Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Notre Dame Cathedral

If Paris has a heart, then this is it. The cathedral of Notre Dame (Cathédrale de Notre Dame de Paris) is not only a masterpiece of French Gothic architecture, but has also been Catholic Paris' ceremonial focus for seven centuries. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 102 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jimskinner

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

SERIOUS disappointment!!! We booked this tour, Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour, only to later find we would NOT get the 'Skip the Line' part of the tour, NOR would we get the Tower tour, BOTH OF WHICH were clearly spelled out when we booked, and are actually stated in the tour name!!. The tour provider neglects to tell you this, and when we chellenged it, they told us they believed that had lived up to their commitment. NOT!!! Beware!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

thepisanos

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This tour had a hiccup when the Eiffel Tower was closed without notice. Obviously, missing out on lunch in this iconic landmark as well as not visiting it was very disappointing. We understand the tour company couldn't control the closure and appreciated that on short notice, they found us another restaurant on a boat at the base of the tower to dine in. The time spent in Le Louvre was much too short, if you are interested in spending some time viewing the many pieces of priceless art, this tour won't satisfy you as it was somewhat rushed. Time was not factored in for both the washroom and gift shop and given the long lines at both, you have to choose between which one to visit unless you are using the men's room and then you can be in and out in seconds.... The tour of Notre Dame Cathedral was worthwhile - the tour is not skip the line and there was a short wait outside to clear security. Glad it was a cool day as there isn't a lot of shaded areas to stand in. Overall, if you want a quick visit to all the places, this tour fits the bill. Note, the boat tour of the Siene is the Hop On Off boat. The upside is you can use your ticket for the whole day once the tour is over...

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Stephen R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We started the trip with a visit to G.H. Mumm cellars. Learned how this renowned winemaking house has been producing Champagne using traditional methods for almost 200 years and tasted Mumms classic Cordon Rouge. Interesting tour a very enjoyable experience. Then we traveled to Reims to see the famous Notre Dame cathedral and have a delicious lunch at an outdoor cafe. We continued on to the picturesque town of Epernay, visited the historic cellars of Mercier, which has been producing Champagne since 1858, which once again had a very rich history in champagne production and history. Toured the extensive, atmospheric caves and enjoy another tasting above ground. This is a must do if you are visiting Paris, just an absolutely incredible day from start to finish.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Carole H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were very happy with this tour even though we couldn't do the Seine River cruise due to the floods. Our family was happy with the experiences and information presented at the the Louvre museum especially avoiding much of the lines, the Notre Dame cathedral, and the lunch at the Eiffel Tower. The host was very helpful, and we are glad we booked this trip.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Rgoodrich8

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Too much time at beginning of tour to cover things unrelated to Notre Dame Cathedral. Guide was Italian and a bit difficult to understand in regards to Notre Dame tour. Louvre guide was excellent and covered all the highlights. We climbed the towers at Notre Dame, but it was a challenge for us 70 and 65 year olds!

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Small-Group Skip-the-Line Notre-Dame Tower and Louvre Museum

Karen R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

The visit to the Louvre was rushed, some members of the group who were older had great difficulty trying to keep up with the group. After being told that we had limited time to spend there and that there were over 700,000 exhibits to see, I expected that we would have to move quickly. What I did not expect was for the tour guide to spend 15 minutes explaining the Venus de Milo, 15 minutes explaining one other sculpture, 15 minutes talking about one jewellery exhibit and 15 minutes explaining the Mona Lisa. We then had time for nothing else and had to leave to take a bus to the Eiffel Tower. You are much better off going there on your own, you would see so much more at your own pace. It was disappointing to be told we could not take the advertised boat ride down the Seine to get there because the water level was high even though from the Eiffel Tower we could have seen passenger ferries moving up and down the Seine. It was convenient to skip the line at the Eiffel Tower but the lunch was underwhelming and we were inexplicably then given 2 hours of free time, time which could have better been spent at the Louvre. We opted not to continue with the rest of the tour to Notre Dame Cathedral after being told that we were not going to be carried back to the meeting point but was going to be left out there to find our way back into Paris to our hotel.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

jigsgulaya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Charly gave a lot of additional information on the Ile de Cite especially the Notre Dame Cathedral. The view from the tower is amazing. The gargoyles are fascinating. The Louvre Museum is so huge. Our guide showed us the way to the highlight of the tour which is the Mona Lisa, with information on various paintings and sculpture. The Apartments of Napoleon III is also a must-see.

Doing what: Paris Super Saver: Small-Group Skip-the-Line Notre-Dame Tower and Louvre Museum

Antonio F Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is for sure a must-do walking and boat tour, especially if you have limited time to discover Paris.

The tour guide efficiently kept the group together and provided excellent, informative narration through an audio kit/earbud set provided free of charge. With the tour we skipped most lines, making entry very fast.

The tour started with a walk from the City Vision tours office to the Louvre. From there we walked a short distance to the Batobus dock where we took the taxi boat to the Eiffel Tower. There we had a very nice and slow a good thing sit-down lunch at the Restaurant 58 Tour Eiffel on the 1st level. Excellent service, very good food and an alcoholic beverage wine or beer of your choice. After lunch we climbed the stairs to the 2nd deck no additional charge to take the stairs. We then took the Batobus boat to the Notre Dame Cathedral where we were given a full narrated tour. The tour ended there.

As an added bonus, the Batobus boat tickets are valid for the day until approx. 7:30 pm - so we took the boat back to a stop where we could walk back to the hotel.

City Vision has done an excellent job with this tour. We were tired at the end approx 7.5 hours but it was well worth it!

Thank you Viator. We'll definitely be back to book with you.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Sunny L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Paris tour was excellent! It covers the most common things to see in Paris via the canal boat. The canal boat was the taxi used to get to each place and no commentary was provided while on it.

The first stop is the Louvre Museum to get a nice summary of the important pieces in the exhibit, including the Mona Lisa. Next, we stopped at the Eiffel Tower and had lunch and some spare time. There was enough time to climb up to the 2nd floor, but not enough to go to the 3rd top floor, which I was a bit unhappy about, but the views are still amazing at the second floor.

The final stop is the Notre Dame Cathedral. Although I wasn't too interested in the cathedral, some background information about the cathedrals in Paris piqued my interest and really got to see the cathedral for what it was.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Marc B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was pretty much exactly as described. Pick-up at our hotel was on time and our driver/tour guide did a good job of describing the points of interest and history of the various areas we visited. We especially enjoyed the tasty lunch and views at the Eiffel tower as well as the chance to explore inside Notre Dame cathedral. The Seine River cruise offered an opportunity to see parts of the city from a different perspective. If you're only in Paris for a short visit, this tour provides a good overview of this beautiful city.

Doing what: Paris City Tour by Minivan, Seine River Cruise and Lunch at the Eiffel Tower

Laura B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

A nice way to experience some of the best places in Paris. I didn't have much time in the city so this was great. The Louve was amazing, some incredible pieces of art...you could spend all day in there but the tour guide was great at highlighting some of the famous pieces there. The Eiffel tour..well incredible of course! I had time to go up the stairs to the next level after lunch as well. Notre Dame cathedral was beautiful and I would recommend checking out the Latin Quarter neighbourhood next to where the cathedral is. After the end of the tour I managed to hop back on the BatoBus boat bus we used on the tour for the day on the Seine River and got off at Champs-Élysées to finish off the evening with some dinner and shopping.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Robin A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

Tour guide was knowledgeable about the art work at the Louvre. The boat ride was pleasant. Wasted too much time at the Eiffel Tower. 2 hours with nothing to do. It took an hour to get to Notre Dame Cathedral, and then could only stand in the back, because there was a religious service taking place. Tour ended at Notre Dame I had to figure out how to get back to my hotel. Tour guide just pointed me in the direction of the metro.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

mvautrot

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a wonderful tour of Paris. Paj was an enthusiastic guide and made me, at 67 years old, see art in a whole different way. Her descriptions and explanations were spectacular. Some of the artifacts she described in Notre Dame Cathedral helped me to understand my religous beliefs better. The Eiffel Tower was a repeat for me, but the lunch was a new experience--fantastic! I also enjoyed riding on the bateau bus. An excellent beginning to a week in this wonderful city.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

BabyBluesMomof4 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide on January 16, 2016, was exceptional! She had been a tour guide for over 30 years and she was excellent at sharing her vast knowledge of the Louvre, Eiffel Tower, Seine River, and Notre Dame Cathedral. Truly an amazing day! Thank you!

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Nick G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Want to see Notre Dame Cathedral? This is the way to do it. A must.
Awesome. Perfect guide with all the history info. No waits anywhere. Amazing views from the top. The bells. Lots of stairs, but worth the exercises to the top.
Highly recommended. Loved it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour guide from Citywalk tours. Very knowledgeable about the history of ile de la cite and the artifacts within Notre Dame Cathedral. We did not skip the line to get into the cathedral but line moved quickly, so it didn't take long. Perhaps, skip the line was for Tower tour, which I booked but didn't do as weather was too cold and windy

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Roslyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It should be noted that there is a lot of walking in this tour and there are stairs to be dealt with as well.

We started our tour by entering the Louvre from the underground shopping mall that we had no idea was even there. As we were led by tour leader, we entered free of the normal queues. We toured the Louvre for a good couple of hours and we did see the Mona Lisa and the Venus de Milo along with hundreds of other items. The museums at the Louvre are worthy of days of touring and can not possibly be accomplished in just two or three hours, but you do get a taste of what there is to see.

We made our way to the River Batobus where we began our river cruise up to the Eiffel Tower. When we got to the Tower we again skipped past most of the queue of people at the Tower and went straight up to the 58 Tower Restaurant where we had a very nice lunch. We were given another 90 minutes or so to eat lunch and walk up the Tower stairs to the sightseeing level you can actually pay an additional fee to take the elevator that takes you to the very top if you wish and if there is time. After the Tower, we got back on the River Batobus and slowly made our way back past the Louvre and then up the River to the Notre Dame Cathedral were we were provided with a very nice tour of the Cathedral.

We then opted to walk back to our hotel from the Cathedral so that we could get ready for our Seine River Cruise tour that we were taking that evening. The rest of the tour got back on the Batobus and returned to the River Batobus original departure point near the Louvre. This was just a couple of blocks from the original morning meeting point.

We booked both the daytime Pairs in One Day Sightseeing Tour and the Seine River Cruise, Paris Illuminations and Dinner nighttime Tour all for the same day. That's a lot of tours for one day but we felt that it was worth it.

Overall, we felt that this was a very nice tour and we highly would recommend it to others.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Cheryl C

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

It was fun to see the iconic buildings from the river. The view of Notre Dame Cathedral was terrific! For a good overview of the city we thought the bus trip might be better.

Doing what: Seine River Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Cruise in Paris

ETHEL D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Another awesome tour. We booked all our tours through Viator and were so glad we did. Every one of them was everything we expected it to be and more. Notre Dame Cathedral was just beautiful. So glad we did this tour.

Doing what: Historical Paris Sightseeing Tour Including Notre Dame Cathedral

JANNETTE V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

WOW. What a great experience. Tour guide was excellent. She knew every single aspect of the Notre Dame Cathedral. The Cathedral is impressive and we had a great time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Susy C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Thought this was a coach tour. But it is a walking tour. Great tour, our tour guide Joanna was great. Started at the Louvre Museum, and so good to do this tour otherwise would take you weeks to go through. We skipped the line, and our guide showed us the main things of point of interest. Best way to see this museum. Travelled down the Seine River, admiring the sites on a beautiful day. Got to the Eiffel tower and again skipped the line, had a really nice 3 course lunch and coffee, drinks for free on Level 1 restaurant. Took photos, plenty of time to go higher if you want. Then back on the Seine and went to see Notre Dame Cathedral, worth every cent, this is a must, skipping the line and seeing the main sites of Paris. Viator only way to book.

Doing what: Paris in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Isabelle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Felix, our guide, knew so much information! He was great! The tour, to learn Paris' history, was really worth it! Notre Dame Cathedral was beautiful and the view from the top was spectacular!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Glenn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We enjoyed our tour of the Ile de la Cite and our tour of the Notre Dame Cathedral. Our guide was very good and explained many things about Paris and the Cathedral that we had not read before. I would highly recommend this tour to first time visitors to Paris.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Notre Dame Cathedral, Tower and Ile de la Cite Half-Day Walking Tour

Nida T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. The guide was very informative. We bypassed many lines and the lunch and dinner were great experiences! I do wish we had a little more time at Notre Dame Cathedrale as we could only take pictures from outside and didn't get a chance to go in because there was a long line outside.

Doing what: Best of Paris Tour Including Versailles and Lunch at the Eiffel Tower

snowmanfl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour allowed me to surprise my wife with what turned out to be one of the highlights of our 9 day trip to Paris! The guide, David Jornet and the photographer, Anne Sylvaine, led us on a magical 2 hours around the Notre Dame Cathedral. We have received the photos and they are all great.

Doing what: Renew Your Wedding Vows in Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message