Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Musée d'Orsay

The Musée d'Orsay houses a superb collection of French Impressionist and post-Impressionist works, making it a must-see for any art lover. The museum displays France's national collection of paintings, sculptures, objets d'art produced ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 516 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sarah E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was incredible and our guide helped make it so. His knowledge of each piece was amazing and we had so much fun. His passion for his job was clear and helped us be able to say our day exceeded our expectations. The Orsay was our favorite--we highly recommend this opportunity. Thanks Alex!!!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

laurie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A very smart purchase! We took advantage of several of the museum entries (Louve, Orsay, Versailles), ride the metro all around for days. We were able to pack a lot of stuff into 2 1/2 days!!! Well worth it.

Doing what: Paris Pass Including Entry to Over 60 Attractions

Wendy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic! Only way to see the Louvre and Orsay Museums!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

LuAnn C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

A nuisance to find out at the Orsay that we had to hike 4 blocks over to get the tickets and audio, deposit of 30 euro hefty, hike back over and there were still no lines at the orsay-so we did not skip any line. Only line was yours, wasted 20 min there!! Then hike back to return the audio equip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Audio Tour

Samantha P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour with a very knowledgeable guide. Meander the streets, see some places that make you want to start painting and feel as though you have travelled back in time for a couple of hours! Resist the urge to jump on the Metro at the end and take your guide's advice about a different walking route back down before walking straight past the queue at Musee D'Orsay!

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

joanneg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Do it. Made all the difference. We were in the D'Orsay in 10 minutes thru security. Only small negative was the long line at the Paris Tourist office to pick up the tickets. That added an extra 20 min, but still, faster in total than the 2 hour line at the museum

Doing what: Musée d'Orsay Skip-The-Line Ticket

Alanne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A lot of hills and stairs so not for the light walker. Great tour and the guide was fabulous. Used the Orsay ticket -- enjoyed the exhibition.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Rodney N F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The d'Orsay Museum was great and I would suggest that it is for the whole family. My wife and I would recommend this for viewing while in Paris.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Audio Tour

Pfflyer635

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Quentin our tour guide was fantastic giving us the history and artistry which is montmatre. He spent time with each person individually to personalize our tour. Our visit to Musee Dorsay the next day was much more rewarding filled with our knowledge from his tour. He used art from the museum as examples during his tour. Musee Dorsay has Van Goghs self portrait.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

joeandkerrie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Second time we have done this tour our guide was really good and informative, without the guide you would miss lots of things. The Musee d Orsay is also a must not as crowded as the Louvre but just as amazing would certainly to this again.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

Tamara M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We booked this trip because we wanted to skip the entrance line. As it turned out, we went on a Friday morning in May, and the museum was pretty empty when we arrived. It got much busier as the day went on. We took the RER to the Musee d'Orsay stop, walked across the river to the Paris City Tours office to pick up our self-guided headsets, and then walked back to the museum. At the conclusion of our visit, we walked back across the river to the office to drop off the headsets and collect our deposit. It took us a few tries to figure out how the guides worked. You have a controller and a paper museum map that you get from Paris City Tours. You point your controller at the number on the paper map that corresponds with a specific piece of art. There are narratives for about 50 or 60 different works, and you can choose your language. The narratives are pretty informative, but limited to just those pieces, so you are on your own for the others. The museum itself is exceptional. It pretty much covers artwork - paintings and sculptures - from the 1850's through about 1910. We were very glad to have been able to see the Musee d'Orsay and not to stand in a long line. Others have mentioned that the audio guides rented from the museum itself are better, and we can't comment on that.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Audio Tour

Yvonne Q

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

I was very disappointed in this tour. It was supposedly a 3 hour tour of the Louvre but the guide talked way too much. We didn't even enter the Louvre until 7pm we met at 6:15 and the tour was supposed to begin at 6:30. I had thought we would see the most famous artworks contained at the Louvre. We were given a map which had pictures of 4 celebrated pieces on each of the 4 levels. Of these 16 we saw just 6.... We saw a lot of sculpture but not many paintings. The guide blathered on so much, telling jokes and talking about herself - we could have seen so much more in 3 hours if she had been succinct and stuck to the point! Because we went in the evening the museum was much less crowded which was great but we didn't have the opportunity to stay on after the tour to actually see some of the artworks we missed out on. I did a guided tour of Musee d'Orsay with a different tour company and it was so much better!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Louvre Museum Walking Tour including Venus de Milo and Mona Lisa

James L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

I'm giving this a low rating due mostly to cost and set-up of the tour. This tour requires you to go to the tour operator's office which is on the Right North bank and is about a mile form the d'Orsay. After you finish your tour of the d'Orsay you need to hike back to the tour operator's office and return audio device. So this could end up being a 4 mile hike around trip. Would only consider this tour if staying on the Right bank to limit the back and forth trips. The tour description should HIGHTLIGHT this logistic factor. We ended not using the audio decide so we spent over 40/ticket for a 12 entrance fee.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Audio Tour

Anthony W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Terrific tour. Francesca a wonderful guide. Her love for the art shines through her great commentary. A pleasure to be in her company at the Orsay.

Doing what: Paris 2-Hour Private Guided Tour to Orsay Museum

Christie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Outstanding! The highlight of our trip. However, with this kind of tour, the guide really makes it. Our guide Belen was superb. She had a passion and knowledge of art that took us on a journey through the ages, marrying the history of France with each piece of art we viewed. We started our journey at some point BC as we entered the Louvre and six hours later wound up in the early 20th century at the Musee d'Orsay. I would recommend everyone who visits Paris and has any interest in art take this tour.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

dschims

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very nice guide with a wealth of information to share about the Orsay history and art collection.

Doing what: Paris 2-Hour Private Guided Tour to Orsay Museum

Grant R

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Our guide, Claudia, was very knowledgeable about the Musee d and #39;Orsay and guided us through the museum in a a way that highlighted, in chronological order, very nicely.

Doing what: Paris 2-Hour Private Guided Tour to Orsay Museum

Syovata E

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

The times are restrictive despite the fact it's self guided. There's also still
A line. Finally, the biggest scam is that for 5 euros, the Musee d'Orsay gives you a much better self guided audio tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Musée d'Orsay Audio Tour

robert b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was one of the most entertaining tour /walks that I have been on. The Montmartre neighborhood and it's past residents are well known and most interesting. Our guide Adele is an actress and entertainer, suddenly breaking out into song and dance with a je ne sais quoi.....engaging and emotive.
This is not so much an intensive art tour, but a vibrant neighborhood immersion. It should be mentioned that this is an uphill excursion ending at Sacre Coeur, perhaps the highest point in Paris! The ticket to the Musee d'Orsay not nearby! gets you in the members entrance. Useful.

Doing what: Montmartre Impressionist Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musee d’Orsay Ticket

Angela P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tina, our guide, was wonderful! She was extremely knowledgeable about the art and history and made the tour so very interesting. My two teenagers were enthralled with all the information. On top of that, Tina was friendly, personable, and flexible. She made the Louvre and the Musee d'Orsay one of the hi-lights of our trip to Paris.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

Terry P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a wonderful time at the Orsay Museum with our guide, Katrina. She was very knowledgeable and pleasant and took plenty of time with us to ensure that we saw everything and had all our questions answered. She was initially expecting a couple with a different name, but when her people didn't show up and our guide didn't either, she took the initiative to resolve the situation. We give Katrina very high marks!

Doing what: Semi Private Tour: Skip-the-Line Musee d'Orsay Must-See Tour

Kevin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Hillary is an awesome guide!! She is very knowledgeable in all aspects of art and art history. She was fun to be with and we enjoyed a lunch with her between the Louvre Museum tour and the Musee d Orsay tour. She was insightful and kept our attention throughout both tours. We cannot say enough about Hillary and hope you get her for your tour!!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Louvre Museum & Musée d’Orsay Semi-Private Guided Tour

Emil E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great Tour, highly recommend it for introduction into the impressionist artists! The tour guide was lovely and very knowledgeable! The Orsay museum is huge and the collections vast, one can spend days getting lost, it was great to be guided to iconic pieces of art that changed or defined the era.

Doing what: Semi Private Tour: Skip-the-Line Musee d'Orsay Must-See Tour

Kathleen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

If you can do it, I highly recommend this tour. My tour guide, Belen was amazing and I spent a wonderful day in Paris on this tour. She gave me a great tour of Montmartre and Basilica Sacre Coeur that was rich with history. After lunch, we toured the Musee d'Orsay and while she explained the different styles of painting associated with the Impressionist genre. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Skip-the-Line Musée d'Orsay & Montmartre Impressionist Walking Tour

Tiann C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The Paris Pass was perfect! It was all we needed to be able to see all of Paris in just 2 days. Minus the Eiffel Tower admissions We loved having so many options of places to see for free with this pass and the fast pass was amazing for The Louvre and Musée d'Orsay. We really enjoyed having the metro and bus pass included. Paris is a very large city and you will need to use the transportation to be able to see everything!
Also Viator is incredible as well! We will definitely use them again on our next trip!

Doing what: Paris Pass Including Entry to Over 60 Attractions

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message