Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Opéra Garnier

It may not be the first iconic structure that comes to mind when you think of Paris, but to Parisians the Palais Garnier - Opera National is a beloved symbol of the importance placed on the arts in the City of Light. Completed in 1875 per architect ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 576 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Atreish R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great time and an amazing place.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Amanda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour and the docent was quite knowledgeable and charming. This is a beautiful building and full of history. I would love to be able to see a production at the Opera House, unfortunately none were playing while I was in Paris. Make sure you check with the staff on how to purchase an affordably priced ticket if you are there when a production playing. There are tricks to the trade.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Karen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We learned so much about the Opera House. About the actual building. ...about Monsieur Garnier, himself, about the customs of the day concerning going to the opera , etc. Our guide was excellent. We recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Yui Yi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Got to see outside the room of phantom of the opera, pretty good

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Vicki C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wow. I can't believe it took me this long to go inside this building. The guided tour is the only way to get a real insider view, as they take you into the theatre assuming no rehearsals happening, which gives you the full perspective of the interior and ceiling art you can't from viewing from the two public boxes.
This theatre is an amazing feat and my jaw dropped more than a few times. It has been kept in stellar condition since it was opened, so really worth the visit. It even has a hall of mirrors that rivals Versailles!

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

mary ellen t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour..totally enjoyed the tour guide.....beautiful building, and tour Of this historic building...

Doing what: After-Hours Tour: Opera Garnier in Paris

Lord Sebastian United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a stunning building and well worth a visit. Good tour and very well organized, they obviously take allot of groups through such a icon building but it was well structured and you never felt you were bumping into other groups.
Lovely opera house very opulent. Good tour

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Elizabeth R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was my second tour family's first of the Opera House. It was just as interesting and amazing as the first time.
This time we were lucky that we were able to go inside the theater and see the boxes and the Chagal ceiling.
Last time it was closed due to a current performance scheduled.
Highly recommend.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

JOHN D S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Tremendous. Awesome!

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Loudeeter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour of the Opera House. The guide was fantastic and the facility was both historical and a work of art. We were very impressed.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

jfey9339

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Very good and knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Catherine L

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

We arrived for our time slot ,but, were put with the wrong tour group . We made reservations for the English speaking tour, ended up with the French speaking group. By the time they were able to get us to our correct tour, it was half way over. Tour itself was nice, but, think the personnel there should be better organized.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

linzswilley

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The number of people on the tour was probably just a bit too many. Turns out, we could have walked around the opera house independently and seen the same things. The tour guide did offer some commentary we would not have found out on our own, but we did feel like we were being herded through on their schedule rather than being able to explore on our own.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Sandra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The building was beautiful and our guide was very knowledgeable- she focused on The Phantom of the Opera aspect.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour: Opera Garnier in Paris

Lucy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

As a big fan of Phantom of the Opera this was must see and it exceeded my expectations! its a magnificent building and our guide was very informative and patient as we had a large group. it was lovely to see parts that are normally off limits as there are areas that are guided tours only. Had to buy the book all about it when I saw it. I would definitely recommend this!!

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

fathernewby

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The tour itself was great. Excellent, knowledgeable, and entertaining guide for an amazing building. She was a wealth of information and interesting stories. I wish the tour could have been much longer -- there was much more to see -- but it is a busy place and performance schedule limits how long the tour can be. Allow a lot of time before the start of the tour. The entry process was cumbersome, sometimes confusing, and involved a lot of waiting around.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour: Opera Garnier in Paris

Chai S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The tour was neat, orderly and pleasant, friendly guide - I expect to find more such tours at similar prices.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Jane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great experience. A little confusion in the beginning as to where we were to be but once that was cleared up and our guide met us the tour was informative, fun and a delightful time. Would highly recommend

Doing what: After-Hours Tour: Opera Garnier in Paris

Pam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

An amazing place!! My husband and I really enjoyed the after hours tour of the Palais Garnier. We were stunned by the beauty of the Opera House, simply incredible. A highly recommended tour!

Doing what: After-Hours Tour: Opera Garnier in Paris

tanaguchi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was very informative and our tour guide was knowledgeable and also kinda hilarious :

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Betty W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Opera Garnier was my favorite place in Paris. Our tour guide was wonderful, so the tour was both full of beauty and entertaining. We were so fortunate in that the theater was open and the curtain up so that we could watch some construction going on. In August of 2016, there were no crowds. There are no lines to skip, even in the afternoon. There was one other tour group going through that we saw once. It was great.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Elisabeth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide Anna really helped me as I am disabled. She has a wealth of knowledge and made it very enjoyable as well as educational. Only problem was joining the group as there were so many people going in. Maybe a different meeting point would be helpful.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Kenny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was my first big historical building to visit on my first trip over seas from the US. My mouth dropped on the magnitude of these huge open spaces and how they were built without modern technology. I'm also in love with Phantom of the Opera, so I had to come see were the stories originate.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Gatorfan96

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Awesome tour and doing the after hours tour means you get to enjoy the opera without the crowds in the way. Got to learn about the details of the architecture and the history of the building. Really enjoyed it!

Doing what: After-Hours Tour: Opera Garnier in Paris

Steven B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

tour was great. a lot less crowded as an after hours tour.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour: Opera Garnier in Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message