Montmartre is the hilly part of Paris. There are stairs galore and the crowning glory is, of course, the famous Sacré Coeur Cathedral perched at the top, looming over Paris. There is another church on the hill, the older Saint Pierre de ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 291 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

bakerkm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was great. I really enjoyed walking on out of the way streets around Montmartre and learning more about the Impressionist painters.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Megan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a fantastic way to spend the morning! We had Sarah for our 10:30am tour, and she was absolutely lovely. She took time to show us some historic sites around Montmartre as well as hitting some delicious food spots. You eat a bit while you are walking around the neighborhood, but a lot of what is happening at the different shops is information about what to look for in at a cheese monger, or a boulangerie, or a meat shop. It was extremely informative as well as being about the food.

After walking around for a few hours, you picnic with all of the things purchased by your tour guide that morning. What fun! You sit together and have bread, cheese, meat, sweets, and wine! I highly recommend this tour! Have a great time!

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

Deborah Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was the best thing we did! Our first visit to Paris and my husband is a good but nervous traveler so this Paris orientation put him at ease. Of course the credit goes to our guide, Milan, who was an amazing host and historian. Paris is a big city to take in all in one 8 hour round but Milan managed to ease us into the Parisian living with his in-depth knowledge of French history and blending of modern culture. We walked around the Montmartre district and the Basilica Sacre Coeur. And afterwards we stopped for a wonderful lunch before ascending the Eiffel Tower - all the way to the summit! Our Eiffel Tower guide was also fabulous - She had a great sense of humor and was very interesting. Our final stop was at Notre Dam Cathedral before heading back to our place. This tour was expensive but we definitely got what we paid for.

Doing what: Private Tour: Paris Full-Day Sightseeing Tour with Eiffel Tower

Ahmet A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great way to see the highlights of Montmartre. This was probably my favorite tour of the several we did. Musee d'Orsay is amazing! We didn't have a chance to visit the Musee de l'Orangerie, unfortunately. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and pointed out great highlights of Montmartre.

Doing what: Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and Optional Musée d'Orsay

Mark L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Simply marvelous! Our guide, Solene was passionate, knowledgeable and disarmingly witty infusing quirky anecdotes into her narratives on the history and context of the food culture in Paris and Montmartre. It was delightful going into little food shops where you can let your senses alight on the most beguiling foods. We nibbled away through the shops while learning how to be a more discerning epicure in Paris and recognize the tells of authenticity and quality. The hours slipped away as we savored cheeses, meats, bread, wine and even a crepe and coffee- really it was divine and Solene was such fun! I've never said this before in a review but Solene deserves a RAISE as she is a treasure!

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

kpa05

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Claudia was just the best. it was a private tour, only my mom and I. We were walking slow because those streets are very steep, and Claudia gracefully kept up with our slow pace, pointing out even tiny details that we would've never been able to notice on our own. she was very knowledgeable of the whole area. She was warm and welcoming. i would recommend this trip to anyone. I had personally never been to Montmartre, and it was amazing.

Doing what: Paris 2-Hour Private Historical Walking Tour of Montmartre

William H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

An absolute must for anyone who enjoys sampling regional food and wine. P.J., our guide, led us on a culinary delight. We visited several shops in Montmartre, sampling delicious foods along the way. The tour culminated in a cafe where we were treated to wines and foods from our various stops en route. Put this on your itinerary. It's too good to miss!

Jackie

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

william b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Quentin was a wonderful guide. He took us off the beaten path and was full of interesting insights on Montmartre. You would be lucky to get him as a guide.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

neeta b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

August 2016: Excellent walking tour in a small friendly group. Our guide Delphine was super passionate and enthusiastic. We all felt so relaxed with her and there was a great rapport. Very knowledgable about the local area. It's a shame we all couldn't sit at a local cafe and experience the village life in a practical way on the tour! Montmartre is a beautiful place and I highly recommend this tour if you like a leisurely walk to explore the cobbled streets and hilly paths. Delphine shares some good local insights. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Carol G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was very informative and friendly. We loved the walk through Montmartre but were particularly impressed seeing the magnificent art in the Musee D'Orsay. It was very worthwhile for all art lovers.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Cheryl L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Charles was awesome! He brought Montmartre to life and we really enjoyed his stories. The Views from Sacre Coeur were amazing. The afternoon spent at the D'Orsay Museum was great too.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Bob M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Without Quinton, our tour guide, we would have been hopelessly lost in Montmartre and we would not have known the history.

Doing what: Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and Optional Musée d'Orsay

Frances P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way to see Paris. The green route covers just about every point of interest you would wish to see. We also went on the yellow route to Montmartre. We filled in 2 days hopping off and on.

Doing what: Paris L'Open Tour Hop-On-Hop-Off

Ruby R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was one of my favorite tours in my entire Europe trip! Our guide, Marie, definitely knew her art history. She made it fun as well as informative. I'm a total Impressionist art nerd, and Montmartre is now my favorite area of Paris.

Do not miss Musee d'Orsay...it was the best museum I've ever visited.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Kathryne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour run by Secret Food Tours of Paris was amazing. We toured Montmartre stopping at 2 chocolate shops, a bread and pastry shop, a cheese and then a meat market. At each stop our guide picked up items. We then, a group of 9, sat is their shop and enjoyed the purchases while the guide explained the food and dining culture. This was fun, relaxing and very informative. A must if you are in any way a foodie traveling in Paris

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

Janice A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Both of these tours were great. The morning one in Montmartre helped us see some interesting spots and hear some tidbits we would not have known on our own. The evening tour was also a lot of fun. They were short enough 90 minutes each so they did not take up a lot of our day. I would recommend both.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour plus Night Walking Tour

Bill W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful tour. Our guide was an art student who reviewed the entire Montmartre neighborhood in the context of the turn-of-the-last-century artist scene. Musee d'Orsay was take-it-or-leave-it, with some of the pieces in which I was most interested on loan to other museums.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Savvy Sightseer USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

With Cedric, the tour guide, a Gourmet French Food Tour booked by Viator Tours through Pariss Montmartre district is a saunter not just in and out of top-notch French pastry shops, but also a trip through French history. Meeting at the Blanche metro station, Cedric warmly greeted me, and we started out on our adventure, despite our being a party of only two. The tour, operated by a local group, was billed as a small group excursion with a max of 8 people, but was guaranteed to run without a minimum. My trip was just after floods and strikes had hampered tourism in the city, but the local tour administration had reassured me via email that the tour would go as scheduled, and so it did.

Cedric enthusiastically shared his love of Paris while leisurely wandering through town. From pointing out the inner citys original Roman wall boundaries on a nearby transit map to leading the way to a sweeping view of Paris from the steps of Sacre Coeur, Cedrics walking tour was insightful, fascinating, interesting and, above all, a delicious tasting of Paris!

Doing what: Paris Food Walking Tour: Gourmet French Food

Jillian O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a very enjoyable time on this tour around Montmartre. The guides, who were both history students, were very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about their subject and importantly they were entertaining. The walk lasted an hour and a half and my only 'criticism would be that it was not long enough. Both my husband I were enjoyed it so much we would have liked it to have continued. Very well worth doing.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

skim1031

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We loved every minute and every morsel. Montmartre was like a village inside Paris - small, strollable, quiet. Our guide was charming and SO knowledgeable - we went only to the BEST shops, tried something at each one, and then had a substantial Paris-style lunch in a former wine cellar. Shopping afterward was also delightful. I think it was our favorite single outing in a 24-day European trip.

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

Becky United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a superb tour and high light of our time in Paris. Our guide PJ was fantastically knowledgeable and passionate about everything to do with food. We spent the morning exploring fascinating local food producers in Montmartre, also sampling some of the delicious specialities they had to offer. Later on in the tour we had the opportunity to enjoy a wonderful lunch made up of all local produce that had been collected by PJ during the morning, accompanied by French wines which complimented the food perfectly. I would absolutely recommend this tour to anyone wishing to have a memorable Parisian culinary adventure!

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

mary m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

we were very lucky to be the only 2 people on the tour that morning---and Heidi ,our Tour Guide was sooo interesting and informative---and we went back afterwards to several of the places she,d shown us--eg the bistro Deux Moulins--felt she gave us a good overview of the History of Montmartre/Paris---we would definitely use this tour company again

Doing what: Montmartre and Moulin Rouge and Sacré Coeur Walking Tour

James R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great way to get oriented on Montmartre, impressionist artists. Guide was great and a treat to be with. Great way to spend 2 hours, walking tour, interesting and manageable.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Cynthia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was one of the highlights of our trip to Paris! We booked it based on reviews we had read and were not disappointed! Our guide, PJ, was wonderful! He was extremely knowledgable and shared lots of great information about the history of Paris, Montmartre, and the wonderful food we sampled. We stopped at specialty food shops along market street with PJ taking time to explain what we were looking at and why it's so good! We then went to a cozy spot and feasted on many different types of bread, cheeses, meats and wine. There was no shortage of food or wine. We were stuffed! After that, we went for dessert fresh crepes and visited a local chocolate/macaroon shop. We were so full they packaged our samples to go.
PJ was a delight and we really enjoyed his sense of humor and stories of his travels and adventures. We could tell that he really loves leading these tours and sharing his passion for French food and wine with others. We would 100 do this same exact tour next time we go back to Paris!
One note of advice. If you are meeting the tour at the Abbesses metro stop, take the elevator ALL the way to the top!! The signage isn't great and we weren't sure where to get off and ended up walking up a TON of steps to get to the top!

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

margaret

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend this tour - not much walking but great food and wine. Very informative about the Montmartre area. Lots of fabulous food cafes and shops in the area.

Doing what: Paris Food Tour: Taste of Montmartre

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message