Montmartre is the hilly part of Paris. There are stairs galore and the crowning glory is, of course, the famous Sacré Coeur Cathedral perched at the top, looming over Paris. There is another church on the hill, the older Saint Pierre de ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 264 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

skim1031

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We loved every minute and every morsel. Montmartre was like a village inside Paris - small, strollable, quiet. Our guide was charming and SO knowledgeable - we went only to the BEST shops, tried something at each one, and then had a substantial Paris-style lunch in a former wine cellar. Shopping afterward was also delightful. I think it was our favorite single outing in a 24-day European trip.

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

Becky United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a superb tour and high light of our time in Paris. Our guide PJ was fantastically knowledgeable and passionate about everything to do with food. We spent the morning exploring fascinating local food producers in Montmartre, also sampling some of the delicious specialities they had to offer. Later on in the tour we had the opportunity to enjoy a wonderful lunch made up of all local produce that had been collected by PJ during the morning, accompanied by French wines which complimented the food perfectly. I would absolutely recommend this tour to anyone wishing to have a memorable Parisian culinary adventure!

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

mary m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

we were very lucky to be the only 2 people on the tour that morning---and Heidi ,our Tour Guide was sooo interesting and informative---and we went back afterwards to several of the places she,d shown us--eg the bistro Deux Moulins--felt she gave us a good overview of the History of Montmartre/Paris---we would definitely use this tour company again

Doing what: Montmartre and Moulin Rouge and Sacré Coeur Walking Tour

James R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great way to get oriented on Montmartre, impressionist artists. Guide was great and a treat to be with. Great way to spend 2 hours, walking tour, interesting and manageable.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Cynthia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was one of the highlights of our trip to Paris! We booked it based on reviews we had read and were not disappointed! Our guide, PJ, was wonderful! He was extremely knowledgable and shared lots of great information about the history of Paris, Montmartre, and the wonderful food we sampled. We stopped at specialty food shops along market street with PJ taking time to explain what we were looking at and why it's so good! We then went to a cozy spot and feasted on many different types of bread, cheeses, meats and wine. There was no shortage of food or wine. We were stuffed! After that, we went for dessert fresh crepes and visited a local chocolate/macaroon shop. We were so full they packaged our samples to go.
PJ was a delight and we really enjoyed his sense of humor and stories of his travels and adventures. We could tell that he really loves leading these tours and sharing his passion for French food and wine with others. We would 100 do this same exact tour next time we go back to Paris!
One note of advice. If you are meeting the tour at the Abbesses metro stop, take the elevator ALL the way to the top!! The signage isn't great and we weren't sure where to get off and ended up walking up a TON of steps to get to the top!

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

margaret

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend this tour - not much walking but great food and wine. Very informative about the Montmartre area. Lots of fabulous food cafes and shops in the area.

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

karen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Marion was our guide and she did a wonderful job. She was full of interesting stories about the artists back in the early days of Montmartre and then she brought us up to date about the current population. We felt she kept up a good pace, also. We would use her agin and recommend her.

Doing what: Montmartre and Moulin Rouge and Sacré Coeur Walking Tour

Barbara Jean P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We caught the Metro to Montmartre from the Latin Quarter and although the weather was hit and miss, this walking tour, guided by the experienced and knowledgeable Kit, made for a great tour. There are quite a few steps to go up and down but it is not a fast pace and the view from Sacre Coeur worth it.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Albert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent, almost two-hours long show.
We got a bottle of champagne and we truly enjoyed a one-of-a-kind performance.
It's ended with a famous can-can and stairs-and-feathers finale.
It's a variety show more than a cabaret but it's full of dance, gymnastic acrobatics, animals and there's even a quirky magician. The costumes were amazing, the dancing was top-notch.
There is a partial nudity involved topless female dancers so it's not for children, and children are not allowed inside, but it's classy and elegant.
Actually we've had a bit of a problem with our tickets our fault. We've had a small emergency in Paris, and we missed the show. I thought we lost the tickets but I've called the Moulin Rouge and I've asked if there was any chance of re-scheduling, for next day. They helped us and they understood the problem. We we re-booked and we enjoyed the show next day.
Their customer service speaks very good English and they were very helpful.
There is easy access to the theatre by taking a Metro line 2. Just find your connection/transfer from your hotel and take line 2 to Blanche station. The theatre is right there. You can't miss it.
If you have a little time to spare you may take a walk to Place Pigalle, and Montmartre neighborhood.
Pigalle used to be a 'red light district'. Not so much today but there are still some girls girls girls shows available, and also some sex-shops.
Montmartre, a few blocks north, is a wonderful neighborhood filled with a charm of the old world.
But, that's a story for a whole new review.

Doing what: Moulin Rouge Show Paris

Daniel O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

One word: FANTASTIQUE!

Our tour guide, Randa rhymes with Panda, which is what she said when she introduced herself, was amazing. She spoke with such enthusiasm as we walked through the streets of Montmartre, telling storied about the artists and the history of the region. The tour of Clos Montmartre was great too. The woman at the vineyard was so lovely and spoke with such passion! I was hanging on her every word. This is a must-do for wine lovers in Paris.

Doing what: Montmartre Tour with VIP Clos Montmartre Vineyard Visit

tantlock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide P.J. was amazing! He took us all around the Montmartre district informing us about the history surrounding the area and Paris. P.J. was extremely outgoing, lively and knowledgeable. This tour made our last day in Paris very memorable. The food and wine was fabulous. We couldn't have asked for anything more. We had the best time.

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

lynn h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great trip under difficult circumstances - accident blocking access for vans at CDG. Drivers were encouraging and fun. Great tour of Montmartre while dropping off other passengers.

Doing what: Paris Shuttle Arrival Transfer: Charles de Gaulle Airport (CDG)

dave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wow! I literally teleported inside the famous Louvre museum as well as Notre-Dame cathedral! I walked through Montmartre and the Champs Elysees...while standing on the Eiffel Tower! Got to access the Eiffel Tower without having to wait in line. Loved it, and I would like to congratulate the team for launching this new activity. All the best!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Eiffel Tower Priority Access Admission with Virtual Reality Tour

robert b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was one of the most entertaining tour /walks that I have been on. The Montmartre neighborhood and it's past residents are well known and most interesting. Our guide Adele is an actress and entertainer, suddenly breaking out into song and dance with a je ne sais quoi.....engaging and emotive.
This is not so much an intensive art tour, but a vibrant neighborhood immersion. It should be mentioned that this is an uphill excursion ending at Sacre Coeur, perhaps the highest point in Paris! The ticket to the Musee d'Orsay not nearby! gets you in the members entrance. Useful.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Ben M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

All the stops are manned by staff, the buses come very frequently, and the route was great. Also did the Montmartre route which was well worth doing to visit Sacre Couer.

Doing what: Big Bus Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Althea G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Going on a Tour in Montmartre was awesome. I got to take a look at the local town how everything was how people lived, and how they eat. Everyday the baker makes fresh breads for people and the local only purchase what they need for the day. Not like North America where we purchase what we need for two weeks. It really was an eye opening experience and I learned a lot about different meats, cheeses, bread, wine, and tasty desserts. My tour guide PJ was the best I hope everyone goes on this tour.

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

Kathleen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

If you can do it, I highly recommend this tour. My tour guide, Belen was amazing and I spent a wonderful day in Paris on this tour. She gave me a great tour of Montmartre and Basilica Sacre Coeur that was rich with history. After lunch, we toured the Musee d'Orsay and while she explained the different styles of painting associated with the Impressionist genre. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Skip-the-Line Musée d'Orsay & Montmartre Impressionist Walking Tour

Jane O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Montmartre is a must for any student of art history. This walking tour provided an intimate look at the Montmartre neighborhoods, but more importantly, it took us by the studios of famous artists, such as Picasso.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Kimber R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely loved our tour of the Montmartre quarter. Our tour guide David was excellent! He was very educational and interesting. My husband has never been on a tour and was very hesitant at first but ended up loving it! Definitely a highlight of our visit to Paris.

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

Derek B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

My wife and I did this tour on New Year's Day. Charlotte was our tour guide. She was very nice and knowledgeable of the area. It was just my wife and I that day so it was like walking around town with a local friend! The wine stops were nice. Charlotte explained the wines and cheeses as we sat and talked. Unfortunately, we did not get to tour the Basilica because they weren't letting people in when we got to it. We weren't sure why. Otherwise this was a nice way to get to see and learn about the Montmartre area through the experience of a local.

Doing what: Small-Group Montmartre Walking Tour: Fine Wines and Famous Artists

Rena

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Awesome tour! Our guide was amazing. She knew a lot of information and I learned cool little details that I would and #39;ve never known about Montmartre had I not done this tour. Many thanks!!

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Mark T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We took a private 2-day tour of Paris with Marion and could not have asked for a better tour guide or experience for a first-time trip there. Particularly given how much we wanted to see in a short amount of time, Marion allowed us to relax and enjoy the sites as well as to gain a deeper understanding of what we were seeing. We took along our 8 and 9-year old children and Marion was very patient with them explaining things in a way they could understand. They have a particular interest in art and Marion efficiently guided us through the Louvre and Orsay, as well as through the Montmartre neighborhood where many of the artists lived. This neighborhood around Sacre Coeur was a highlight of the tour. Marion kept us on schedule, but did not sacrifice any of the things we really wanted to see. Liz with Viator did a great job lining out our itinerary and listening to what we wanted to see rather than just giving us a standard list of sites to see. With Marion we were able to overcome the language barrier as well as efficiently traverse the city either by walking or by Metro. We got so comfortable with this that were able to handle the third day of our trip on our own with equal efficiency. We would recommend Marion to anyone looking to gain a deeper understanding of Paris, particularly as it relates to the arts. She also introduced us to new French pastries at Maison des Choux, and took to some sites we didn't even know about for great views and photo ops. This tour was a great way to start our stay in Paris.

Doing what: Private 2-Day Tour: Customize Your Perfect Stay in Paris

Geraldine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our tour guide was simply superb....so engaging, informative and interesting. I thoroughly enjoyed the walking tour and learnt so much about different artists and their lives lived in the Montmartre district.

Doing what: Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris

Symon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was our favorite. Our guide was a lovely French woman, who took us to the bakery that won Best Baguette in 2015, we all shared the baguette while she explained how they select the winner, by smelling the bread, crunching it, and of course tasting it!

Walking through Montmartre, it was amazing see where Picasso, Van Gogh lived and the various places where many artists got inspiration for their paintings. The best part is going into Musee d'Orsay and seeing their masterpieces.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Sheila K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Marion was very knowledgeable and interesting. We saw parts of the Montmartre we would have ignored. Plus, she knew the best bakeries.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message