Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Palace of Versailles

The Chateau de Versailles was the creation of Louis XIV. He took his father's hunting lodge, transformed it into a work of wonder and excess and moved the whole court and government of France from Paris to Versailles in 1682. The next two French ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 208 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

scott.courtney007 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Teriffic tour and a good use of limited time in Paris if you want to include a visti to Versailles. You avoid the long lines to get into the palace, and the hassel of getting out to Versailles from the city. We went on a Saturday afternoon, so we were also able to enjoy the gardens with the fountains in full operation. Our tour guide was great and including our kids, age 6 and 10, and was able to share lots of history and detail. A great way to get to and from Versailles.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Versailles Palace and Marie-Antoinette's Petit Trianon from Paris

Megan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Giverny is one of the most beautiful gardens I have ever seen! This is a must if you love Monet. Versailles was very beautiful but it was also very crowded. We did the audio tour through the palace before going to the gardens. The tour itself was great and our guide was awesome, but the palace was so jammed pack with people. Many were rude tourist who had no problem shoving their elbows in your face to get their picture. Nobody would just hang tight and wait their turn to take a photo. My recommendation is to take the train back to Paris after the audio tour and go explore the gardens. They are huge!! And you can walk to the farm from there which is a whole other tour in itself. You can also grab food inside the gardens. Its a super short train ride back to Paris and is totally worth it.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Natalie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was excellent and had a good balance of giving us the history and main points without overwhelming us. We aren and #39;t museum-type people and a half day was the perfect amount of time to get the full experience of the Versailles Palace. This was one of our favorite attractions around Paris.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Beverly R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a terrific tour because our tour guide knew so much about the history of the Versailles palace and the people who lived there. Her love of her work brought the stories alive. Even in the rain this was a great day. Comfortable walking shoes are a must, and remember to hold onto your train ticket even after you use it to get onto the train returning to Paris. You will need it to put into the turnstile in order to leave the train station at Paris.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Anne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of Versailles and after seeing the throngs of people waiting in line and moving through the palace bumper to bumper, we knew that booking the tour had been a smart decision. After traveling from Paris on a small van, we were treated to a cup of coffee and very good croissants in a small cafe right beside the palace. We took the 8:00 AM tour and our guide was able to quickly take us to the Hall of Mirrors before it became swamped by other visitors. We also had access to a number of rooms that non-guided visitors were unable to visit. The guide was very knowledgeable and did a great job providing insight into life in the palace when Louis XIV lived there. The guided tour lasted about 2 hours I think and then we were free to visit other areas. We chose to go to the gardens and visit Marie-Antoinette's estate, access to which was included with our tour ticket. We walked there which took about 30 minutes and provided a good view of the area, however, we gratefully took the little train back to the palace afterwards for 4 euros each. It would have been nice to have a guided tour of Marie-Antoinette's estate as well but we enjoyed it nonetheless. Pickup at the Paris area was at 8:00 AM and we arrived back at 3:15 PM.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Myrna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was very well organized and timing was perfect - taking bus from Paris City Vision office to Giverny, then lunch delicious French cuisine with wine in a beautiful quaint restaurant setting!, to Versailles Palace and back to Paris. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor, which is important, as one can feel a bit sleepy, as bus took off early morning. All in all, the 4 of us, buddies in high school and now close to being senior citizens and coming from different states in the U.S. had a memorable time in Paris. This day trip was worth taking as it added more fun while we bond with each other. Giverny and Versailles are definitely must-see places while visiting Paris!

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Dinah P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a GREAT tour! Definitely a must if you're going to Versailles. They escort you on the train, give you a cute bicycle and take you to one of the best markets in France. You buy anything and everything you want for your picnic by the water in front of the palace. The actual palace is magnificent, but for me, pales in comparison to biking around the wonderful grounds.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

glennsara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Guided transfer from Paris to Versailles and to our tour guide was excellent, thank you Michael Aussie, Aussie, Aussie. The tour was handled exceptionally well by Joshua. He drew us into the history and story of the palace and gardens and timed the walk perfectly for best viewing of the fountains.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Marci W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a wonderful tour- started at the Invalides metro stop in Paris where we met up with a group and took the train RER to Versailles. Once at the palace we met our tour guide, Joshua, and he took us on the palace and gardens tour. We all had headsets and he talked continuously, sharing history and background information and pointed out interesting things along the way. His knowledge and guidance were excellent and made the tour much more interesting and fun. The only unfortunate part of our day was that the weather was rainy/windy so we did not stay to explore the gardens further. We will have to come back!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Margo S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our day at Versailles started out cold and drippy, but turned out fantastic. Our tour guide Michelle, was the best! She was so passionate and knowledgeable about everything, including not only Versailles, but also Paris. She made the history come alive with stories about the people who lived in Versailles, the conditions of the country, and the reasons behind the revolution. She gave us a driving tour of Paris on the way out of the city, and then coming back. She showed us many landmarks while explaining the history behind them. She was extremely knowledgeable about the palace of Versailles, the people who lived there, the gardens, and the surrounding town. She really fueled my motivation to learn more about the history of France and she gave recommendations for books to read to increase my knowledge. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone. The tour company was very well organized. When they closed the gardens, Michelle called the company to make sure we got tickets to see them. She also brought us to several areas of the palace that were not open to everyone. She seemed to know the people who worked there and to have special treatment to visit those areas. This tour exceeded my expectations. I really believe that Michelle went out of her way to make it a really special experience.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

ChasNave United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Versailles is a wonderful place...just not on the weekend or during a Paris break when you cannot stuff one more person into the place. The tour guide was wonderful...pickup and drop was well executed.
The fountain show is not worth scheduling on Sunday...see this fabulous palace during the week when you probably can breathe in the various halls.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Carolyn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wow, this tour was tiring, but worth it if you have an extra day in Paris. I would recommend seeing the inside of Versailles on another day because of how long this trip is, we were too tired to enjoy the palace, way too much for one day. The guide was great, it was all interesting, and I'm glad we went.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Paul R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Regular audio tour of Versailles. Drive picked us up at hotel on time. Gave a running commentary about Paris and Versailles on journey to the palace

Doing what: Versailles Small-Group Tour from Paris with Audio Guide

ELLE Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was the highlight of our Paris tour. Our tour guide was generous with her knowledge and held us accountable for promptness. Monet's Garden is a must. I went in early September and the weather was perfect and all the flowers were in bloom. Absolutely stunning. We then made our way to Moulin de Fourge for lunch. This was sensational. The place was so picturesque and lunch was extremely pleasant. Palace of Versailles was a little bit of a let down, as many of the artefacts are not located there but in other museums and locations. We didn't see the fountain in action, but the gardens were stunning

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Peter C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The only way to see the Palace of Versailles. I couldn't believe the long line of people queued to go in the ordinary entrance. Whilst the group tour entrance was busy, it didn't take long to get through. Faby our guide was fabulous. She was interesting to listen to and made the tour into an interesting experience. The Palace itself, the gardens and park are a must see on any visit to Paris, as it is truly a magnificent piece of French history.

Doing what: Versailles Small-Group Tour from Paris with Audio Guide

Boris G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A wonderful day-trip from Paris. Michelle was a marvel of information, organization, energy, and fun. She managed to get us through crowds with ease, and showed us incredible amount of art, architecture, and history, without ever making us feel rushed. Versailles is a palace not to be missed, but this tour is certainly the way to see it. Michelle shared her delight in these landmarks at every turn. Her enthusiasm was contagious.

After touring the palace proper, we had the opportunity to stroll on our own through the gardens to the Grand Canal.

We reassembled for lunch at a charming restaurant by the Grand Canal. Our meals were very good, and the atmosphere was a delight. The service was very friendly.

From lunch we continued our tour on to the Grand Trianon and the Queen's Hamlet. Since these were less crowded the pace slowed, but the interest and beauty did not flag in the least. Michelle continued to give both overviews and point out fascinating details of architecture, art, and history. These lesser-known areas were a great way to finish a delightful day.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Frans Luc V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Roseanne was perfectly lovely and extremely knowledgeable. She even pointed out many sites of interest in Paris as we were heading out of the city to Versailles. It was August, so of course the palace was very crowded and the day was hot, but our family of four really enjoyed the excursion.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Christine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Enjoyed the time with our guide Ricardo who was very knowledgeable and informative about Versailles and all things Paris. Versailles was an impressive palace and a must see if you have the time while in Paris. Our day was exceptionally crowded, but you were still able to take in the grandeur of the reign of the Sun King. I would definitely book this tour again!

Doing what: Versailles Small-Group Tour from Paris with Audio Guide

Jean B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was off the charts. We did this tour after arriving in Paris and not sleeping on the plane. We were exhausted but once we arrived at the Palace it rejuvenated myself and my family. The palace, the gardens, everything about it was magnificent. After the tour, we stayed in Versailles and had dinner. It is quite a lovely town with some wonderful shops and restaurants. This is a must see!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Gail M A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were a group of 5, including our 19 month grandson. The tour delivered as promised- we met our first guide in front of the designated Metro stop and instead of riding the train, there was a nice motor coach for us. The guide on the journey to Versaiiles was Patrice- he was funny and kept us entertained and informed as we traveled through Paris and then out to the palace. Once we were there, Patrice turned us over to our guides for the walking tour and the bus was split into two groups. Our group had to wait around 25 minutes for some people who were supposed to meet us at Versailles but finally we left without them- our group did not have much time in the gardens as a result. We did not have to wait in the mile long line snaking through the courtyard, thank goodness. I feel we did luck out with our marvelous guide, Clair, however! She was so adept at getting us through the palace- it was Thursday so less crowded, she said and fewer pickpockets. It was still wall to wall people inside the rooms. The palace is a must see when visiting Paris- it creates historical perspective on the French Revolution, for sure- much in the way of excess and opulence!
In conclusion, I am not sure if a train ride would have been as easy as the bus we had but this tour was highly enjoyable for our group and a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Ruth United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Versailles was absolutely fabulous! the bus ride was very comfortable and well air conditioned. The tour guide, Antoine Weber from Fat Bike Tours, was awesome!! He was very knowledgeable and was able to give great backstory on the palace. He made all the passengers feel welcome and made us laugh with his jokes. The hall of mirrors was beautiful and the gardens magnificent. This was the best part of our vacation in Paris!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

Chris A. United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our awesome guide on this tour remains one of our highlights from the entire trip. The van ride from Paris to Versailles was clean and comfortable, and Keith was awesome as both a driver and a guide. He gave us a good balance of time to explore on our own and guided tour time, and was kind enough to drop everyone off near their final destinations rather than back at the tour's origin. In Versailles Palace where pushy tourists are elbow to elbow, having a tour guide that is aggressive and knowledgeable makes all of the difference.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Versailles Palace and Marie-Antoinette's Petit Trianon from Paris

Matthew R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was absolutely the best was to do Versailles. Please do NOT do Versailles with a big bus tour. Having only 6 people in our group in a very nice and air-conditioned minivan was awesome. Our tour guide, Nabila, was awesome as well. Looking around at the other groups and guides, we definitely got a more entertaining tour than anyone else!
The lunch at La Flotille on the Grand Canal was good and we had plenty of time to wander around a bit on our own. Given how enormous and busy the palace and grounds are, I was quite happy we were able to relax on the way there and back, rather than having to take the train from Paris and stand in live forever.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Timothy V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Both the bus coordinator and the French guide through Versailles were good. The palace guide was especially knowledgeable, answered all questions and was quite funny. This tour was the highlight of our visit to Paris.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Roberta Joy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Everything was just right! We were picked up on time, the guide was friendly and spoke perfect English. She was extremely knowledgeable about Versailles and the parts of Paris we drove through to get there. Our lunch was perfect and was taken in a very charming restaurant on the grounds of the Palace. We loved the small tour Eight people.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message