Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Opéra Garnier

It may not be the first iconic structure that comes to mind when you think of Paris, but to Parisians the Palais Garnier - Opera National is a beloved symbol of the importance placed on the arts in the City of Light. Completed in 1875 per architect ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 567 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Vicki C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wow. I can't believe it took me this long to go inside this building. The guided tour is the only way to get a real insider view, as they take you into the theatre assuming no rehearsals happening, which gives you the full perspective of the interior and ceiling art you can't from viewing from the two public boxes.
This theatre is an amazing feat and my jaw dropped more than a few times. It has been kept in stellar condition since it was opened, so really worth the visit. It even has a hall of mirrors that rivals Versailles!

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

mary ellen t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour..totally enjoyed the tour guide.....beautiful building, and tour Of this historic building...

Doing what: After-Hours Tour: Opera Garnier in Paris

jfey9339

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Very good and knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Catherine L

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

We arrived for our time slot ,but, were put with the wrong tour group . We made reservations for the English speaking tour, ended up with the French speaking group. By the time they were able to get us to our correct tour, it was half way over. Tour itself was nice, but, think the personnel there should be better organized.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Sandra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The building was beautiful and our guide was very knowledgeable- she focused on The Phantom of the Opera aspect.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour: Opera Garnier in Paris

Lucy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

As a big fan of Phantom of the Opera this was must see and it exceeded my expectations! its a magnificent building and our guide was very informative and patient as we had a large group. it was lovely to see parts that are normally off limits as there are areas that are guided tours only. Had to buy the book all about it when I saw it. I would definitely recommend this!!

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

fathernewby

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The tour itself was great. Excellent, knowledgeable, and entertaining guide for an amazing building. She was a wealth of information and interesting stories. I wish the tour could have been much longer -- there was much more to see -- but it is a busy place and performance schedule limits how long the tour can be. Allow a lot of time before the start of the tour. The entry process was cumbersome, sometimes confusing, and involved a lot of waiting around.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour: Opera Garnier in Paris

Chai S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The tour was neat, orderly and pleasant, friendly guide - I expect to find more such tours at similar prices.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Jane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great experience. A little confusion in the beginning as to where we were to be but once that was cleared up and our guide met us the tour was informative, fun and a delightful time. Would highly recommend

Doing what: After-Hours Tour: Opera Garnier in Paris

Pam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

An amazing place!! My husband and I really enjoyed the after hours tour of the Palais Garnier. We were stunned by the beauty of the Opera House, simply incredible. A highly recommended tour!

Doing what: After-Hours Tour: Opera Garnier in Paris

tanaguchi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was very informative and our tour guide was knowledgeable and also kinda hilarious :

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Betty W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Opera Garnier was my favorite place in Paris. Our tour guide was wonderful, so the tour was both full of beauty and entertaining. We were so fortunate in that the theater was open and the curtain up so that we could watch some construction going on. In August of 2016, there were no crowds. There are no lines to skip, even in the afternoon. There was one other tour group going through that we saw once. It was great.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Elisabeth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide Anna really helped me as I am disabled. She has a wealth of knowledge and made it very enjoyable as well as educational. Only problem was joining the group as there were so many people going in. Maybe a different meeting point would be helpful.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Kenny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was my first big historical building to visit on my first trip over seas from the US. My mouth dropped on the magnitude of these huge open spaces and how they were built without modern technology. I'm also in love with Phantom of the Opera, so I had to come see were the stories originate.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Gatorfan96

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Awesome tour and doing the after hours tour means you get to enjoy the opera without the crowds in the way. Got to learn about the details of the architecture and the history of the building. Really enjoyed it!

Doing what: After-Hours Tour: Opera Garnier in Paris

Steven B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

tour was great. a lot less crowded as an after hours tour.

Doing what: After-Hours Tour: Opera Garnier in Paris

Suzanne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A wonderful walking tour of the Opera Garnier in Paris. The guide did a great job of showing us this beautiful opera house.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Julia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Is is a must see place and the tour was very informative and I got out of it a lot more than just walking round the building on my own. Our tour guide was exceptional and was very knowledgable.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

pablofu100

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

THE WORST!!! After being almost an hour in the queue, and I got 40 minutes before the start of the tour, I got to the tour late when it already started. There is a specific line for guided tours and only one person working there at snail pace. Afterwards during the tour we find out that they are on a rehearsal and the theater is closed. WHY DONT THEY UPDATE SO THE GUIDED TOUR IS SCHEDULED FOR ANOTHER TIME THEN? The guide made comments not related to the tour such as how miserable she felt that she has another tour to give on that day to the eiffel tower with the rain and the bad weather, what do I care about that? I came for the tour. Or why do these girls over there are using their phones now when they are in such a beautiful place?, what do I care about that?.
I think the worst was to see that the theater was closed, I FELT I GOT SWINDLED FOR WHAT I PAID.
NEVER AGAIN!!!

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Michele B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing amount of information! They were setting up for an event and we could not have timed it better. Lovely florals all the way up and around the grand staircase! Breathtaking! Everything I had hoped the tour would be!

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Sue M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Thankfully the Opera House has now included headsets so each guide can be heard, no matter where you are standing inside the Opera house on the tour. Although, more should be done to ensure that every tour group gets to see the inside of the theatre, so schedules should not be touring when the theater is closed.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Judith P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour guide and we were able to see auditorium and boxes as well

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Peggy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This iwas a fantastic tour!!! Our guide was so knowledgeable ! Enjoyed the pace and time spent at the opera. This is a miust see and do if in Paris!! Thank you again for a great learning experience!!

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Barbara P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Seeing this sumptuous building was a highlight of our trip. The opulence of the architecture and furnishings are beyond belief. Our guide was very knowledgeable and charming. We are so pleased to have had this opportunity.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Incredible experience in this magnificent building with fabulous guide.

Doing what: Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message