Paris ATTRACTIONS See all

Parc de la Villette

Holding the title of Paris’ largest park at around 25 hectares, Parc de la Villette is made up of a series of themed gardens, known as ‘prairies’, set around the banks of the l'Ourq Canal. There’s more on offer than just an idyllic setting, though – ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 717 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Richard G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Trip was cancelled due to lock problems but was rescheduled two days later. Beautiful way to see Paris and the surroundings.

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

Denise M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really enjoyed this. A real man's tour as they are fascinated with the locks and the boats. Gives a different perspective on Paris.

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

Henk O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed this tour as it allows you to see the Paris behind the scenes touring the historic canal and its 9 locks was the highlight of the day through the locks you drop a total of 27 meters 90 feet in elevation until you reach the Seine river. The canal banks are hang-outs for the locals and they provided some additional entertainment for the tourists on the boat. The tour guide speaks both French and English.

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

Janet P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An excellent few hours on the canal and river. Informative, friendly and interesting. Highly reccommended.

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

Yvonne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tip on the Canal. Sorry due to Canal work we did not cruise the Seine..: Canal was well worth the trip however well informed tour guide . We saw a side of Paris not seen by most tourists.

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

Nick G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Really out of the tourists' regular visits, but well worth doing if you have a chance. Really nice. For anyone whose never experienced sailing through a canal and locks. This is a great experience.
Highly recommended. The staff are nice and knowledgeable, ready to answer any questions.
Excellent tour.

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

Kerry K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really nice serene boat trip. Weather cooperated so was a great afternoon.

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

Terrence P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great way to learn a lot about Paris

A wonderful morning with engaging staff

Thank you

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

Samuel D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Did not disappoint. The guide was fluent in French and English and very informative. Learnt a lot, and appreciated the background insights into the purpose of the canal. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent, interesting tour. We walked from Seine along the canal, following the boat that we were travelling on for the return journey, to Parc de la Villette. The boat trip back was relaxing, informative and entertaining. A brilliant day out.

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

Godelieve B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Très belle expérience,exellent guide ,super!Great

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

Maurice T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Beautiful scenery. Fun experience but the English description was abbreviated and infrequent. We should learn French!

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

Liwen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is a great tour for anyone wanting to get a feel of the different parts of Paris! We had a lot of fun cruising along the Seine and then through the canals. The guide was very knowledgeable as well. It's also very affordable great value for money!

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour was very interesting and the canal tour was quite unique. The guide provided as lot of historical information and overall it was a great experience. I highly recommend it as a way to see the non-touristy side of Paris.

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

PAULINE F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A new perspective on the joys of Paris. Two and a half hours might be a bit too long for small children but everyone else will enjoy seeing the locks at work, the bridges over St Martin's Canal. The underground segment is very cool. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

Elizabeth A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent trip very informative English commentary too. Easy directions great crew overall great value.

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

Hugh H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Cruise was excellent however the instructions on joining the tour were WRONG, we therefore missed the boat but the staff were great and we were rescheduled for an afternoon tour. Travelling through 9 lochs and a tunnel was great, the commentary was excellent.

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

Mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was the most unusual of all of our bateau trips on the Seine. We saw the locks and the workings and learned of the history of the process and the part they played in the history of Paris. Going under the Bastille via a long tunnel was interesting. There were always interested people on the very close bridges with which to interact.

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

Christy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed seeing the ' out of the way ' Paris.

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

Michele G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Guide was funny and spoke English well. Locks on the Martin Canal were cool to see.

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

Paula D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tunnel 10 out 10 via tour were so difficult it nearly killed the day

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

Mary Sharon P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic way to take a leisurely tour of the Seine, the canal and the leafy streets of Paris. The commentary was excellent and the length of the trip was just right. The tunnel se pigment under Bastille was exciting and going up through the locks was fun I would recommend this to everyone I know who spends a few days in Paris. It is not to be missed!

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

Rog

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is a really great trip for those who want something different from the usual river cruises in Paris. We went on a quiet rainy day in March. The crew were friendly and fun. Having read other reviews we were prepared not to understand a word the commentator said but in fact, we had a fantastic time. There were only two non french speakers on board and he made an extra effort to translate clearly into English just for them. The cruise goes through many interesting features on the canal including a lifting bridge, two swing bridges, many locks and a tunnel. So maybe this cruise is more for those interested in the engineering side of waterways rather than sightseeing. Having read other reviews we knew not to expect tea or coffee on board so made sure we had eaten and drunk before boarding! We really enjoyed it!

Doing what: Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message