Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Musée de l'Orangerie

Like most museums in Europe, the Musée de l'Orangerie in Paris wasn't always an art space. As its name would imply, its original purpose in the 19th century was to house the orange trees away from winter weather. Later, it was used for just ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bob M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Without Quinton, our tour guide, we would have been hopelessly lost in Montmartre and we would not have known the history.

Doing what: Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and Optional Musée d'Orsay

Helen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The guide was friendly and informative. We learnt some great tips for getting the best from our time in Paris. The tour took us off the beaten track and made the art we saw in the galleries more meaningful.

Doing what: Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and Optional Musée d'Orsay

Marcia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great Guide Quentin! He was very knowledgeable and helped us understand the history of the area! Highly recommend this tour. Especially for those interested in the history of the artists that lived in the Montmatre area.

Doing what: Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and Optional Musée d'Orsay

Frank D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Marie is an excellent guide with a great knowledge of art and a sparkling personality. She is a credit to the guide industry of Paris, and specifically Monmartre.

Doing what: Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and Optional Musée d'Orsay

Karin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Loved our guide Anna. Beautiful part of Paris, definitely shouldn't miss it. Great recommendation for lunch from Anna as well.

Doing what: Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and Optional Musée d'Orsay

caseylupton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our tour guide Romain was fabulous. He was well prepared with stories and photos of the art that he talked about. We went to many houses and workshops of famous painters. He could sing very well and did some Edith Piaf and others. Very knowledgeable guide. It was very cold and rainy on our tour but it didn't phase him and he carried on in spite of the fact that it was such a dismal day. We would highly recommend this tour and guide to a fantastic part of Paris.

Doing what: Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and Optional Musée d'Orsay

Sara

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

This tour seemed a little overpriced and underwhelming. We expected much more from our guide for the pricing of this tour.

Doing what: Private Art History Walking Tour: Musée d'Orsay and Musée de l'Orangerie

Joseph G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We were so lucky enough to be in Montmartre on a rainy day and have a very customized tour for us. My husband and I met our amazing guide Claire at the bottom of the hill in Montmartre, from there she took us to see where Van Gogh lived, where Picasso used to work and funny stories about the village itself. We absolutely loved Claire, she was insightful, well-educated about the area and full of life. We were sorry to leave her. In all, I give this tour two thumbs up!

Doing what: Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and Optional Musée d'Orsay

Mark R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour is a must. Selina was an amazing guide. Not only was the whole experience relaxed and highly informative, but the paintings especially were absolutely incredible. Be prepared for a lot of walking.

Doing what: Private Art History Walking Tour: Musée d'Orsay and Musée de l'Orangerie

Gisell and Sean United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was amazing, we went on this beautiful tour and our guide was this young 21 year old guy and he was amazing. He knew everything about Paris and its history. After the walking tour we went off to see the museums on our own. We walked so much but it was all worth it. Book this now!!

Doing what: Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and Optional Musée d'Orsay

Michelle P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was one of my favorite tours. Daryl, my tour guide, was very knowledgeable and nice. I learned a lot and really enjoyed walking through this part of Paris.

Doing what: Montmartre Art Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Musée de l'Orangerie and Optional Musée d'Orsay

mikewsc

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Got to museum. No one there knew where our tour was. Were able to get in and tour on our own, which of course we could have done without Viator. Called the contact number and the emergency number and never got an answer. Our other two tours were fine but could have been booked directly. My advice wouldbe to do alittle research on the web and book tours directly with the entitty.

Doing what: Private Art History Walking Tour: Musée d'Orsay and Musée de l'Orangerie

Hali M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

The tour guide was not great in English and had trouble talking so we could understand and often fumbled over words that we got little out of her chatter ! She was not there in time and we had to call her up. No tullieries on tour. Very big rip off ! Cost under $20 both admissions pd. $388! Unhappy!

Doing what: Private Art History Walking Tour: Musée d'Orsay and Musée de l'Orangerie

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message