Montmartre is the hilly part of Paris. There are stairs galore and the crowning glory is, of course, the famous Sacré Coeur Cathedral perched at the top, looming over Paris. There is another church on the hill, the older Saint Pierre de ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 304 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stephanie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was amazing! Montmartre is a MUST SEE if you are visiting Paris. Our tour guide, Didier was knowledgeable, fun, and a great resource. We tasted all of the amazing foods offered in Montmartre and really got to feel like locals. I highly recommend this tour and Didier as he was awesome!

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

Courtney S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The photo of this tour is slightly mis-leading as we spent very little time with Macaroons, but honestly... it didn't matter. The whole night was excellent. We walked around Montmartre finding cheese, meat, dessert, breads, and chocolates/macaroons, stopping at each place to pick up a part of our meal and learn a little bit of history. The tour ended up at the food tour office where we had quite a night talking, drinking, and just generally having fun as we ate our bread, meat, and cheese. Eric was very knowledgeable and funny and was a wonderful host. It was definitely a highlight of our trip.

The only thing I wish we had been able to do was purchase our own meat/cheese/bread/chocolates in each shop if we wanted. As we were leaving the next morning, we weren't able to go back to the places Eric showed us to purchase our own items. Perhaps we could have done it, and it just wasn't clear, but I didn't want to hold up the whole group with my chocolate purchase, so I did not ask.

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

Tom N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

My husband and I recently took this tour through Montmartre. We ended up being the only two on the tour. Alois was our tour guide. She was wonderful! She was patient with questions and requests to repeat words in French. She was very insightful and knowledgable about Paris and Montmartre. And she obviously loves not only the city but sharing it with others as well. Hopefully when we return to Paris we will be able to connect with her on another tour.

Doing what: Montmartre and Moulin Rouge and Sacré Coeur Walking Tour

Billstav33

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour gives a good brief overview of the history of French food, you get to see inside a number of specialist establishments. The guide PJ is a local and extremely passionate and very well informed. He knows food. He also knows Montmartre and you get to see around the area and get an understanding of the history and importance of food in the community.

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

Ruth D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This Tour by PJ gives you an insight to Paris that you would not have seen otherwise and provides you with history and insight to Montmartre. PJ gives you brilliant and invaluable information, on how to identify a proper Boulangerie to what to look for in the menu and decor of a really Parisian family run local restaurant. He showed and allowed us to try so many different foods, gave advise on how to select good produce like any other local at the local shops. It was also a very interesting historical, political and economic tour of Paris and France, and leaves you with an understanding of how Montmartre and Paris came to what you see today! I cannot recommend this tour enough! Be prepared to eat!

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

Laurel Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I live in Montmartre and signed up for the secret food tour to find out more about my neighborhood. I was introduced to a couple of vendors that I did not know as well as confirmation that my butcher, Jacky Gaudin and fromagerie are the best! The group was well Organized, on time and a wonderful surprise
was tasting all we had gathered at the end of the tour. Our guide was well informed and very much fun to be with.
thank you for a fun tour.
Sincerely,
Laurel Yoder

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

Evyn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

May was a fantastic guide and we loved our quick tour of Montmartre. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Matt M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was fabulous! Our guide, Solene, led us to several local, completely French shops for meats, cheeses, and chocolates while telling about the history of Montmartre, the ways restaurants and foods are rated. Then our group enjoyed all that we gathered along with lots of types of wines back at the Secret Food Tours place and learned more than we ever imagined about French foods. Solene was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and great with our 2 young daughters!

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

Stacey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

What a wonderful food experience! I highly recommend this tour through Montmartre which has a cool vibe and amazing food. You will not be disappointed and you will leave full of lovely cheese, charcuterie, bread, pastries, chocolates, and wine!

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

Kevin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Eric lead a fun and interactive tour through Montmartre. The adventure ended at a bar where we had a feast of all of the wonderful things we purchased along the way, paired with French wines.

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

pjsgolden

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I have used the double decker buses before while in Paris, but we booked this in advance and it worked out well. We already had vouchers and they had added on an area that wasn't available before when I was there. Now they have a route that can take you pretty close to the Moulin Rouge if you want to check out that area or Montmartre. It also included a river cruise and that was nice as well.

Doing what: Big Bus Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a very nice private walking tour through the Montmartre area. Claudia was very knowledgeable of the neighborhood area and helped to point us to some nice non-touristy restaurants after the tour. She provided a great combination of cultural, historical, and architectural aspects of the area. We would have never been able to experience it all on our own.Claudia was very pleasant and it was evident that she enjoys meeting people and providing these tours.

Doing what: Paris 2-Hour Private Historical Walking Tour of Montmartre

bakerkm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was great. I really enjoyed walking on out of the way streets around Montmartre and learning more about the Impressionist painters.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Megan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a fantastic way to spend the morning! We had Sarah for our 10:30am tour, and she was absolutely lovely. She took time to show us some historic sites around Montmartre as well as hitting some delicious food spots. You eat a bit while you are walking around the neighborhood, but a lot of what is happening at the different shops is information about what to look for in at a cheese monger, or a boulangerie, or a meat shop. It was extremely informative as well as being about the food.

After walking around for a few hours, you picnic with all of the things purchased by your tour guide that morning. What fun! You sit together and have bread, cheese, meat, sweets, and wine! I highly recommend this tour! Have a great time!

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

Deborah Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was the best thing we did! Our first visit to Paris and my husband is a good but nervous traveler so this Paris orientation put him at ease. Of course the credit goes to our guide, Milan, who was an amazing host and historian. Paris is a big city to take in all in one 8 hour round but Milan managed to ease us into the Parisian living with his in-depth knowledge of French history and blending of modern culture. We walked around the Montmartre district and the Basilica Sacre Coeur. And afterwards we stopped for a wonderful lunch before ascending the Eiffel Tower - all the way to the summit! Our Eiffel Tower guide was also fabulous - She had a great sense of humor and was very interesting. Our final stop was at Notre Dam Cathedral before heading back to our place. This tour was expensive but we definitely got what we paid for.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Full-Day Sightseeing Tour with Eiffel Tower

Ahmet A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great way to see the highlights of Montmartre. This was probably my favorite tour of the several we did. Musee d'Orsay is amazing! We didn't have a chance to visit the Musee de l'Orangerie, unfortunately. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and pointed out great highlights of Montmartre.

Doing what: Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and Optional Musée d'Orsay

Mark L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Simply marvelous! Our guide, Solene was passionate, knowledgeable and disarmingly witty infusing quirky anecdotes into her narratives on the history and context of the food culture in Paris and Montmartre. It was delightful going into little food shops where you can let your senses alight on the most beguiling foods. We nibbled away through the shops while learning how to be a more discerning epicure in Paris and recognize the tells of authenticity and quality. The hours slipped away as we savored cheeses, meats, bread, wine and even a crepe and coffee- really it was divine and Solene was such fun! I've never said this before in a review but Solene deserves a RAISE as she is a treasure!

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

kpa05

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Claudia was just the best. it was a private tour, only my mom and I. We were walking slow because those streets are very steep, and Claudia gracefully kept up with our slow pace, pointing out even tiny details that we would've never been able to notice on our own. she was very knowledgeable of the whole area. She was warm and welcoming. i would recommend this trip to anyone. I had personally never been to Montmartre, and it was amazing.

Doing what: Paris 2-Hour Private Historical Walking Tour of Montmartre

William H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

An absolute must for anyone who enjoys sampling regional food and wine. P.J., our guide, led us on a culinary delight. We visited several shops in Montmartre, sampling delicious foods along the way. The tour culminated in a cafe where we were treated to wines and foods from our various stops en route. Put this on your itinerary. It's too good to miss!

Jackie

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

william b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Quentin was a wonderful guide. He took us off the beaten path and was full of interesting insights on Montmartre. You would be lucky to get him as a guide.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

neeta b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

August 2016: Excellent walking tour in a small friendly group. Our guide Delphine was super passionate and enthusiastic. We all felt so relaxed with her and there was a great rapport. Very knowledgable about the local area. It's a shame we all couldn't sit at a local cafe and experience the village life in a practical way on the tour! Montmartre is a beautiful place and I highly recommend this tour if you like a leisurely walk to explore the cobbled streets and hilly paths. Delphine shares some good local insights. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Carol G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was very informative and friendly. We loved the walk through Montmartre but were particularly impressed seeing the magnificent art in the Musee D'Orsay. It was very worthwhile for all art lovers.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Cheryl L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Charles was awesome! He brought Montmartre to life and we really enjoyed his stories. The Views from Sacre Coeur were amazing. The afternoon spent at the D'Orsay Museum was great too.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Bob M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Without Quinton, our tour guide, we would have been hopelessly lost in Montmartre and we would not have known the history.

Doing what: Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and Optional Musée d'Orsay

Frances P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way to see Paris. The green route covers just about every point of interest you would wish to see. We also went on the yellow route to Montmartre. We filled in 2 days hopping off and on.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Tour Hop-On-Hop-Off

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message