance with a je ne sais quoi.....engaging and emotive.
This is not so much an intensive art tour, but a vibrant neighborhood immersion. It should be mentioned that this is an uphill excursion ending at Sacre Coeur, perhaps the highest point in Paris! The ticket to the Musee d'Orsay not nearby! gets you in the members entrance. Useful.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Ben M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

All the stops are manned by staff, the buses come very frequently, and the route was great. Also did the Montmartre route which was well worth doing to visit Sacre Couer.

Doing what: Big Bus Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Althea G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Going on a Tour in Montmartre was awesome. I got to take a look at the local town how everything was how people lived, and how they eat. Everyday the baker makes fresh breads for people and the local only purchase what they need for the day. Not like North America where we purchase what we need for two weeks. It really was an eye opening experience and I learned a lot about different meats, cheeses, bread, wine, and tasty desserts. My tour guide PJ was the best I hope everyone goes on this tour.

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message